Toys LYN RC Drifters, if it can slide, you should come in!

zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 05:36 PM

218 posts

hi, i want to start drifting, but dont know what is good or not, so here goes...
planning to get street jam r31 kit, and sanwa mt4...
but dont know what are the best for the motor and other things...

is it possible to get all of it myb more or less then 2000???

zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 07:27 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Mar 27 2012, 06:21 PM)
u talking about the original street jam, or clone from TEH-R31?
original used around 600-900, clone around 200 kit only.
electronics around 500 (fast charger, LiPo, motor, ESC, servo)
MT4 new around 650 (hard to get 2nd hand)

Added on March 27, 2012, 6:42 pm
thumbup.gif
ya, i'm talking the original street jam, i am thinking to buy one shot because i think if i buy the clone one, and many other things i need to repair later on, and when the times comes i want to upgrade, i spend more... biggrin.gif

Added on March 27, 2012, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 06:48 PM)
Just start? I suggest get something cheap first, then practice your skills, rather than one shot buying so expensive stuff
but for the electronics (excluding the remote), the price is almost the same right?? i am just thinking to get a good chasis to start and go into it seriously.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zaku90: Mar 27 2012, 07:29 PM
zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 07:42 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 07:35 PM)
Here's my break down (Some may not agree with it)

- RTR car (I chose the Vantex X-ray) - RM350 (If you want to play CS later, then opt for the TEH-R31, around RM340 RTR)
- ESC+Brushless - ± RM 300
- LiPo Battery - ± RM150
- FlySky GT3B - ± RM150
- Balance Charger - ± RM150

Total : ± RM1100

The price excludes aftermarket rims, tires,bodyshells and accessories, which all of us would change sooner or later tongue.gif

That should keep you playing for some time. As for parts, 416 and xray also a lot parts. Just worry about the electronics. Hence in my estimation, most are replaced, saved for the servo brows.gif
thanks for the estimation there, so bassically it is around my estimation also for the electronics, it becomes exp just because if i take the r31 kit which is rm800, and if i want to spent on some good Tx for sanwa mt4 around Rm650... rclxub.gif
and what motor is good?? i mean, 9T motor?? 7.5T motor?? sensored??

zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 07:58 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 07:48 PM)
For beginners, like I said, is the Sanwa really necessary?
ok, let put the sanwa aside, how about the motor?? 9T? 7.5T?? sensored?? biggrin.gif

Added on March 27, 2012, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(kayFX @ Mar 27 2012, 07:57 PM)
err.. i'm a beginner and use MT4.. good TX n RX is a big diff..
me likey... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zaku90: Mar 27 2012, 07:59 PM
zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 08:08 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 08:05 PM)
sensored better. i will leave the t rating to the pro..i noob blush.gif
ok, btw, thanks man for the advice.... if u noob, i'm noobest... lol... thanks btw.. biggrin.gif
zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 08:16 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Mar 27 2012, 08:12 PM)
dun say like dat.. i noob also.. but in the process i learn a lot.. the lower the T no. means that the motor has more top speed power (if im not mistaken) the higher the T no. means the motor has more torque (if im not mistaken again)
10.5T is the most common T use by RC drifter coz i think it balance between high RPM and torque (if im not mistaken also la) tongue.gif
oooo, i think it should sound correct.. biggrin.gif
i read about this before but not that sure, haha.. doh.gif
zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 09:50 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 08:42 PM)
Hmm, still got loads to learn blush.gif

Any ESC+Brushless combo to recommend? Below RM300. Me poorfag unsure.gif

Saw these 3 that interests me

Ezrun 9t Combo ESC35a
ZTW 5.5t Combo ESC60A
Ezrun Brushless Victory 5.5t Combo ESC60A

hmm.gif
i saw someone post this before..

Novatech P700M 1/10 Sensored Brushless System 7.5T Combo - 390

http://www.rcsmart.com.my/webshaper/store/...roductItem=5367
zaku90
post Mar 27 2012, 10:04 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 27 2012, 09:57 PM)
RM300 and below ><
just add a bit laaa~~ tongue.gif
zaku90
post Mar 28 2012, 01:04 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Mar 28 2012, 12:37 AM)
that's the way to go.
upgrading will cost more.
get the best in your mind. even clone teh-r31 is fine, but make sure u upgrade to alloy parts as soon as you can.

motor around 10.5T or 9T is good for start.

