Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

optraman taro
post Dec 3 2015, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Dec 3 2015, 11:26 AM)
Just had my gear knob changed last Saturday at Glenmarie, under warranty.  No question ask, just bring the broken one to the counter, they give u a replacement unit.
They claimed that those earlier version had product/material fault which caused the whole thing to just break easily.
What year is your car?saw quite a few of the faulty gear knobs.
optraman taro
post Dec 26 2016, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(vijai @ Dec 23 2016, 06:39 PM)
Does anyone here have the griffe version of the 408?

I finally got to see the Griffe version and wandeing what's your verdict on that version?  Worth spending that extra cash for the 18" wheels,  CD player/navigation/Rear camera and the protective material all around the bottom of the car?
Hi Vijai,

For me, when i got my Griffe, there was a huge discount and i got mine at the same price as the base model. So it wasn't that hard to decide. Looking back, I would prefer 17" wheels coz the tyres are damn expensive. The CD/nav/rear camera is decent though there's a delay when i switch it on. The rear view camera is surprisingly quite good IMHO,the images are clear. How much are they asking for the extras?

All in,i'm happy with my Griffe,i've always liked that feeling of being special i guess.
optraman taro
post Jan 6 2017, 12:28 AM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 3 2017, 11:33 AM)
What color is your Griffe? I am very happy with my Griffe too  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif

Go Klang to buy tyres. Much cheaper. Even for the 18"
Mine is black,wanted red last time but already out of stock. I'm in JB, haven't really looked around for cheaper tyres. Changed mine last time because punctured and the rest already worn out so just went to the 1st tyre shop i found.

Today had my 1st problem with my car,the gear knob broke. Weird, my car is only 1 year ++. Going to SC tomorrow to see if they have stock & get a replacement.
optraman taro
post Feb 1 2017, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(thefortyfour @ Jan 27 2017, 01:09 PM)
Hi guys, anyone can recommend me where can buy wiper for my 408? SC is too expensive. Thanks guys
I bought mine at sc last thursday at RM90, promo price. don't know if the promo still on but u can check la.
optraman taro
post Mar 16 2017, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Mar 13 2017, 05:16 PM)
For my 1.6T, i'm doing around 8.6L-9.2L/100KM.. usually speed is around 36-40km/h.. highways plus traffic jam..
if u see my siggy, 9.4L/100KM was due to first 2.5 years traveling short distance and mostly heavy traffic.. average speed is around 31-33km/h
My 1.6T is doing around 7.6L/100km, average speed 56km/h. Travel 140km to & fro to work,30 km of trunk road & 40 km of highway. Use autocruise most of the time, hardly any jams,just traffic lights. Still on 18" Continentals, a bit bumpy.

Rarely drive fast these days except for when idiots piss me off. But if the idiot's driving a skyline/ferrari/porsche/anything i know i cannot makan one ,i'll let him off. With a stare. Which usually the idiot doesn't notice because his car's too fast too furious.
optraman taro
post Apr 4 2017, 06:45 PM

QUOTE(Kananana @ Apr 3 2017, 08:05 AM)
Ooh ok, thanks for the info. I'm asking because my car has been consuming fuel much more than it used to be, now at 48k mileage. Since the new change of the servicing schedule from sc, they brought forward the change for spark plugs at 40k… I've postponed the change of the spark plugs to my coming service which is 50k since the sc says it will not affect my warranty as long as I bring the car back to sc. Is the spark plugs required to change this soon at 40k? Cos I've never came across changing a car's spark plugs this soon.

Also, I've heard that we have the white colored  privilege card right, from a dealer sc meaning not directly under nasim they said there's a 10% discount on servicing at nasim owned branch, is this true?
I also have the privilege card. It's true that you can get 10% discount but the SC where I go to in Plentong doesn't offer this. When I asked why, they said it's their management's instruction. However, I managed to get the 10% discount previously when I sent my car to the SC in BUkit Indah (Autoportal - now bungkus already) & the Citroen SC in SKudai.
optraman taro
post Apr 12 2017, 11:15 AM

I just called my SC,they confirmed that it's true. However,they advised me to only change the HPFP once it's faulty as there is no expiry on the offer,even after your warranty has expired.

