post Sep 26 2015, 11:42 AM, updated 10y ago

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

Announcement POST
1st. -tba-

♤~The XiaoMi Mi4i Official Thread Version 2~♤
It's pure Google

"N The official language of Lowyat.NET is the English language. All threads and posts must be in English, with the exception of specific, designated threads in the Kopitiam, and limited use to convey a specific expression or interjection."

NO "First post" type posts. Such posts are counted as spam by the Mods and will be warned.

You may get a chance to go Bora-Bora as they say in these parts:

Features
•5" 1080p IPS LCD display
• Quad-core 1.7 GHz Cortex-A53 & quad-core 1.0 GHz Cortex-A53 by Snapdragon 615
• 13MP rear camera w & 5 MP front
• 2GB RAM & 16GB or 32GB Storage
• 3120 mAh Li-Po battery
• 138.1 cm x 69.6mm x 7.8 mm

Rules
  • ALWAYS READ the first page's information before asking. They are created, collected and summarized to benefit the community and not for decoration purposes only!
  • Search before asking. At bottom-left of the thread. See sample: user posted image
  • CTRL+F is your best friend; apart from the search function of the forum.
  • Respect each other. We do not want flame wars here.
  • Obey rules in LYN Forum.
  • Strictly no warez / crack / forbidden discussion as stated in LYN rules. smile.gif
  • Enjoy yourself here along with other members. We are a big family.
  • Read the instructions on how to add yourself to the user list below in post#5 before asking.
  • if you found your own answer, u may post a Thanks

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Sep 26 2015, 11:48 AM
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:42 AM

12,000 posts

-rsvp for general post-
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:43 AM

12,000 posts

-rsvp for FAQ's and where to buy-
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:43 AM

12,000 posts

-rsvp for roots and devs-
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:45 AM

12,000 posts

-rsvp for accessories and reviews-
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:48 AM

12,000 posts

Alright, everyone may now start posting!!! rclxms.gif

If you want to reply-to / quote some of the posts in the previous thread, you are still able to do so by using the multi-quotes option of the forum (refer to the image below for details)

-borrow for certain times biggrin.gif-
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 11:50 AM

12,000 posts

Previously,

QUOTE(junkyman @ Sep 25 2015, 10:04 AM)
Mi can consider trade in mi4i with mi4c  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 25 2015, 11:53 AM)
Expect Mi4M for Malaysia.
QUOTE(ekestima @ Sep 26 2015, 06:50 AM)
Can any post some sample photos taken with Mi 4i ? Coz the other day I was trying them out at a telco booth, the photo taken seems little dull compare to the one taken on my Note 3.
Was thinking of getting Mi Note or Mi4i to replace my Note 3
QUOTE(arecheese @ Sep 26 2015, 10:16 AM)
i'm sure direct d or some other shop like satugadget will import it and flash dev english rom with google play on it, I already ask they say cannot confirm so lets just hope for the best! was gonna wait for nexus 5x but with our current currency i think might be the price too expensive  rclxub.gif
00king00
post Sep 26 2015, 12:59 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(arecheese @ Sep 26 2015, 10:16 AM)
i'm sure direct d or some other shop like satugadget will import it and flash dev english rom with google play on it, I already ask they say cannot confirm so lets just hope for the best! was gonna wait for nexus 5x but with our current currency i think might be the price too expensive  rclxub.gif
yaya, definitely directd or other shops will import.. i think the currency sooner will become more worse! cry.gif cry.gif
GamersFamilia
post Sep 26 2015, 02:01 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,860 posts

congrats version 2 already
shiki_arc
post Sep 26 2015, 02:58 PM

281 posts

Was wondering if this phone is ok for its price? Or should I wait for a newer model? My Mi3 screen died for the second time so I'd rather get a new phone than repairing it yet again :/
Andrewtst
post Sep 26 2015, 03:05 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(shiki_arc @ Sep 26 2015, 02:58 PM)
Was wondering if this phone is ok for its price? Or should I wait for a newer model? My Mi3 screen died for the second time so I'd rather get a new phone than repairing it yet again :/
Not ok especially you came from Mi3, it is real not smooth.
shiki_arc
post Sep 26 2015, 03:20 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 26 2015, 03:05 PM)
Not ok especially you came from Mi3, it is real not smooth.
ahhh dammit, spending another 300 would make it almost the price of a new phone lol. is mi4i really that bad? even with custom rom?
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 26 2015, 03:21 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(shiki_arc @ Sep 26 2015, 03:20 PM)
ahhh dammit, spending another 300 would make it almost the price of a new phone lol. is mi4i really that bad? even with custom rom?
funny, doh.gif

if u are those kind of flasholics, you should look up for One Plus One... ==!
shiki_arc
post Sep 26 2015, 03:26 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Sep 26 2015, 03:21 PM)
funny, doh.gif

if u are those kind of flasholics, you  should look up for One Plus One... ==!
ahh, not really a "flasholic", didnt flash my mi3 or what, I just have the know hows since I used Galaxy W for a long time. Well, this is Mi4i thread so I'll refrain from asking about the One plus one biggrin.gif but i will check it out, thanks for the suggestion.
NightFelix
post Sep 26 2015, 07:30 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Just finished watched the Mi4C Keynotes from YouTube. Very detailed reports on hardware and explanation of those hardware they pick for the Mi4C.
sherlockms
post Sep 26 2015, 09:51 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 26 2015, 07:30 PM)
Just finished watched the Mi4C Keynotes from YouTube. Very detailed reports on hardware and explanation of those hardware they pick for the Mi4C.
Although the spec sounds tempting, screen from LG , camera from Sony or Samsung. If not mistaken.

But if looked carefully under the poster. There is little unemphasised remark where Xiaomi has the right to use components that have the "similar" performance from other sources, which is kinda a drawback.

arecheese
post Sep 26 2015, 11:44 PM

309 posts

Already got stock at SatuGadget and DirectD so fast! but got a bit of price increase as usual but i think still quite cheap. but no 32gb 3gbRAM version sweat.gif
Xierra777
post Sep 27 2015, 02:08 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Camera from Mi4C is the only thing that has two suppliers. Either IMX RS from Sony or ISOCELL from Samsung.

Not sure which is better, but Sony IMX258 in the Mi4C is one of the latest implementation by Sony IMX RS line ups.
ajaxcbcb
post Sep 27 2015, 12:34 PM

421 posts

honestly camera is not bad. just the software of miui quite suck. im using mokee rom and using oppo camera, thank god becuz of the sony lens, some of the oppo api is able to function
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 27 2015, 12:58 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(sherlockms @ Sep 26 2015, 09:51 PM)
Although the spec sounds tempting, screen from LG , camera from Sony or Samsung. If not mistaken.

But if looked carefully under the poster. There is little unemphasised remark where Xiaomi has the right to use components that have the "similar" performance from other sources, which is kinda a drawback.
camera confirmed as Sony IMX 320 smile.gif
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 27 2015, 12:59 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Sep 27 2015, 02:08 AM)
Camera from Mi4C is the only thing that has two suppliers. Either IMX RS from Sony or ISOCELL from Samsung.

Not sure which is better, but Sony IMX258 in the Mi4C is one of the latest implementation by Sony IMX RS line ups.
Isocell is a shit dude... u pick up S5 to try on night mode and see
Xierra777
post Sep 27 2015, 01:07 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Sep 27 2015, 12:59 PM)
Isocell is a shit dude... u pick up S5 to try on night mode and see
Really that shitty sweat.gif ?
I thought Galaxy S5 has one of the best camera around?

And of course, Sony sensors are better known and widely used.
Just not sure how good is IMX 258..since it's the newest addition.

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Sep 27 2015, 01:08 PM
tenchi0205
post Sep 27 2015, 02:44 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Sep 27 2015, 12:34 PM)
honestly camera is not bad. just the software of miui quite suck. im using mokee rom and using oppo camera, thank god becuz of the sony lens, some of the oppo api is able to function
My previous Mi2s and current Mi4i camera is good...decent than Nexus 6

Only the Mi4i Miui 7 memory management suck...The phone will lag after sometime/heavy usage...I need to reboot only will smooth back...

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Sep 27 2015, 02:45 PM
ajaxcbcb
post Sep 27 2015, 03:27 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 27 2015, 02:44 PM)
My previous Mi2s and current Mi4i camera is good...decent than Nexus 6

Only the Mi4i Miui 7 memory management suck...The phone will lag after sometime/heavy usage...I need to reboot only will smooth back...
5.0.2 has heavy memory leak issue. i am quite happy with the camera actually, just that if u go custom rom, u will always sacrifice on the camera perspective and some small features. for nexus 6 le, you need hdr+, else the pictures are just decent.

This post has been edited by ajaxcbcb: Sep 27 2015, 03:28 PM
Xierra777
post Sep 27 2015, 04:48 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

MIUI 7 is real bad.
Can't say its memory issue either because I have only 195-200mb of free RAM with my Mi3.
Ch3n_low
post Sep 27 2015, 04:52 PM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

MIUI problem. They did not fully optimise the snapdragon 615
tenchi0205
post Sep 27 2015, 05:22 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Sep 27 2015, 04:48 PM)
MIUI 7 is real bad.
Can't say its memory issue either because I have only 195-200mb of free RAM with my Mi3.
I get 800MB+ free

But Mi4i on miui 6 lagi worst than miui 7 now

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Sep 27 2015, 05:23 PM
tenchi0205
post Sep 27 2015, 05:24 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Sep 27 2015, 03:27 PM)
5.0.2 has heavy memory leak issue. i am quite happy with the camera actually, just that if u go custom rom, u will always sacrifice on the camera perspective and some small features. for nexus 6 le, you need hdr+, else the pictures are just decent.
That y I always use HDR+ on N6...but the processing HDR+ is so slow
TSmudkipryan94
post Sep 27 2015, 06:53 PM

12,000 posts

well seems too horrible for current MIUI .. sweat.gif

i might recommend [flash-holics] do a flashing on CM 12.1S rom / find Carbon Rom for that..

xierra777 laugh.gif

i watch from zealer's S5 review and they compared Z2 by the night mode for S5 really terrify.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Sep 27 2015, 08:44 PM
alpidot
post Sep 27 2015, 08:39 PM

71 posts

mi4i 32gb official malaysia.

Took pics, hp hot and hang, 2 times yesterday

its normal?any idea?

thanks all
ajaxcbcb
post Sep 27 2015, 10:07 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 27 2015, 05:24 PM)
That y I always use HDR+ on N6...but the processing HDR+ is so slow
Have u tried updating ur Google camera? Cuz on my n5 is pretty fast. I also use manual camera as second alternative
zc_squash
post Sep 27 2015, 10:15 PM

1,149 posts

Something seems odd with my battery. I don't remember it used to take about 4 hours to charge to full from 25%.

Is this normal? Otherwise I'll be sending it down to the service centre (again) - which I am trying to avoid. Cheers.
tenchi0205
post Sep 27 2015, 10:47 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Sep 27 2015, 10:07 PM)
Have u tried updating ur Google camera? Cuz on my n5 is pretty fast. I also use manual camera as second alternative
Too late liao...the N6 AMOLED kena pecah oledi...beyond economic repair... cry.gif
CoolBoy89
post Sep 27 2015, 11:02 PM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Sep 26 2015, 06:50 AM)
Can any post some sample photos taken with Mi 4i ? Coz the other day I was trying them out at a telco booth, the photo taken seems little dull compare to the one taken on my Note 3.
Was thinking of getting Mi Note or Mi4i to replace my Note 3

ajaxcbcb
post Sep 27 2015, 11:19 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Sep 27 2015, 10:15 PM)
Something seems odd with my battery. I don't remember it used to take about 4 hours to charge to full from 25%.

Is this normal? Otherwise I'll be sending it down to the service centre (again) - which I am trying to avoid. Cheers.
actually is normal. one of the solution is use custom rom with sensei kernel. overall, i would say the phone has a great combination of spec, just the optimization is a b****. i want to hold a petition to hugo barra's house d
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2015, 11:38 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Sep 27 2015, 01:07 PM)
Really that shitty  sweat.gif ?
I thought Galaxy S5 has one of the best camera around?

And of course, Sony sensors are better known and widely used.
Just not sure how good is IMX 258..since it's the newest addition.
i second that. ISOCELL sensor is like the crappy sensor of S6 that makes night photo horrible. If anyone is buying an S6, pray to get the Sony sensor instead which does not produce a pink tiny at night photos.

hafic
post Sep 27 2015, 11:40 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(CoolBoy89 @ Sep 27 2015, 11:02 PM)

Nice pictures. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
zairejerry88
post Sep 28 2015, 02:12 PM

72 posts

Hi anyone using umobile with it mi 4i? Any problem with data connection? I'm not able to get internet connection.hv no problem with celcom tho.
haturaya
post Sep 28 2015, 02:34 PM

2,558 posts

QUOTE(zairejerry88 @ Sep 28 2015, 02:12 PM)
Hi anyone using umobile with it mi 4i? Any problem with data connection? I'm not able to get internet connection.hv no problem with celcom tho.
I have Mi 4i with Celcom (postpaid) and Umobile (prepaid). Data work well on both sim (alternating between two sims).
Mickey C
post Sep 28 2015, 09:45 PM

616 posts

Mi 4i got selling phone cover.......
Just place order Mi 4i...
FluffyTee
post Sep 28 2015, 10:50 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(zairejerry88 @ Sep 28 2015, 02:12 PM)
Am using u mobile single sim. Works fine.
Mi4i supports LTE but u mobile will only allow LTE after activation via SMS. Could it be your phone is trying to connect to u mobile LTE but Umbilical is rejecting it because you have not activate LTE
blue.taxi
post Sep 29 2015, 10:22 AM

251 posts

I seem a problem about it wifi connection.

When in office the wifi seem stable but when back home I load youtube the wifi will drop & wait for a while to connect back & it is very slow in speed too.

So can it be the unifi's wifi system KOed?

darkdevilrey
post Sep 30 2015, 12:51 AM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

how bout the touch screen now ?

last heard was not responsive

cruxidex
post Sep 30 2015, 06:03 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(blue.taxi @ Sep 29 2015, 10:22 AM)
I seem a problem about it wifi connection.

When in office the wifi seem stable but when back home I load youtube the wifi will drop & wait for a while to connect back & it is very slow in speed too.

So can it be the unifi's wifi system KOed?
Yes unifi issue on certain range of ip... When this happen just wait for a minute then back to normal.. If the dc on youtube persist.. Restart ur unifi router
blue.taxi
post Oct 1 2015, 02:41 PM

251 posts

10Q... 10Q
wcypierre
post Oct 2 2015, 12:17 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Sep 30 2015, 12:51 AM)
how bout the touch screen now ?

last heard was not responsive
its not that the touchscreen is not responsive, it is that the processor heats up easily so it lags sweat.gif
darkdevilrey
post Oct 2 2015, 12:32 AM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 2 2015, 12:17 AM)
its not that the touchscreen is not responsive, it is that the processor heats up easily so it lags  sweat.gif
yaka

i pigi test @ low yat plaza, slide also macam lenovo sweat.gif

better stick back to my mi3 for now lolz

wcypierre
post Oct 2 2015, 12:43 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Oct 2 2015, 12:32 AM)
yaka

i pigi test @ low yat plaza, slide also macam lenovo sweat.gif

better stick back to my mi3 for now lolz
ya. after I tune here there disable this that only smooth a lot more sweat.gif you should wait for mi4c instead
soul_gamerz
post Oct 2 2015, 02:10 PM

446 posts

do this phone suffer from poor signal when using aluminium metal bumper? Thinking to get the aluminium metal bumper or the nilkin frosted casing..the metal bumper look nicer but sked will have poor signal reception later on.
fireballs
post Oct 2 2015, 02:33 PM

5,650 posts

try wrap in aluminium foil first
nuke13
post Oct 2 2015, 03:18 PM

460 posts

I'm considering this hp now. apart from heating problem. Is there any other problem?
tenchi0205
post Oct 2 2015, 07:30 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Oct 2 2015, 03:18 PM)
I'm considering this hp now. apart from heating problem. Is there any other problem?
Not much heat...since I dun gaming much...problem is lag after a while, clear the memory will settle
tenchi0205
post Oct 2 2015, 08:29 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

One mth old Mi4i 16GB can sell how much?
junkyman
post Oct 2 2015, 11:14 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 2 2015, 08:29 PM)
One mth old Mi4i 16GB can sell how much?
so fast want to sell already
tenchi0205
post Oct 2 2015, 11:21 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Oct 2 2015, 11:14 PM)
so fast want to sell already
laugh.gif Just got my Oneplus invite... brows.gif
wcypierre
post Oct 3 2015, 12:37 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Oct 2 2015, 03:18 PM)
mainly that and high memory usage due to miui. I don't game and after some optimizations here and there it doesn't heats up for normal social usage
00king00
post Oct 3 2015, 12:54 PM

Touge!
698 posts

Guys, may I know if Mi 4i I flash China Developer Rom will I lost 3G/4G? Or is it same? Heard that china developer rom got root access... isit true? ^^
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 12:55 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 3 2015, 12:54 PM)
Guys, may I know if Mi 4i I flash China Developer Rom will I lost 3G/4G? Or is it same? Heard that china developer rom got root access... isit true? ^^
eu miui unofficial flashed got root and less china bloatapp and with Google goodie

http://xiaomi.eu/community/forums/miui-wee...m-releases.103/
using this since Mi2s era...

Xiaomi Mi4i (ferrari) Installation:
Install ROM via TWRP via Flashify or ADB

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Oct 3 2015, 12:58 PM
00king00
post Oct 3 2015, 01:05 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 12:55 PM)
eu miui unofficial flashed got root and less china bloatapp and with Google goodie

http://xiaomi.eu/community/forums/miui-wee...m-releases.103/
using this since Mi2s era...

