12,268 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 09:03 AM)
SATS plunged 14% as of now.
Choked on the cow?
SUSTOS
post Sep 29 2022, 11:39 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 29 2022, 10:32 AM)
Choked on the cow?
Ya indeed. Don't know what Temasek is doing behind the back door...

----------------------------------

BT 280922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eSoXh7VsRB...iew?usp=sharing

I am caught off-guard by BOE's surprising decision to save the market at the last minute, now yields are failing again, not sure my 3.5% bid will be sufficient to make it through the cut-off yield today

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 29 2022, 11:40 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 29 2022, 01:25 PM

8,667 posts

Cut-off yield 3.32% money to be refunded...

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-10-04
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:07 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 11:39 AM)
Ya indeed. Don't know what Temasek is doing behind the back door...

----------------------------------

BT 280922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eSoXh7VsRB...iew?usp=sharing

I am caught off-guard by BOE's surprising decision to save the market at the last minute, now yields are failing again, not sure my 3.5% bid will be sufficient to make it through the cut-off yield today
Msia's PVIP Program : Applicants need to pay a one-off fee of RM200k, with RM100k for each dependant.

All undocumented foreigners in Msia now can apply,.... biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 29 2022, 02:12 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2022, 02:07 PM)
Msia's PVIP Program : Applicants need to pay a one-off fee of RM200k, with RM100k for each dependant.

All undocumented foreigners in Msia now can apply,....  biggrin.gif
A burden to M40... sweat.gif
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:51 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 02:12 PM)
A burden to M40...  sweat.gif
RM200K,... everybody can apply,.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Just USD50K only,...
TSHansel
post Sep 29 2022, 02:55 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 01:25 PM)
Cut-off yield 3.32% money to be refunded...

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-10-04
Bro,... I have never applied for this before,... biggrin.gif

So for this, we bid whatever yield we are happy to receive, and then the party asking for the lowest yield will be awarded, is it ? You'll have to put down your funds upfront for them, and then for the successful bidders, they will get the bonds; and the unsuccessful ones will be refunded, right ?
SUSTOS
post Sep 29 2022, 04:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2022, 02:51 PM)
RM200K,... everybody can apply,....  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Just USD50K only,...
50k USD bro, is erm, not a small amount in not-so-"maju" Malaysia. laugh.gif The foreign expats surely can afford it, but not likely to be the case for all undocumented foreigners.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2022, 02:55 PM)
Bro,... I have never applied for this before,... biggrin.gif

So for this, we bid whatever yield we are happy to receive, and then the party asking for the lowest yield will be awarded, is it ? You'll have to put down your funds upfront for them, and then for the successful bidders, they will get the bonds; and the unsuccessful ones will be refunded, right ?
You should apply bro. Risk free rates are rising sharply now except when BOE messed things up yesterday...

Yes, for competitive bid, you can bid at any rate you like, minimum 1000 SGD up to 1 million SGD per competitive bid. If the auction result is such that your bid rate (e.g. my bid was 3.5%) is higher than the cut-off yield (3.32% in this recent issue), then your money will be refunded (unsuccessful application). If you bid 3.30% for example, and the cut-off yield is 3.32%, then you will be successful in the bid. If your bid rate is exactly the cut-off yield (e.g. you bid 3.32% and cut-off yield is exactly 3.32%), then you can expect partial allocation.

You need to put your funds upfront (again, 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD for competitive bid), the application opens 1 week before the auction date and closes 1 day before auction date. To earn some more bank interests, I usually apply at the last minute (around 5 pm for DBS, deadline is 9 pm the day before auction day) but there are risks associated so some people apply a few days earlier instead.

If you are successful in the bid, at around 5pm or 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced, DBS will refund you the discounted value of the bill (i.e. your "interest") and the bill is held by MAS till maturity when the entire bill is retired at par value, i.e. (the 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD amount you bid for earlier). Of course, this is provided MAS/SG government is still functioning 6 months after the bill is issued.

If you are not successful in the bid, e.g. CDP account not yet set up, DCS service still not activated, or like in my recent case (today), my bid yield is higher than the cut-off yield, so my entire bid amount (1000 SGD) will be refunded around the same time as the case if bid is successful and discounted value is refunded, i.e. around 5 pm to 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced.

Note that DBS is always the slowest among the 3 primary dealers in refunding unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value. OCBC and UOB usually refund unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value to you shortly after auction result, i.e. around 2-3 pm. DBS's 5 pm is the latest. So you might want to apply using OCBC/UOB accounts for T-bills if you have one.

This is how it looks like in my DBS account transaction summary:

I applied for 1 6M T-bill 2 weeks ago on 14th of Sept (1k SGD deducted) and the auction was done on the 15th in which I was successful, so around 5:10 pm the discounted value was paid back to my account. Upon maturity next March year, the entire 1000 SGD will be paid back (if SG government is still financially sound). The most recent 1000 SGD debit yesterday refers to the 6M T-bill I applied yesterday which was not a successful bid and I am still waiting for the refund.

EDIT: Refund just came in at 5:09 pm.

You can read red devil's first 2 posts in HWZ's SG T-bill thread. It's well explained there for you: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...-bills.6769601/

Hope that helps bro, can always ask me here if you have problems with the application process. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 29 2022, 06:33 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 30 2022, 11:34 AM

8,667 posts

BT 290922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qJsgfHcazu...iew?usp=sharing

TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 04:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 11:34 AM)
BT 290922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qJsgfHcazu...iew?usp=sharing

What is the percentage of SATS' dividend payout ratio ? Anybody knows ?
SUSTOS
post Sep 30 2022, 07:39 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2022, 04:59 PM)
What is the percentage of SATS' dividend payout ratio ? Anybody knows ?
0% bro... They have stopped paying dividend since pandemic...

