71 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post Jul 30 2020, 11:37 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Jul 30 2020, 10:50 AM)
For DBS; it will be capped at 72 cents cumulative dividend for the next 4 Q, effectively 18 cents per Quarter. If u buy 100 units now, the dividend is about 3.6%.
Looks like SGX is reacting negatively to this news too,... FY2020 REporting is thi evening,... I suspect the dpu will be cut too !
TSHansel
post Aug 1 2020, 01:51 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 30 2020, 12:19 PM)
MAS is prepping for the possibility of a L shape recovery.
Tq bro CL,... appreciated this,...
TSHansel
post Sep 8 2020, 03:57 PM

9,361 posts

Yeah,... we need the 3 banks to start moving,... then the STI will recover.
TSHansel
post Sep 22 2020, 11:18 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Sep 21 2020, 04:13 PM)
anybody buying banks? DBS? UOB? OCBC?

Which bank will rebound fastest?
Bro,... the macro-economic situation is not good for banks now. A regulatory body in The USA did a report called CENFin and announced that many banks in the world were involved in money-laundering activities in the past twenty years without proper controls in place.

You will see the banks have dropped a lot today.

It's better to watch a bit longer and let the dust settle, otherwise, you may run the risk of buying higher. For SG banks, things shld be fine, but let the dust settle a bit more before entering. Don't wait too long though.

Each of the above three banks has its merits. I am holding-on to my DBS, and will focus on averaging down further because it pays out 4 times a year, whereas the other 2 pay out twice a year.
TSHansel
post Oct 9 2020, 04:33 PM

9,361 posts

Have recently invested into Ascendas iTrust, CRCT and Micro-Mechanics. Things are doing fine,.... I believed these ctrs still have legs, bros,...

Commented further in Sharejunction, bros,...
TSHansel
post Oct 11 2020, 02:05 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 9 2020, 11:46 PM)
Hansel Thanks. Which Singapore forum is the best for Singapore shares? I tend to look more in HardwareZone and only have a glimpse of Sharejunction previously.
Welcome, bro,... I used those two forums too,... when I first started investing many years ago,.. I used to use the CNA forum, but too bad, this forum has been disbanded. I have many details of my steps recorded in this forum,... but the forum has been disbanded, hence, I lost everything.

I still remembered,.. one of my first counters invested into was First REIT,.. and I learnt from the writings of a forummer called : Thai King. biggrin.gif

Today,.. I don't forum too much anymore,... unless time permits,... I am confident in my ideas,...
TSHansel
post Nov 1 2020, 02:35 PM

9,361 posts

Tq bros AV and Ramjade,....

I was abt to ask a question too,... would you chg plans and invest into the SET or the BSKL then since the STI is the worst among the region's indices ?
TSHansel
post Nov 3 2020, 04:29 PM

9,361 posts

Tqvm for all your replies, bros,... appreciated them and apologies for the late ctr-reply,... Many I wanted to say have been said in the above already,... so,... I'll just add : I'm comfortable investing into instruments which are denominated in stronger currencies compared to our Ringgit.

And this feat shld be easier because you guys know our Ringgit,... so, well,.. I'll just go on doing what I've been doing. I wouldn't want to dabble into the baht nor any of the other Asean currencies.
TSHansel
post Nov 3 2020, 04:32 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 2 2020, 12:26 PM)
5% must mostly come from capital gain. Bonds in SG hardly yield 5% unless it's junk and sub-par ones. Good that you rotate out. This low-yield environment is really killing us investors.
I know lah sifu. How many times you want to suggest Parkway LIFE? laugh.gif

I am looking at US baby bonds now. The Prudential Financial family looks very attractive to me. 5-6% and mature in 3-5 years time (they are perpetuals but usually called and retired after 3-5 years of issuance). 

How's your Micro-Mech doing? I really regret missing out this gem back in March and missed out again for the last few months. The stock rally already priced in everything, and I don't want to "chase the rally". Gonna wait.

You bought Fortis? That's in Canadian dollar? I know visa and master card. But which one to choose? I do have some spare money now. Scholarship and some ward money coming in this month. Around 5-10k HKD. 

