How to check if NDS lite is flashed?, What flash version, etc.?

TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 24 2006, 11:13 PM, updated 19y ago

Big Spender
673 posts

Is there a sequence of button press or software to check?
reveur
post Nov 25 2006, 01:06 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

I believe this can be found somewhere in the forum or by doing a simple google.

ATM i dont remeber whats the way to check the flash.
Gilthoniel
post Nov 25 2006, 01:39 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

just put in *ahem* cartridges and if it runs, it's flashed
RAMChYLD
post Nov 25 2006, 09:45 AM

1,715 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_DS_h...rmware_versions
http://www.dslinux.org/wiki/Pictochat_Test

Hehe, like the name leh, takeMeOut. Reminds of that cheesy soundfont demo midi that came with my SoundBlaster AWE64.
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 25 2006, 11:43 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Pictochat comes preloaded with NDS? I don't see it anywhere .... do I have to pop in a proper DS card, instead of the usual flashcarts?
scph50004
post Nov 25 2006, 11:54 PM

Für die lulz
692 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 25 2006, 11:43 PM)
Pictochat comes preloaded with NDS? I don't see it anywhere .... do I have to pop in a proper DS card, instead of the usual flashcarts?
-.-''' it's in your main menu... don't pop in anything if you selected autostart DS cartridge... it's always there...

This post has been edited by scph50004: Nov 25 2006, 11:54 PM
infested_ysy
post Nov 26 2006, 01:39 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 25 2006, 11:43 PM)
Then it's proof that your DS' been flashed.

Hold down select when powering on your DS to go to the usual nintendo health warning welcome screen, and select pictochat from there.

I don't think the version matters tho. Nintendo doesn't make any forced updates for the DS at all, unlike PSP. So whatever flashed version on your DS is fine, I guess. Besides, you can always upgrade your flashed firmware anytime you want. Just load the update file on your flashcart and execute it from your DS (usually it should automatically detect the update file and asks if you want to update, when you power on)
satanduck
post Nov 26 2006, 09:51 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Nov 26 2006, 01:39 AM)
I don't think the version matters tho. Nintendo doesn't make any forced updates for the DS at all, unlike PSP. So whatever flashed version on your DS is fine, I guess. Besides, you can always upgrade your flashed firmware anytime you want. Just load the update file on your flashcart and execute it from your DS (usually it should automatically detect the update file and asks if you want to update, when you power on)
I think you might have been confused between your flashcart upgrade and the flashme upgrade. FlashMe "upgrades" are always reflashed and NEVER automatic. Certain "upgrades" you even need to short SL1 again, but some you don't need to.
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 26 2006, 03:14 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Ok, without inserting a slot1 card, turning on DSL, can see the pictochat function. But can't see color as per the instructions, unless I try to close the DSL, can catch a glimpse of purple color. Ok, that means firmware 7 or DSL firmware.

But still no way to tell wat kind of flash eg. PassMe2 or NoPass, etc..

How come some DSL interface is in chinese and some in english .... is that the flash software?
satanduck
post Nov 26 2006, 05:21 PM

292 posts

There is only one kind of flash, FlashMe. All the other you mentioned are hardware based solutions.
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 27 2006, 06:39 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Have seen some NDSL that has chinese when booting up from flashcarts and in the menus. Could that be the flashcart or the flash itself?
DjiNn
post Nov 27 2006, 09:07 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 27 2006, 06:39 AM)
Have seen some NDSL that has chinese when booting up from flashcarts and in the menus. Could that be the flashcart or the flash itself?
that one is a flashcart.. not the flash
rumizu
post Nov 27 2006, 09:52 AM

Mr. Brightside
534 posts

flashed nds will remove the health warning right?

This post has been edited by rumizu: Nov 27 2006, 09:52 AM
andy_lhc
post Nov 27 2006, 09:57 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(rumizu @ Nov 27 2006, 09:52 AM)
got 2 type of flashme..1 will remove the health warning......the other wont.....
DjiNn
post Nov 27 2006, 10:25 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

to only know the machine is flash or not~ you have to slot in a flashcart and check if it does boot into the flashcart menu
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 27 2006, 09:49 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

But read that some flashcarts work even without flashed machine.
reveur
post Nov 27 2006, 10:11 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Highly doubt it.
Flash cart works if they have the bypass cart. Using bypass cart they dont need to use flashme.
andy_lhc
post Nov 28 2006, 12:08 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Nov 27 2006, 10:11 PM)
Highly doubt it.
Flash cart works if they have the bypass cart. Using bypass cart they dont need to use flashme.
new slot 1 carts doesnt require the ndsl to be flashed....example...DS-X, Acekard or Ninja X9 doesnt need the NDSL to be flashed.... rclxms.gif
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 28 2006, 07:09 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

So using carts does not mean NDSL is flashed blush.gif

Anyone out there who has chinese and english menus? Am now confused over the many kinds of flash/flashcarts screen,menus.

