TSHansel
post Jun 11 2016, 08:38 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 10 2016, 08:02 PM)
hmmm... can think think also.. div yield above 6%

https://www.fool.sg/2016/04/07/how-risky-is...-an-investment/
Electronics manufacturing services provider Venture Corporation Ltd (SGX: V03) is a company that could attract income investors right now with its high dividend yield.

To the point, at its current share price of S$8.39, Venture Corp has a yield of 6.0% thanks to its annual dividend of S$0.05 per share in 2015. For perspective, the SPDR STI ETF (SGX: ES3) – an exchange-traded fund which tracks the fundamentals of Singapore’s stock market benchmark, the Straits Times Index (SGX: ^STI) – has a yield of ‘just’ 3.6%.

But, when it comes to investing, it’s not just the potential rewards that matter – the risks are worth considering too. So while Venture Corp has a high yield, investors might also want to think about its downsides.

When it comes to a stock’s risk, there are many areas to look at, but let’s focus on just two here.

Balance sheet risk

A company can be made fragile by the presence of high levels of debt on its balance sheet.

When a company has been borrowing money wantonly, it could run into trouble with servicing or repaying its loans at some stage. In such events, the company’s shareholders could face painful outcomes such as dilution, an elimination of dividends, involuntary sales of assets, and in the worst-case scenario, bankruptcy.

Walter Schloss, an investor with a phenomenal long-term track record, once said, “I like to look at the balance sheet and I don’t like debt because it can really get a company into trouble.”

On the other hand, a strong balance sheet – one that has plenty of cash and little debt – can help a company tide over tough times and even be a source of opportunity for a company when its financially weaker competitors have to batten down the hatches to survive stormy weather.

For Venture Corp, its balance sheet looks to be in great shape in my view. The company currently has S$459 million in cash and just S$135 million in total debt.

Customer concentration risk

It can be dangerous for a company to have just a handful of customers. Just think of what can happen to its business if one customer collapses or simply decides to walk away? A high level of customer centration has killed companies before and the sapphire glass manufacturer GT Advanced Technologies is a great example.

The company was listed in the U.S. stock market and had to file for bankruptcy in late 2014 when its product failed to meet the requirements of its customer, Apple Inc. At that time, Apple was likely to be responsible for the lion’s share of GT Advanced Technologies’ revenue.

There may be some worries here with Venture Corp. In its latest 2015 annual report, the company revealed that there was one customer which made up “more than 10%” of its total revenue of S$2.656 billion in that year.

“More than 10%” is a little vague, but it’s not the precise number I’m concerned with here. What’s more important to know is that Venture Corp has a big customer and that’s a risk to note.

That said, the company need not necessarily be in danger in the future. The situation has been going on since at least 2013 (there was also one customer that accounted for over 10% of Venture Corp’s total revenue in each year in both 2014 and 2013) but the company has still managed to grow its revenue in 2014 and 2015.

A Fool’s take

In summary, Venture Corp is a company with a low level of balance sheet risk but high (and possibly very high) customer concentration risk.

But on the earlier question on just how risky is the high-yielding Venture Corp as an investment, there’s still insufficient information in here to be able to reach a conclusive answer. While a study of the company’s balance sheet and customer concentration profile is important, there are other key aspects of the company’s business fundamentals to consider, as I had mentioned.
If we can agree that Venture Corp and UMS Hldgs are in quite similar industries, then we can look at the dividend payout. Venture pays out only once a year, whereas UMS pays out 4 times a year. I get my funds faster if I go with UMS.

For myself, I look at it this way, if I'm going to go with Venture Corp, at current price, getting 6% a year, once-a-year is not good enough because this will just be similar if I invest into our beloved PNB Fixed-Priced Funds. smile.gif

I'd prefer to get hold of my funds faster, and at a more consistent manner throughout the year,... smile.gif
TSHansel
post Jun 11 2016, 08:43 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 11 2016, 07:24 PM)
Lately i have been topping up ocbc. What else to buy before SC imposing minimum brokerage charges. What US or Sg counters should i buy for long term basis?
Right now, for SGD-based counters, I'm looking at Keppel Corp, UMS HOldings, and Venture Corp.. I studied Silverlake Axis, but I think it's risky.

For USD-based counters, I'm looking at the new Manulife US REIT. Observe HPH Trust too,... don't go in yet.
TSHansel
post Jun 11 2016, 08:44 PM

9,348 posts

I still have faith in Cache LOgistics Trust.

http://www.sgx.com/wps/wcm/connect/4a2b3b3...&utm_content=BR
elea88
post Jun 12 2016, 09:03 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 11 2016, 08:38 PM)
If we can agree that Venture Corp and UMS Hldgs are in quite similar industries, then we can look at the dividend payout. Venture pays out only once a year, whereas UMS pays out 4 times a year. I get my funds faster if I go with UMS.

For myself, I look at it this way, if I'm going to go with Venture Corp, at current price, getting 6% a year, once-a-year is not good enough because this will just be similar if I invest into our beloved PNB Fixed-Priced Funds.  smile.gif

I'd prefer to get hold of my funds faster, and at a more consistent manner throughout the year,...  smile.gif
yeap i totally agree. The reason i choose UMS is because of the few times payout in a year vs the 1 time payout.

also the chances of Capital Appreciation might be faster with UMS.

My entry price for UMS is low. Now looking at the price , Is it the right time to top up?

