Official Fujifilm X-Series Premium Cameras V5, Say hello to our new X-T2!

clivengu
post Nov 18 2015, 11:00 PM

1,850 posts

Hi guys,

I will like to ask how's the video performance of fujifilm camera these days? I have heard negative feedback on fuji's video previously... but wasn't sure if many issues have been fixed with any firmware updates.

Over the past 2 years owning the x100s, I have never bother with its video...as I came to believe this camera put video as an afterthought.. I am curious to know how does the higher-end model such as the XT-1 performs in video.

Before x100s, I am Sony nex-7 user. Used with a few prime lens, I am able to get video for my trip which I think is good enough. Even after 3-4 years, I am still missing the ability to shoot video at such cinematic quality.

My concern is that, after using x100s, I am a pure fan for Fujifilm, in terms of photography, the experience, the control, the firmware supports and the image quality... I knew for still image photography I will be choosing fujifilm for my next upgrade...it could be the XT-1 or XT-10.

But at the same time, I missed shooting video. And my gf still loves the video I made for our trip to korea 4 years ago. I can only choose one... which is really hard decision.

I really wish if fujifilm camera is equally capable in shooting good video (consumer use...not professional), in terms of codec etc, I really don't bother much as long as it can shoot 1080p at 60fps. The only downside I am aware now is when shooting video with fujifilm is that, all their prime lens do not have stabiliser.... so I won't be able to shoot, say 50mm close up..while having the footage stabilzed nicely. With Sony their affordable 50mm are stabilized really well.

Please advice if there is anyone here actually use their camera to shoot video casually... or for creative work. Thanks.
clivengu
post Jan 5 2016, 07:22 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(JasonW13 @ Jan 3 2016, 06:46 PM)
hello sifus,

am owning a Fujifilm X100s.

Wish to seek for advice on how to utilize this beast better.

I carry it during travel or short trip for street, portrait and landscape shooting. However, I always face issue where the focus was not on the subject, causing the background to be sharp and the subject is blurred.

How to overcome this despite I have locked the shutter and the green box appeared confirming focus.

Happy New Year and many thanks for your reply!
I must admit, me too always get back focusing...especially when the subject is quite a distance from the camera ( like full bodyshot) this camera will 90% backfocusing if I let random stranger to take photo of me during travelling. I really wish fujifilm provide firmware update to include face detection like the x100T...

By the way next week I'm traveling to Bangkok.. And I wish to try out an add on adapter for my x100s. But I can't decide should I go with the wcl or the tcl.. I do have a gopro with me... So I can take Ultra wide - selfie... But I didn't hear much bout the tcl ... If the focal Length really make much different than d original 35mm.. Anyone has experience with either the tcl or wcl , and can give some advice?

clivengu
post Mar 14 2016, 03:43 AM

1,850 posts

Guys... may I know where is malaysia fujifilm service center?

I notice my x100s focusing ring is a bit loose.. feels like it can be move a few mm to the left,right, up, bottom. It feels shaky (if thats the right way to describe)

I wonder if warranty will cover this minor issue? Is just I love my x100s for its build quality and this little "flimsy" feeling makes me feel uneasy...
clivengu
post Jun 6 2016, 09:42 PM

1,850 posts

Can anyone shares where can I get the best price for X70? Does the standard package comes with the lower leather case?
clivengu
post Jun 29 2016, 11:46 AM

1,850 posts

Guys I just sold my beloved x100s. Suppose to change to x70. But currently I am having a second thought if I should get a XT10, as the price are quite close.

Although my initial thought to get x70 is because of its SIZE, wifi, classic chrome, wider focal length, faster focusing speed than my x100s. I know with X70, it will be a camera that replace my hp camera.. it will follow me anywhere I go daily... go mamak, go shopping, take food photos. But I am actually struggling if this is the right call, as I might end up missing the EVF and F2 aperture... No bokeh~~ I wonder if it will end up feeling just replacing my hp camera and I will start to miss the actual photography experience.

Now with Xt10... if I get this camera, Im sure this camera will 90% of the time be used during my travelling (once or twice a year) The rest of the year will probably be in my shelf. I wont bring it to mamak and yamcha. But it will be fun to use when travel. Even so, when traveling, I will not bring more than 2 lenses, to keep the weight down.

