[V1] Microsoft Lumia 950 and 950XL, Official Windows 10 flagship

zachary22_77
post Dec 2 2015, 06:03 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(rhodry @ Dec 2 2015, 02:49 PM)
There's an official launch party on 15 December according to the Microsoft Lumia Malaysia FB page  brows.gif
Yay finally! But the big question of price is still unknown. Anyone have any clue? brows.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 3 2015, 11:29 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(TBMonline @ Dec 2 2015, 06:06 PM)
hopefully we can let you know the price by this friday
That's great!! Hope to hear the good news on Friday then thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 3 2015, 04:02 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(oszie @ Dec 3 2015, 02:15 PM)
total is RM783 so each costs about RM261. paid by via paypal.
Holy COW! shocking.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 4 2015, 11:52 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Dec 3 2015, 06:17 PM)
To be frank, the 2nd and 3rd sample photo (car park shot and dancing shot) looked terrible. The Nokia Pureview 808 will be able to produce better results than these any time.

Any thoughts if it is more to the camera or the photographer? I suspect it's more to the latter.
To me they look out of focus, not like they are horrible pics, just focus point is wrong. Sadly the camera app still probably put focus at the wrong place if subject is moving or way too many points that the focusing algorithm doesn't know what to do. Usually to take such pics I always lock focus without letting the camera select focus for me.

QUOTE(TBMonline @ Dec 3 2015, 10:28 PM)
dont worry,as we trying to workout some promotion with other online marketplace,stay tuned
We all waiting here drool.gif

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 4 2015, 09:59 AM)
well..waiting for the project astoria or other sort of ways to import/install apps from other OS. from there, it would Microsoft would be able to pick up from there. with Windows OS fluid and with Android's/iOS's store, would certainly attract more people.

just hope next year the surface phone with the ability to install .exe programs is real. that would be a game changing phone. but i guess the price would be similar to iphone by that time.
Guys, Blackberry already went the route of allowing Android apps installed on their phone & it never helped their marketshare or make their phones desirable. What makes u guys really think able to install Android apps will suddenly make Windows 10 Mobile a premium OS? With the disconnect of the 2 OS in terms of UI & no support of Google services, it will NEVER work out the way u guys hope. In fact anyone installing android APK directly will surely run into more issues & complain even more.

As for Surface phone, I doubt it can install .exe programs but then who knows. But then again, are u ready to PAY for such a phone? It should cost almost a Surface Pro lowest specs.

zachary22_77
post Dec 4 2015, 12:06 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 4 2015, 12:01 PM)
Well...with the apps available, it would be time for marketing strategy to promote the phone..

for the surface phone, yea. i get the idea of the price would be similar or more expensive than iPhone. that will have to see next year when Microsoft introduce it.
Eh... I don't really get what you meant with your 1st paragraph haha.
zachary22_77
post Dec 4 2015, 02:05 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 4 2015, 12:16 PM)
oh..when apps is available, time for Microsoft to promote the phone...

for now the perception of people towards windows phone is normally "got apps ar?"..

when they finally secure the market place... its time for them to advertise to attract people..

unlike Apple, the just have to announce and people will be queue-ing for hours to get the phone..

have to salute Apple or their marketing during iPhone 4 that time..
Oh haha! So that's what u mean. Unfortunately it's chicken & egg problem. How do u secure market share without enough apps? How do u get devs to make apps when you don't have market share? brows.gif

Apple is jedi master in marketing. They can come out with the same iPhone next year, slap 7 on it & it will still break sales records. whistling.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 4 2015, 04:52 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 4 2015, 02:11 PM)
yea..the chicken and egg problem..just hope that the project astoria is a success...
Project Astoria is on hold till further notice.

QUOTE(TBMonline @ Dec 4 2015, 02:16 PM)
Microsoft Lumia 950 Dual Sim LTE = RM2699
Microsoft Lumia 950XL Dual Sim LTE = RM2999
Microsoft Display Dock = RM309
OMG! shakehead.gif

Thanks anyway for confirming the prices. Thanks to GST & our RM I guess....
zachary22_77
post Dec 5 2015, 10:56 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(rhodry @ Dec 4 2015, 10:02 PM)
It's okay if they don't revive Astoria because Islandwood is still up and running, and apparently the functionality is better when porting over from iOS apps. I don't think there are any major apps which are on Android but not on iOS, so as long as Islandwood exists, the potential is still there.
Yes Islandwood is up & running. It's in way better shape & ported apps seems to be working well. Look at Candy Crush games for good eg. Astoria is way more problematic.

