prophetjul
post Jan 28 2016, 03:33 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 28 2016, 03:29 PM)
http://arcademoneychangers.com.sg/ratesbiglogo.asp

I contacted them via email in Dec, and they asked me to look at the URL above. In Dec, the rate was better in KL. However, looking at it today, seems like Arcade has better rate?
Problem is bringing all the Ringgits across! laugh.gif
wjchay
post Jan 28 2016, 03:47 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 28 2016, 04:33 PM)
Problem is bringing all the Ringgits across!  laugh.gif
Someone in this the other thread told me half a mil MYR is only a back pack wink.gif

On a serious note, someone else said when you drive across, they don't really check.
prophetjul
post Jan 28 2016, 04:08 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 28 2016, 03:47 PM)
Someone in this the other thread told me half a mil MYR is only a back pack wink.gif

On a serious note, someone else said when you drive across, they don't really check.
Breakin the law ler
wjchay
post Jan 28 2016, 04:19 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 28 2016, 05:08 PM)
Breakin the law ler
I believe you can take up to RM10k without declaration, you can check BNM or customs website. Also, if you choose to declare, I think you can declare as much as you want, as long as the funds are legally obtained, maybe others can shed some light here.

EDIT:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/fxadmin/n...1_Residents.pdf
Section 2.1.2 Investment abroad - should be pretty clear.

EDIT:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_curr_declaration
USD10k worth of MYR to cross border will need to be declared. That's all.

This post has been edited by wjchay: Jan 28 2016, 04:32 PM
TSHansel
post Jan 28 2016, 04:38 PM

9,354 posts

Hi everybody,...

Sorry for the disappearance,... been busy,... smile.gif

Looking at the charts, seems like the SGDMYR is tapering-off at 2.9360,... the waves are getting weaker an levelling-off at that point.

If changing money at the Arcade, the rates are good,... yes,...

A traveller can carry across USD10K, or its equivalent in other currencies, thru Customs at any particular time, without filling in the form and make a declaration.

Other businesses, as per normal events,...

Edited : Apologies,.. should be 2.9460 and not 2.9360 when I checked back a second time.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jan 28 2016, 05:01 PM
TSHansel
post Jan 28 2016, 11:55 PM

9,354 posts

As of this moment, SGDMYR = 2.9230. Still continuing to be steady.
TSHansel
post Jan 28 2016, 11:56 PM

9,354 posts

I wonder if oil price pushes up higher, will the effect on the SGX-ST be 'pushing up higher' too ??
yck1987
post Jan 29 2016, 11:23 AM

808 posts

why sgx thread become currency thread already ? Ringgit strengthen bad news to me la, I need more RM for CNY cry.gif

$1 = 2.9049 now market rate
prophetjul
post Jan 29 2016, 11:46 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 28 2016, 10:39 AM)
Hansel, what u think of Accordia Golf Trust.
Price drop severely and the yield seem good.
http://www.sgx.com/wps/portal/sgxweb/home/...facts?code=ADQU
High volume today thumbup.gif
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 05:17 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jan 29 2016, 11:23 AM)
why sgx thread become currency thread already ? Ringgit strengthen bad news to me la, I need more RM for CNY  cry.gif

$1 = 2.9049 now market rate
Hi yck,... I laid down some ideas because SGD is needed in order to buy more counters in the SGX nod.gif ...

Yeah,...I must admit that I feel the same as you do too, seeing the SGD plunged to 2.90 level, but in a way, we have to feel good too, because this gives us a chance to buy the SGD cheaper. If I/we are of the view, the long term view,.. that the SGD is still the currency that is more resilient, then we must carry the conviction and the confidence to load-up more of the SGD. Short-term dips of the SGD must be treated as windows of opportunity for us to convert over. Emotional pressure due to short term events must be offset at all cost,...unless, of course, we tell ourselves that the MYR has actually regained its true fundamentals, and IS THE currency to go with.

Need for funds for the coming CNY next week is a short term event,...