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Nov 28 2006, 12:08 AM)
new slot 1 carts doesnt require the ndsl to be flashed....example...DS-X, Acekard or Ninja X9 doesnt need the NDSL to be flashed.... rclxms.gif
andy_lhc
post Nov 28 2006, 09:15 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 28 2006, 07:09 AM)
So using carts does not mean NDSL is flashed  blush.gif
using CERTAIN slot-1 solution does not mean NDSL is flashed.....DS-Link for example requires ur ndsl to be flashed.....while using slot-2 can mean its flashed or using superkey+flashcart (doesnt have to be flashed)...... rclxub.gif

easiest way as djinn has pointed out is to insert a slot-2 flashcart ONLI and check whether does it get booted... rclxms.gif

RAMChYLD
post Nov 28 2006, 09:35 AM

1,715 posts

But still no way to tell wat kind of flash eg. PassMe2 or NoPass, etc..

I think ur DSLite is not flashed, since the page say if flashed ur DSLite will show dark green color, not purple.

Other thing you can try according to the page is to remove all memory cards and hold down A+B+X+Y and try to switch on the DS. If white screen and hang, then it is flashed.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 28 2006, 09:39 AM
DjiNn
post Nov 28 2006, 10:06 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

Actually just ask the staff lo~. no need to so headache go through all this "process" laugh.gif
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 28 2006, 07:04 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

How does health warning look like?

QUOTE(rumizu @ Nov 27 2006, 09:52 AM)
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 28 2006, 07:08 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Staff are all ah bengs .... they haven't heard of all these tech terms before. All they know is it's modified (not even know the word 'flash'). Can't even ask what kind of flash they use eg. passme, ninja, etc.. blink.gif

Anyway, my friend has one and I played it for a minute, asked him how come its in chinese ... he said dunno wor... the seller told him it's like that wor (typical answer from ah beng) ..... nothing to do with his DSLINK firmware. blush.gif

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Nov 28 2006, 10:06 AM)
Actually just ask the staff lo~. no need to so headache go through all this "process" laugh.gif
arhong
post Nov 28 2006, 07:48 PM

93 posts

one simple question if the flashin process fail will it dmg our NDSL
( i mean really spoil no way can repair)
coz now my set have been repairing for 2weeks and still not okay now dealer sayin that they will send it to H.KONG for futher inspection
i scared they are deniying that they spoil my DS durin falshin prosess

James_yka
post Nov 28 2006, 08:12 PM

kNight
1,372 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 28 2006, 07:04 PM)
How does health warning look like?
When the Nintendo DS logo pops up... thats the health safety warning screen...

QUOTE(arhong @ Nov 28 2006, 07:48 PM)
one simple question if the flashin process fail will it dmg our NDSL     
( i mean really spoil no way can repair)
coz now my set have been repairing for 2weeks and still not okay now dealer sayin that they will send it to H.KONG for futher inspection
i scared they are deniying that they spoil my DS durin falshin prosess
Confirmed, yes... It is most probably that they spoiled your ndsl while in the process of flashing...
Just insist on them paying you back, since its not your fault anyway... and for all the time it took...
arhong
post Nov 28 2006, 08:44 PM

93 posts

but the problem is i have been using it for like 2 week wor
arhong
post Nov 28 2006, 08:46 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(James_yka @ Nov 28 2006, 08:12 PM)
When the Nintendo DS logo pops up... thats the health safety warning screen...
Confirmed, yes... It is most probably that they spoiled your ndsl while in the process of flashing...
Just insist on them paying you back, since its not your fault anyway... and for all the time it took...
but i have been using it for 2weeks and then it happen....
mostly i know those seller will insist that we the user that spoil it
but is there any way to tell that is the flashin part that spoil my mac as a prove
thaisxs
post Nov 29 2006, 04:21 AM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(arhong @ Nov 28 2006, 08:46 PM)
but i have been using it for 2weeks and then it happen....
mostly i know those seller will insist that we the user that spoil it
but is there any way to tell that is the flashin part that spoil my mac as a prove
to test ur console izzit flashed ?

get /borrow a sc insert to the ndslite . if possible bring flashme together as well .
if the sc can be detect directly thats mean ur console is flashed .
another way to check bad flash is to
run the flashme to c wat version of flashme they use to help u "FORMAT"

anyway, thats no original warranty for most of the ndslite that in malaysia local store (not sure malaysia nintendo can claim for u ?). thoose warranty r cover by their supplier or the shop themselve .

correct me if i say anything wrong .

This post has been edited by thaisxs: Nov 29 2006, 04:52 AM
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 29 2006, 07:13 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

thaisxs, you are selling so many flashcarts eg. DSlink,Sc-rumble,G6lite,,dummycard,sc-miniSD,m3-miniSD ,etc.

Why sell so many, isn't there a best flashcart? They are all same price.

What is SC? Is it supercard? I thought if use supercard, no need to flash right? Or does all flashcarts require flashing?

