4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Smartphone With The Best Camera

TSryder_78
post Sep 26 2015, 09:41 AM, updated 9y ago

2,069 posts

Would like to ask, what are the current smartphones (or future 2016 models) which have the best cameras. Currently I have the Nokia Pureview 808 which has the largest sensor in its kind (1/1.2") which somehow contributed to the thick protrusion on the phone in order to house that large sensor. When compared to tiny sensors in most smartphones, the Nokia has outstanding low-light capabilities producing clean shots with very little grain in dim lighting conditions. However, the browsing capabilities of the Nokia with the Symbian platform are lacking.

Are there any smartphones, whether it is Android, Windows etc. with a comparably good camera? Preferably one with a larger sensor to capture cleaner shots in low-lighting conditions. No particular capping in the budget for the smartphone with the quality of the camera being the top priority.

Uchiha_Itachi1991
post Sep 26 2015, 09:43 AM

1,095 posts

S6
acbc
post Sep 26 2015, 09:49 AM

9,050 posts

S6 is the current winner but iPhone 6S might beat it. For me, it has to be the G4.
Baconateer
post Sep 26 2015, 09:49 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Note 5 or s6...if u want removable battery and micro sd..take lg g4 or note 4..
dun_panic
post Sep 26 2015, 09:50 AM

433 posts

Xperia z5 soon
hensky
post Sep 26 2015, 10:01 AM

644 posts

No phone can beat LG G4 camera yet.
TSryder_78
post Sep 26 2015, 10:33 AM

2,069 posts

Just checked on the LG G4 phone. The size of the sensor is 1/2.6" which is quite small, smaller than the Nokia Lumia 1520's 1/2.5" sensor.

Is there a smartphone, a current model with a sensor that is 1/1.7" or larger?

I have no qualms that the LG G4 or comparable smartphones with good cameras will produce good quality photos in good light, but in low light the sensor has to be larger to produce cleaner shots with lower noise.
TSryder_78
post Sep 26 2015, 10:35 AM

2,069 posts

FWIW the obsolete Nokia N8's sensor is 1/1.8" while the Pureview 808's sensor is 1/1.2". However, the Symbian platform rendered the internet browsing capabilities of these phones to be below par. Internet browsing speed is slow and the operation is not smooth or quick.

I am looking for a smartphone with a smoother operation and quick internet browsing, but one that does not compromise on the quality of the camera.
TSryder_78
post Sep 26 2015, 10:50 AM

2,069 posts

Look at the image below to have an idea on the size of sensors of some smartphones. Most smartphones have a sensor size that is smaller than 1/2.5" which is smaller than the Samsung Galaxy camera (1/2.3").

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Sep 26 2015, 10:51 AM
Volkswagen2
post Sep 26 2015, 06:58 PM

439 posts

You might want to check out the current Oppo N3. My daughter bought one recently. I believe the sensor on this is larger than most smartphones at 1/2.3". They used Schneider Kreuznach lens on the N3 and the sensor is larger than the iPhone 6 and Samsung Galaxy S5.

You can check this link out. http://www.gsmarena.com/oppo_n3_sports_16m...s-news-9914.php

It is good for selfie too as the 16MP back camera can rotate to become a front camera for selfie shots which my daughter loves.

goldfries
post Sep 26 2015, 08:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

It also depends on how much you want to spend.

Currently the Samsung Galaxy S6 / Note 5 looks great, LG G4 is next.

I've tested the Huawei Honor 7 and it's superb too, Sony sensor and it feels pretty close to that of the S6.
Rice_Owl84
post Sep 26 2015, 09:36 PM

603 posts

You can check out Panasonic CM1 phone. Its got a 1" sensor - currently the biggest in the mobile world. And takes raw photos.
hensky
post Sep 26 2015, 11:03 PM

644 posts

Android phone compare by taiwan web
http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=17068
SUSchokia
post Sep 27 2015, 01:43 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

http://www.panasonic.com/uk/consumer/camer...as/dmc-cm1.html

This post has been edited by chokia: Sep 27 2015, 01:45 PM
TSryder_78
post Sep 28 2015, 11:09 AM

2,069 posts

Is the Panasonic Lumix CM1 being sold in Malaysia? If yes, how much does it cost? I cannot find this phone on the Panasonic Malaysia website.

