Need Help in Buying property in other state, KL-rian wanting to buy flat in penang!

TSirene_star982
post Oct 1 2015, 12:28 AM, updated 11y ago

87 posts

Need help as I need to ask a few question about buying property in other state in Malaysia as holiday home.

I am KL based but thinking of buying a small second-hand holiday flat in penang and other state for holidays

I already own a few property in KL but tot of buying a small flat in penang and melaka for holiday and rather not stay in hotel. The hotel price is enuff for me to buy a small flat or pay the mortgage for a small flat.

My question is

Will there be any trouble in transfer of tittle if i buy a flat around 500 sqft at for less than 100k-200k??

As far as i know, if you ask those house broker, can i buy? All of them will say can !!! but they will not mention if there will be any trouble during the transfer of house tittle to my name......

I am looking at those non-new, non-bumi, non-low cost and freehold with strata tittle small flat.....and I am NOT wanting a deed of assignment (DOA)..... I want a proper transfer to my name direct on the tittle itself.....

I know that in KL and Selangor that any property less than 650 sqft will be automatically fall under the low cost housing rule.....but i do not know for other state in Malaysia

I am not eligible to buy low cost house or those recent affordable house by govt.

My idea will be buying those cheap flat with v little loan amount as they are already at a low price.....

Any advice from all the property sifu here will be good..... am sure alot of people is thinking to buy small flat for holiday home rather than staying in those pricey hotel.....

Anyone wanting to share any experience they have in buying a small cheap second hand holiday home in other states?

Thank you in advance.....

jason1986
post Oct 9 2015, 10:01 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(irene_star982 @ Oct 1 2015, 12:28 AM)

Need help as I need to ask a few question about buying property in other state in Malaysia as holiday home.

I am KL based but thinking of buying a small second-hand holiday flat in penang and other state for holidays

I already own a few property in KL but tot of buying a small flat in penang and melaka for holiday and rather not stay in hotel. The hotel price is enuff for me to buy a small flat or pay the mortgage for a small flat.

My question is

Will there be any trouble in transfer of tittle if i buy a flat around 500 sqft at for less than 100k-200k??

As far as i know, if you ask those house broker, can i buy? All of them will say can !!! but they will not mention if there will be any trouble during the transfer of house tittle to my name......

I am looking at those non-new, non-bumi, non-low cost and freehold with strata tittle small flat.....and I am NOT wanting a deed of assignment (DOA)..... I want a proper transfer to my name direct on the tittle itself.....

I know that in KL and Selangor that any property less than 650 sqft will be automatically fall under the low cost housing rule.....but i do not know for other state in Malaysia

I am not eligible to buy low cost house or those recent affordable house by govt.

My idea will be buying those cheap flat with v little loan amount as they are already at a low price.....

Any advice from all the property sifu here will be good..... am sure alot of people is thinking to buy small flat for holiday home rather than staying in those pricey hotel.....

Anyone wanting to share any experience they have in buying a small cheap second hand holiday home in other states?

You are wrong when you say that any property less than 650sq feet will automatically be categorized as low cost housing. There are many studios in high end areas below 650sqf which are definitely not low cost.

When buying such holiday apartments, you will need to take into account the other charges which you will need to bear, such as quit rent, assessment, maintenance etc when deciding whether it is worth it to buy as a holiday apartment.

TSirene_star982
post Oct 11 2015, 09:45 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Oct 9 2015, 10:01 AM)
You are wrong when you say that any property less than 650sq feet will automatically be categorized as low cost housing. There are many studios in high end areas below 650sqf which are definitely not low cost.

When buying such holiday apartments, you will need to take into account the other charges which you will need to bear, such as quit rent, assessment, maintenance etc when deciding whether it is worth it to buy as a holiday apartment.

Those studio unit are normally under commercial title wan leh..... meaning their water and electricity bill is at a higher rate..... i am discussing about those below 650 sqft residential apartment or flat.....

Hope someone can help!!!

TQ
oxm8
post Jan 28 2016, 09:40 PM

1,458 posts

You need experience & trustworthy property agent/lawyer in Penang

Yes every State has their own rules. I bet Penang has almost the same ruling as in KL. those low cost 2 bedrooms flat are usually low-cost (excluding studio).
Very hard to find freehold in prime area.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 29 2016, 12:21 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(irene_star982 @ Oct 1 2015, 12:28 AM)

My question is

My reply:-
1. it doesn't matter where you are based, so as long as you are a Malaysian citizen, you're OK to buy any properties in Malaysia (save and except those restricted with special privileges eg. low cost, bumi-lot etc);
2. you cannot dictate whether you want a DOA or a Transfer (MOT), if you like a property and it's a master title, you have no choice but to go for a DOA. Besides, a DOA is as valid as a MOT;
3. your beliefs in what constitute low costs is wrong. property below 650sqft is not automatically be deemed as low costs, i've come across service suites of 650sqft and sells for RM1,000 per sqft. how can RM650,000.00 be considered as low costs? you have been misinformed;
4. your criteria seems to fit those being auctioned.

0.0154sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:25 AM