I think I can see it this way, X70 for everyday general usage, Xt10 for specific purpose (travel, family portrait, babies). I will like to know how is the quality of the 18mm f2.8 lens on the x70 compare to, xt10 with 18-55mm F2.8-4 kit lens. At 18mm F2.8, for both camera, will the kit lens on par with the x70 in terms of lens sharpness? On my previous sony E mount system...then x100s, im always a prime lens user... because I find zoom kit are not worth it most of the time. but I heard the fuji 18-55mm is quite good? Maybe I can give it a chance ?

Cant make up my mind... can share some advice? maybe it can ease my decision haha..It will be 3-4 years before I change camera, so i want to make the wisest choice. thanks.

* or (Xt10 + x18mm F2) vs x70? image quality wise?

This post has been edited by clivengu: Jun 29 2016, 11:58 AM
clivengu
post Jun 30 2016, 01:30 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jun 30 2016, 09:46 AM)
clivengu,

You had a X100S, then you gave it up. That was a serious decision to make, as you expressed great satisfaction with it and are still looking for another Fuji.

So.... why?

If you wanted a more involved, dedicated photography experience, with creative options, expandability, uncompromising image quality, etc. then it would be the X-T10 for sure.

If you wanted something even more portable, so convenient you take it *EVERYWHERE* without a second thought, with still the Fuji image quality, then it would be the X-70.

In terms of the lens/glass, are you a pixel peeper? The reviews say the X-70's lens is not on par with other competitors, but from the shots I've seen it still looks very very good. If this was a major factor why you chose the X100s, then it would bother you psychologically for a long time if you chose the X-70. The 18-55mm kit is seriously really sharp on the 18mm end, throughout most of the frame, even when wide open... I confirm it.

Alternatively, you can spend RM2, buy a lottery ticket, win the jackpot and buy both!!!
I love the X100s, but I find the focal length a bit too restrictive for everyday usage. The x70 focal length will be preferable for general use... I have thought of getting a WCL, but it will make the whole camera much larger, and kill the purpose. My dream camera is Leica Q, where it has enough megapixels to crop to 35mm n 50mm, and at 28mm it has enough Bokeh... only problem is no money ... dry.gif I check some comparison video between the size of x100 vs xt10, I think they are quite similar sized n weight. Of course I'll need to get a pancake lens to make it as small as possible.

I think im quite a pixel peeper.. At least.. I always see my photo at 100% zoom to check if the images are sharp and well focused. If you are saying the 18-55mm has better sharpness than the 18mm on X70, then I think I will go for the xt10 kit for sure!! Hahaha yeah if i win lottery I will buy both! that will really solve my dilemma!

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 30 2016, 11:56 AM)
I've been going with a main camera + "compact" setup since like forever so I'll share my 2 cents.

The key points here are photography experience and how to do forsee you'll be carrying the X70.

I spent most of my weekdays on office attire, both my pockets were occupied with my phone on one side and coins+keys on the other.

Even though my own compact setups (RX100 and GF7) are pocket-able, I don't have enough pockets for it especially during summer time when I don't wear a jacket.

Because of this, I missed a lot of shots because I left the camera on my desk or just plain too lazy to bring it out etc and used my phone instead.

And if I were to carry a man bag, my main setup (X-E2) would also fit without any significant weight or space penalty.
Thanks bro for the sharing. RX100 is even a much better pocketable camera smile.gif

clivengu
post Jul 5 2016, 08:47 PM

1,850 posts

Hi Guys,

What do you think of the 16mm F1.4, Seems like not much ppl using own this lens or like to use one. Or is it because it is still a relatively new lens in the market? I find it quite hard to find sample photos or review compare other lenses.

I am considering getting the 16mm as the only lens to goes with xt10 for traveling. What you guys think? Any owner of the 16mm here?
clivengu
post Jul 6 2016, 10:02 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(kelvinling @ Jul 5 2016, 10:16 PM)
I've used it before. It's rather sharp. The lens is left in the office though. Maybe some sample pics after raya if possible.
Really appreciate if you could show me some sample.... Do you think it will be to heavy to handle the lens on xt10? I am worry the xt10 + 16mm will be uncomfortable to handle.... making me reconsidering if I should directly go for XT1

clivengu
post Jul 8 2016, 11:14 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(wintzen @ Jul 8 2016, 09:49 AM)
I think for a couple of hundreds more, you should consider the XT1 instead.
is almost rm 1.5k extra... thats almost the price i can pay for another lens. If just hundreds more it will be a no brainer to get xt1 sad.gif
clivengu
post Jul 27 2016, 07:56 PM