Then how come my friend's is purple screen during Pictochat test, even though use DSLINK?
thaisxs
post Nov 29 2006, 12:39 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 29 2006, 07:13 AM)
thaisxs, you are selling so many flashcarts eg. DSlink,Sc-rumble,G6lite,,dummycard,sc-miniSD,m3-miniSD ,etc.

Why sell so many, isn't there a best flashcart? They are all same price.

What is SC? Is it supercard? I thought if use supercard, no need to flash right? Or does all flashcarts require flashing?

Then how come my friend's is purple screen during Pictochat test, even though use DSLINK?
thats no wat so call best flash cart
is
WHICH flash cart suit u the most

yea u no nid to flash ur ndslite also can use SC but only for gba game biggrin.gif

TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 29 2006, 08:31 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Not sure if flashing is good, but I feel of course, leave as original (no flash) is the best. So what flashcart is the best to play NDS and GBA rom, and same size as slot, with no flash?

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Nov 29 2006, 12:39 PM)
thats no wat so call best flash cart
is
WHICH flash cart suit u the most

yea u no nid to flash ur ndslite also can use SC  but only for gba game biggrin.gif
James_yka
post Nov 29 2006, 10:21 PM

kNight
1,372 posts

If you wanted to Play both NDS and GBA games... without flashed...

Then you can only buy a Flashcart... which would probably cost around rm70 or above...
TScrazyconsumer
post Nov 29 2006, 11:15 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

A flashcart? Which one?
arhong
post Nov 30 2006, 08:04 PM

93 posts

how many flashed ver. in the market now
which is highly recommanded
and which is not so recommanded
James_yka
post Nov 30 2006, 08:33 PM

kNight
1,372 posts

Im not sure about others product... But im using Datel Max Launcher...
Cos it also depends on the compatibility with your supercard...
thaisxs
post Dec 1 2006, 12:27 AM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(arhong @ Nov 30 2006, 08:04 PM)
how many flashed ver. in the market now
which is highly recommanded
and which is not so recommanded
v7 .
anything lower than v7
terryforever
post Dec 4 2006, 08:49 AM

192 posts

man! i still dunno my NDSL is flashed or not?
after i test my NDSL,it show purple screen,does that mean ori or flashed??

n my fren told me that original NDSL can't play "ahem" gba game,but mine can? what does that means?? does it really mean my is flashed??

PS:i bought from Andy,he told me is original one.

This post has been edited by terryforever: Dec 4 2006, 08:52 AM
andy_lhc
post Dec 4 2006, 08:52 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Dec 4 2006, 08:49 AM)
man! i still dunno my NDSL is flashed?
after i test my NDSL,it show purple screen,does that mean ori or flashed??

n my fren told me that original NDSL can't play "ahem" gba game,but mine can? what does that means?? does it really mean my is flashed??

PS:i bought from Andy,he told me is original one.
u bought from me?? laugh.gif ...kidding...if ur NDSL game can play "ahem" NDS game (nintendogs, animal crossing) BUT in GBA cart then its flashed...

if u r playing "ahem" GBA games in GBA cart then there is a possibility its not flashed....
bidfordun
post Dec 4 2006, 08:56 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Dec 4 2006, 08:52 AM)
u bought from me?? laugh.gif ...kidding...if ur NDSL game can play "ahem" NDS game (nintendogs, animal crossing) BUT in GBA cart then its flashed...

if u r playing "ahem" GBA games in GBA cart then there is a possibility its not flashed....
i think he meant andy from tnl.....
andy_lhc
post Dec 4 2006, 09:22 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 4 2006, 08:56 AM)
i think he meant andy from tnl.....
i know tat.... sweat.gif
terryforever
post Dec 4 2006, 05:39 PM

192 posts

does that means the ori NDSL also can play "ahem" GBA cart??

I didn't try for "ahem" DS game,coz i support original. So,i only play original game at my NDSL. N sometimes play some "ahem" GBA cart on my NDSL.
TScrazyconsumer
post Dec 4 2006, 07:29 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

That's really confusing now.

ahem NDS game + GBA cart = flash
ahem NDS game + slot 1 cart = ??
ahem GBA game + GBA cart = maybe not flash?
ahem GBA game + slot 1 cart = ??

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Dec 4 2006, 08:52 AM)

andy_lhc
post Dec 4 2006, 07:38 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Dec 4 2006, 07:29 PM)
That's really confusing now.

ahem NDS game + GBA cart = flash
ahem NDS game + slot 1 cart = ??
ahem GBA game + GBA cart = maybe not flash?
ahem GBA game + slot 1 cart = ??
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i remember ahem gba or ori gba non flash oso can play leh........onli ahem nds in gba cart unflashed cannot play...
terryforever
post Dec 4 2006, 09:38 PM

192 posts

not really that confuse lah!

what i means is can original NDSL play "ahem" GBA cart(game)???
bcoz my fren told me that only flashed NDSL can play "ahem" GBA cart(game).

0.0242sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:06 AM