Xiaomi Mi4i (ferrari) Installation:
Install ROM via TWRP via Flashify or ADB
but it needed custom recovery, I don't wish to lose my warranty yet >< so I wondering if china dev rom will work or not ~~
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 01:14 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 3 2015, 01:05 PM)
but it needed custom recovery, I don't wish to lose my warranty yet >< so I wondering if china dev rom will work or not ~~
Yes will work
soul_gamerz
post Oct 3 2015, 01:30 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 2 2015, 02:33 PM)
try wrap in aluminium foil first
My phone only arrive neek week..surveying for casing and very tempting to get the aluminium bumper..but sked will affect the signal reception as my friends experience it using huawei phone
jlsq
post Oct 3 2015, 01:37 PM

122 posts

my mi4i sim tray is a bit deformed
anyone know where to replace it?
00king00
post Oct 3 2015, 01:49 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 01:14 PM)
Yes will work
Thanks!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif flashing it later.. hehe
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 06:00 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 3 2015, 01:49 PM)
Thanks!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif flashing it later.. hehe
u can get the chinese develop rom get root then can use Flashify (need root) to flash the slim version eu miui7...I feel eu miui7 better perform than china one
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 06:01 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Oct 3 2015, 01:30 PM)
My phone only arrive neek week..surveying for casing and very tempting to get the aluminium bumper..but sked will affect the signal reception as my friends experience it using huawei phone
I bought one b4, after use the wifi reception signal become weak....so now use clear hard plastic back case
soul_gamerz
post Oct 3 2015, 07:14 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 06:01 PM)
I bought one b4, after use the wifi reception signal become weak....so now use clear hard plastic back case
Ic..thanks for your feedback! blush.gif Will proceed to buy other type then when it arrived drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
wcypierre
post Oct 3 2015, 08:06 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 06:00 PM)
u can get the chinese develop rom get root then can use Flashify (need root) to flash the slim version eu miui7...I feel eu miui7 better perform than china one
or u can install the normal global/china and use titanium backup pro to freeze those apps laugh.gif
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 08:18 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 3 2015, 08:06 PM)
or u can install the normal global/china and use titanium backup pro to freeze those apps  laugh.gif
cut grass must destroy the root ma.. laugh.gif
titanium backup pro need root access, normal global/china macam dun have root
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 08:18 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

double post

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Oct 3 2015, 08:20 PM
wcypierre
post Oct 3 2015, 08:24 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 08:18 PM)
cut grass must destroy the root ma.. laugh.gif
titanium backup pro need root access, normal global/china macam dun have root
can boot twrp and flash supersu ada root already lor biggrin.gif
tenchi0205
post Oct 3 2015, 08:34 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 3 2015, 08:24 PM)
can boot twrp and flash supersu ada root already lor  biggrin.gif
install twrp will lose the warranty lo
wcypierre
post Oct 3 2015, 09:08 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 08:34 PM)
install twrp will lose the warranty lo
boot twrp not flash twrp into recovery partition.

Boot twrp without flashing into recovery partition: fastboot boot twrp.img.
Flash twrp into recovery partition: fastboot flash recovery twrp.img

Even if you flash twrp into the recovery partition, you can always recover stock recovery using fastboot laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Oct 3 2015, 09:11 PM
00king00
post Oct 4 2015, 08:54 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 3 2015, 06:00 PM)
Flashify work like a recovery?
00king00
post Oct 4 2015, 08:55 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 3 2015, 09:08 PM)
boot twrp not flash twrp into recovery partition.

Boot twrp without flashing into recovery partition: fastboot boot twrp.img.
Flash twrp into recovery partition:  fastboot flash recovery twrp.img

Even if you flash twrp into the recovery partition, you can always recover stock recovery using fastboot  laugh.gif
how to flash back to stock recovery? been searching google quite sometimes but no result, that's why still staying in miui official rom only ><
tenchi0205
post Oct 4 2015, 09:46 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 4 2015, 08:54 AM)
Flashify work like a recovery?
is a app...so not kacau recovery...

to restore back to stock recovery shd be to go thru:
http://en.miui.com/a-234.html

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Oct 4 2015, 09:55 AM
00king00
post Oct 4 2015, 10:36 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 4 2015, 09:46 AM)
is a app...so not kacau recovery...

to restore back to stock recovery shd be to go thru:
http://en.miui.com/a-234.html
Thanks for the information. Mean with Flashify I can even flash CM12.1 on my mi4i without kacao my Mi Recovery? LOL
tenchi0205
post Oct 4 2015, 10:52 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 4 2015, 10:36 AM)
Thanks for the information. Mean with Flashify I can even flash CM12.1 on my mi4i without kacao my Mi Recovery? LOL
theory is like that...proceed with caution
00king00
post Oct 4 2015, 06:57 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 4 2015, 10:52 AM)
theory is like that...proceed with caution
ohhh... i just replaced the zap mode, unlocked the processor limit.. seems quite smooth now~~
tenchi0205
post Oct 4 2015, 10:26 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 4 2015, 06:57 PM)
ohhh... i just replaced the zap mode, unlocked the processor limit.. seems quite smooth now~~
What is zap mode? unlock liao got heat up?
00king00
post Oct 4 2015, 10:45 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 4 2015, 10:26 PM)
What is zap mode? unlock liao got heat up?
http://en.miui.com/thread-121240-1-1.html

I use social apps only, so far not very hot. But certain situation met it get pretty hot.. like after antutu benchmark in a hot place~
darkdevilrey
post Oct 4 2015, 10:57 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

hows mi4i 32gb ?

is the touch screen / firmware improved ?

now got 32gb version @ rm899 foc 5000mah power bank worth rm34 biggrin.gif

gatal gatal liao

This post has been edited by darkdevilrey: Oct 5 2015, 12:17 AM
mitodna
post Oct 5 2015, 01:37 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Oct 4 2015, 10:57 PM)
hows mi4i 32gb ?

gatal gatal liao
Better don't get this, it is a warmer
wcypierre
post Oct 5 2015, 01:57 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Oct 4 2015, 10:57 PM)
hows mi4i 32gb ?

gatal gatal liao
wait for mi4c instead if you can wait, otherwise, there's still one plus 2 laugh.gif

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 4 2015, 10:45 PM)
http://en.miui.com/thread-121240-1-1.html

I use social apps only, so far not very hot. But certain situation met it get pretty hot.. like after antutu benchmark in a hot place~
sweat.gif sweat.gif tell me which device doesn't heats up when you stress test it

so have you flashed to cm? if yes, how much of free ram are you getting when you clear every app from the list?
00king00
post Oct 5 2015, 11:31 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 5 2015, 01:57 AM)
wait for mi4c instead if you can wait, otherwise, there's still one plus 2  laugh.gif
sweat.gif  sweat.gif tell me which device doesn't heats up when you stress test it

so have you flashed to cm? if yes, how much of free ram are you getting when you clear every app from the list?
I haven't flash yet bro, not much choice available and like all of the custom rom still not stable enuf yet.. cry.gif
soul_gamerz
post Oct 5 2015, 02:15 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(censett123 @ Oct 5 2015, 09:56 AM)
Save your money, dont get this phone. The phone is nice but qualcomm screwed it up with the sd615.
already ordered this phone sweat.gif Was going to get Mi 4 but dont have dual lte sim slot.
mitodna
post Oct 5 2015, 02:26 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Oct 5 2015, 02:15 PM)
already ordered this phone  sweat.gif Was going to get Mi 4 but dont have dual lte sim slot.
suggest you flash to MIUI 7 beta or latest stable rom, then clean format before start using, http://en.miui.com/forum-80-1.html

I am using on MIUI 7 beta, but not as primary phone, not sure if Mi fixed the thermal design on latest batch or not
soul_gamerz
post Oct 5 2015, 02:35 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 5 2015, 02:26 PM)
suggest you flash to MIUI 7 beta or latest stable rom, then clean format before start using, http://en.miui.com/forum-80-1.html

I am using on MIUI 7 beta, but not as primary phone, not sure if Mi fixed the thermal design on latest batch or not
thanks for the advice. surely will do that nod.gif
ultraportable
post Oct 5 2015, 03:26 PM

311 posts

Hi,anybody experienced warm while charging the phone.Then a funny thing happened, after a full charge,Antutu benchmark refused to run,saying d device is hot.5mins later, d Antutu ran.First time came across, after using so many phones.Maybe its me,but the phone built too compact, d components little room to breathe.
ultraportable
post Oct 5 2015, 03:28 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 2 2015, 12:17 AM)
its not that the touchscreen is not responsive, it is that the processor heats up easily so it lags  sweat.gif
Yes,I agree with you.Experience it myself
wcypierre
post Oct 5 2015, 04:07 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 5 2015, 11:31 AM)
I haven't flash yet bro, not much choice available and like all of the custom rom still not stable enuf yet..  cry.gif
If you're on stock I'll recommend you to flash to MIUI7, smoother than MIUI6 sweat.gif

QUOTE(ultraportable @ Oct 5 2015, 03:28 PM)
Yes,I agree with you.Experience it myself
I've freezed most of the MIUI bloatware included in the phone and now it doesn't heats up that much and is a lot smoother laugh.gif
00king00
post Oct 5 2015, 06:34 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 5 2015, 04:07 PM)
If you're on stock I'll recommend you to flash to MIUI7, smoother than MIUI6  sweat.gif
I've freezed most of the MIUI bloatware included in the phone and now it doesn't heats up that much and is a lot smoother  laugh.gif
flashed to the latest china developer rom miui 7.. quite smooth and the throttle thingy they like set loose a bit.. in non air condition place, using data, performance mode to do antutu benchmark able to get 35k, 31k with balanced mode. drool.gif
wcypierre
post Oct 5 2015, 07:11 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Oct 5 2015, 06:34 PM)
flashed to the latest china developer rom miui 7.. quite smooth and the throttle thingy they like set loose a bit.. in non air condition place, using data, performance mode to do antutu benchmark able to get 35k, 31k with balanced mode.  drool.gif
dont look at benchmark that much, benchmark not that important biggrin.gif

now you can set ur memory optimization to high, and keep ur storage left high as well, that will help in performance
tenchi0205
post Oct 5 2015, 09:00 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 5 2015, 07:11 PM)
dont look at benchmark that much, benchmark not that important  biggrin.gif

now you can set ur memory optimization to high, and keep ur storage left high as well, that will help in performance
How to set memory optimization to high?
wcypierre
post Oct 5 2015, 09:50 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 5 2015, 09:00 PM)
How to set memory optimization to high?
Settings > Additional Settings > Developer Options > Memory Optmization > High

If you don't have Developer options above, do this and redo the instruction above
Settings > About Phone > tap MIUI version until you get developer options(you'll get a toast notification for the countdown and when you've done it)

azeemzuhair
post Oct 5 2015, 10:06 PM

2,190 posts

OT/WTS:

Mi4i Hard Case for Sale: Refer : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3734677 . Thanks.

tenchi0205
post Oct 6 2015, 08:14 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 5 2015, 09:50 PM)
Settings > Additional Settings > Developer Options > Memory Optmization > High

If you don't have Developer options above, do this and redo the instruction above
Settings > About Phone > tap MIUI version until you get developer options(you'll get a toast notification for the countdown and when you've done it)
Ok got that done....will that affect anything? like battery life?
wcypierre
post Oct 6 2015, 11:06 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 6 2015, 08:14 AM)
Ok got that done....will that affect anything? like battery life?
it is just managing the memory more aggressively(tweaking OOM), so it shouldn't bring a noticeable effect on battery life
tenchi0205
post Oct 6 2015, 11:58 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 6 2015, 11:06 AM)
it is just managing the memory more aggressively(tweaking OOM), so it shouldn't bring a noticeable effect on battery life
laugh.gif just asking...
NightFelix
post Oct 6 2015, 12:02 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 6 2015, 11:58 AM)
laugh.gif just asking...
The RAM Management I switched off on my Mi Pad.
wcypierre
post Oct 6 2015, 12:02 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 6 2015, 11:58 AM)
laugh.gif just asking...
I'm just answering as well laugh.gif you should consider tweaking your phone more for better performance
tenchi0205
post Oct 6 2015, 01:12 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 6 2015, 12:02 PM)
The RAM Management I switched off on my Mi Pad.
Now I also off it after do some reading...so far seem ok, the RAM wont drop to 200-300mb/2GB...now maintain at 400-500mb/2GB

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Oct 6 2015, 01:15 PM
tenchi0205
post Oct 6 2015, 01:16 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 6 2015, 12:02 PM)
I'm just answering as well  laugh.gif you should consider tweaking your phone more for better performance
laugh.gif actually I seldom go "usik" the setting in the developer option there...scare will screw the phone setting...
wcypierre
post Oct 6 2015, 01:51 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 6 2015, 01:16 PM)
laugh.gif actually I seldom go "usik" the setting in the developer option there...scare will screw the phone setting...
u can always undo it though laugh.gif worse come to worst also reflash the rom only icon_rolleyes.gif

anyway, there's not much to do, apart from that and force gpu rendering.

kingmafia
post Oct 8 2015, 10:39 AM

457 posts

Anyone wan trade his mi4i with my mi3?still in good condition.
Kellyyhx
post Oct 9 2015, 10:13 AM

1,087 posts

anyone letting go their new set of mi4i (gray pls)

interested to get 1 set but out of stock in mi malaysia web
NightFelix
post Oct 9 2015, 10:47 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Oct 9 2015, 10:13 AM)
anyone letting go their new set of mi4i (gray pls)

interested to get 1 set but out of stock in mi malaysia web
I thought 32GB are ready stock? hmm.gif
cactuscch2
post Oct 10 2015, 10:25 AM

206 posts

I got a Mi4i from a lucky draw, testing on OTG & MHL functions. The OTG function works well on pendrive/ card reader but can't support portable hardisk (500GB/ 1TB).

Instead of watching movie on a 5" screen, I want to output it to a hotel LED-TV when I travel outstation. I've bought a MHL kit from Lazada (http://www.lazada.com.my/mhl-kit-with-micro-5-pin-micro-11-pin-usb-mhl-to-hdmi-for-samsung-htc-xiaomi-white-877200.html). I was dissapointed that Mi4i doesn't output the screen to LED-TV with HDMI/ USB port even after I've rebooted the phone. The screen just showed "No signal".

There are users asking about MHL function of Mi4i on xda & en.miui.com forum but no definite answers whether mi4i can or cannot support MHL.

I'm not sure whether the problems come from the China-made MHL KIT, or mi4i no native MHL support. Anybody has experienced this before? Mind to share?

fireballs
post Oct 10 2015, 02:14 PM

5,650 posts

can support hard disk, but need a y cable for power

mhl not supported.
cactuscch2
post Oct 10 2015, 02:47 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 10 2015, 02:14 PM)
can support hard disk, but need a y cable for power

mhl not supported.
Yes, I'm using a Y-cable - USB end connects to powerbank with 2A output. and the hardisk LED is blinking. Perhaps I have to wait for more than 20 seconds for the phone to detect it???
fireballs
post Oct 10 2015, 03:22 PM

5,650 posts

then probably is due to ntfs

by default can only read fat

install this
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...paragon.mounter

cactuscch2
post Oct 10 2015, 03:30 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 10 2015, 03:22 PM)
then probably is due to ntfs

by default can only read fat

install this
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...paragon.mounter
Just check my HDD, it's really formatted as NTFS. Let me check again... thanks.

Opps, it doesn't work probably because my device is not rooted yet. I have not rooted a device since some time ago. The first rooted device was my first android phone running on Gingerbread.

This post has been edited by cactuscch2: Oct 10 2015, 03:59 PM
Peanutz
post Oct 10 2015, 07:05 PM

423 posts

Why SatuGadget sell the mobile can customise the capacity? I thought the highest a mi4i will go is 32GB, how come they can offer up to 64GB?

Are they opening up the phone to tamper with warranty?
fireballs
post Oct 10 2015, 07:34 PM

5,650 posts

mi4 lah not 4i
wcypierre
post Oct 11 2015, 01:24 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

anyone running mi4i with custom rom?
tenchi0205
post Oct 11 2015, 05:50 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 11 2015, 01:24 PM)
anyone running mi4i with custom rom?
think before but lazy...so stick with EU version slim down MIUI 7
GTBoyz91
post Oct 11 2015, 08:41 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 11 2015, 05:50 PM)
can u give a link for that rom?
flash this rom not void wrrnty right?
tenchi0205
post Oct 11 2015, 09:37 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(GTBoyz91 @ Oct 11 2015, 08:41 PM)
can u give a link for that rom?
flash this rom not void wrrnty right?
Need custom recovery to flash...to get custom recovery will void...

Unless u flash to developer china version get root then use flashify to flash the EU version
wcypierre
post Oct 11 2015, 11:23 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 11 2015, 05:50 PM)
does it lag till not usable(as in open app/swipe left right but no action or take a very long time)? It happens on stock but probably not on your slimmed down version
tenchi0205
post Oct 12 2015, 08:17 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 11 2015, 11:23 PM)
does it lag till not usable(as in open app/swipe left right but no action or take a very long time)? It happens on stock but probably not on your slimmed down version
much better, less lag, but I think memory leak still there...last week update memory not very well done compare to last mth update
blue.taxi
post Oct 15 2015, 10:19 AM

251 posts

also the Mi4i keyboard it sensitivity is not as good as some same price lvl h/p.
neo0915
post Oct 19 2015, 02:06 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

May I know if i should go for Mi 4i or go for Redmi Note 2 ?
Mind to share Mi 4i's pros & cons ?