1,850 posts

After seilling off my beloved x100s few months ago, I am finally back to the X family! This is the most expensive & premium lens I ever owned... hope it will serve me well in all kind of situations. thumbsup.gif
user posted imageIMG_20160727_171631
clivengu
post Jul 27 2016, 08:08 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 27 2016, 08:04 PM)
Nice QL17  thumbsup.gif
Hahaha just collect as display items, but both camera not working anymore. QL17 belongs to my mum (found in the storeroom), and Yashica belongs to my gf's mum.
clivengu
post Jul 27 2016, 10:01 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 27 2016, 08:09 PM)
High five for X-T1! rclxms.gif
High five!! luckily I din go for xt10 cause this lens is really quite heavy.

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Jul 27 2016, 08:10 PM)
I'm more interested in the QL17 and the yashica.  Haha
Both of these camera is much heavier than the xt1.. solid chunk of metal!

clivengu
post Jul 27 2016, 11:58 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 27 2016, 10:19 PM)
You should get the X-T2. rolleyes.gif
I wish.. biggrin.gif But that will cost at almost x2DOUBLED of what I am paying for xt1. The only thing I really need from the xt2 is the ability to shoot decent video...

BTW thank you for your suggestion to go for the xt1 instead of the xt10. The viewfinder is a joy to use!

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Jul 27 2016, 11:50 PM)
Another test with Samyang 12mm, one word its blueee tongue.gif
user posted imageDSCF6022 by Muhd Saiful, on Flickr
what do you mean by "Bluee"? Samyang 12mm is in my most needed lens list!
clivengu
post Jul 28 2016, 12:04 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 28 2016, 12:00 AM)
X-T1 is really a good camera, no regret at all! I envy your 16mm. sad.gif
Haha no need envy. The 16mm wont have the bokeh as creamy as your 23mm! But after few hours of testing, I am really loving what im seeing, the close up ability of this lens is amazing thumbup.gif !!! (plenty of collectable toys I can shoot with at home tongue.gif)
clivengu
post Aug 1 2016, 06:44 PM

1,850 posts

Finally brought out my new baby out for a test run yesterday flex.gif . I think I have made the right choice picking this lens as my first lens. Love the lens ability to shoot wide + lovely bokeh + macro + Sharp +WR. Only downside I can think of is its weight n size.
user posted imageDSCF0197b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0192b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0201b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0221b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0237b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0203b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr
user posted imageDSCF0187b by Clive Ngu, on Flickr

clivengu
post Aug 1 2016, 06:57 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 1 2016, 06:47 PM)
It's no wonder they call it the best XF lens.
Finally I no longer miss my ex x100s... problem when using x100s last time, when shooting people, the focusing is bloody slow and inaccurate... my subject smile until Kaku and I havent got my shot doh.gif Now xt1 focusing is a breeze, so snappy... almost remind me of the time when I used dslr. thumbup.gif
clivengu
post Aug 1 2016, 09:02 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 1 2016, 08:15 PM)
That's kinda exagerated right laugh.gif
Not exaggerate at all... Thats what my gf told me all the time.. Even Iphone can focus n take photo faster. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 1 2016, 08:40 PM)
Man, that lens really poisonous wei. drool.gif I'm really in love with wide angle lenses. laugh.gif
Get it! complete your lens lineup, 16, 23, 56 !! thumbsup.gif
clivengu
post Aug 1 2016, 10:40 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 30 2016, 02:34 PM)
My happy ever after

[attachmentid=7205976]
Are you using the Peak Design strap? I am checking for a right strap for my xt1 now...considering if i should get this, or smthing like the sailor strap.
clivengu
post Aug 11 2016, 01:55 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 10 2016, 10:21 AM)
Taiwan is also in my list but I have accommodation provided in South Korea, so it is really a good offer for me. laugh.gif
Aargh, so many places yet so little of money. tongue.gif
I bought my xt1 specially for my Taiwan trip end of October ... Got some special plan for my gf : biggrin.gif wub:

0.0796sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:25 AM