When did you start to become a fan of Junius Pierpoint Morgan. He loves railroad bonds. And you love railroad stocks. tongue.gif
That fella copied me, bro,... don't call him that,...... biggrin.gif
TSHansel
post Nov 5 2020, 03:42 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2020, 04:52 PM)
Actually you didn't tell me about using parkway life as bond. Was just an observation on my part.
Okay-lar,.. this also indirectly means everything else you have done,... I mentioned them to you earlier. Good also,.. congrats,....

PLife REIT's dpu rose 7.4% year on year,... congrats again,... smile.gif
TSHansel
post Nov 26 2020, 02:18 PM

9,361 posts

If the Msian Budget is approved this evening, the automatic moratorium of another 6 months for borrowers will benefit OCBC and UOB.

DBS, UOB and OCBC dropped this morning because of this report which was published yesterday : https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...stainable-rally
TSHansel
post Nov 27 2020, 11:10 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 27 2020, 10:46 AM)
Hold unless something changes with the company. I don't sell stock unless better choices available. Eg I swap out Frasers center point for United hamisphere. Frasers cut dividend while United was able to collect their rentals.

Same thing with aims amp. Decreasing dividends is no no for me.
Hope you get it. Do let us know.
I'll comment on the above first : this bro seems to be following in my footsteps always. The two things he mentioned above are the same things I have done during this pandemic.

Good all-round discussions here, bros,... tq,... for myself, I think there is a high chance that the entitled units in an EFR can be subscribed to successfully, BUT the excess applications will be dimmer. Hence, one may end up with odd lots. But,.. we shall see from TOS' experience in the above.

The banks are a sectpr-rotation play now from virus to vaccine. And Phase 3 is coming soon,... hence the strength in the banks. I am deep inside DBS, having averaged down all the way from $26 to $21 in the ast few months. SO,.. I'll stay out for DBS. Among the sector-rotation plays, I'm only for the banks in SG. Don't know-lar,... I don't have much confidence in going for ComfortDelgro and Semb Inds nor Keppel Corp anymore.

Bro,... why do you say this ? : Looking forward, the market sees rate to go up. UOB is already seizing this opportunity to issue negative-yield bonds. The hint is there. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...s-1b-euro-issue.

Why would a bank want to grab the opportunity to issue negative-yielding bonds if interest rates may go up and banks can instead earn more net interest margin from a rising interest rate environment ? I have some suspicions in mind but I'd like you to clarify this,... thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Nov 27 2020, 11:38 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 27 2020, 11:14 AM)
Ramjade bro, Fiverr has no fundamentals one... r u speculating on this? I thought u only collect divvies?
I haven't checked which ctr Fiverr is,... but I did comment in ShareJunction that I have started into Tech Stocks in Nasdaq since August this year. I made money on the splitting exercises of Apple and Tesla. I have always been a divvy investor too but decided to dipmy fingers into Nasdaq and NYSE when the USD interest rates reached almost 0%.
TSHansel
post Nov 28 2020, 04:53 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 27 2020, 12:43 PM)
Your reason is not a good reason at all😅

You can also say “buy divvy counters as us rates reached almost 0%.”
Tks bro,.... biggrin.gif

I have many divvy ctrs already,... thot that I'd dip my fingers into growth in the US now,... But today,... I just feel that I am underperforming in my growth investments,... I sat in front of the TV till mkt closed at 2 am this morning and I have still not bought anything,....

I started in US growth back in,... August, I think,... just before Tesla and Apple did their share splits.
TSHansel
post Nov 28 2020, 05:23 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 28 2020, 05:10 PM)
Maybe follow Buffett all in Apple😅... he can’t be that wrong right..wonder why he did not buy Tesla if the growth story so convincing ...😬
Emm,... he makes mistakes too and lost money too,... it' better to do analysis outselves.

Bro,... the thing abt him is,... he entered many ctrs early and the ctrs are still doing well, with him holding at very low prices. This is the advantage he is enjoying now. Of course, he chose the right ctrs too long ago,... this is where the stock-picking skills come in.

I am happy to say I am in quite a similar situation too,... but not with US stocks. I'm holding SG stocks and REITs at low prices.
TSHansel
post Nov 28 2020, 11:36 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 28 2020, 11:01 PM)
No need figure out growth investing cause not profit making companies are rocketing. Just give your money to Cathie Wood of ARK and buy either ARKK or ARKW and CXSE and you are good to go.
I don't follow herd mentality,... not especially from someone who followed me earlier,... you wrote a big piece earlier basically abt making money faster within a shorter period of time,... everybody knows this, you're not the only one.