Silverlake Axis i hv disposed. Might enter again if the price is right.
Showtime747
post Jun 12 2016, 11:27 AM

4,258 posts

Hansel thumbup.gif for sharing !

prince_mk
post Jun 12 2016, 12:11 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 11 2016, 08:44 PM)
I still have faith in Cache LOgistics Trust.

http://www.sgx.com/wps/wcm/connect/4a2b3b3...&utm_content=BR
Hello Hansel

Currently I m holding Keppel R, Keppel Corp, SoilBuilder, OCBC, Capital Comm and Croesus.

Some suggested me to dispose Soilbuilder. Are my portfolio okay for long term? How abt M1?

At d moment, I m trying to build my portfolio before d min brokerage charge take effect soon.

prince_mk
post Jun 12 2016, 12:12 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 11 2016, 08:43 PM)
Right now, for SGD-based counters, I'm looking at Keppel Corp, UMS HOldings, and Venture Corp.. I studied Silverlake Axis, but I think it's risky.

For USD-based counters, I'm looking at the new Manulife US REIT. Observe HPH Trust too,... don't go in yet.
For usd based counter, wouldnt u consider abt apple? D price is low at d moment.
elea88
post Jun 13 2016, 09:13 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 12 2016, 12:12 PM)
For usd based counter, wouldnt u consider abt apple? D price is low at d moment.
Erm.. no more Apple suppporter. Now i am Samsung & Korea fan...

Today SGX very red.. can go shopping.

maybe i will top up CACHE LOGISTICS

This post has been edited by elea88: Jun 13 2016, 09:14 AM
prince_mk
post Jun 13 2016, 10:12 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:13 AM)

Apa ni. After some said Cache no good, I sold them off.

Now saying time to buy Cache. Confused tongue.gif
TSHansel
post Jun 13 2016, 10:46 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 12 2016, 09:03 AM)
yeap i totally agree. The reason i choose UMS is because of the few times payout in a year vs the 1 time payout.

also the chances of Capital Appreciation might be faster with UMS.

My entry price for UMS is low. Now looking at the price , Is it the right time to top up?

Silverlake Axis i hv disposed. Might enter again if the price is right.
Hi Elea,...

I will continue to accumulate UMS. Anything below 0.595 is okay,... for the medium term at current fundamentals.

Yeah, I think Cache Logistics Trust is a good try too,....
TSHansel
post Jun 13 2016, 10:47 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 13 2016, 10:12 AM)
Apa ni. After some said Cache no good, I sold them off.

Now saying time to buy Cache. Confused tongue.gif
smile.gif Sorry man,... continue to monitor this counter,.... I see DBSV has some good reasons for this counter.
TSHansel
post Jun 13 2016, 10:48 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 12 2016, 11:27 AM)
Hansel  thumbup.gif for sharing !
Tks bro,......... smile.gif
TSHansel
post Jun 13 2016, 10:54 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 12 2016, 12:11 PM)
Hello Hansel

Currently I m holding Keppel R, Keppel Corp, SoilBuilder, OCBC, Capital Comm and Croesus.

Some suggested me to dispose Soilbuilder. Are my portfolio okay for long term? How abt M1?

At d moment, I m trying to build my portfolio before d min brokerage charge take effect soon.
Bro,... you are doing the right thing. Before Stanchart imposes the minimum brokerage charge, now's the time to adjust your portfolio, buy all that's to buy, and sell away whatever may not be good. You have until July 31 to do so. thumbsup.gif

Can't comment much about your portfolio. I don't have a sufficiently complete picture of it.

Soilbuild - some headwinds are there, no doubt about this. The same headwinds are attacking other industrial REITs too,....
prince_mk
post Jun 13 2016, 12:29 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 13 2016, 10:54 AM)
Bro,... you are doing the right thing. Before Stanchart imposes the minimum brokerage charge, now's the time to adjust your portfolio, buy all that's to buy, and sell away whatever may not be good. You have until July 31 to do so.  :thumbsup:

Can't comment much about your portfolio. I don't have a sufficiently complete picture of it.

Soilbuild - some headwinds are there, no doubt about this. The same headwinds are attacking other industrial REITs too,....
Will PM u my portfolio. Hope to hear some advise frm u.

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Jun 13 2016, 12:29 PM
elea88
post Jun 13 2016, 12:54 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:13 AM)

coz i still hv CACHE LOGIS. Like kinda need average down.

and i dun want buy more counters. I sticking to what I hv.

If not my portfolio is going to long list ....

TSHansel
post Jun 13 2016, 04:48 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 13 2016, 12:54 PM)
coz i still hv CACHE LOGIS. Like kinda need average down.

and i dun want buy more counters. I sticking to what I hv.

If not my portfolio is going to long list ....
Yes, I would do as you've just done,... limit your counters to a few good ones, but this calls for good stock-picking skills. This is the hard part.

If you buy-in at the correct price, even if later on, you find that you've chosen the wrong counters (due to whatever reason), you will still be able to dispose at manageable losses, if not at small profits.
prince_mk
post Jun 13 2016, 07:27 PM

2,679 posts

For sharin purpose. List of growth counters that are recommended by sgx.
prince_mk
post Jun 13 2016, 07:30 PM

2,679 posts

For sharin purpose. List of growth counters that are recommended by sgx.

icemanfx
post Jun 14 2016, 12:20 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 12 2016, 11:27 AM)
Hansel  thumbup.gif for sharing !
Congratulation to your winning on germany vs ukraine. time to double on next match.

Showtime747
post Jun 14 2016, 06:32 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 14 2016, 12:20 AM)
Congratulation to your winning on germany vs ukraine. time to double on next match.
Son, you OTed ! Please head to kopitiam....

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Jun 14 2016, 06:32 AM

330 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:55 PM