Volkswagen2
post Sep 29 2015, 07:58 AM

439 posts

The Panasonic Lumia CM1 looks more like a compact camera than a phone with the round protrusion at the back of the phone which is comprehensible considering the phone has to house the large 1" sensor.

Is this thing available for sale locally? A quick check revealed that the retail is USD1,000 which is more RM3500+/-. Pretty hefty price for a phone but if the quality of the camera live up to the hype, then it might a great choice for enthusiasts who fret carrying two devices every time.

Personally I feel that the direction of most ordinary folks (excluding serious photographers) is to have a relatively good smartphone that takes great (though not exceptional) images. Even for functions, holidays and parties, my wife now uses her cellphone to take photos instead of her Samsung APS-C camera which now sits in the closet most of the time. The last time she used the Samsung was during a wedding dinner of a relative (although there is a professional photographer for the job). The evolution of smartphones now is not only limited to the back camera but the front camera for taking selfies, which I think is a huge advantage for youngsters or young couples these days. It is amazing that most smartphones nowadays have 5MP to 8MP front cameras for crystal clear selfies.
Everdying
post Sep 29 2015, 07:18 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Sep 28 2015, 11:09 AM)
Is the Panasonic Lumix CM1 being sold in Malaysia? If yes, how much does it cost? I cannot find this phone on the Panasonic Malaysia website.

singapore officially has, retail SGD1399.
btw, i also still keep my nokia 808...but its showing its age.
even the LG G4 now takes way better pics tongue.gif
regardless of its sensor size of 1/2.6, it seems to have better processing...
i witnessed it first hand at the recent bon jovi concert...while my 808 did better at video and also sound due to its high quality mic...
the low light shots suffered greatly compared to the G4.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 29 2015, 07:23 PM
TSryder_78
post Sep 29 2015, 10:15 PM

2,069 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2015, 07:18 PM)
singapore officially has, retail SGD1399.
btw, i also still keep my nokia 808...but its showing its age.
even the LG G4 now takes way better pics tongue.gif
regardless of its sensor size of 1/2.6, it seems to have better processing...
i witnessed it first hand at the recent bon jovi concert...while my 808 did better at video and also sound due to its high quality mic...
the low light shots suffered greatly compared to the G4.
Hi, when you mentioned the Nokia 808 is showing its age, do you mean the performance of the camera is deteriorating, or the speed of the phone and internet browsing capabilities are lacking when compared to the current crop of smartphones running on Android and Windows? In my case, I find the Symbian OS to be lacking in terms of internet browsing and overall operation of the phone which is rather slow. There is a lag when swiping between screens and we have to wait for 1-2 seconds, sometimes longer to open an application, either the camera application or Calender etc. Also, the phone sometimes freezes and will not respond to taps, and we have to restart the phone by switching it off and switching it on again. Sometimes the phone will not switch off by itself and I have to dismantle the phone cover and take out the battery to restart the phone. These are some of the shortcomings which have given me more cause to upgrade the 808 to a better smartphone. The only reason I am hanging on to the 808 is the quality of the camera.

It is intriguing when you mention the LG G4 takes (way better) photos than the 808. I presume it is in good light. In low light, I guess the 808 will beat the G4 due to the larger sensor, producing cleaner shots with less noise.

I have received feedback from dpreview in that the the Panasonic Lumix CM1 is confirmed to be superior than the Nokia Lumia 1020. A guy owns both Lumia 1020 and CM1. He has many advanced cameras as well and he mentioned the CM1 compares very favourably to the larger and costlier cameras. I have forgotten which model of large camera that he said is inferior to the CM1.

I feel the CM1 will have the best camera for a smartphone and an equally good Android system (it is reported to be quick and rather slick in operation for a smartphone). The only disadvantage is the high pricing at the moment. SGD 1399, that would turn out to be around RM4k+-. Quite a rich phone.
Everdying
post Sep 29 2015, 10:33 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Sep 29 2015, 10:15 PM)
Hi, when you mentioned the Nokia 808 is showing its age, do you mean the performance of the camera is deteriorating, or the speed of the phone and internet browsing capabilities are lacking when compared to the current crop of smartphones running on Android and Windows? In my case, I find the Symbian OS to be lacking in terms of internet browsing and overall operation of the phone which is rather slow. There is a lag when swiping between screens and we have to wait for 1-2 seconds, sometimes longer to open an application, either the camera application or Calender etc. Also, the phone sometimes freezes and will not respond to taps, and we have to restart the phone by switching it off and switching it on again. Sometimes the phone will not switch off by itself and I have to dismantle the phone cover and take out the battery to restart the phone. These are some of the shortcomings which have given me more cause to upgrade the 808 to a better smartphone. The only reason I am hanging on to the 808 is the quality of the camera.

