126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 01:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(CallMeNick @ Oct 19 2015, 01:36 PM)
Budget] 3k excluding monitor

[Purpose] gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution] -

[Games & softwares that use frequentl GtaV high spec, mgsV, witcher 3

[Personal preferences] Intel + Nvidia + ssd 500gb

[Location] kl/selangor
SSD 500GB? That's not cheap bro, it will take 25% of your available budget.

Intel Core i3 4160 - RM 485
ASRock H81M-HDS - RM 229
GSKill NT 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
Palit GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Reference OC - RM 899
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD - RM 799
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199
Bitfenix NOVA - RM 149

Total: RM 2969 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

Drop the SSD or swap it to 120GB so you can get i5.
MjMax15
post Oct 19 2015, 04:25 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 01:52 PM)
GTA V highest settings will require at least a GTX980Ti (basic & advance settings all maxed out at 1080p 60Hz). I tested with GTX970, basic settings can be turned on to max (including population/traffic density etc. provided your processor is not bottlenecking with i5 mininum), but once advance settings are turned on, FPS drop occurs everywhere.

Your budget cannot fit a GTX970 so highest setting is not possible for now, and you requested SSD to be included which is even harder to build a decent gaming rig that can handle games smoothly.

Intel Core i3 4170 - RM 486
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - RM 220
Gainward GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 799
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

Total: RM 2516 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

The degradation of MYR has caused hardware price to increase for the past few months, it is possible to get a i5 + GTX960 under RM 2500 last time FYI. If you wish to run future games at smoother frame rate, I suggest you to save RM 1000 more for i5 + GTX970/R9 390.
thank you for your brief information bro
so, i must topup my budget about rm 800+ for i5 and remove ssd for now
hows that?
i think i3 not quite suitable and maybe im wrong, enlighten me.

Minecrafter
post Oct 19 2015, 04:40 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Oct 19 2015, 04:25 PM)
hows that?
Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM747.30
Asrock H81M-VG4 RM190.80
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1350
Kingston Value RAM 1x8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM189
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM219
FSP Hexa+ 550W RM199
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
Total:RM3030.10
Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from TechView and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Oct 19 2015, 04:41 PM
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 04:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Oct 19 2015, 04:25 PM)
hows that?
If stay at Haswell (4th gen) i5, then you need only RM 350 more while maintaining other parts.

If go for Skylake (6th gen) i5, then you need around RM 650 more for Skylake mobo + DDR4 RAM.

If you are going for GTX970/R9 390, prepare another RM 600.

i3 is not sufficient for CPU demanding games, if only casual gaming like MOBA games then i3 is ok.

SSD can be added later when you have extra funds.
MjMax15
post Oct 19 2015, 04:56 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Oct 19 2015, 04:40 PM)
Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM747.30
Asrock H81M-VG4 RM190.80
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1350
Kingston Value RAM 1x8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM189
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM219
FSP Hexa+ 550W RM199
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
Total:RM3030.10
Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from TechView and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP.
thank you
for a while i think better i stick with
Gainward GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Reference
let me review my budget again

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 04:42 PM)
If stay at Haswell (4th gen) i5, then you need only RM 350 more while maintaining other parts.

If go for Skylake (6th gen) i5, then you need around RM 650 more for Skylake mobo + DDR4 RAM.

If you are going for GTX970/R9 390, prepare another RM 600.

i3 is not sufficient for CPU demanding games, if only casual gaming like MOBA games then i3 is ok.

SSD can be added later when you have extra funds.
thank you
i will review back my system to select which and which to downgrade for a while
RaptoR
post Oct 19 2015, 07:36 PM

351 posts

Hi sifus! Itching to upgrade the rig, but not sure if now's the right time or wait for currency to drop a bit... sad.gif Maybe seek some advise from here..

[Budget] Not sure, coz only upgrading.. 2k - 2.5k? Rather not hit 3k.

[Purpose] Gaming and work (spreadsheet, word etc)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - re-using ssd, hard disk, cooler master casing (can still re-use right, quite big type), monitor

[Monitor resolution] 23inch dell, gaming at 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - word,excel, games - want to play witcher 3 and fallout 4 at high detail if possible?

[Personal preferences] Skylake core i5? since I would like it to last for 5 years or so and upgrade GPU only next time (also need to buy aftermarket cooler too?) Or haswell is good enough...
Normal Ram, not gonna overclock (8gb sufficient rite?)
GPU - either gtx960 or R380 (afraid of heat issue with radeon, but seems like R380 faster a bit?)
PSU - seasonic seems like a good bet

[Location] Probably getting from C-zone PJ.. and they can help transfer hardware from current rig to re-use at another older rig, idealtech charges RM100 for transferring component

Thanks for your time!
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 07:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Oct 19 2015, 07:36 PM)
Hi sifus! Itching to upgrade the rig, but not sure if now's the right time or wait for currency to drop a bit... sad.gif Maybe seek some advise from here..