So,.. steady, my friend,...
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 05:25 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 29 2016, 11:46 AM)
High volume today    thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif could be a case of the rising tide carrying all boats up,... SGX-ST is heavily green today. rclxms.gif
prophetjul
post Jan 29 2016, 05:26 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 29 2016, 05:25 PM)
thumbup.gif  could be a case of the rising tide carrying all boats up,... SGX-ST is heavily green today.  rclxms.gif
Very rare do i see such heavy volume with Accordia. Most oft thinly traded counter. Something good coming? biggrin.gif

Last time it hit 7mil was June 2015

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jan 29 2016, 05:28 PM
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 05:48 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 29 2016, 05:26 PM)
Very rare do i see such heavy volume with Accordia. Most oft thinly traded counter. Something good coming?    biggrin.gif

Last time it hit 7mil was June 2015
Interesting,... could be,... perhaps further acquisitions,... There wasn't any official ann't in the SGXNET for yesterday and today. Keep a lookout for the monthly report ,.... thisis one counter that I discovered that gives out monthly reports,... smile.gif
yck1987
post Jan 29 2016, 05:51 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 29 2016, 05:17 PM)
Hi yck,... I laid down some ideas because SGD is needed in order to buy more counters in the SGX  nod.gif ...

Yeah,...I must admit that I feel the same as you do too, seeing the SGD plunged to 2.90 level, but in a way, we have to feel good too, because this gives us a chance to buy the SGD cheaper. If I/we are of the view, the long term view,.. that the SGD is still the currency that is more resilient, then we must carry the conviction and the confidence to load-up more of the SGD. Short-term dips of the SGD must be treated as windows of opportunity for us to convert over. Emotional pressure due to short term events must be offset at all cost,...unless, of course, we tell ourselves that the MYR has actually regained its true fundamentals, and IS THE currency to go with.

Need for funds for the coming CNY next week is a short term event,...

So,.. steady, my friend,...
nope bro Hansel, my meaning is that I'm a sgd earner, I need higher exchange rate to convert more to Ringgit for cny event. blush.gif

yck1987
post Jan 29 2016, 05:54 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 29 2016, 05:25 PM)
thumbup.gif  could be a case of the rising tide carrying all boats up,... SGX-ST is heavily green today.  rclxms.gif
all counters green today, being some times never see such rally in my portfolio. rclxms.gif

in conclusion for this month alone, my portfolio still down about 15%. major cause by banking stocks and kepp corpse laugh.gif steady steady, next month fight back wink.gif

This post has been edited by yck1987: Jan 29 2016, 06:00 PM
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 06:58 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jan 29 2016, 05:51 PM)
nope bro Hansel, my meaning is that I'm a sgd earner, I need higher exchange rate to convert more to Ringgit for cny event.    blush.gif
I see,... good for you then. Yes, you are right then, if the MYR weakens further, you will get more MYR for each SGD that you convert over for your expenses in Msia. Looking at it in another way,...you are already winning, each SGD that you earn was only giving you RM2.70 not too long ago. You are getting more than that now. thumbup.gif

Wait till next week. The MYR will not strengthen forever... thumbup.gif
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 06:59 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jan 29 2016, 05:54 PM)
all counters green today, being some times never see such rally in my portfolio.  rclxms.gif

in conclusion for this month alone, my portfolio still down about 15%. major cause by banking stocks and kepp corpse  laugh.gif  steady steady, next month fight back  wink.gif
No problem there,... 15% down can be covered back easily by KepCorp and banking stocks. rclxms.gif
TSHansel
post Jan 29 2016, 07:44 PM

9,354 posts

Starting from this evening,... the charts for USDMYR and SGDMYR are saying to me : climb higher highs and higher lows........Is the MYR turning around and starting to weaken. The pulses look solid and consistent,... but that's to my eyes !

Icehart
post Jan 29 2016, 07:48 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 29 2016, 07:44 PM)
Starting from this evening,... the charts for USDMYR and SGDMYR are saying to me : climb higher highs and higher lows........Is the MYR turning around and starting to weaken. The pulses look solid and consistent,... but that's to my eyes !
What has changed that makes the RM go up?
Has the oil prices spiked back to $70+?
Has the fundamental of economy strengthen in Malaysia?
Has the productivity & talent increased?
Has the brain drain issue improved?

AVFAN
post Jan 29 2016, 07:53 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 29 2016, 07:44 PM)
i would not rclxms.gif too early.

rm may have peaked for this round.

i will watch oil price, dow and china closely.

oil unlikely to rise much more that quickly unless opec and others cut production.

even so, shale oil can return very quickly.

it was perfect weather.

a new perfect storm can gather - oil falls, china devalues, new scandal, bigger than expected deficits, some terror incident...

better be balanced, on even keel for now.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 29 2016, 08:04 PM

330 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:55 AM