The question is : will you lose money instead of making money doing this or not ? And,... can you afford to lose that money ? Do you have the guts to lose that money ??
TSHansel
post Nov 30 2020, 05:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 29 2020, 03:51 PM)
Actually I have been in tech for a long time. Way before I started investing in dividend stocks. Since 2014-5 I think via unit trust. I am not asking you to follow me. I am saying just leave your money with Cathie wood. If you think Cathie wood is herd mentally then I don't know what to think. I will say she got guts and she is not heard mentally cause she's investing in disruption tech. There's old tech and new tech. And I like that she shared her research openly unlike most firms which keep it guarded.

I welcome red days. So far my tech all make money. Since 2015. Brexit, taper tantrum, 2018 crash, march 2020 crash bring it on. I welcome every one of them. The redder it is the better. If you think I don't take loss, can't stand loss, think again. Singtel and first reit are my prime examples. There a lesson to learn from them although itd expensive and painful.
I have been looking at ARK since mid of this year after seeing how it outperform consistently my other tech funds.
Ark for American market. CXSE for china tech.
Well,... I'll just say again,... I'll do my own analysis,... it's been okay so far.
TSHansel
post Dec 1 2020, 04:02 PM

9,361 posts

Bros,...

Switzerland may not host the 2021 World Economic Forum after all, because the corona pandemic is taking such a heavy toll on the nation. The forum organizers are considering a temporary relocation to a safer place – maybe Singapore?

The World Economic Forum (WEF) had opted for the reclusive site of Buergenstock for the 2021 meeting of business and political leaders instead of Davos, as it tried to make the showcase conference as safe as possible in the times of the pandemic. Now, the alternative meeting place has also come under review, according to a report by Swiss Sunday newspaper «Schweiz am Wochenende».

The huge number of infections and the death toll exacted by Covid-19 in Switzerland has alerted not only foreign governments but also led to concern about participants of the WEF 2021. The organizers have started evaluating potential alternative venues for the meeting that is slated to take place in May.

WEF as a Safe Place

WEF founder Klaus Schwab said that Switzerland was given as the host nation, as long as the corona-situation permitted, according to «Schweiz am Wochenende». He will only allow the event to take place on Buergenstock if and when the health concerns of participants and the public have been met, adding that the WEF should not turn into a super-spreader event.

According to unconfirmed media reports, Schwab held talks with representatives in Singapore

https://www.finews.asia/finance/33282-world...tter-01-12-2020

Just fyi,... I loaded-up further on US Vaccine stocks last night,...

TSHansel
post Dec 1 2020, 04:55 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 1 2020, 04:12 PM)
So, if the relocation were to come true, the delegates will come to SG, but the number of people would be too small to prop up the local economy, no? Apart from making SG reputable in handling covid well, the immediate economic impact might be too small to notice. 

What do you think?
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 1 2020, 04:41 PM)
It's just a conference. Nothing to get excited about. Like OPEC, ASEAN conference, North Korea summit before this.
I look at it this way - the more int'l events are being held in SG, the more popular will SG be,... and the more investors will enter,... the effect of the macro-economy will be highly positive. And,... if you know what the WEF is,... I wouldn't call it as just a conference.

I was in Switzerland at the begiining of this year,... this event is,... I can't find the word to describe it. I'm busy with Australia opening up now !
TSHansel
post Dec 3 2020, 07:25 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 2 2020, 05:03 PM)
You joined this year's WEF? You represent... ? tongue.gif 

WEF is for the elite only, if I recalled correctly.
You never know,... There are many classes of representatives and organizations. Eliteness itself has its classes too.

You are undermining yourself if you talk like abt eliteness as the all-God thing ! This is how the so-called 'elites' in Msia 'bully' others and are able to fly when people like you start idolizing them and the word 'elite'.

Start by thinking and behaving equally with all.

Edited by adding : You can't go too if you are an 'elite' next year. You will be hoping that you can go in the next two years. I am happy to have been able to be in Davos this year.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Dec 3 2020, 07:31 PM

71 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.1796sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:21 AM