[Budget] Not sure, coz only upgrading.. 2k - 2.5k? Rather not hit 3k.

[Purpose] Gaming and work (spreadsheet, word etc)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - re-using ssd, hard disk, cooler master casing (can still re-use right, quite big type), monitor

[Monitor resolution] 23inch dell, gaming at 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - word,excel, games - want to play witcher 3 and fallout 4 at high detail if possible?

[Personal preferences] Skylake core i5? since I would like it to last for 5 years or so and upgrade GPU only next time (also need to buy aftermarket cooler too?) Or haswell is good enough...
Normal Ram, not gonna overclock (8gb sufficient rite?)
GPU - either gtx960 or R380 (afraid of heat issue with radeon, but seems like R380 faster a bit?)
PSU - seasonic seems like a good bet
[Location] Probably getting from C-zone PJ.. and they can help transfer hardware from current rig to re-use at another older rig, idealtech charges RM100 for transferring component

Thanks for your time!
If you want to play at high settings, go for GTX970/R9 390, GTX960/R9 380 is just at the edge of comfortable zone, but you will have to save more for it if you use Skylake, unless you are ok with Haswell. Haswell and Skylake performance is about the same FYI.

And I suggest you to get the parts from Techview instead, they are much cheaper than C-zone and is located in PJ too.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 859
MSI B150M Bazooka - RM 399
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB 2400MHz RAM - RM 289
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 819
Seasonic S12II 520W - RM 309

Total: RM 2675 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

RaptoR
post Oct 19 2015, 08:07 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 07:53 PM)
If you want to play at high settings, go for GTX970/R9 390, GTX960/R9 380 is just at the edge of comfortable zone, but you will have to save more for it if you use Skylake, unless you are ok with Haswell. Haswell and Skylake performance is about the same FYI.

And I suggest you to get the parts from Techview instead, they are much cheaper than C-zone and is located in PJ too.

MSI B150M Bazooka - RM 399
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB 2400MHz RAM - RM 289

Total: RM 2675 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
Hi!

What would your recommendation be for Haswell setup then? Wouldn't mind going for that if performance is identical. And maybe with that I can use it for a GTX970 instead.

I have not heard of Techview, and they are located at Jaya One, definitely can check it out since you said their pricing is good!
edit: where did you get their price list?

This post has been edited by RaptoR: Oct 19 2015, 08:10 PM
apitzhnu
post Oct 19 2015, 08:33 PM

169 posts

Hey all, I'm planning to sell my an all new alienware 15 and replace it with desktop gaming. Of course I want it much better experience with new rig. To get better explanation below is my laptop specs:
http://www.dell.com/my/p/alienware-15-r2/p...timonster=PD_OC (Retail price RM7,999)
- i7 Skylake
- 1TB 7200rpm
- 256GB SSD
- GTX980M

Plan to sell it at RM7.5K.

Now any recommended spec for me on this one budget? Maybe perhaps around 5-6K.

I'm prefer MSI / ASUS GPU GTX 970.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by apitzhnu: Oct 19 2015, 08:33 PM
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 08:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Oct 19 2015, 08:07 PM)
Hi!

What would your recommendation be for Haswell setup then? Wouldn't mind going for that if performance is identical. And maybe with that I can use it for a GTX970 instead.

I have not heard of Techview, and they are located at Jaya One, definitely can check it out since you said their pricing is good!
edit: where did you get their price list?

I got their price via their lelong account here.

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 795
Asus H81M-K - RM 229

Total: RM 2372 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

The mobo above is low end mobo but it enough for normal usage, you can top up another RM 100 for Asus B85M-G for PCI-E 3.0 and native USB 3.0 front panel adapter support (current one also got USB 3.0 but the chipset doesn't support it natively, Asus used an external adaptor to enable the speed).

The cheapest GTX970 is Palit reference card at RM 1345, so you need to add RM 526 on top of the amount above if you are going to get it.
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 08:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Oct 19 2015, 08:33 PM)
Hey all, I'm planning to sell my an all new alienware 15 and replace it with desktop gaming. Of course I want it much better experience with new rig. To get better explanation below is my laptop specs:
http://www.dell.com/my/p/alienware-15-r2/p...timonster=PD_OC (Retail price RM7,999)
- i7 Skylake
- 1TB 7200rpm
- 256GB SSD
- GTX980M

Plan to sell it at RM7.5K.

Now any recommended spec for me on this one budget? Maybe perhaps around 5-6K.