Thanks in advance...
uncleben
post Oct 19 2015, 02:27 PM

120 posts

guys.. any1 here having this problem? is there a cure to this?
uncleben
post Oct 19 2015, 02:27 PM

120 posts

fireballs
post Oct 19 2015, 02:33 PM

5,650 posts

mi4i - smaller and lighter
minote - removeable battery and extendable memory.

NightFelix
post Oct 19 2015, 05:04 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 19 2015, 02:33 PM)
mi4i - smaller and lighter
minote - removeable battery and extendable memory.
I think you mean the Redmi Note 2.
fireballs
post Oct 19 2015, 05:14 PM

5,650 posts

ya ya..
got people actually buy the rm1500 minote meh?
NightFelix
post Oct 19 2015, 05:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 19 2015, 05:14 PM)
ya ya..
got people actually buy the rm1500 minote meh?
RM1549.00 - RM200.00 (FireVoucher) - 6% CashBack = RM1268.06 from Lazada (Xiaomi MY Warranty)
azeemzuhair
post Oct 19 2015, 05:19 PM

2,190 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Oct 19 2015, 02:06 PM)

May I know if i should go for Mi 4i or go for Redmi Note 2 ?
Mind to share Mi 4i's pros & cons ?

Thanks in advance...
This is no brainer decision. RN2 is better...overall...
fireballs
post Oct 19 2015, 05:23 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 19 2015, 05:17 PM)
RM1549.00 - RM200.00 (FireVoucher) - 6% CashBack = RM1268.06 from Lazada (Xiaomi MY Warranty)
yes.. even after those discounts...
tenchi0205
post Oct 19 2015, 07:20 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ Oct 19 2015, 02:27 PM)
so far no...this is camera app open?
tenchi0205
post Oct 19 2015, 07:21 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

This price for minote or redmi note2?
NightFelix
post Oct 19 2015, 07:24 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 19 2015, 07:21 PM)
This price for minote or redmi note2?
Xiaomi Mi Note 64GB
mitodna
post Oct 19 2015, 07:30 PM

14,039 posts

Off topic, please be so kind if you can share the voucher and 6% cash back? Thanks
NightFelix
post Oct 19 2015, 08:04 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 19 2015, 07:30 PM)
Off topic, please be so kind if you can share the voucher and 6% cash back? Thanks
FireVoucher have to wait them to post on Lazada Facebook from time to time randomly. So you have to wait right timing to do so. So be sure to bookmark their Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/LazadaMalaysia/
Those Voucher code looks like these: click here for sample

Also, download their Lazada Apps too. Lazada Official Apps @ PlayStore because sometime they pop up those FireVoucher from Apps too..

As for 6% CashBack I can't post here, some ignorant will report my posts because it was a referral link, that website just register and you follow the step by steps to purchase and you will get back your cashback after 30days if I'm not mistaken... I send you a PM check there..
mitodna
post Oct 19 2015, 08:55 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 19 2015, 08:04 PM)
FireVoucher have to wait them to post on Lazada Facebook from time to time randomly. So you have to wait right timing to do so. So be sure to bookmark their Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/LazadaMalaysia/
Those Voucher code looks like these: click here for sample

Also, download their Lazada Apps too. Lazada Official Apps @ PlayStore because sometime they pop up those FireVoucher from Apps too..

As for 6% CashBack I can't post here, some ignorant will report my posts because it was a referral link, that website just register and you follow the step by steps to purchase and you will get back your cashback after 30days if I'm not mistaken... I send you a PM check there..
Thanks, I thought there are coupon now, lol, yup, I got the Honor during RM200 coupon, hope they launch more such coipon
Ch3n_low
post Oct 20 2015, 10:24 AM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

This phone Mi4i is getting very lag from time to time... dissapointed
junkyman
post Oct 20 2015, 10:34 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Oct 20 2015, 10:24 AM)
time to change phone drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Ch3n_low
post Oct 20 2015, 10:38 AM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Oct 20 2015, 10:34 AM)
time to change phone  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
luckily this mi4i is my second phone... using i6 as my daily driver... no more android for me bro...
NightFelix
post Oct 20 2015, 11:10 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Oct 20 2015, 10:38 AM)
luckily this mi4i is my second phone... using i6 as my daily driver... no more android for me bro...
No more Xiaomi for you. Nexus for the way! #NexusMasterRace
junkyman
post Oct 20 2015, 11:13 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 20 2015, 11:10 AM)
i like nexus phone, but new nexus all damn expensive rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

NightFelix
post Oct 20 2015, 11:17 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Oct 20 2015, 11:13 AM)
i like nexus phone, but new nexus all damn expensive  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Still cheaper than an iPhone if you ask me compare Apple with Apple. Want the best experience of Android, sure pick Nexus. Xiaomi is Hybrid of iOS and Android. laugh.gif
junkyman
post Oct 20 2015, 11:39 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 20 2015, 11:17 AM)
Still cheaper than an iPhone if you ask me compare Apple with Apple. Want the best experience of Android, sure pick Nexus. Xiaomi is Hybrid of iOS and Android. laugh.gif
i wait for the price to drop first then consider haha drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Ch3n_low
post Oct 20 2015, 04:42 PM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 20 2015, 11:10 AM)
expensive bro
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 20 2015, 04:57 PM

421 posts

try resurrection remix. is not bad and is smooth but not smoother den nexus of course. so far overheat, i managed to fix it by killing mobile active fix. so far, i can say thumbs up
junkyman
post Oct 20 2015, 05:08 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 20 2015, 04:57 PM)
try resurrection remix. is not bad and is smooth but not smoother den nexus of course.  so far overheat, i managed to fix it by killing mobile active fix. so far, i can say thumbs up
Resurrection remix ???
wcypierre
post Oct 20 2015, 10:14 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Oct 20 2015, 10:24 AM)
root and get titanium backup pro, freeze all miui apps and you will be surprised how smooth is it now laugh.gif
wcypierre
post Oct 20 2015, 10:15 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Oct 20 2015, 05:08 PM)
Resurrection remix ???
name of a Android rom
crapp0
post Oct 21 2015, 11:07 AM

4,414 posts

Looking to buy this phone, how is the OS?

Plus is it possible to mod it to stock android?
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 20 2015, 10:14 PM)
root and get titanium backup pro, freeze all miui apps and you will be surprised how smooth is it now  laugh.gif
STOP KILLING MY GOOGLE NOW. Goddamnit MIUI, else i would have stick with miui becuz of camera

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 21 2015, 11:07 AM)
Looking to buy this phone, how is the OS?

Plus is it possible to mod it to stock android?
For stock android experience, closest to it is mokee, but recently quite buggy at times.
Try resurrection remix, custom based on cm. Really good and loving so far. overall a phone wise, it is just not too bad over bad. need a normal performing phone vs price. i think is ok.
wcypierre
post Oct 21 2015, 12:51 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM)
STOP KILLING MY GOOGLE NOW. Goddamnit MIUI, else i would have stick with miui becuz of camera
For stock android experience, closest to it is mokee, but recently quite buggy at times.
Try resurrection remix, custom based on cm. Really good and loving so far. overall a phone wise, it is just not too bad over bad. need a normal performing phone vs price. i think is ok.
Google now gooding yo brows.gif
how much of free ram do you have left when you clear your cache laugh.gif
FluffyTee
post Oct 21 2015, 01:00 PM

339 posts

Erm cant u lock the app from being killed? I believe u can go swipe down on the app in the app switcher menu to lock it from getting killed.
NightFelix
post Oct 21 2015, 02:19 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

They build the RR ROM on scratch? I thought the source haven't release yet.. it should have some sensors not working..
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 21 2015, 02:42 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 21 2015, 12:51 PM)
Google now gooding yo  brows.gif
how much of free ram do you have left when you clear your cache  laugh.gif
for now. if i go on idle on RR. my free ram is 800mb. not too bad for a 2gb ram phone.

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Oct 21 2015, 01:00 PM)
Erm cant u lock the app from being killed? I believe u can go swipe down on the app in the app switcher menu to lock it from getting killed.
No, MIUI's cleaning is way too aggressive.

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 21 2015, 02:19 PM)
They build the RR ROM on scratch? I thought the source haven't release yet.. it should have some sensors not working..
CM12 ma. long history of RR with CM12. After so long, sensors are all working perfectly.

P.S.. The only reason for miui is the camera and no second reason for miui.
FluffyTee
post Oct 21 2015, 02:45 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 21 2015, 02:42 PM)
for now. if i go on idle on RR. my free ram is 800mb. not too bad for a 2gb ram phone.
No, MIUI's cleaning is way too aggressive.
CM12 ma. long history of RR with CM12. After so long, sensors are all working perfectly.

P.S.. The only reason for miui is the camera and no second reason for miui.
I am using mi4i...
Just go to recent apps. Drag downwards the app u want to protect from being killed.

This post has been edited by FluffyTee: Oct 21 2015, 02:45 PM
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 21 2015, 02:59 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Oct 21 2015, 02:45 PM)
I am using mi4i...
Just go to recent apps. Drag downwards the app u want to protect from being killed.
it will keep duplicating for google now. until ur whole recent will be google apps.

FluffyTee
post Oct 21 2015, 03:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 21 2015, 02:59 PM)
it will keep duplicating for google now. until ur whole recent will be google apps.
Thats odd. It shouldnt duplicate an already running app.
Do u have another app thats kills running app? Like greenify?
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 21 2015, 03:07 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Oct 21 2015, 03:05 PM)
Thats odd. It shouldnt duplicate an already running app.
Do u have another app thats kills running app? Like greenify?
the one biggest reason is because miui doesn't recognize google now as one app but multiple activity. im not a greenify believer.
wcypierre
post Oct 21 2015, 03:21 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 21 2015, 02:42 PM)
https://i.imgur.com/ZM7aE0T laugh.gif

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Oct 21 2015, 02:59 PM)
agreed, mine also like that sweat.gif
apex_ikan
post Oct 21 2015, 03:40 PM

188 posts

got my mi4i a week ago 32gb version (24.xxgb actually). bought from xiaomi website. so far:

1 - camera really nice. much better than redmi note 4g i use to have.
2 - rough comparison, redmi note 4g much much better performance. less lag than mi4i which is weird.
3 - seems like overheat zzzz
4 - not so smooth i wonder why, it should be better than redmi note 4g

gonna try miui 7 later. its in xiaomi website already (developer build i think) or maybe i should try other rom?
ajaxcbcb
post Oct 21 2015, 04:36 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(apex_ikan @ Oct 21 2015, 03:40 PM)
got my mi4i a week ago 32gb version (24.xxgb actually). bought from xiaomi website. so far:

2 - rough comparison, redmi note 4g much much better performance. less lag than mi4i which is weird.

gonna try miui 7 later. its in xiaomi website already (developer build i think) or maybe i should try other rom?
u paid for the phone, and u should squeeze every juice out from your phone, else you could have just went for a bitten apple tongue.gif
UpsideDownYeah
post Oct 22 2015, 10:52 AM

98 posts

Anyone have problem with the m4i front camera after the update . Front camera goes all grainy .

Software update can make hardware malfunction ?
uncleben
post Oct 22 2015, 07:46 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 19 2015, 07:20 PM)
yup... miui camera app n google camera app all the same

QUOTE(UpsideDownYeah @ Oct 22 2015, 10:52 AM)
Anyone have problem with the m4i front camera after the update . Front camera goes all grainy .

yup.. i have this same problem too.. i upload the pic last 2 page.. dunno how to fix this..
uncleben
post Oct 22 2015, 07:46 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 19 2015, 07:20 PM)
yup... miui camera app n google camera app all the same

QUOTE(UpsideDownYeah @ Oct 22 2015, 10:52 AM)

yup.. i have this same problem too.. i upload the pic last 2 page.. dunno how to fix this..
UpsideDownYeah
post Oct 22 2015, 09:49 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ Oct 22 2015, 07:46 PM)
Hardware problem caused by software update . Need to bring to sc to replace.

M4i is really one crappy product , not even a week already faulty and due to their own os update.

jayk8
post Oct 23 2015, 10:13 AM

108 posts

i found that the stock miui7, the minimum cpu frequency is 960mhz.
if i flash to RR Remix, does the kernel itself, cpu frequency lower than 960mhz ?

keeyap
post Oct 23 2015, 10:47 AM

21 posts

Dear guys

Recent dev rom when i click menu or hold menu button, the recent app tray never pop out.

I followed the guide here but still the same.
http://webcazine.com/12394/how-to-see-rece...unning-miui-v5/

Need help..
louis6
post Oct 25 2015, 12:04 AM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

Urgh~~ Was thinking of 'upgrading' my Mi3 to this Mi4i but it seems like a downgrade after reading comment of mi4i being lag... so which xiaomi I shall use if im tryin to change my mi3?

Or perhaps no more xiaomi ?
wcypierre
post Oct 25 2015, 12:12 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Oct 25 2015, 12:04 AM)
Urgh~~ Was thinking of 'upgrading' my Mi3 to this Mi4i but it seems like a downgrade after reading comment of mi4i being lag... so which xiaomi I shall use if im tryin to change my mi3?

Or perhaps no more xiaomi ?
mi4c
louis6
post Oct 25 2015, 12:17 AM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 25 2015, 12:12 AM)
mi4c
any news when it will be in Malaysia official website?
wcypierre
post Oct 25 2015, 12:19 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Oct 25 2015, 12:17 AM)
any news when it will be in Malaysia official website?
nope, man man wait la laugh.gif
louis6
post Oct 25 2015, 12:38 AM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 25 2015, 12:19 AM)
nope, man man wait la  laugh.gif
just read the mi4c thread... kena poison but i still hope to get original set instead of AP set... hopefully my mi3 can man man wait..
wcypierre
post Oct 25 2015, 01:10 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Oct 25 2015, 12:38 AM)
just read the mi4c thread... kena poison but i still hope to get original set instead of AP set... hopefully my mi3 can man man wait..
by that time, probably mi5 or redmi note is out brows.gif brows.gif
keeyap
post Oct 25 2015, 11:55 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(keeyap @ Oct 23 2015, 10:47 AM)
Dear guys

Recent dev rom when i click menu or hold menu button, the recent app tray never pop out.

I followed the guide here but still the same.
http://webcazine.com/12394/how-to-see-rece...unning-miui-v5/

Need help..
any bro know how to do it ?
junkyman
post Oct 26 2015, 04:29 PM

1,255 posts

http://www.lowyat.net/2015/80688/xiaomi-re...-malaysia-soon/

no mi4c in sight but redmi note 2 is !!!!!!!!!!!
fireballs
post Oct 26 2015, 04:46 PM

5,650 posts

mi4c for china mar... name also C already
wcypierre
post Oct 26 2015, 11:24 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

by the time mi4c is released, I believe it would be like mi4's case(too late)
wcypierre
post Oct 27 2015, 09:03 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Anyone running on 5.10.15 already?
tenchi0205
post Oct 27 2015, 09:12 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 27 2015, 09:03 AM)
Anyone running on 5.10.15 already?
running 5.10.22 oledi
wcypierre
post Oct 27 2015, 09:56 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 27 2015, 09:12 PM)
running 5.10.22 oledi
5.10.22 for China mah laugh.gif
tenchi0205
post Oct 27 2015, 10:25 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 27 2015, 09:56 PM)
5.10.22 for China mah  laugh.gif
Mine is eu version free of China bloatware...with all the Google things.

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Oct 27 2015, 10:27 PM

NightFelix
post Oct 27 2015, 10:27 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 27 2015, 10:25 PM)
Mine is eu version free of China bloatware...with all the Google things.
what are the features, pros and con?
tenchi0205
post Oct 27 2015, 10:51 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 27 2015, 10:27 PM)
what are the features, pros and con?
Is more or less same, minus those China app that not useful outside China and can set download limit at download app setting to unlimited...

wcypierre
post Oct 27 2015, 11:03 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 27 2015, 10:51 PM)
Is more or less same, minus those China app that not useful outside China and can set download limit at download app setting to unlimited...
I'm using global + freezing those miui apps = same thing laugh.gif Global can set that as well btw
ZintanthraX
post Oct 28 2015, 09:54 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 27 2015, 11:03 PM)
I'm using global + freezing those miui apps = same thing  laugh.gif  Global can set that as well btw
may i know which apps that is safe to freeze? using titanium right?
wcypierre
post Oct 28 2015, 10:32 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 28 2015, 09:54 AM)
Most of them are system apps so you'll need titanium back up pro to freeze it

or, you can just use my script as it is a "free" way to do it laugh.gif

Download Automate from play store then follow the youtube video below
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....automate&hl=en

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Oct 28 2015, 10:33 AM
NightFelix
post Oct 28 2015, 10:39 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 28 2015, 09:54 AM)
Use this. Is FREE.
Disable Application [Root]

In case you are curious which to freeze, here some idea for you, I freeze these on my MiPad.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=76696982
wcypierre
post Oct 28 2015, 10:45 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Here are the list of apps that I've frozen:
Analytics
Android Live Wallpaper
ANT Hal Service
Basic Daydreams
Calendar (MIUI Calendar, because I'm using Google calendar laugh.gif )
FM Radio
Galley
Live Wallpaper Picker
Mail MIUI_V7_EMAIL_*
Market Feedback Agent
Mi VIP
Notes
Print Spooler
Radio
Report Bug
Themes
Video Player
Weather
Xiaomi Assitant (not typo)
Yellow Pages (this feature only available at China)

Performance improved a lot when I disabled those apps, free ram is around 800mb-1gb on stock when you clear cache, and the most important thing is that doesn't lag like hell most of the time when the device heats up(which is considered a major pro compared to before freezing those apps sweat.gif )

If you're not using the MIUI launcher, you can disable com.miui.wallpaper also because the wallpaper will be handled by your new launcher
jorakman
post Oct 28 2015, 03:38 PM

106 posts

Hi. i am thinking to purchase mi4i. thinking to use it for taking picture and video recording when i travel oversea.
I search online many saying the phone gets hot. can reach 50 Celsius.
Can i know is it true? What is the way to solve the heat issue?