Which is why retail investors are furious with this acquisition. No money to pay back to shareholders but have big M&A plan instead which significantly strains balance sheets...

No wonder HWZ members call Temasek: "Temasick" laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2022, 07:48 PM

24,334 posts

A singaoorean pointed out to me with monopoly of cargo, they still not very efficient. That's why I skipped sats. It was never on my watch list.
TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 09:00 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 07:39 PM)
0% bro... They have stopped paying dividend since pandemic...

Which is why retail investors are furious with this acquisition. No money to pay back to shareholders but have big M&A plan instead which significantly strains balance sheets...

No wonder HWZ members call Temasek: "Temasick" laugh.gif
Tq for the info, bro,... I used to own this with SIA Eng'g a few years ago and have taken profit after that.
TSHansel
post Sep 30 2022, 09:15 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 29 2022, 04:59 PM)
50k USD bro, is erm, not a small amount in not-so-"maju" Malaysia.  laugh.gif The foreign expats surely can afford it, but not likely to be the case for all undocumented foreigners.
You should apply bro. Risk free rates are rising sharply now except when BOE messed things up yesterday...

Yes, for competitive bid, you can bid at any rate you like, minimum 1000 SGD up to 1 million SGD per competitive bid. If the auction result is such that your bid rate (e.g. my bid was 3.5%) is higher than the cut-off yield (3.32% in this recent issue), then your money will be refunded (unsuccessful application). If you bid 3.30% for example, and the cut-off yield is 3.32%, then you will be successful in the bid. If your bid rate is exactly the cut-off yield (e.g. you bid 3.32% and cut-off yield is exactly 3.32%), then you can expect partial allocation.

You need to put your funds upfront (again, 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD for competitive bid), the application opens 1 week before the auction date and closes 1 day before auction date. To earn some more bank interests, I usually apply at the last minute (around 5 pm for DBS, deadline is 9 pm the day before auction day) but there are risks associated so some people apply a few days earlier instead.

If you are successful in the bid, at around 5pm or 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced, DBS will refund you the discounted value of the bill (i.e. your "interest") and the bill is held by MAS till maturity when the entire bill is retired at par value, i.e. (the 1000 SGD - 1 million SGD amount you bid for earlier). Of course, this is provided MAS/SG government is still functioning 6 months after the bill is issued.

If you are not successful in the bid, e.g. CDP account not yet set up, DCS service still not activated, or like in my recent case (today), my bid yield is higher than the cut-off yield, so my entire bid amount (1000 SGD) will be refunded around the same time as the case if bid is successful and discounted value is refunded, i.e. around 5 pm to 10 minutes past 5 the same day as auction results are announced.

Note that DBS is always the slowest among the 3 primary dealers in refunding unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value. OCBC and UOB usually refund unsuccessful bid/pay discounted value to you shortly after auction result, i.e. around 2-3 pm. DBS's 5 pm is the latest. So you might want to apply using OCBC/UOB accounts for T-bills if you have one. 

This is how it looks like in my DBS account transaction summary:

I applied for 1 6M T-bill 2 weeks ago on 14th of Sept (1k SGD deducted) and the auction was done on the 15th in which I was successful, so around 5:10 pm the discounted value was paid back to my account. Upon maturity next March year, the entire 1000 SGD will be paid back (if SG government is still financially sound). The most recent 1000 SGD debit yesterday refers to the 6M T-bill I applied yesterday which was not a successful bid and I am still waiting for the refund. 

EDIT: Refund just came in at 5:09 pm.

You can read red devil's first 2 posts in HWZ's SG T-bill thread. It's well explained there for you: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...-bills.6769601/

Hope that helps bro, can always ask me here if you have problems with the application process. biggrin.gif
Bro,... thank you very much for taking the time to write all these.

Appreciated it very much,... thumbsup.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 30 2022, 09:40 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 30 2022, 07:48 PM)
A singaoorean pointed out to me with monopoly of cargo, they still not very efficient. That's why I skipped sats. It was never on my watch list.
Not efficient as in ROA/ROE not high enough (to cover cost of capital)? Or gross/net/operational margins can be expanded further? Or FCF can be higher?

Or something else?
SUSTOS
post Sep 30 2022, 09:40 PM

8,667 posts

-del-

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 30 2022, 09:40 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2022, 11:43 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 30 2022, 09:40 PM)
Not efficient as in ROA/ROE not high enough (to cover cost of capital)? Or gross/net/operational margins can be expanded further? Or FCF can be higher?

Or something else?
Can't remember. It was 2-3 years ago chat.
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2022, 03:11 PM

8,667 posts

BT 300922: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1skD-P-BKbj...iew?usp=sharing

SG has tightened housing loan limits to cool down the red hot property market.
SUSTOS
post Oct 2 2022, 11:41 AM

8,667 posts

BT Weekend 01-021022: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1moZu7yU40n...iew?usp=sharing

Lots to read in today's BT. First few pages are about housing market in SG with recent policy tightening. Then you have "what type of investors are you" brunch section.

Ladies and gentlemen, MAS is set to release its monetary policy statement no later than 14th October, in less than 2 weeks time. Better change MYR to SGD before hand...

Ramjade Are you a daring dragon or a spontaneous shark? laugh.gif

330 Pages « < 261 262 263 264 265 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:10 PM