I'm prefer MSI / ASUS GPU GTX 970.
Thanks!
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1329
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 569
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 289
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1539
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 399
Corsair Carbide Spec-01 - RM 249

Total: RM 5008 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

OS and monitor is not included. You can upgrade to GTX980 or even GTX980Ti if you max out your budget.
RaptoR
post Oct 19 2015, 09:12 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 08:43 PM)
I got their price via their lelong account here.

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 795
Asus H81M-K - RM 229

Total: RM 2372 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

The mobo above is low end mobo but it enough for normal usage, you can top up another RM 100 for Asus B85M-G for PCI-E 3.0 and native USB 3.0 front panel adapter support (current one also got USB 3.0 but the chipset doesn't support it natively, Asus used an external adaptor to enable the speed).

The cheapest GTX970 is Palit reference card at RM 1345, so you need to add RM 526 on top of the amount above if you are going to get it.
Price difference is about 200-ish cheaper, assuming i go for the Asus B85M-G. Will decide this few days on which, and maybe just hold back on the 970, Thanks again for your input! notworthy.gif
apitzhnu
post Oct 19 2015, 09:15 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 08:54 PM)
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1329
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 569
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1539
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 399
Corsair Carbide Spec-01 - RM 249

Total: RM 5008 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

OS and monitor is not included. You can upgrade to GTX980 or even GTX980Ti if you max out your budget.
Hi what if I buy 980 or 980Ti. How much does it cost? U from techview?
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 09:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Oct 19 2015, 09:15 PM)
Hi what if I buy 980 or 980Ti. How much does it cost? U from techview?
Add around RM 800 for GTX980 and RM 1500 for GTX980Ti.

And nope, I am not from Techview nor other shop, just a normal forumer and helper here laugh.gif
apitzhnu
post Oct 19 2015, 09:39 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 09:30 PM)
Add around RM 800 for GTX980 and RM 1500 for GTX980Ti.

And nope, I am not from Techview nor other shop, just a normal forumer and helper here  laugh.gif
Oh haha, in the meantime for the motherboard do u have any other suggestion especially from MSI?

Anyway thanks for your help bro!
niamapunksai
post Oct 19 2015, 09:48 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 19 2015, 01:52 PM)
GTA V highest settings will require at least a GTX980Ti (basic & advance settings all maxed out at 1080p 60Hz). I tested with GTX970, basic settings can be turned on to max (including population/traffic density etc. provided your processor is not bottlenecking with i5 mininum), but once advance settings are turned on, FPS drop occurs everywhere.

Your budget cannot fit a GTX970 so highest setting is not possible for now, and you requested SSD to be included which is even harder to build a decent gaming rig that can handle games smoothly.

Intel Core i3 4170 - RM 486
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Gainward GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 799
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2516 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

The degradation of MYR has caused hardware price to increase for the past few months, it is possible to get a i5 + GTX960 under RM 2500 last time FYI. If you wish to run future games at smoother frame rate, I suggest you to save RM 1000 more for i5 + GTX970/R9 390.
Hi terence, is there any idea why when i'm playing GTA V, my gpu and cpu usage sometimes will drop and cause fps drop as well?
jinjoll89
post Oct 19 2015, 09:51 PM

26 posts

[Budget] 2500-3000 +-

[Purpose] Workshop & Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, keyboard, External HDD, External DVD rom

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam Game Assassin Creed Unity, Dota 2 etc.. but more into SQL accounting and photoshop.

[Personal preferences] Skylake and SSD

[Location] KL, PJ

Thanks you all sifu in advance.. :3
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 09:58 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Oct 19 2015, 09:39 PM)
Oh haha, in the meantime for the motherboard do u have any other suggestion especially from MSI?

Anyway thanks for your help bro!
I can't find any MSI H170 mobo in local market yet, but there are few B150 available such as,

MSI B150M Bazooka D3 [mATX, DDR3] - RM 399
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 [mATX, DDR4] - RM 409
MSI B150 Gaming 3 [ATX, DDR4] - RM 588

By judging the price, Gigabyte one with H170 chipset is more worth.

terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 09:58 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(niamapunksai @ Oct 19 2015, 09:48 PM)
Hi terence, is there any idea why when i'm playing GTA V, my gpu and cpu usage sometimes will drop and cause fps drop as well?
Temperature within good range?
terence_nwb
post Oct 19 2015, 10:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Oct 19 2015, 09:51 PM)
[Budget] 2500-3000 +-

[Purpose] Workshop & Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, keyboard, External HDD, External DVD rom

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam Game Assassin Creed Unity, Dota 2 etc.. but more into SQL accounting and photoshop.

[Personal preferences] Skylake and SSD

[Location] KL, PJ

Thanks you all sifu in advance.. :3
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2933 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

If you need an internal HDD, then add RM 225 for WD Blue 1TB HDD.

Please take note that AC Unity is not a well optimized PC game, so don't expect to play it at max settings, mostly medium for GTX960.

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:14 PM