Thank you smile.gif
ZintanthraX
post Oct 28 2015, 09:15 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

out of sudden, my phone got problem charging. tested with a few different usb cable and chargers but no luck. however, i noticed that after reboot, charging is okay, and the problem will come if i disconnect and reconnect the usb cable. even if i connect to pc, my phone is not detected. tried on fastboot mode, working just fine. haih.
tenchi0205
post Oct 29 2015, 09:59 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

Is this normal?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
wcypierre
post Oct 29 2015, 11:20 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 29 2015, 09:59 AM)
Is this normal?
why are you not running anything laugh.gif what is inside the other?
tenchi0205
post Oct 29 2015, 12:33 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 29 2015, 11:20 AM)
why are you not running anything  laugh.gif  what is inside the other?
That y i ask...i using fb, WhatsApp, telegram, wechat, Instagram, browser....

Inside the other also nothing.
wcypierre
post Oct 29 2015, 01:36 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 29 2015, 12:33 PM)
That y i ask...i using fb, WhatsApp, telegram, wechat, Instagram, browser....

Inside the other also nothing.
not sure can't comment because I'm not using the same modified rom as yours laugh.gif anyway, you can use betterbatterystats instead to track your usage
Xierra777
post Oct 30 2015, 06:02 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Guys, currently using Nilkin Frost shield case.
It's good, but it doesn't protect the top and the bottom.

Is there any good case that protects every corner of the phone?
wcypierre
post Oct 30 2015, 09:01 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Oct 30 2015, 06:02 AM)
Guys, currently using Nilkin Frost shield case.
It's good, but it doesn't protect the top and the bottom.

Is there any good case that protects every corner of the phone?
search at taobao laugh.gif
bizness
post Oct 30 2015, 09:58 AM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 28 2015, 09:15 PM)
out of sudden, my phone got problem charging. tested with a few different usb cable and chargers but no luck. however, i noticed that after reboot, charging is okay, and the problem will come if i disconnect and reconnect the usb cable. even if i connect to pc, my phone is not detected. tried on fastboot mode, working just fine. haih.
I read it at MI Malaysia facebook that many people were facing this issue after they updated their miui. The only solution is to restart the phone. Check their Facebook page out.
Xierra777
post Oct 30 2015, 10:01 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Anybody know how much does it cost to replace the battery cover?
ZintanthraX
post Oct 31 2015, 08:19 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Oct 30 2015, 09:58 AM)
I read it at MI Malaysia facebook that many people were facing this issue after they updated their miui. The only solution is to restart the phone. Check their Facebook page out.
i've already sent it to the service center this morning. turns out the "sub board" (idk what this is) is faulty. they got no stock so need to wait from 2 - 4 weeks for that. sad.gif
FluffyTee
post Oct 31 2015, 09:18 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(jorakman @ Oct 28 2015, 03:38 PM)
Hi. i am thinking to purchase mi4i. thinking to use it for taking picture and video recording when i travel oversea.
I search online many saying the phone gets hot. can reach 50 Celsius.
Can i know is it true? What is the way to solve the heat issue?

Thank you smile.gif
My personal experience with Mi4i, It does have a medicore camera. with lack of IOS, u might wanna use a tripod to take pictures. However, its HHT and manual camera (pre and post processing) does help alot. I d suggest getting another camera phone, like Samsung's Note series, LG G series or Sony Z series. Or maybe Mi note?

In regards to over heating.. there has been alot of talks about it, mostly from warm climate countries. My Mi4i is still at 6.5.3 (one of the few version that does not have major heating issues), and i do not notice the heating issue. But maybe its because i work in a controlled environment of 16 Celsius and 20% humidity.

Also since u did mention travelling overseas, Mi4i have a good battery life so you should do fine. But if you do get another phone, try to get one with a good battery capacity.

Feel free to ask anything if u need more clarification.

This post has been edited by FluffyTee: Oct 31 2015, 09:18 PM
FinFin
post Nov 2 2015, 08:44 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Oct 31 2015, 09:18 PM)
My personal experience with Mi4i, It does have a medicore camera. with lack of IOS, u might wanna use a tripod to take pictures. However, its HHT and manual camera (pre and post processing) does help alot. I d suggest getting another camera phone, like Samsung's Note series, LG G series or Sony Z series. Or maybe Mi note?

In regards to over heating.. there has been alot of talks about it, mostly from warm climate countries. My Mi4i is still at 6.5.3 (one of the few version that does not have major heating issues), and i do not notice the heating issue. But maybe its because i work in a controlled environment of 16 Celsius and 20% humidity.

Also since u did mention travelling overseas, Mi4i have a good battery life so you should do fine. But if you do get another phone, try to get one with a good battery capacity.

Feel free to ask anything if u need more clarification.
I recently made up my mind to go for Mi4i then I noticed wayyyy too many posts in Garage Sales selling away their Mi4i.
I mean, most of the sellers have only used it for a pretty short time, a lot of them put down "upgrade", or "wanna try other phone" as reason.

It got me scared a little. Are there hidden problems with this phone that tend to appear after certain usage?
Does it lag a lot after some times?

This post has been edited by FinFin: Nov 2 2015, 08:46 PM
fireballs
post Nov 2 2015, 08:48 PM

5,650 posts

if u die die must buy this phone, get the 32gb
dont forget memory is not upgradeable.
FinFin
post Nov 2 2015, 08:50 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 2 2015, 08:48 PM)
if u die die must buy this phone, get the 32gb
dont forget memory is not upgradeable.
i m only 'considering' this phone. Yea I will definitely get 32gb if i were to choose mi4i. But is it really STABLE?
Xierra777
post Nov 2 2015, 08:59 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(FinFin @ Nov 2 2015, 08:50 PM)
i m only 'considering' this phone. Yea I will definitely get 32gb if i were to choose mi4i. But is it really STABLE?
I'm currently on MIUI 6.7.2, i can say it's stable enough for me.

It does feel sluggish at times.
Animation is sluggish at times. Launching apps sometimes take its own sweet time.

I'm coming from Snapdragon 801 before, and I could live with this phone laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 2 2015, 09:01 PM
FluffyTee
post Nov 2 2015, 10:12 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(FinFin @ Nov 2 2015, 08:44 PM)
I recently made up my mind to go for Mi4i then I noticed wayyyy too many posts in Garage Sales selling away their Mi4i.
I mean, most of the sellers have only used it for a pretty short time, a lot of them put down "upgrade", or "wanna try other phone" as reason.

It got me scared a little. Are there hidden problems with this phone that tend to appear after certain usage?
Alot did complaint of heating and/or battery drain issues after updating. I think xiaomi kinda messed up the updates. I never ran any updates hence mind is the stock MIUI 6.5.3 version which has one of the best battery life and less heating issue.
The phone can be laggy/hot if one stresses it out with high processing stuff.

to me this phone is a budget phone with slim body and fantastic screen. The specs are "just enough" to do basic photo and video viewing/you tubing. Camera hardware is medicore which i feel should have been improved.

For RM749, i never did regret purchasing my Mi4i. But i cannot say for others.
If i had RM1k budget for a phone i definitely recommend this phone.
junkyman
post Nov 2 2015, 11:22 PM

1,255 posts

maybe you can wait tomorrow and see how much is new redmi note 2 cost then only decide to buy mi4i !!! I currently in developer rom 5.10.22 and the heat issue is still there !!!!
NightFelix
post Nov 2 2015, 11:34 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Nov 2 2015, 10:12 PM)
Alot did complaint of heating and/or battery drain issues after updating. I think xiaomi kinda messed up the updates. I never ran any updates hence mind is the stock MIUI 6.5.3 version which has one of the best battery life and less heating issue.
The phone can be laggy/hot if one stresses it out with high processing stuff.

to me this phone is a budget phone with slim body and fantastic screen. The specs are "just enough" to do basic photo and video viewing/you tubing. Camera hardware is medicore which i feel should have been improved.

For RM749, i never did regret purchasing my Mi4i. But i cannot say for others.
If i had RM1k budget for a phone i definitely recommend this phone.
If ain't broken, don't fix it. rolleyes.gif
wcypierre
post Nov 3 2015, 12:42 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(FinFin @ Nov 2 2015, 08:44 PM)

it lags, and it lags a lot laugh.gif that is if you don't freeze its miui apps or go for cm
FluffyTee
post Nov 3 2015, 12:44 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 2 2015, 11:34 PM)
If ain't broken, don't fix it.  rolleyes.gif
yup agreed! I dont have a reason to upgrade the firmware. so im not doing it.
FinFin
post Nov 3 2015, 04:35 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 3 2015, 12:42 AM)
it lags, and it lags a lot  laugh.gif that is if you don't freeze its miui apps or go for cm
by CM you meant cyanogenmod right? I think that's the plan for me now, buy a 2nd hand one, flash it with CM haha.
Fr3eStyL3r
post Nov 3 2015, 04:54 PM

276 posts

Any news about when MIUI7 will be available for mi4i?
I'm new to Android and just got my new mi4i recently, but have not started using it (lazy to explore and migrate from my BB yet), was wondering shall I wait for the MIUI7 update first then only migrate my things or it doesn't matter?
wcypierre
post Nov 3 2015, 05:10 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(FinFin @ Nov 3 2015, 04:35 PM)
by CM you meant cyanogenmod right? I think that's the plan for me now, buy a 2nd hand one, flash it with CM haha.
yeap laugh.gif that is a good choice as well although your camera will be subpar from that point on
tenchi0205
post Nov 3 2015, 05:11 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

So far after move to MIUI7, mi4i is getting better...

no more heating up issue....lagging is once a while...due to memory leak issue from lollipop maybe? or miui ram management itself?

before this i need to reboot everyday, if not sure lag like nobody biz...now no more reboot, if facing lag just clear the memory then will be ok back

This post has been edited by tenchi0205: Nov 3 2015, 05:12 PM
wcypierre
post Nov 3 2015, 05:12 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Nov 3 2015, 05:11 PM)

no more heating up issue....lagging is once a while...due to memory leak issue from lollipop maybe? or miui ram management itself?
mi4i has always been on lollipop, I think it is due to it being more optomized
wcypierre
post Nov 3 2015, 05:13 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Fr3eStyL3r @ Nov 3 2015, 04:54 PM)
Any news about when MIUI7 will be available for mi4i?
I'm new to Android and just got my new mi4i recently, but have not started using it (lazy to explore and migrate from my BB yet), was wondering shall I wait for the MIUI7 update first then only migrate my things or it doesn't matter?
it doesn't matter, upgrade is okay, downgrade then that would be an issue
tenchi0205
post Nov 3 2015, 05:18 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 3 2015, 05:12 PM)
mi4i has always been on lollipop, I think it is due to it being more optomized
Maybe I shd put it this way...lollipop with miui6 is suck...lollipop with miui7 is getting better blush.gif
Fr3eStyL3r
post Nov 3 2015, 05:29 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Nov 3 2015, 05:11 PM)

before this i need to reboot everyday, if not sure lag like nobody biz...now no more reboot, if facing lag just clear the memory then will be ok back
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 3 2015, 05:13 PM)
it doesn't matter, upgrade is okay, downgrade then that would be an issue
Ok noted with thanks thumbup.gif
tenchi0205
post Nov 3 2015, 05:40 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(Fr3eStyL3r @ Nov 3 2015, 05:29 PM)
Ok noted with thanks  thumbup.gif
Pls take note my one is not miui official update...mine is EU mod version miui7
smudge
post Nov 3 2015, 07:58 PM

155 posts

ohh tot ur already on miui7 official update. is on verge of giving up on my mi4i. the frequent lag & unresponsiveness is getting on my nerves. giving it one last chance with waiting for miui7 update. if that doesnt help redmi note 2 do sound tempting.
wcypierre
post Nov 3 2015, 09:06 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(smudge @ Nov 3 2015, 07:58 PM)
ohh tot ur already on miui7 official update. is on verge of giving up on my mi4i. the frequent lag & unresponsiveness is getting on my nerves. giving it one last chance with waiting for miui7 update. if that doesnt help redmi note 2 do sound tempting.
If you root it and with some help here and there things will get better laugh.gif or sell it to me for 300 brows.gif brows.gif laugh.gif
cyt90
post Nov 3 2015, 11:27 PM

15 posts

Mi4i update to miui7 is available now
nurhurul
post Nov 4 2015, 09:31 AM

19 posts

is it official Mi malaysia OTA? So, how's the phone's performance so far after upgrading?

QUOTE(cyt90 @ Nov 3 2015, 11:27 PM)
Mi4i update to miui7 is available now
Fr3eStyL3r
post Nov 4 2015, 09:41 AM

276 posts

MIUI 7 Update

rclxms.gif
junkyman
post Nov 4 2015, 09:55 AM

1,255 posts

for me after using developer rom for miui 7, nothing much different from miui 6
cyt90
post Nov 4 2015, 10:39 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(nurhurul @ Nov 4 2015, 09:31 AM)
is it official Mi malaysia OTA? So, how's the phone's performance so far after upgrading?
More faster than miui6, solve heat issue, now is surveying
smudge
post Nov 4 2015, 12:55 PM

155 posts

mine keep popping up the process com.android.phone has stopped after update via recovery to stable miui7. from developer miui7. fail. im starting to lose faith in miui
jlsq
post Nov 4 2015, 01:43 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 3 2015, 09:06 PM)
If you root it and with some help here and there things will get better  laugh.gif  or sell it to me for 300  brows.gif  brows.gif  laugh.gif
300?
why don't u try nokia xl? hmm.gif
wcypierre
post Nov 4 2015, 01:56 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(jlsq @ Nov 4 2015, 01:43 PM)
300?
why don't u try nokia xl? hmm.gif
I'm was jk to him la laugh.gif for 300 I would go for Windows Phone instead.

Anyway, the performance of this phone is seriously a lot better if you root and freeze the miui apps, did it and the phone don't overheat for normal social usage and even if the top gets hot the phone is still smooth
smudge
post Nov 4 2015, 06:08 PM

155 posts

ya lorrr.if got for 300 definitely wouldnt complain much. guess my so called "upgrade" from mi3 to mi4i wasnt much of an upgrade after all. on another note managed to get miui7 "stable" working. guess if update thru recovery rom have to clear cache & user data also. thats a waste of effort to install all my apps back. should have waited for OTA but couldnt stand the lag of the dev rom.
cyt90
post Nov 5 2015, 08:05 AM

15 posts

Miui7 for mi4i facing mobile internet loss signal issue
smudge
post Nov 5 2015, 10:23 AM

155 posts

facebook is broken on miui7. keeps on exiting app.
jlsq
post Nov 5 2015, 10:52 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 4 2015, 01:56 PM)
I'm was jk to him la laugh.gif for 300 I would go for Windows Phone instead.

Anyway, the performance of this phone is seriously a lot better if you root and freeze the miui apps, did it and the phone don't overheat for normal social usage and even if the top gets hot the phone is still smooth
really bro?
i was thinking about root or no root.
rooting the phone will void the warranty right?

wcypierre
post Nov 5 2015, 11:41 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(jlsq @ Nov 5 2015, 10:52 AM)
really bro?
i was thinking about root or no root.
rooting the phone will void the warranty right?
yeah, I don't game though(leave that to the computer ), only normal social apps like fb wechat insta whatsapp

Root won't void your warranty for xiaomi phones, but it will for others laugh.gif
Xierra777
post Nov 5 2015, 01:11 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

So much issues with MIUI 7 on Mi4i?

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 5 2015, 01:11 PM
HiiTP
post Nov 5 2015, 02:28 PM

118 posts

This v7.0.3..i saw on that miui forum got a line by poster master saying it is still a beta testing although so called stable? Hmm.
smudge
post Nov 5 2015, 06:18 PM

155 posts

yup so called "stable" version not so stable after all. *facepalm
fireballs
post Nov 5 2015, 10:37 PM

5,650 posts

whats not stable? whats the issue
Xierra777
post Nov 6 2015, 11:19 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Should I upgrade to 7.0.3 or stay with 6.7.2?
fireballs
post Nov 7 2015, 03:33 PM

5,650 posts

703 is ok
Xierra777
post Nov 7 2015, 05:06 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 7 2015, 03:33 PM)
703 is ok
Thank you for response.
Will update later.
yygo
post Nov 8 2015, 05:59 PM

895 posts

guys, how is the mi 4i compared with moto g 3rd gen?

tq !
aezad87
post Nov 12 2015, 05:49 AM

86 posts

In miui7 unused sim is up there with cross even tho u used single sim.. Last time doesn't have.. Kinda annoying.
junkyman
post Nov 12 2015, 09:26 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(aezad87 @ Nov 12 2015, 05:49 AM)
In miui7 unused sim is up there with cross even tho u used single sim..  Last time doesn't have.. Kinda annoying.
Doesn't show on my mi4i all the while even using single sim
laihuhng
post Nov 12 2015, 09:38 AM

603 posts

Just a question. Still have heating problem? How is this one compare to Redmi Note 2? Thanks.
aza13
post Nov 13 2015, 03:53 PM

27 posts

Guys, any idea how to hide app in mi4i /or make it hidden ? tks
smudge
post Nov 13 2015, 06:24 PM

155 posts

latest miui7 seems to address the heating prob. imo however i still think redmi note 2 is the better option. considering to upgrade myself. mi4i on stock is still too laggy for my liking.
Xierra777
post Nov 13 2015, 06:34 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(smudge @ Nov 13 2015, 06:24 PM)
latest miui7 seems to address the heating prob. imo however i still think redmi note 2 is the better option. considering to upgrade myself. mi4i on stock is still too laggy for my liking.
You're on MIUI 7 ?
I got read somewhere in MIUI forums saying charging takes super long.
Can confirm?
fireballs
post Nov 13 2015, 10:35 PM

5,650 posts

7 is working fine
but mine is fully wiped after update
smudge
post Nov 14 2015, 02:57 PM

155 posts

same here. still laggy as before.but no charging issues faced so far.charging goes as usual.
l4nc3k
post Nov 14 2015, 11:47 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Hi guys looking between redmi note 2 and mi4i, can I know why mi4i is still more expensive than note 2 considering that note 2 is better in specs? I'm very new to android and might have missed something sad.gif
l4nc3k
post Nov 14 2015, 11:47 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Hi guys looking between redmi note 2 and mi4i, can I know why mi4i is still more expensive than note 2 considering that note 2 is better in specs? I'm very new to android and might have missed something sad.gif
activexxx
post Nov 15 2015, 10:42 AM

445 posts

Anyone knows when mi4c will reach here?
activexxx
post Nov 15 2015, 10:45 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Nov 14 2015, 11:47 PM)
The diff is at processor. One uses mediatek, while another use snapdragon. Mediatek is cheaper.