It is intriguing when you mention the LG G4 takes (way better) photos than the 808. I presume it is in good light. In low light, I guess the 808 will beat the G4 due to the larger sensor, producing cleaner shots with less noise.

I have received feedback from dpreview in that the the Panasonic Lumix CM1 is confirmed to be superior than the Nokia Lumia 1020. A guy owns both Lumia 1020 and CM1. He has many advanced cameras as well and he mentioned the CM1 compares very favourably to the larger and costlier cameras. I have forgotten which model of large camera that he said is inferior to the CM1.

I feel the CM1 will have the best camera for a smartphone and an equally good Android system (it is reported to be quick and rather slick in operation for a smartphone). The only disadvantage is the high pricing at the moment. SGD 1399, that would turn out to be around RM4k+-. Quite a rich phone.
my 808 is only used for my 2nd number...i dont even use the web on it cos its so irritating...mostly for calls/sms/whatsapp...
even then, the symbian whatsapp has lag and sometimes takes awhile to receive messages.

and well, when i said concert...it was obviously after 8pm...so yea low light.

speaking about the 1020, it has a slightly smaller sensor than 808, yet the 1020 takes better low light shots.
so not everything is really about sensor size.

anyway, some reading here - http://allaboutwindowsphone.com/features/i..._Lumia_9301.php

as for the CM1.
i consider it a novelty device at the price of rm4k.
if it was rm2k+, i may consider getting one...cos as a phone its really nothing great...and i still read issues on its camera algorithms and also its lens quality.
anyway, if got rm4k to burn...better just get sony rx100 mk4...
and some more reading tongue.gif
http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2015/08/panasoni...e-a-smartphone/

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 29 2015, 10:46 PM
TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2015, 08:50 AM

2,069 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2015, 10:33 PM)
my 808 is only used for my 2nd number...i dont even use the web on it cos its so irritating...mostly for calls/sms/whatsapp...
even then, the symbian whatsapp has lag and sometimes takes awhile to receive messages.

and well, when i said concert...it was obviously after 8pm...so yea low light.

speaking about the 1020, it has a slightly smaller sensor than 808, yet the 1020 takes better low light shots.
so not everything is really about sensor size.

anyway, some reading here - http://allaboutwindowsphone.com/features/i..._Lumia_9301.php

as for the CM1.
i consider it a novelty device at the price of rm4k.
if it was rm2k+, i may consider getting one...cos as a phone its really nothing great...and i still read issues on its camera algorithms and also its lens quality.
anyway, if got rm4k to burn...better just get sony rx100 mk4...
and some more reading tongue.gif
http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2015/08/panasoni...e-a-smartphone/
Thanks for the link. Interesting results when they compared the Nokia Lumia 1020 to the LG G4, surprising actually that the 1020 can do quite badly in most of the comparison producing images with less clarity and more noise next to the sharper and clearer images of the LG G4. Not too sure if the reviewer deliberately rigged the results or something. I cannot imagine the downsampled images to be blurry and lack in clarity when compared to the G4 with smaller sensor, especially in low to very low light conditions. Having said that the LG G4 does have very respectable and good image quality in all shooting conditions, even in low light.

Similarly, I would buy the Lumix CM1 if it was RM2000. Max maybe RM2500. I cannot imagine spending more than that for a phone, although it may come with an outstanding camera which rivals top compacts such as the Sony RX100 III. At a price of close to RM4k may be a bit rich, though I think some die-hard fans won't have problems forking out the money for a piece of novelty, a capable Android smartphone with a camera that is very close to the Sony RX100 III's performance (it beats all other small compacts such as Fuji X20 and Lumix LX7 in clarity and sharpness).

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:27 AM