Added on March 28, 2012, 12:42 am
see reply from kayFX below tongue.gif
i'm using 35a ezrun, 9t motor. good for beginner, but definitely wont be able to catch up with xerun 10.5T.
better top up a bit, get xerun sensored, with advance timing and turbo mode tongue.gif
man this hobby can cost a lot once you get serious with it.
thanks for the advice... cant wait to get my machine.. biggrin.gif
zaku90
post Mar 29 2012, 12:04 AM

218 posts

saying about bodyshell, i watch this video, and i wonder, you dont need to mask the outer layer?? because doesnt the spray vapour will stick on the outside part??? rclxub.gif

edit: lol, i didnt watch until the end, the outer layer got 1 more layer.. LOL... my bad.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zaku90: Mar 29 2012, 12:07 AM
zaku90
post Apr 1 2012, 07:46 PM

218 posts

yayy~~ almost done building my Street jam R31, but sadly, for a noob, i dont know where to put the electronics, LOL... any help?? where to put the receiver, the battery for receiver, the esc?? LOL...
zaku90
post Apr 1 2012, 09:02 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Apr 1 2012, 08:40 PM)
what i usually do:
http://www.google.com.my/search?q=ota+r31&...iw=1280&bih=687
google image, then copy one of the nice layout from other people tongue.gif

Added on April 1, 2012, 8:41 pmspice got a few 4-doors sedan. tempting sweat.gif

but then too lazy to paint. haha
after that just use double sided tape or what?? LOL...
zaku90
post Apr 9 2012, 12:11 AM

218 posts

anybody can help me to set up my street jam counter steer???
what is the best setup?? myb around 1.6, is it ok??
zaku90
post Apr 9 2012, 11:18 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Apr 9 2012, 09:45 AM)
best setup is when u can drift it easily. start at 1.4~1.5.
play around, see which one fits u.
using 3 belt system?
yup, using 3 belt system, there is no way is it to do cs without changing the rear pulley?? because i change the center gear, front with 20T, rear with 16T, i got a cs 1.25, but the final drive ratio is quite low 5.52, from what i hear, it is better to get it higher than 6, is that true??
zaku90
post Apr 11 2012, 11:32 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Cinta Laura @ Apr 11 2012, 10:45 PM)
OTA R31 ready to run how much? above 2k? hmm.gif
dude, y u sell your yokomo?? haha... lets join me using SJ OTA R31.... tongue.gif
zaku90
post Apr 12 2012, 12:30 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(Cinta Laura @ Apr 12 2012, 12:24 AM)
sell because dont have geng to play with sad.gif
thinking to get an DRB, but if want make it run, for sure more than 4k cry.gif

chassis SJ OTA R31 how much ah? or RTR? thinking to try other brand but scare hard to find sparepart.
i get my SJ OTA R31 for 800, without electronics and remote... after i buy all things, total is around 2.4k, but still basic... without any alloy hop up..
zaku90
post Apr 13 2012, 12:39 AM

218 posts

btw, anybody know where i can get cool decal for my bodyshell??? biggrin.gif
zaku90
post Apr 13 2012, 10:43 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 13 2012, 08:17 AM)
DIY icon_idea.gif
so lazy to DIY~~ sweat.gif
zaku90
post Apr 18 2012, 06:30 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Apr 18 2012, 01:22 PM)
Hi Guys,

i just won a Yokomo DIB from Thailand Drift Competition last week. planning to letting it go for cheap price.

RM1350, can nego. Market price for DIB is RM1500-1600 (depends on which state u r in)

can PM or sms me for nego. zero 1 two - six six 7 1 eight 7 eight

if you top up another RM50, i can give you a brushless sensored motor 10.5t from HobbyWing, only 3 days old (used it for the Thailand comp only)
WOW~~ nice one, sadly i already get myself an R31... sweat.gif
zaku90
post Apr 23 2012, 10:06 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Apr 23 2012, 09:58 PM)
waow okay I think I should do more basic searches first. Thanks though!
join me, i also new in this drifting,... i also use streetjam R31.. biggrin.gif

0.0404sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:58 AM