I find were u, I will go for mi4i. I heard mediatek gets overheat easily.
wcypierre
post Nov 15 2015, 06:06 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Nov 15 2015, 10:42 AM)
Anyone knows when mi4c will reach here?
when you see big deals on mi4i then it should be near laugh.gif
smudge
post Nov 15 2015, 08:04 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Nov 15 2015, 10:45 AM)
The diff is at processor. One uses mediatek, while another use snapdragon. Mediatek is cheaper.

if ur using/have used mi4i's snapdragon 615 before thats not the case imo. cant comment on redmi note 2's mediatek helio x10 performance/overheating issues. but mi4i definitely got overheating issues esp. on previous roms. more or less adressed on latest miui7 rom but its still there.
fireballs
post Nov 16 2015, 12:32 AM

5,650 posts

after format, miui7 heats up tremendously during app updates. strangely after that behave better. still overheats but not as bad.

also less hang and black screen like in 6.x.x

but got a few times force close on google play. dunno what happen
iphone
post Nov 17 2015, 01:38 PM

191 posts

Got quite annoyed with the lag and unresponsive keyboard of this phone. Finally when I disabled the 'vibrate on touch' feature, the phone is acceptable now. Sigh
fireballs
post Nov 17 2015, 03:09 PM

5,650 posts

what keyboard u use?
iphone
post Nov 17 2015, 06:34 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 17 2015, 03:09 PM)
what keyboard u use?
fireballs
post Nov 17 2015, 07:08 PM

5,650 posts

default keyboard means google one or swiftkey?
tenchi0205
post Nov 17 2015, 07:57 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 17 2015, 07:08 PM)
default keyboard means google one or swiftkey?
Google...
Xierra777
post Nov 17 2015, 08:01 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

I'm using google keyboard on 6.7.2
doesn't feel sluggish.. only one or two first alphabet after the keyboard pops out.
tenchi0205
post Nov 17 2015, 08:24 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 17 2015, 08:01 PM)
I'm using google keyboard on 6.7.2
doesn't feel sluggish.. only one or two first alphabet after the keyboard pops out.
I also disable pops out for the smooth sailing
aezad87
post Nov 17 2015, 08:37 PM

86 posts

Guys can help me..

currently on miui7.
screenlock at toggle bar is on.. want to set it off and pattern password required..

the thing is when i put my pattern password it says incorrect.. got stuck there..
is it the same pattern password for screen lock or different? i try unlock screen using usual pattern password, can unlock..

any idea to turn it off or reset password?
tenchi0205
post Nov 17 2015, 08:44 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(aezad87 @ Nov 17 2015, 08:37 PM)
Guys can help me..

currently on miui7.
screenlock at toggle bar is on.. want to set it off and pattern password required..

the thing is when i put my pattern password it says incorrect.. got stuck there..
is it the same pattern password for screen lock or different? i try unlock screen using usual pattern password, can unlock..

any idea to turn it off or reset password?
Disable inside the lock screen password inside setting there?
Xierra777
post Nov 18 2015, 12:22 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Anyone here using Nilkin Frost back cover?
Mi4i can't sit flat with that case? It wobbles when using it on the table.
gonzalo20
post Nov 19 2015, 03:07 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

Anyone here install ogwhatsapp on his device?
fireballs
post Nov 19 2015, 02:13 PM

5,650 posts

better not install third party whatsapp app.
wcypierre
post Nov 19 2015, 02:24 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 19 2015, 03:07 AM)
Anyone here install ogwhatsapp on his device?
I'm running disa atm laugh.gif

NOTE: if any of you are planning to buy those metal casings, be sure that you don't use dual sim or both of your sims will go haywire(sim 1 no service but sim 2 got, sim 2 no service but sim 1 got, or both also no service) doh.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Nov 19 2015, 02:25 PM
fireballs
post Nov 19 2015, 02:41 PM

5,650 posts

the antenna is on the lower side. dont block them with metal.
if block will have less signal = faster battery drain
Xierra777
post Nov 19 2015, 10:59 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Anyone updated to MIUI 7.0.4?
fireballs
post Nov 19 2015, 11:09 PM

5,650 posts

i am on 704
gonzalo20
post Nov 20 2015, 12:16 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 19 2015, 02:24 PM)
I'm running disa atm  laugh.gif

NOTE: if any of you are planning to buy those metal casings, be sure that you don't use dual sim or both of your sims will go haywire(sim 1 no service but sim 2 got, sim 2 no service but sim 1 got, or both also no service)  doh.gif
What is disa atm btw?

wcypierre
post Nov 20 2015, 12:35 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 20 2015, 12:16 AM)
What is disa atm btw?
Disa is the name of the app. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.disa&hl=en

atm is not atm, it is at the moment laugh.gif
wcypierre
post Nov 20 2015, 03:27 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 19 2015, 02:41 PM)
the antenna is on the lower side. dont block them with metal.
if block will have less signal = faster battery drain
yeah, but for mine is that the signal is on and off, heavy battery drain and people can't reach me, ended up not using it until I get a drill or something to drill some lubang on it sweat.gif
fireballs
post Nov 20 2015, 09:04 AM

5,650 posts

thats the symptom lo. the signal amplifier overloads then lose the signal.
you can see it in action at *#*#info#*#*
yygo
post Nov 20 2015, 10:03 AM

895 posts

was also considering between redmi note 2 and mi4i. mi4i have gorilla glass. is redmi note 2 also gorilla glass?

camera side, heard that mi4i camera much better than redmi note 2.
yygo
post Nov 20 2015, 10:06 AM

895 posts

also looking for redmi note 2 or mi4i. mi4i has gorilla glass, do redmi note 2 also using gorilla glass?

heard mi4i camera is better than redmi note 2.
Xierra777
post Nov 20 2015, 10:07 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 20 2015, 10:03 AM)
was also considering between redmi note 2 and mi4i. mi4i have gorilla glass. is redmi note 2 also gorilla glass?

camera side, heard that mi4i camera much better than redmi note 2.
it is indeed way better.
activexxx
post Nov 20 2015, 12:09 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 20 2015, 10:07 AM)
it is indeed way better.
but the downside of mi4i is the RAM. Now planning to wait for mi4c which has 3GB ram.

btw, any of the users here experience laggy issue on mi4i?
gonzalo20
post Nov 20 2015, 02:26 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Nov 20 2015, 12:09 PM)
but the downside of mi4i is the RAM. Now planning to wait for mi4c which has 3GB ram.

laggy quite a lot. bought mi4i to replce my ip6 actually haha
junkyman
post Nov 20 2015, 02:47 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 20 2015, 02:26 PM)
haha what a great down grade !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! whistling.gif whistling.gif
activexxx
post Nov 20 2015, 03:53 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 20 2015, 02:26 PM)
haha...should b the other way round

or i should say u let go of ip6 coz u need some cash yeah
iphone
post Nov 20 2015, 05:21 PM

191 posts

Mi4i earphones volume not loud enough. I use Mi V2 earphones and vol at 100% all the way.
Xierra777
post Nov 20 2015, 05:39 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Nov 20 2015, 12:09 PM)

For the price, 2GB of RAM is still viable for today's market standard.
There is other phones with higher price tag but offers similar/lower tier specs.
Huawei P8 lite for example. 2GB RAM, average 720p display with less capable cameras..

No lag issue for me.
I'm a light to medium user.
Social medias, spotify, youtube, movies and no heavy games.

Mi4C is really bang for buck. Snapdragon 808 drool.gif

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 20 2015, 05:59 PM
activexxx
post Nov 20 2015, 06:06 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 20 2015, 05:39 PM)
For the price, 2GB of RAM is still viable for today's market standard.
There is other phones with higher price tag but offers similar/lower tier specs.
Huawei P8 lite for example. 2GB RAM, average 720p display with less capable cameras..

No lag issue for me.
I'm a light to medium user.
Social medias, spotify, youtube, movies and no heavy games.

Mi4C is really bang for buck. Snapdragon 808  drool.gif
u know any lubang to buy Mi4C? Here selling about RM1150 for 32GB version
Xierra777
post Nov 20 2015, 06:27 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Nov 20 2015, 06:06 PM)
u know any lubang to buy Mi4C? Here selling about RM1150 for 32GB version
Not really sure...
But to my knowledge, either DirectD or the same forumer that you mentioned earlier.
I wanna buy, but quite skeptical regarding warranty.

Hopefully Mi will bring it here to our shore

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 20 2015, 06:27 PM
Xierra777
post Nov 20 2015, 06:28 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Nov 20 2015, 05:21 PM)
Mi4i earphones volume not loud enough. I use Mi V2 earphones and vol at 100% all the way.
I noticed this issue too.
But ever since I changed to Mi Piston 3.0, it really is superior.
NightFelix
post Nov 20 2015, 11:08 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 20 2015, 06:28 PM)
Ayam still using Piston V2.1 sad.gif
Xierra777
post Nov 20 2015, 11:18 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 20 2015, 11:08 PM)
Ayam still using Piston V2.1 sad.gif
I cant resist to buy haha
Ayam totally sold when I see piston 3.0 drool.gif

NightFelix
post Nov 21 2015, 12:04 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 20 2015, 11:18 PM)
I cant resist to buy haha
Ayam totally sold when I see piston 3.0  drool.gif
RM58 selling now on Lazada.. sounds cheap... drool.gif
Xierra777
post Nov 21 2015, 12:09 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 21 2015, 12:04 AM)
RM58 selling now on Lazada.. sounds cheap... drool.gif
bought mine from forumer here... price around RM69.
COD area is nearby my place so it was a good deal biggrin.gif

Totally worth the upgrade yo rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 21 2015, 12:09 AM
Jurlique
post Nov 21 2015, 10:18 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

DON'T BUY THIS LAGGY PHONE!!

This lousy phone is damn lag. Is not the specs problem. The main culprit is the MIUI

This China company trying to copy iPhone interface which is against Google Android implementation and resulted in huge disappointed lag.

I do not play games, installed only 25 common apps on phone but yet still lag like hell.

Wasted RM900 to buy this phone during the 11 Nov event promotion.
fireballs
post Nov 21 2015, 10:23 AM

5,650 posts

updated to 704 yet? juelique
Jurlique
post Nov 21 2015, 10:30 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Nov 21 2015, 10:23 AM)
updated to 704 yet? juelique
Currently I am in 7.0.3.0 MIUI
You mean upgraded to 7.0.4.0 will solve this undesirable lag issue?
Xierra777
post Nov 21 2015, 10:36 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Hmm what is the fuss is all about? Seems like a serious issue.
I'm perfectly fine on 6.7.2 smile.gif

Snapdragon 615 is underpowered and not being well optimized by Qualcomm itself.
My friend's Galaxy A7 with 615 also feels sluggish and heavy.

If you blame MIUI, you should try it on other Mi devices like Mi3 / Mi4 / Mi Note
Flying buttery smooth

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Nov 21 2015, 10:45 AM
Jurlique
post Nov 21 2015, 10:37 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

Or could you guys pls recommend me a custom rom to flash on this phone?

Million thanks.
iphone
post Nov 21 2015, 02:28 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 20 2015, 06:28 PM)
I read the bass is lower than V2, V3 more for clarity. Is that true?

azrulampard
post Nov 21 2015, 03:55 PM

hey guys, just bought it today.
currently on miui 6.5.5

should i do system updates?
Which version is most stable ?
fireballs
post Nov 21 2015, 05:31 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Nov 21 2015, 10:30 AM)
Currently I am in 7.0.3.0 MIUI
You mean upgraded to 7.0.4.0 will solve this undesirable lag issue?
hmm not supposed to. unless you are coming from the very old out of the box 6.x.x

can define lag? what circumstance?

mine is super slow and hot when out of box. after 666 is quite ok already.
Xierra777
post Nov 21 2015, 07:14 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Nov 21 2015, 02:28 PM)
I read the bass is lower than V2, V3 more for clarity. Is that true?
V2 bass is way too much and actually making a great loss in clarity especially in mid-high.
V3 bass is deep too, with more powerful punch yet keeping everything in check.
The driver in V3 is more capable and the damping system works as advertised.
Xierra777
post Nov 21 2015, 07:29 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(azrulampard @ Nov 21 2015, 03:55 PM)
hey guys, just bought it today.
currently on miui 6.5.5

should i do system updates?
Which version is most stable ?
I think 6.7.2 is the most stable.
Smooth is smooth but don't expect buttery smooth lah
sandkoh
post Nov 22 2015, 02:28 PM

817 posts

any news of mi 4c in malaysia?
Mr Gray
post Nov 22 2015, 03:48 PM

926 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Nov 21 2015, 10:37 AM)
Or could you guys pls recommend me a custom rom to flash on this phone?

Million thanks.
I've been using Wilson 3q ferrari for about two months now. The latest version was released on 10 October. It's based on CM12. So no more laggy MiUi.

It's here http://forum.xda-developers.com/mi-4i/deve...i-mi4i-t3201550
GTBoyz91
post Nov 22 2015, 08:58 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Nov 22 2015, 03:48 PM)
I've been using Wilson 3q ferrari for about two months now. The latest version was released on 10 October. It's based on CM12. So no more laggy MiUi.

It's here http://forum.xda-developers.com/mi-4i/deve...i-mi4i-t3201550
u not receive any bug issue? i really interested to flash custom
but hold it bcoz of many bad commend
Mr Gray
post Nov 22 2015, 09:47 PM

926 posts

QUOTE(GTBoyz91 @ Nov 22 2015, 08:58 PM)
u not receive any bug issue? i really interested to flash custom
but hold it bcoz of many bad commend
Sometimes it does lag, but very rarely. And many developers have stopped doing work on CM12 because they are busy with CM13. It's not perfect, but it's smooth and buttery, most of the time. Well, it fares better than MIUI, for sure. I'm not going back to that bloated ROM ever again. So yeah.
Wira Hikari
post Nov 22 2015, 10:06 PM

82 posts

Is it possible we will be Officially receiving Mi4C around mid dec to end of the year?

Or is it even possible for Mi4C to enter our local market? lol
00king00
post Nov 23 2015, 04:32 PM

Touge!
698 posts

Anyone using Crayon Tweak here?
Xierra777
post Nov 28 2015, 02:52 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Why is my updater app showing 7.0.4.0 LXIMICI, but when I checked on MIUI, the latest global is 7.0.3.0 LXIMICI ?

k@|i0s
post Nov 29 2015, 09:22 PM

915 posts

new mi4i user reporting smile.gif
k@|i0s
post Nov 30 2015, 02:11 PM

915 posts

got new update 7.0.4.0.LXIMICI STABLE

This post has been edited by k@|i0s: Nov 30 2015, 02:30 PM
ajaxcbcb
post Nov 30 2015, 03:11 PM

421 posts

gave up on miui. snapchat still lags like bebola ikan
TSmudkipryan94
post Nov 30 2015, 09:32 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Nov 30 2015, 03:11 PM)
gave up on miui. snapchat still lags like bebola ikan
flash CM 12S , profit laugh.gif
fireballs
post Nov 30 2015, 09:37 PM

5,650 posts

regret going 704 liao
703 still not so lag
Xierra777
post Nov 30 2015, 10:07 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Haha I still stick with 6.7.2
So smooothh
TSmudkipryan94
post Nov 30 2015, 10:09 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Nov 30 2015, 10:07 PM)
Haha I still stick with 6.7.2
So smooothh
laugh.gif i don't know them tongue.gif anyway.. wanna go for latest firmware, is up to the person bah smile.gif
GTBoyz91
post Dec 1 2015, 04:46 PM

99 posts

im running RESURRECTION REMIX rom now
quiet hard for me coz no exp custom xiaomi phone at 1st
happy user now thumbup.gif
00king00
post Dec 1 2015, 04:50 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(GTBoyz91 @ Dec 1 2015, 04:46 PM)
im running RESURRECTION REMIX rom now
quiet hard for me coz no exp custom xiaomi phone at 1st
happy user now  thumbup.gif
me here too using this RR rom with sensei kernel... battery very good.. normal use with Wifi i can tahan 4 hours ++
Xierra777
post Dec 1 2015, 05:06 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Dec 1 2015, 04:50 PM)
me here too using this RR rom with sensei kernel... battery very good.. normal use with Wifi i can tahan 4 hours ++
4 hours screen on time?