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Dec 4 2015, 11:42 PM)
suddenly this thread so active
Of course! Phone is finally launching brows.gif

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 5 2015, 12:22 AM)
oh. but good to have both cause sometimes, some apps are easier to develop in Android compare to iOS. biggrin.gif
cause 950 is coming...the hype!
The only time I hear Android is easier to develop is when u creating super simple apps & games which we already have so many also in Windows Store.

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 5 2015, 10:17 AM)
with the current price tag of 950, i wonder surface phone will be like > RM3.5k?

need to see what it can offers to accept that kind of price..

Expect more than RM3.5k & don't expect miracles in terms of feature ya. I do expect Surface pen support though not sure how useful with just less than 6" of screen size. It has to make sense, not just throw in a feature like that.
zachary22_77
post Dec 7 2015, 12:08 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 6 2015, 02:07 PM)
1 thing that we are missing here, 3k pricetag with display dock which you can have 2 in 1 function that is phone and pc. can droids & iphone do that??  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
This is probably the ONLY point left to get a W10 Mobile phone.

QUOTE(dgboy @ Dec 6 2015, 07:05 PM)
I'm curious on Other Windows 10 devices.
Other Windows 10 devices can actually mean laptops too brows.gif

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 6 2015, 07:18 PM)
XiaoMi Windows 10?
Lumia 550?
Lumia 550 probably only launching next year while Xiaomi won't be officially selling anything Windows 10 here this year also. So only thing it means is other laptops/ultrabooks/tablets running Windows 10. Like the very nice HP Spectre x2
zachary22_77
post Dec 7 2015, 01:59 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 7 2015, 12:14 PM)
Maybe just showcase for the XiaoMi Windows 10.
Hope to see more Windows 10 tablets.
I think they can't showcase Xiaomi stuff also, 1st of all not really under Microsoft, then what's announced is really just for China for now.

Next year though will be pretty interesting brows.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 8 2015, 12:04 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(DushanthDanielRay @ Dec 7 2015, 09:13 PM)
I hope they show at least a demo model of the Book. Still deciding to get it or the Pro 4.

According to Panos Panay, the Surface phone or Panos Phone) won't be revealed until late 2016/early 2017. Delay because they are waiting for Intel to finish development of their x86 capable phone processor. So its going to be a long time to wait.
Thanks for the update. I honestly don't expect Surface Phone this year. Also going to cost a bomb haha

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 7 2015, 09:24 PM)
i see...maybe surface phone and surface book will be available at same time. or maybe surface book earlier since they announce same time as lumia 950 and surface pro 4..

you must be rich to be able to afford surface book...i can predict even the entry spec would be > RM5k. it is a very good 2-in-1 but the price is too over for me..  cry.gif  cry.gif
Surface Book will come sooner if it comes at all. Issue is like u said, price. If they release it here with that that pricing it won't sell also. Might as well don't release right? brows.gif
zachary22_77
post Dec 9 2015, 10:16 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Dec 9 2015, 08:07 PM)
Killed all my mood to get this phone liau...
zachary22_77
post Dec 10 2015, 11:54 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Celestia @ Dec 9 2015, 11:15 PM)
well if you get the dock then its still ok but sadly they dont tell you how many people already pre-ordered
Well I don't wanna take that chance & also, I don't really need that dock. I can just do it wirelessly also. Works also but with lower refresh rate of 30Hz.

Personally I feel it's better they provide option without dock with lower price. The current price is just way too high.

This post has been edited by zachary22_77: Dec 10 2015, 11:55 AM
zachary22_77
post Dec 10 2015, 03:22 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Dec 10 2015, 03:03 PM)
I surely hope so as I am shortlisting the Lumia 950 XL to replace my Nokia Pureview 808. However, after looking at most image samples from owners of the 950 on DPReview site, it looks like the quality of the camera in the 950 is not up to mark. Certainly a step down from the 808.
I would personally say that Lumia 950 camera only can surpass Lumia 1020, not Pureview 808. But that's really good enough already. Too bad the price is...... doh.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2016, 01:20 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Mar 18 2016, 10:07 AM)
W10M not available for Lumia 1020 at this time.
Correction, W10M will NEVER be released for Lumia 1020.
zachary22_77
post Mar 22 2016, 03:35 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Mar 22 2016, 02:48 PM)
There has been a price cut for Lumia 950/XL in the US and other countries including India recently. With Ringgit appreciating (now below RM4 for US$1) I am wondering whether we can see a price reduction for Lumia 9xx. Even Apple reduces their watch prices and the new iphone SE starts lower.
Yeah, unfortunately like no price movement here. Microsoft Malaysia is always very slow.... shakehead.gif

0.0367sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:41 AM