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 1 2015, 05:06 PM
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 1 2015, 08:17 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 1 2015, 05:06 PM)
4 hours screen on time?
err.. i think that what he means.. sweat.gif
Xierra777
post Dec 2 2015, 12:37 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

I was able to get 4 hours SOT
1 day 16 hours off the charger.
MIUI 6.7.2
00king00
post Dec 2 2015, 10:10 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 1 2015, 05:06 PM)
4 hours screen on time?
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Dec 1 2015, 08:17 PM)
err.. i think that what he means.. sweat.gif
sorry sorry.. yeah 4hour + screen on time... type a bit fast yesterday didn't realize i didn't complete what i said XD
Xierra777
post Dec 2 2015, 08:26 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Anyone knows if we can replace the back battery cover?
I feel like don't use casing anymore haha

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 2 2015, 08:26 PM
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 2 2015, 08:33 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 2 2015, 08:26 PM)
Anyone knows if we can replace the back battery cover?
I feel like don't use casing anymore haha
Taobao pls laugh.gif
Xierra777
post Dec 2 2015, 09:36 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Dec 2 2015, 08:33 PM)
Taobao pls laugh.gif
lol
I can't seem to find any.
I'm looking for the actual back cover that covers the inner chassis and parts (motherboard, battery, etc)
the one that you hold when using the phone naked without any aftermarket/3rd party casing.

If the normal phone casing, i wouldn't ask here laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 2 2015, 09:45 PM
mdnosz
post Dec 7 2015, 11:46 AM

66 posts

helo. new user Mi4i here.
mine is 5.11.14 beta.
is it worth to update?

previously use H3C so smooth and stable, so i can feel the lag in Mi4i so bad.
Xierra777
post Dec 7 2015, 02:43 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 7 2015, 11:46 AM)
helo. new user Mi4i here.
mine is 5.11.14 beta.
is it worth to update?

previously use H3C so smooth and stable, so i can feel the lag in Mi4i so bad.
You're on developer ROM.

6.7.2 (Global Stable ROM) is the most stable.
SUSkimsim
post Dec 7 2015, 03:46 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Ha ha finally to be let go my iPhone 5s, due to the reason for dual SIM card, and bigger screen with lighter for my used mi4i now.

The phone not too performance but still recent, lesser issue like lag or hang, that is fine for now, so far so good.

Battery life still consider quite ok.

The rest no comment, just the design of volume and switch button too close already, something might be accidently press on volume button LOL

But still hope can be more powerful like mi4c but make sure have officially launch in m'sia or SG market.
Xierra777
post Dec 7 2015, 03:57 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 7 2015, 03:46 PM)
Ha ha finally to be let go my iPhone 5s, due to the reason for dual SIM card, and bigger screen with lighter for my used mi4i now.

The phone not too performance but still recent, lesser issue like lag or hang, that is fine for now, so far so good.

Battery life still consider quite ok.

The rest no comment, just the design of volume and switch button too close already, something might be accidently press on volume button LOL

But still hope can be more powerful like mi4c but make sure have officially launch in m'sia or SG market.
I use double tap to wake the screen up.

SUSkimsim
post Dec 7 2015, 04:03 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 7 2015, 03:57 PM)
Thanks now I try it n see how does it work
SUSkimsim
post Dec 7 2015, 04:04 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 7 2015, 03:57 PM)
Cool man..

My phone look like smile.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: Dec 7 2015, 04:07 PM
mdnosz
post Dec 7 2015, 04:23 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 7 2015, 02:43 PM)
You're on developer ROM.

6.7.2 (Global Stable ROM) is the most stable.
can forward me a guide to update it, please?
it is just miui version update only, rite?
Xierra777
post Dec 7 2015, 04:47 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 7 2015, 04:23 PM)
can forward me a guide to update it, please?
it is just miui version update only, rite?
It is not recommended to flash using normal recovery method since you're about to downgrading from MIUI 7 to MIUI 6.

Download MIUI 6.7.2 fastboot ROM from MIUI forum and flash it through fastboot method.
You need to find fastboot rom for 6.7.2

I can't seem to find fastboot rom for 6.7.2 because they already updated file to the latest 7.0.3 MIUI 7 fastboot ROM in the download section.

FASTBOOT METHOD
Mi4i fastboot flash guide

Or you might as well give MIUI 7 global stable ROM (version 7.0.3) a try and see if its any smoother than your current ROM.

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 7 2015, 05:16 PM
mdnosz
post Dec 7 2015, 09:35 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 7 2015, 04:47 PM)
It is not recommended to flash using normal recovery method since you're about to downgrading from MIUI 7 to MIUI 6.

Download MIUI 6.7.2 fastboot ROM from MIUI forum and flash it through fastboot method.
You need to find fastboot rom for 6.7.2

I can't seem to find fastboot rom for 6.7.2 because they already updated file to the latest 7.0.3 MIUI 7 fastboot ROM in the download section.

FASTBOOT METHOD
Mi4i fastboot flash guide

Or you might as well give MIUI 7 global stable ROM (version 7.0.3) a try and see if its any smoother than your current ROM.
thanks. really appreciate it.
i think i wud try 7.0.3.
found a guide on miui forum

kumhoo
post Dec 7 2015, 09:46 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 7 2015, 09:35 PM)
i think i wud try 7.0.3.
I've been using MIUI 7 for some time...not bad...but I only use Mi4i for FB, email and Web browsing. No game at all. Battery life is perfect...
mdnosz
post Dec 8 2015, 01:58 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 7 2015, 09:35 PM)
i think i wud try 7.0.3.
so...

after follow this guide : MIUI 7 - 7.0.3 global stable

the errors below keep on pops-up:
- com.android.phone has stopped
- Notes has stopped

..and could not detect phone signal

rclxub.gif

regret it

...now troubleshooting, by hard-reset the phone doh.gif

wish me luck

fukking xiaomi. pffttttttttt
Xierra777
post Dec 8 2015, 02:01 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 8 2015, 01:58 AM)
so...

after follow this guide : MIUI 7 - 7.0.3 global stable

the errors below keep on pops-up:
- com.android.phone has stopped
- Notes has stopped

..and could not detect phone signal

rclxub.gif

regret it

...now troubleshooting, by hard-reset the phone  doh.gif

wish me luck
fukking xiaomi. pffttttttttt
you didn't "wipe all data" in recovery during installation in recovery?

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 8 2015, 02:15 AM
mdnosz
post Dec 8 2015, 02:33 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 8 2015, 02:01 AM)
you didn't "wipe all data" in recovery during installation in recovery?
yup...i think thats what cause it to be unstable.

tried again and now its ok. work like a charm thumbup.gif

running 7.0.3 now, but still noticed the lag.. hurm ..mybe MIUI7 lag in nature.. just hv to get used to it

Xierra777
post Dec 8 2015, 02:39 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 8 2015, 02:33 AM)
yup...i think thats what cause it to be unstable.

tried again and now its ok. work like a charm  thumbup.gif

running 7.0.3 now, but still noticed the lag.. hurm ..mybe MIUI7 lag in nature.. just hv to get used to it
haha it seems you didn't read the red warning on the top of the guide.

thank god I'm still in 6.7.2 laugh.gif
Kelvinlee1987
post Dec 9 2015, 03:13 PM

27 posts

Guys,

I need some advice on LCD replacement. Where do I go to to get my screen replaced. Any recommendations? Or should I just go to MI service center?
fireballs
post Dec 9 2015, 03:55 PM

5,650 posts

gonna be expensive for screen repair.
outside gtoracer lists it at 300

i think mi center even more expensive.

getting from china is about usd40

SUSkimsim
post Dec 9 2015, 04:05 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 8 2015, 02:39 AM)
haha it seems you didn't read the red warning on the top of the guide.

thank god I'm still in 6.7.2  laugh.gif
My mi4i now also running 7.0.3 feel like quite lag.

fireballs
post Dec 9 2015, 04:18 PM

5,650 posts

i found the reason for lag usually during keyboard entry
uninstallling swiftkey makes the experience much better, even if you dont use it.

Xierra777
post Dec 9 2015, 05:58 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 9 2015, 04:18 PM)
i found the reason for lag usually during keyboard entry
uninstallling swiftkey makes the experience much better, even if you dont use it.
my mi4i doesn't come with swiftkey out of the box hmm weird.
mdnosz
post Dec 9 2015, 08:05 PM

66 posts

running 7.0.3 lags and...
30minutes of waze, d phone become hot like hell.. its beyond normal..

what bout u guys? did ur mi4i phone hv this overheating issue?
fireballs
post Dec 9 2015, 08:12 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 9 2015, 08:05 PM)
running 7.0.3 lags and...
30minutes of waze, d phone become hot like hell.. its beyond normal..

what bout u guys? did ur mi4i phone hv this overheating issue?
before going to 7xx, waze is ok. now 704 is hot as well
Xierra777
post Dec 9 2015, 08:22 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Mine 6.7.2
Navigate with Google Maps and spotify on the background.

It is warm but not overheating considering that Google Map and Spotify is quite heavy if running at the same time.
and yeah.. my phone is under my car's A pillar shade and barely gets direct sunlight while navigate.

My phone only heats up quickly if using while charging.

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 9 2015, 08:27 PM
TheGentlemenAlike
post Dec 10 2015, 12:15 AM

Hi, my Mi4i suddenly hang then I reboot it.
Somehow, it stuck at the Mi logo there.
What should I do ?
Xierra777
post Dec 10 2015, 12:38 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(TheGentlemenAlike @ Dec 10 2015, 12:15 AM)
Hi, my Mi4i suddenly hang then I reboot it.
Somehow, it stuck at the Mi logo there.
What should I do ?
can you enter recovery mode? (Turn device off, press and hold power on + volume up till Mi appears)
if you can, try enter system 2 instead of 1.

If your phone still can't boot, try enter fastboot mode (Press and hold power on + volume down),
If you able to enter, you can reflash new firmware with fastboot method. Your data will be erased.

Follow this steps : http://en.miui.com/a-234.html

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 10 2015, 12:44 AM
TheGentlemenAlike
post Dec 10 2015, 01:27 AM

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 10 2015, 12:38 AM)
can you enter recovery mode? (Turn device off, press and hold power on + volume up till Mi appears)
if you can, try enter system 2 instead of 1.

If your phone still can't boot, try enter fastboot mode (Press and hold power on + volume down),
If you able to enter, you can reflash new firmware with fastboot method. Your data will be erased.

Follow this steps : http://en.miui.com/a-234.html
I reflashed a new firmware using fastboot method. Everything went smooth however the phone is kind of laggy and, whenever the phone is lag, it will automatically restart..

and, I didn't use the phone, it still automatically restart. ughh

Time to get a new phone, I assume ? cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by TheGentlemenAlike: Dec 10 2015, 01:28 AM
Xierra777
post Dec 10 2015, 01:33 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(TheGentlemenAlike @ Dec 10 2015, 01:27 AM)
I reflashed a new firmware using fastboot method. Everything went smooth however the phone is kind of laggy and, whenever the phone is lag, it will automatically restart..

and, I didn't use the phone, it still automatically restart. ughh

Time to get a new phone, I assume ?  cry.gif  cry.gif
hmm if it's not software related issue, most probably motherboard is faulty.

TheGentlemenAlike
post Dec 10 2015, 01:40 AM

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 10 2015, 01:33 AM)
hmm if it's not software related issue, most probably motherboard is faulty.
been using it for about 3months already sigh and out of sudden, phone started to hang and restart

thanks anyway rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif smile.gif
mdnosz
post Dec 11 2015, 07:30 PM

66 posts

been googling around and jst found out its not xiaomi fault, ..but all phones with sd 615 cpu got d same problem.. overheating, laggy, battery drain.. sigh..

810 as well, but not as problematic as 615

oh well..

mdnosz
post Dec 11 2015, 07:38 PM

66 posts

this rumoured was on 2014
www.androidheadlines.com/2014/12/rumored-problems-qualcomm-snapdragon-615-might-causing-customers-look-elsewhere.html

its proven now.. cr4p

thnking of selling my mi4i .. any buyer? huhu
tenchi0205
post Dec 11 2015, 07:41 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 11 2015, 07:38 PM)
this rumoured was on 2014
www.androidheadlines.com/2014/12/rumored-problems-qualcomm-snapdragon-615-might-causing-customers-look-elsewhere.html

its proven now.. cr4p

thnking of selling my mi4i .. any buyer? huhu
How much can sell the 16gb mi4i aged 4mths old?
mdnosz
post Dec 11 2015, 09:36 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 11 2015, 07:41 PM)
How much can sell the 16gb mi4i aged 4mths old?
mine is 32gb malaysia set.
aldy upgrade to MIUI7 7.0.3 Stable version.
full box set, unused cable and unused earpiece still wrapped in plastic,
only use charger adapter
but no receipt.
pm me if u still interested

This post has been edited by mdnosz: Dec 11 2015, 09:37 PM
tenchi0205
post Dec 11 2015, 09:45 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 11 2015, 09:36 PM)
mine is 32gb malaysia set.
aldy upgrade to MIUI7 7.0.3 Stable version.
full box set, unused cable and unused earpiece still wrapped in plastic,
only use charger adapter
but no receipt.
pm me if u still interested
I also wanna sell mine
mdnosz
post Dec 11 2015, 09:46 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 11 2015, 09:45 PM)
I also wanna sell mine
haha
SUSkimsim
post Dec 12 2015, 01:43 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 11 2015, 07:30 PM)
been googling around and jst found out its not xiaomi fault, ..but all phones with sd 615 cpu got d same problem.. overheating, laggy, battery drain.. sigh..

810 as well, but not as problematic as 615

oh well..
Sold mine yesterday and get Mi Note now feel sweet on Mi Note no overheating at all.

Again very smooth and battery quite last too
tenchi0205
post Dec 12 2015, 08:25 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 12 2015, 01:43 AM)
Sold mine yesterday and get Mi Note now feel sweet on Mi Note no overheating at all.

Again very smooth and battery quite last too
I put price tag rm500 nobody come and see...how much u sell urs? Mine is 16gb.
SUSkimsim
post Dec 12 2015, 09:07 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 12 2015, 08:25 AM)
Lol I sold mine in SG Gumtree dunno how good the responding on $180

Sms, whatsapp n pm more than 20 buyers interested
mdnosz
post Dec 12 2015, 11:19 AM

66 posts

ah ok. but im not going to sell it that cheap.. wud rather live with this laggy phone fr a year at least.. unless thers a buyer wth reasonable offer
SUSkimsim
post Dec 12 2015, 12:23 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Dec 12 2015, 11:19 AM)
ah ok. but im not going to sell it that cheap.. wud rather live with this laggy phone fr a year at least.. unless thers a buyer wth reasonable offer
Actually i was dont understand Xiaomi since the phone still up on sale but the specs didnt same as Mi4 at least should be less of trouble rclxms.gif
Nicksgame
post Dec 13 2015, 08:58 AM

42 posts

Hi, new mi4i user here. Jump ship from moto g first gen to this. Everything is a big upgrade so far. But the heating issue. Omg I swear this 615 is made like ati graphic cards. But I'm on 7.0.3 miui. Think I'll downgrade to 6.7.x
ajaxcbcb
post Dec 13 2015, 09:44 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(Nicksgame @ Dec 13 2015, 08:58 AM)
Hi,  new mi4i user here.  Jump ship from moto g first gen to this.  Everything is a big upgrade so far.  But the heating issue.  Omg I swear this 615 is made like ati graphic cards. But I'm on 7.0.3 miui. Think I'll downgrade to 6.7.x
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif memang like amd
fireballs
post Dec 13 2015, 11:45 AM

5,650 posts

welcome to your downgrade
iphone
post Dec 13 2015, 02:25 PM

191 posts

argh the lag is really bad..scrolling Instagram is extremely frustrating man. Stupid Hugo Barra when launching time keep saying 'flagship' ..now it sounded like 'black sheep'.
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 13 2015, 02:40 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Dec 13 2015, 02:25 PM)
argh the lag is really bad..scrolling Instagram is extremely frustrating man. Stupid Hugo Barra when launching time keep saying 'flagship' ..now it sounded like 'black sheep'.
u not happy, u get OnePlus X

that's all whistling.gif
00king00
post Dec 13 2015, 02:46 PM

Touge!
698 posts

Miui really suck to the max, now I am using CM12.1 + sensei kernel... now phone really smooth like my previous phone Padfone S.
iphone
post Dec 13 2015, 08:00 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Dec 13 2015, 02:40 PM)
u not happy, u get OnePlus X

that's all whistling.gif
well one thing for sure is I won't recommend Mi phone anymore. rolleyes.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 13 2015, 08:50 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Dec 13 2015, 08:00 PM)
other manufacturer also manage to provide same specs with affordable price lk mi,why wanna choose mi samo. whistling.gif
iphone
post Dec 13 2015, 09:33 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 13 2015, 08:50 PM)
other manufacturer also manage to provide same specs with affordable price lk mi,why wanna choose mi samo. whistling.gif
haha agree.

And now the default Music player app come with ads !! gudness doh.gif
Xierra777
post Dec 13 2015, 09:49 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Dec 13 2015, 09:33 PM)
haha agree.

And now the default Music player app come with ads !! gudness  doh.gif
omg really? that's real bad. On which ROM?

mine don't have though.
iphone
post Dec 13 2015, 10:36 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 13 2015, 09:49 PM)
omg really? that's real bad. On which ROM?

mine don't have though.
Yup ..annoying, it appear during Music player app start up
I am on developer ROM 5.11.6
sideways
post Dec 14 2015, 10:25 AM

128 posts

Hi Guys,

needing help pls. I'm needing the SIM Tray for the Mi4i but the service centre don't allow replacement if its not the same colour with the phone. My phone is white but they only have black & grey. White no stock.
don't mind diff colour but they don't allow.

Is there anyone nearby to Amcorp / Lowyat service centre which can help pls. Your phone must be purchased from Xiaomi Malaysia & you can just walk in to get a SIM Tray replacement (lets say your's is lost).
It only cost RM 15, I will pay another RM 50 extra if anyone can help pls.

Thks Thks Thks
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 14 2015, 10:20 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Dec 13 2015, 08:00 PM)
well this is why i hate mi... and my main phone redmi , everything ok larh and much better than my previously nexus 4 doh.gif

and my gf asked me she go for mi4i then i said no till she saw the OPX then purchased it.. so far so good whistling.gif

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Dec 14 2015, 10:21 PM
SUSkimsim
post Dec 15 2015, 11:49 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(twin.babylonia @ Dec 15 2015, 11:25 PM)
but with low class camera and battery is less same with mi4i. only 3700mah and i already.compared sot is same
Camera not using at all.

BTW I have my iPhone 6s camera good than enough

Mi Note sound quality just perfect wow, again battery can last whole day no problem

Nothing can be expected, mi4i feel like lagging phone even lack than my old iPhone 5s leh
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 16 2015, 07:15 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(twin.babylonia @ Dec 15 2015, 11:21 PM)
compare the.price of opx Nd mi4i. actually for a girl that only using social media mi4i is more than enough and it has a good camera. even my canon digital camera is not good enough compared with low light photo of.mi4i
dude.. her iPhone 5 spoil and i lend her my nexus 5 and she love the Vanilla UX pls...

and she didn't focused on social media and she watch drama on phone often lah bro... doh.gif
OrangeClub
post Dec 17 2015, 11:03 AM

108 posts

Need help!!!

My Mi4 sim card is stuck inside the tray and no way of ejecting and changing the card now.. Anyone in KL area or any shop you guys know can fix it?

Ty..
kumhoo
post Dec 17 2015, 01:39 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(OrangeClub @ Dec 17 2015, 11:03 AM)
Need help!!!

My Mi4 sim card is stuck inside the tray and no way of ejecting and changing the card now.. Anyone in KL area or any shop you guys know can fix it?

Ty..
Better go back to XiaoMi service center at Low Yat plaza.
OrangeClub
post Dec 17 2015, 02:09 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Dec 17 2015, 01:39 PM)
Better go back to XiaoMi service center at Low Yat plaza.
Ok will try there. Which floor? Any idea. Ty
Xierra777
post Dec 18 2015, 12:35 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(OrangeClub @ Dec 17 2015, 02:09 PM)
Ok will try there. Which floor? Any idea. Ty
level 4 , lot 4-011
OrangeClub
post Dec 18 2015, 07:35 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 18 2015, 12:35 AM)
level 4 , lot 4-011
Ty
sandkoh
post Dec 18 2015, 12:46 PM

817 posts

have been waiting for mi4c still no news? how is lenovo A7000 plus compared with the mi4c? tq!
NightFelix
post Dec 18 2015, 03:39 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 18 2015, 12:46 PM)
have been waiting for mi4c still no news? how is lenovo A7000 plus compared with the mi4c? tq!
Mi4C is flagships. can't compare bro.
Simplified
post Dec 18 2015, 04:40 PM

23 posts

Oh god shud have read here before i purchase one just an hour ago :/

first things first im greeted with 'unfortunately google playstore has stopped'
(little help here)

still have no fixed it yet.. and now i read it has overheating issue ?! oh boi.. im in for a ride.
ajaxcbcb
post Dec 18 2015, 04:51 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Simplified @ Dec 18 2015, 04:40 PM)
Oh god shud have read here before i purchase one just an hour ago :/

first things first im greeted with 'unfortunately google playstore has stopped'
(little help here)

still have no fixed it yet.. and now i read it has overheating issue ?! oh boi.. im in for a ride.
if possible try boot to recovery make a factory reset. i would say if you dont mind going into modding, is still a not too bad phone. the camera is considering pretty good with f2.0 compare to ifon f2.2.
fireballs
post Dec 18 2015, 05:33 PM

5,650 posts

now using the developer edition
feeling better liao. however many things in chinese.

if can read chinese, go for it.
yygo
post Dec 18 2015, 10:34 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Dec 18 2015, 03:39 PM)
Mi4C is flagships. can't compare bro.
how about mi4i vs a7000 plus, camera wise?
Xierra777
post Dec 19 2015, 09:22 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 18 2015, 10:34 PM)
how about mi4i vs a7000 plus, camera wise?
Mi4i camera is one of the best 13 megapixel shooter. In fact, Camera is Mi4i's main selling point.
Mi4i camera has it all, good dynamic range, excellent edge to edge sharpness, accurate exposure and exceptional macro. HDR is amazing as any other Xiaomi devices. Also, Mi4i offers full manual mode to suit your needs.

Mi4i's front camera is also decent, that f/1.8 aperture laugh.gif

A7000+ can't come close at all in camera against Mi4i.

I've taken many beautiful shots with Mi4i.

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Dec 19 2015, 09:28 AM
haturaya
post Dec 19 2015, 10:54 AM

2,558 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 19 2015, 09:22 AM)
Mi4i camera is one of the best 13 megapixel shooter. In fact, Camera is Mi4i's main selling point.
Mi4i camera has it all, good dynamic range, excellent edge to edge sharpness, accurate exposure and exceptional macro. HDR is amazing as any other Xiaomi devices. Also, Mi4i offers full manual mode to suit your needs.

Mi4i's front camera is also decent, that f/1.8 aperture  laugh.gif

I agree. Once you 'master' how to manipulate the camera, the outcome thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
junkyman
post Dec 19 2015, 11:07 AM

1,255 posts

with such spec and good camera, very very hard to find other model that offer close fight with Mi4i !!!!!
yygo
post Dec 19 2015, 11:24 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 19 2015, 09:22 AM)

Mi4i's front camera is also decent, that f/1.8 aperture  laugh.gif

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 19 2015, 10:54 AM)
I agree. Once you 'master' how to manipulate the camera, the outcome  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(junkyman @ Dec 19 2015, 11:07 AM)
with such spec and good camera, very very hard to find other model that offer close fight with Mi4i !!!!!
tq guys! notworthy.gif

but mi4i seems not selling in china market and replaced with mi4c. still no news of mi4c? will the price be much more expensive than mi4i?
junkyman
post Dec 19 2015, 11:36 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 19 2015, 11:24 AM)
tq guys!  notworthy.gif

but mi4i seems not selling in china market and replaced with mi4c. still no news of mi4c? will the price be much more expensive than mi4i?
mi4c if you interest can get from local shop AP set
Xierra777
post Dec 19 2015, 12:10 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 19 2015, 11:24 AM)
tq guys!  notworthy.gif

I don't think Mi will bring Mi4C to our shore in near future.

Yes, the price is slightly more expensive than Mi4i. Mi4C is an upgrade to current Mi4i.
AP sets 16GB variant is around RM900+/-, 32GB with 3GB of RAM will cost you RM1200+/-
fireballs
post Dec 19 2015, 03:55 PM

5,650 posts

the mi4i camera is excellent under bright light.
abit dim the noise is horrible even at iso100
yygo
post Dec 19 2015, 08:11 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Dec 19 2015, 11:36 AM)
mi4c if you interest can get from local shop AP set
do u know the price? but warranty wise may have problem?

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 19 2015, 12:10 PM)
I don't think Mi will bring Mi4C to our shore in near future.

Yes, the price is slightly more expensive than Mi4i. Mi4C is an upgrade to current Mi4i.
AP sets 16GB variant is around RM900+/-, 32GB with 3GB of RAM will cost you RM1200+/-
tq!
junkyman
post Dec 19 2015, 10:45 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 19 2015, 08:11 PM)
do u know the price? but warranty wise may have problem?
tq!
Go to shop like
1. Greenfone
2. DirectD
3. Satu Gadget

- These shops provide 2 yrs warranty - so dont worry
ming0000
post Dec 20 2015, 02:40 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 12 2015, 08:25 AM)
why selling? this mi4i no good?
thinking wanna buy for mom use.
she no gaming, just phone call, camera and wechat only.
searching 5 inch and looking at this mi4i. blush.gif
SUSkimsim
post Dec 20 2015, 06:12 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Dec 20 2015, 02:40 AM)
searching 5 inch and looking at this mi4i.  blush.gif
Phone was OK, not much problem, but when usage longer hours may feeling the phone turning heat on body back with slightly lagging on Web browser too.

The rest all is ok

But if compare over RN2 should be RN2 much value for money n processor much faster than Mi4i also lesser lag on others apps
123joe
post Dec 20 2015, 08:56 AM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 19 2015, 03:55 PM)
the mi4i camera is excellent under bright light.
abit dim the noise is horrible even at iso100
yes it is.
best sub RM700 camera at the moment

yygo
post Dec 20 2015, 09:04 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(junkyman @ Dec 19 2015, 10:45 PM)
Go to shop like
1. Greenfone
2. DirectD
3. Satu Gadget
- These shops provide 2 yrs warranty - so dont worry
tq. how about price?
junkyman
post Dec 20 2015, 09:42 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 20 2015, 09:04 AM)
tq. how about price?
You can check their website
ming0000
post Dec 20 2015, 01:43 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 20 2015, 06:12 AM)
Phone was OK,  not much problem,  but when usage longer hours may feeling the phone turning heat on body back with slightly lagging on Web browser too.

The rest all is ok

But if compare over RN2 should be RN2 much value for money n processor much faster than Mi4i also lesser lag on others apps
RN2 means Redmi Note 2? blink.gif
using MTK Helio X10, 2GB ram, 16GB ROM, RM649.

This post has been edited by ming0000: Dec 20 2015, 01:44 PM
tenchi0205
post Dec 20 2015, 04:40 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Dec 20 2015, 02:40 AM)
searching 5 inch and looking at this mi4i.  blush.gif
This mi4i is my spare phone...now since my daily drover phone back...seem like under utilize ma thinking of sell...
fireballs
post Dec 20 2015, 07:49 PM

5,650 posts

you will drive ur mom to frustration. get her a recon iphone
ming0000
post Dec 20 2015, 08:58 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 20 2015, 04:40 PM)
This mi4i is my spare phone...now since my daily drover phone back...seem like under utilize ma thinking of sell...
this is Msia set? what price wanna sell it, a little bit interest bout it.
try pm me smile.gif
jack2
post Dec 21 2015, 10:35 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

thinking to buy this
http://www.lazada.com.my/xiaomi-mi-4i-32gb...ey-4817450.html

but no any vouchers can be used to get discount...
imran
post Dec 22 2015, 05:28 AM

312 posts

I'm XiaoMi Mi4i user biggrin.gif
aezad87
post Dec 22 2015, 09:38 AM

86 posts

Does anyone already changed to 7.0.4?
Anu update? They said got midrop..
fireballs
post Dec 22 2015, 09:39 AM

5,650 posts

i realised that the most powerful part of xiaomi is not on the hardware, but rather the bloatware apps that comes with it.
all chinese, but loads of content. audiobook, movies, ebooks
1tb cloud storage etc etc.

only on the developer version.
WhiteFlag
post Dec 22 2015, 10:04 AM

540 posts

mi4i is damn laggy..especially when u leave it there for some times then u have to use your phone, it will lag like shit macam waking up from hibernate.

The camera is slow also, the screen become black for good 2 seconds then only show up the camera.

updating of apps in google play is a nightmare, it will just freeze there doing ntg, u need to redo many times for it update.
Haters_Gonna_H8
post Dec 22 2015, 09:06 PM

:hehe:
2,663 posts

any recommendation for a lollipop based custom rom for mi4i? UBER [UNOFFICIAL] CyanogenMod 12.1 rom any good?

cant stand MIUI lag on this hp anymore
SUSkimsim
post Dec 23 2015, 07:26 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Dec 22 2015, 09:06 PM)
any recommendation for a lollipop based custom rom for mi4i? UBER [UNOFFICIAL] CyanogenMod 12.1 rom any good?

You must accepted real life of this phone is processor are slower n lagging an issue, nothing can be changed
00king00
post Dec 23 2015, 10:24 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Dec 22 2015, 09:06 PM)

try the RR rom with Sensei Kernel... very smooth experience... If u using MIUI, try use CrayonTweak.. very smooth but device will warm a bit..
Haters_Gonna_H8
post Dec 23 2015, 10:39 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Dec 23 2015, 10:24 AM)
try the RR rom with Sensei Kernel... very smooth experience... If u using MIUI, try use CrayonTweak.. very smooth but device will warm a bit..
reading up xda. seems like mokee rom is quite high rated. should i opt for this rom?
afieQ
post Dec 23 2015, 10:59 AM

411 posts

I'm looking for a sub rm1k phone to buy for my parents.

They're both using ancient phones (nokia dumbphone + s2).

Do you guys recommend this model?

Also mom takes lots of picture so camera is important

Personally I think the Zenfone 2 is more than enough for their usage, but the camera sucks.

This post has been edited by afieQ: Dec 23 2015, 11:02 AM
SUSkimsim
post Dec 23 2015, 11:08 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Dec 23 2015, 10:59 AM)
I'm looking for a sub rm1k phone to buy for my parents.

They're both using ancient phones (nokia dumbphone + s2).

Do you guys recommend this model?

Also mom takes lots of picture so camera is important

Personally I think the Zenfone 2 is more than enough for their usage, but the camera sucks.
RN2 lah, better phone without any major issue.
Still cheap and able to expend SD card as well
00king00
post Dec 23 2015, 11:23 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Dec 23 2015, 10:39 AM)
reading up xda. seems like mokee rom is quite high rated. should i opt for this rom?
The last time I use mokee rom got random reboot, after switch to RR I used for one week no problem. But now I switched back to latest devloper china miui.. coz camera miui still the best..
Haters_Gonna_H8
post Dec 23 2015, 02:18 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Dec 23 2015, 11:23 AM)
The last time I use mokee rom got random reboot, after switch to RR I used for one week no problem. But now I switched back to latest devloper china miui.. coz camera miui still the best..
thanks for the feedback. i think im gonna try out mokee for a while, as this hp is not my primary hp, hence camera is not my major concern.
00king00
post Dec 24 2015, 10:43 AM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Dec 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
thanks for the feedback. i think im gonna try out mokee for a while, as this hp is not my primary hp, hence camera is not my major concern.
yes, be sure to flash Sensei Kernel too.
SkywalkerxX
post Dec 28 2015, 07:21 PM

Protection & Control
590 posts

hi. just bought mi4i. i have flickering issue, how to solve this?
00king00
post Dec 28 2015, 09:02 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Dec 28 2015, 07:21 PM)
Which rom you are using? Try update to the latest ROM & factory reset it. If problem still persist try send to Servcie Center.
Xierra777
post Dec 28 2015, 09:03 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Dec 28 2015, 07:21 PM)
screen flickering or camera?
SkywalkerxX
post Dec 29 2015, 10:52 AM

Protection & Control
590 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Dec 28 2015, 09:03 PM)
screen flickering or camera?
screen is flickering from power button to bottom.

i started when i tried youtube play.

then tried to google to find the solution, it seems this is a common issue which xiaomi still could not solve it.

QUOTE(00king00 @ Dec 28 2015, 09:02 PM)
Which rom you are using? Try update to the latest ROM & factory reset it. If problem still persist try send to Servcie Center.
Stock was v6 when it started to flickering screen.

then updated to v7, no +ve change.

then downgraded to to v5, no +ve change.

tried wipe cache, factory reset still no +ve change.

today lunch hour i want to go to service center.

really pissed off, in 1 hour baru buka kotak pun dah rosak. not my lucky day.

previous bought mipad, redmi note, xda pula this kind of problem.
00king00
post Dec 29 2015, 05:18 PM

Touge!
698 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Dec 29 2015, 10:52 AM)

then tried to google to find the solution, it seems this is a common issue which xiaomi still could not solve it.

Service Centre there cannot one to one exchange since still in 7 days? @@
Xierra777
post Dec 29 2015, 11:15 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

seems like the display ribbon connector is loose or hardware itself is faulty.
you bought it from Mi Malaysia? Less than 7 days entitled for 1-to-1 exchange.
ajaxcbcb
post Dec 30 2015, 09:52 AM

421 posts

lemon unit
SkywalkerxX
post Dec 31 2015, 01:41 AM

Protection & Control
590 posts

in the end I sent my hp to SC and got 1 to 1 exchange.

hehe.
iphone
post Dec 31 2015, 02:11 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Dec 31 2015, 01:41 AM)

hehe.
thumbup.gif
haturaya
post Dec 31 2015, 08:17 AM

2,558 posts

hehe.
Great service thumbup.gif
TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 31 2015, 05:31 PM

12,000 posts

hehe.
winnn rclxms.gif
HiiTP
post Jan 1 2016, 10:49 AM

118 posts

Jz updated to 7.1.1 yesterday..lots of changelog included.. battery standby test halfday seems OK compare 6.5.6.. and miband unable read sleep data sloved..

Cpu frq control exchanged to interactive.. but still running in that 960/800 Sox cores pattern. Heating lppl..

Tested with mi manager pc software, backup and update function is working.

But stil feel battery drop faster when surfing, jz like 6.5.6

Phone feel more smooth compare v6, and more a bit free ram also, 100-200mb..

This post has been edited by HiiTP: Jan 1 2016, 11:39 AM
mdnosz
post Jan 2 2016, 02:32 PM

66 posts

been using Mi4i for a while now.. besides the fukcing lagg and stupid overheating issue, camera is superb and fast. photo quality is awesome. low light shot is nice and fast. the best thing is, it is a DUAL LTE .. i can switch between two different 4G sim easily haha

nice phone.. the more i get used to the flaw, the more i appreciate its beauty.. macam awek pulak

hihi
$kidzl
post Jan 2 2016, 04:13 PM

96 posts

Guys.

Why is my device volume so low even though Ive maxed the volume for all settings?

This problem started happening to my phone 3 4 days ago.

Really appreciate if one of you guys can sort this problem out for me.
HiiTP
post Jan 3 2016, 12:09 AM

118 posts

Mine no facing overheat issue, no lag, also good volume.
But mine still got random voice call drop issue..

Try to disable photo backup to micloud or auto ROM airpush update, it might reduce heat issue.

As for lag, u can try use task manager app, by kill/ignore which task Ur desired. It is safer than ram clean build in.
Also enable 4process max in dev option.

HiiTP
post Jan 3 2016, 12:09 AM

118 posts

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....hp.taskmanager
Xierra777
post Jan 3 2016, 12:22 AM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

Anyone tried FV-5 camera app?
Shutter can go longer than 2s but resolution isn't as big.

mdnosz
post Jan 6 2016, 09:29 AM

66 posts

front camera become grainy..
anyone got this problem..?.
its been few days now..

This post has been edited by mdnosz: Jan 6 2016, 09:42 AM
fireballs
post Jan 6 2016, 10:05 AM

5,650 posts

send for warranty asap
wcypierre
post Jan 6 2016, 11:28 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

anyone upgraded to miui 7.1?
mdnosz
post Jan 6 2016, 10:32 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 6 2016, 11:28 AM)
anyone upgraded to miui 7.1?
just updated

but front camera issue still ther..
see below.. very bad
googling n found out that not just me hv this issue

doodle is back in 7.1.1

This post has been edited by mdnosz: Jan 6 2016, 10:44 PM
Xierra777
post Jan 6 2016, 11:06 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

updated mine to 7.1.1 from 6.7.2
everything gets speed bump...very smooth.
No issues whatsoever.

Xierra777
post Jan 6 2016, 11:08 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(mdnosz @ Jan 6 2016, 10:32 PM)
just updated

but front camera issue still ther..
see below.. very bad
googling n found out that not just me hv this issue

doodle is back in 7.1.1
front camera is common issue, firmware update corrupted and damage the module. Needs to get it replaced..My friend had the same problem.
tolaktakjatuh
post Jan 7 2016, 12:16 PM

Huehuehue
653 posts

updated mine yesterday, somehow cannot charge. only full reset fixed the problem. no other problems so far.
HiiTP
post Jan 7 2016, 06:58 PM

118 posts

Just found an issue in my 7.1.1 , will pop up error box andriod.com.phone has stopped, when I try to view imei number in about phone.
mdnosz
post Jan 8 2016, 02:02 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Jan 6 2016, 11:08 PM)
front camera is common issue, firmware update corrupted and damage the module. Needs to get it replaced..My friend had the same problem.
ive been to xiaomi service center lowyat.
cannot get replacement. only in within 7 days can get.
like my case, cn service only change front camera.
but hv to wait for 2 to 4 weeks, spare part out of stock

HAHAHAHA OUT OF STOCK!

really teruk.. so mi4i not only hv overheating issue, laggy, now front camera also..

hv to wait again.. then i rugi 4 weeks of warranty, due to their own out of stock problem.
jonath
post Jan 8 2016, 09:33 PM

90 posts

Updated my mi4i to 7.1, now the home button and recent app button DID NOT WORK. darn it. Any help or suggestion here?
galaxynote259
post Jan 8 2016, 10:58 PM

412 posts

i just ordered a mi4i, will it have this front camera issue?
kumhoo
post Jan 8 2016, 11:09 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Jan 8 2016, 10:58 PM)
I've been using it for 6 months and no issue on front camera...
azrulampard
post Jan 8 2016, 11:24 PM

Using it for 2 months more or less. But still using miui 6. Not dare to update since i have no issue and satisfied with current performance
mdnosz
post Jan 8 2016, 11:32 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 8 2016, 11:09 PM)
I've been using it for 6 months and no issue on front camera...
QUOTE(azrulampard @ Jan 8 2016, 11:24 PM)
Using it for 2 months more or less. But still using miui 6. Not dare to update since i have no issue and satisfied with current performance
as long u dont do firmware update, i think its going to be fine..

front camera issue only happen at low light..
in sunny open sky, the front camera still working ok

This post has been edited by mdnosz: Jan 8 2016, 11:34 PM
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 9 2016, 09:46 PM

421 posts

Any miui users using Snapchat? I only know miui 6 has shitty recording playback on snapchat
galaxynote259
post Jan 9 2016, 10:22 PM

412 posts

Alright..thanks for the input guys.. waiting for the delivery now.. glad to hear that they have 7 days 1-1 exchange as well.
xeichaipao
post Jan 16 2016, 08:32 PM

87 posts

updated to new version : No issues
heat up fast : not really hot for me (i don't play games)
camera : no issues

Xierra777
post Jan 16 2016, 10:43 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

using 7.1.1 now and it works better than 6.7.2
last time I don't dare to upgrade to 7.0.3/7.0.4
7.1.1 seems promising and it doesn't disappoint.

animation and opening apps is quicker.
animations in various app is smoother. Most noticeable is in clock apps, swiping from clock to other functions in the app is silky smooth now.

but I miss MIUI 6 music and gallery.
white background is not so nice.
imran
post Jan 17 2016, 10:08 PM

312 posts

nice phone
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 01:56 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Jan 16 2016, 10:43 PM)
using 7.1.1 now and it works better than 6.7.2
last time I don't dare to upgrade to 7.0.3/7.0.4
7.1.1 seems promising and it doesn't disappoint.

animation and opening apps is quicker.
animations in various app is smoother. Most noticeable is in clock apps, swiping from clock to other functions in the app is silky smooth now.

but I miss MIUI 6 music and gallery.
white background is not so nice.
many people claimed mi4i is the lowest grade among mi... even mi3 can beat mi4i
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 02:02 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 01:56 PM)
No doubt Mi3 definitely beat Mi4i when you comparing the hardware...way better than Mi4i...
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 02:07 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 20 2016, 02:02 PM)
No doubt Mi3 definitely beat Mi4i when you comparing the hardware...way better than Mi4i...
then why mi launched a product which is worst than mi3 on this price?
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 03:32 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(apex_ikan @ Oct 21 2015, 03:40 PM)

miui 7 got any improve on overheat and smooth?
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 03:37 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 02:07 PM)
then why mi launched a product which is worst than mi3 on this price?
Mi3 do have successor Mi4 but only available at China and Malaysia only have Mi4i. Why Mi don't bring in Mi4 in Malaysia? I also don't know.... This one have to ask Mi......
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 03:42 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 20 2016, 03:37 PM)
Mi3 do have successor Mi4 but only available at China and Malaysia only have Mi4i. Why Mi don't bring in Mi4 in Malaysia? I also don't know.... This one have to ask Mi......
mi3 GPS sensor is rosak and very susah if without GPS... thinking to find one replacement for my mi3.

Redmi note 2 is good in performance but the size doesn't suit me...
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 03:45 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:42 PM)
mi3 GPS sensor is rosak and very susah if without GPS... thinking to find one replacement for my mi3.

Redmi note 2 is good in performance but the size doesn't suit me...
Maybe you can try other brand.....below RM 1k you have plenty of choice........
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 03:48 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 20 2016, 03:45 PM)
Maybe you can try other brand.....below RM 1k you have plenty of choice........
any recommendations?
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 03:51 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:48 PM)
any recommendations?
Huawei, Oppo, Asus, Meizu & etc...
Xierra777
post Jan 20 2016, 05:46 PM

thou payest dearly
1,577 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 01:56 PM)
I didn't claim mi4i is faster than any lol
Mi3 is faster than Mi4i is no surprise at all, even before Mi4i launch to market we know Mi4i falls short in performance and sway its way from typical Mi series in terms of performance.

No doubt snapdragon 800 miles ahead of 615 in many ways, period. No argument there.
I know, because I was using Mi3 before changing to mi4i.

For a normal user like me, who did not require too much processing power is able to forgive Mi4i's SD615.
Because SD615 is more than adequate for me and I valued camera, display, 4G and compact design more than in a smartphone. Hence, the reason why I change to Mi4i.

my statement was only to claim 7.1.1 seems better than 6.7.2 on mi4i on my previous post.

This post has been edited by Xierra777: Jan 20 2016, 06:08 PM
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 05:59 PM

739 posts

For me Mi4i is good enough with the $$$ I paid for....I mainly use Mi4i for email, messaging, FB, web browsing, Waze....No game at all that's why I choose Mi4i.....I think I need to pay at least 30% more if get from Samseng whistling.gif for the same spec.....
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 06:10 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Jan 20 2016, 05:46 PM)
I didn't claim mi4i is faster than any lol
Mi3 is faster than Mi4i is no surprise at all, even before Mi4i launch to market we know Mi4i falls short in performance and sway its way from typical Mi series in terms of performance.

No doubt snapdragon 800 miles ahead of 615 in many ways, period. No argument there.
I know, because I was using Mi3 before changing to mi4i.

For a normal user like me, who did not require too much processing power is able to forgive Mi4i's SD615.
Because SD615 is more than adequate for me and I valued camera, display, 4G and compact design more than in a smartphone. Hence, the reason why I change to Mi4i.

my statement was only to claim 7.1.1 seems better than 6.7.2 on mi4i on my previous post.
QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 20 2016, 05:59 PM)
For me Mi4i is good enough with the $$$ I paid for....I mainly use Mi4i for email, messaging, FB, web browsing, Waze....No game at all that's why I choose Mi4i.....I think I need to pay at least 30% more if get from Samseng  whistling.gif  for the same spec.....
I have it on hands and I like the design, slim and compact. Redmi Note 2 is a bit bigger than mi4i n heavy too.

I am not gamer and only use it for normal tasks like email, whatapps, wechat etc.. No gaming, no video at all.

But heard the lagging and heat issue are exist... thus, lagging is a big no to me especially when I need fast...

btw... how lagging it is?

My friend wanted to buy my mi4i and if I let it goes, I will go back to Redmi Note 2 and forget about its size.. LOL
smudge
post Jan 20 2016, 07:02 PM

155 posts

from my experience since updated to 7.1.1 wayyyyyy better than before. no more overheating & noticeably less lag than before. tot of changing to RN3 a few months back but now can hold on to it a longer while before MI5 or RN3 snapdragon is out.
nickchk89
post Jan 20 2016, 08:52 PM

Vodka martini,shaken,not stirred
2,909 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 06:10 PM)
I have it on hands and I like the design, slim and compact. Redmi Note 2 is a bit bigger than mi4i n heavy too.

I am not gamer and only use it for normal tasks like email, whatapps, wechat etc.. No gaming, no video at all.

But heard the lagging and heat issue are exist... thus, lagging is a big no to me especially when I need fast...

btw... how lagging it is?

My friend wanted to buy my mi4i and if I let it goes, I will go back to Redmi Note 2 and forget about its size.. LOL
well,i sold my mi4i too, and brought rn2

you'll soon forget bout the size ,its comfortable to use now

the camera really not quite good as mi4i,damn mi4i camera really good

speed is mileee better,but battery are much worse,only average 3 sot,compare to 4 and a half for mi4i

overall both phone have its strength and weakness,depends on what u need

jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 09:08 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jan 20 2016, 08:52 PM)

speed is mileee better,but battery are much worse,only average 3 sot,compare to 4 and a half for mi4i

Really hard to decide which one to choose..

Mi4i i bought from lazada 770... and i realised mi4i screen is smaller than mi3
smudge
post Jan 20 2016, 10:50 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 20 2016, 09:08 PM)
Really hard to decide which one to choose..

Mi4i i bought from lazada 770... and i realised  mi4i screen is smaller than mi3
errrr i tot both should be the same size 5" on both mi4i & mi3. not sure if you meant RN3.

nways imo between mi4i & RN3 depends on what u use ur phone for.

if only need for general usage(normal surfing,occasional gaming) + picture taking go for mi4i due to its superior cam.

if browsing internet more frequently + more gaming RN3 is the way to go due to its bigger size screen

just my opinion tho. cheers
kumhoo
post Jan 20 2016, 10:57 PM

739 posts

hahaha......too many choices until don't know which one to get....
Apple so clever come out only 2, 6s or 6s plus....less option easy to choose...
jack2
post Jan 20 2016, 11:12 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(smudge @ Jan 20 2016, 10:50 PM)
errrr i tot both should be the same size 5" on both mi4i & mi3. not sure if you meant RN3.

nways imo between mi4i & RN3 depends on what u use ur phone for.

if only need for general  usage(normal surfing,occasional gaming) + picture taking go for mi4i due to its superior cam.

if browsing internet more frequently + more gaming RN3 is the way to go due to its bigger size screen

just my opinion tho. cheers
Sorry, the screen is same, just the size (screen + folder) is bigger for mi3..

ya, i am on normal surfing and social use only. never gaming
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 21 2016, 07:46 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jan 20 2016, 08:52 PM)

Woo. Am surprised by ur comment for rn2's camera. The pdaf sensor is their cutting edge. Mind sharing more about the comparisons?
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 08:02 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Jan 21 2016, 07:46 AM)
Woo. Am surprised by ur comment for rn2's camera. The pdaf sensor is their cutting edge. Mind sharing more about the comparisons?
You must be using mi4i right?
kumhoo
post Jan 21 2016, 09:44 AM

739 posts

Today and tomorrow Xiao Mi got sales so grab the chance if you are looking at their phone or accessory.
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 09:53 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

i want 10% disc on mi4i through lazada... still got bo?
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 21 2016, 09:54 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 08:02 AM)
You must be using mi4i right?
yes i am. im actually bought over by the pdaf sensor. mind sharing ur comment on the camera?
fireballs
post Jan 21 2016, 10:07 AM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Jan 21 2016, 09:54 AM)
yes i am. im actually bought over by the pdaf sensor. mind sharing ur comment on the camera?
i am about to switch to rn3 too..
kumhoo
post Jan 21 2016, 10:10 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:53 AM)
i want 10% disc on mi4i through lazada... still got bo?
now I think the discount at Xiao Mi website is more than 10%.
If buy from lazada, is the warranty by Xiao Mi Malaysia?
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 21 2016, 10:25 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 21 2016, 10:07 AM)
i am about to switch to rn3 too..
Redmi range is actually low to mid range. So I think as far as price is concern. Is what u pay for. Don't expect too much.

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 21 2016, 10:10 AM)
It should be by logic.
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 10:30 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Jan 21 2016, 09:54 AM)
I haven't opened the box tongue.gif
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 10:32 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 21 2016, 10:10 AM)
Where got 10%?

899 = 849

If Lazada, 859 - 10% = 77x...

Yes, warranty by XiaoMi... I got the sticker sticked at the bank of the phone
kumhoo
post Jan 21 2016, 10:35 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:32 AM)
Where got 10%?

899 = 849

If Lazada, 859 - 10% = 77x...

Yes, warranty by XiaoMi... I got the sticker sticked at the bank of the phone
Ah, I saw people post in FB say got more than 10% ler.....didn't really check also......
then better get from Lazada if the deal still on and if the warranty is by Xiao Mi Malaysia....Afraid their warranty is 3rd party only.....
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 10:36 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Jan 21 2016, 10:35 AM)
Ah, I saw people post in FB say got more than 10% ler.....didn't really check also......
then better get from Lazada if the deal still on and if the warranty is by Xiao Mi Malaysia....Afraid their warranty is 3rd party only.....
100% is xiaomi but not everyday got 10%
kumhoo
post Jan 21 2016, 10:38 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:36 AM)
100% is xiaomi but not everyday got 10%
It worth to wait such a good deal........
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 21 2016, 10:40 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:30 AM)
I haven't opened the box  tongue.gif
wa. want wait for cny baru open meh
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 10:42 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Jan 21 2016, 10:40 AM)
wa. want wait for cny baru open meh
hahaha.. how you know?

I am waiting for the tempered glass la
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 21 2016, 10:47 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:42 AM)
hahaha.. how you know?

I am waiting for the tempered glass la
testing my instinct. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
fireballs
post Jan 21 2016, 12:12 PM

5,650 posts

dont have to wait for glass. just use it without peeling off the factory sticker.
jack2
post Jan 21 2016, 03:15 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

mi4i screen is far better than redmi note 2 screen?
nickchk89
post Jan 21 2016, 06:35 PM

2,909 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Jan 21 2016, 07:46 AM)
well,pdaf works fine,but i dint notice any edge on that,as mi4i lock in target equally fast.

rn2 camera sometimes out of focus,and you have to tap to focus to get it right, so pictures come out blur,noise level on mi4i keep very low as well.

main different is sharpness,mi4i much sharp and vibrant compare to rn2 camera, I'm not sure but i think isocell from samsung doesnt take as good pictures as sony sensor does.

so my next target will be rn3 pro,with the new 16mp,if its release in Malaysia,hopefully
nickchk89
post Jan 21 2016, 06:36 PM

2,909 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 03:15 PM)
i cant tell the different,its quite same for me
Max2006
post Jan 21 2016, 08:20 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 21 2016, 03:15 PM)
Theorically, it should be better. Mi4i has more ppi & pixel intensity compared to RN2. So it's sharper. Personally, I think different people have different perception when you compare them by naked eye. wink.gif
fireballs
post Jan 22 2016, 08:50 AM

5,650 posts

http://vmall.trade-in.litong.com/huawei/ta...k/estimateModel?

mi4i worth rm130
jack2
post Jan 22 2016, 08:56 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 22 2016, 08:50 AM)
SIM card tray rosak can trade in?
kumhoo
post Jan 22 2016, 08:57 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 22 2016, 08:50 AM)
Condition;

Good : RM 130 doh.gif
Functional : RM 75 cry.gif
Broken : RM 2 rclxub.gif
fireballs
post Jan 22 2016, 08:59 AM

5,650 posts

mi4 worth the same price as mi4i
ajaxcbcb
post Jan 22 2016, 09:23 AM

421 posts