They told that if I want to do it now,also can,it's free but if the thing broke down next time,will have to pay. So in the end,I decided to do it if & when the pump is rosak la.
optraman taro
post Apr 12 2017, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 12 2017, 11:40 AM)
That's good info bro. Although my car is 5 years, hpfp is working fine. Think I'll wait for it to fail, then change , since got no time limit!
it just happens that my car is in SC today for service,that's why kancheong to ask. 2 years & 90k km,still happy with it. Except the other day I went to Aeon Tebrau,got a Peugeot roadshow & the SA told me that I can get the 408t Griffe for 90k++ only.

Adoi. Very sakit hati. Jilaka.
optraman taro
post Apr 13 2017, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Apr 12 2017, 05:23 PM)
Saw this last Sat during dinner. Can't snap a photo for rear view. I notice it is slightly different from others 408 especially the back of the car... Special edition ???

[attachmentid=8724769]
This is the one I saw at the roadshow in Aeon Tebrau few weeks back. At that time it was the NA version.
optraman taro
post Aug 7 2017, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 5 2017, 09:21 AM)
Did they mention any time limit to claim the unchanged parts.

I've got hpfp,cooling coil, heat shield & electric pump on recall. Since all these items are working fine in my car, I don't want to change now. Wondering how long I can have them on hold?
My recall list is similar to yours. My A/C compressor is going to be changed under warranty and i also plan to change my cooling coil under the recall program. I've checked with my SC & they told me there's no expiry date for the recall items. They advised me to wait until the thing rosak then change it under the recall program.
optraman taro
post Sep 7 2017, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(Bearheart @ Sep 6 2017, 05:04 PM)
I called up Butterworth service centre and they didn't question whether the warranty is expired. They gave me a date for the service and replacement of some parts.

I was informed that I have to pay RM 1060 for the condenser, though.
I've replaced my a/c compressor,condenser & cooling coil a few weeks back. Wasn't charged anything except to top up the gas for RM120. The compressor & condenser was under warranty, cooling coil is under the recall. Previously,my a/c is ok,cold but it's annoyingly noisy. Now,it's still noisy but it's a different noise & the other day,it wasn't cold at all. It was raining heavily at night,my glass was fogged up & I was driving at 40km/h.

Going back to SC to find out what's wrong. Malu la, my car sounds like a 20+ year old car. dry.gif
optraman taro
post Sep 8 2017, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 8 2017, 09:05 AM)
I know what you mean, sounds like a diesel engine. Had the same problem just before my aircon konged. Nasim outsource air con work. Maybe one of their outsourced aircon shop is not that good.

I went to a shop that handles Peugeot aircons, 3months ago. Good job done, nice & cold, with warranty.
Went to SC yesterday,turns out my fan relay got problem,forked out RM222 for that,not under warranty. The bigger problem is my valve cover,have to leave my car there for about 2 days to get it done. This is covered under warranty,they told me it's about RM2k++. Luckily,still under warranty,if not pengsan.

Haven't made the booking yet,need to find a replacement car 1st. Asked for a courtesy car but they don't have at the moment. Two years of ownership & this doesn't look good.

My list of replaced items under warranty/recall :
1. LCD Monitor Screen - half a year to settle
2. Gear knob - half a year to settle
3. Aircond compressor/condenser/cooling coil - a month to settle
4. Valve cover - haven't booked an appointment

To be fair,they're improving la. CLIC is quite responsive to my emails but I just don't understand why they take so long to replace my monitor screen & gear knob. Just for info,I went to Plentong SC in JB & they're ok but could be better.
optraman taro
post Sep 8 2017, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Sep 8 2017, 04:43 PM)
Previously when I claim gear knob on the spot they replace.. How come they need half a year?
Mine is the Griffe edition,they say need to special order. They say la.
optraman taro
post Sep 15 2017, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(T7475 @ Sep 13 2017, 11:16 PM)
I love my 408 Turbo year 2013(July). I am clocking 128000 km on mileage. My 3 yrs or 100,000 warranty by Peugeot  was awesome  and i had no problem at all while complaining at Kuala Terengganu Branch. 2 yrs extended warranty by insurance for me is nonsense since it covers ònly the engine and gearbox. Engine means the engine itself  and other parts outside  of the engine are not tolerated. E.g. turbo and bla..bla... these are what i have experienced so far since 105000 km and  i am not complaining  about the parts price but i am wondering whether my lions parts are equipped with the lowest quality  of parts. So humiliating.. senang rosak..proton wira pun lagi lambat rosak..HAHAHAA.

List  of the 'stupidity' since 105000 - 128000 km
It starts with the valve cover (replace) then...next..next...
a. Turbo charger (crack at the air intake wall). Replace.
b. ABS sensor  .replace
c. High pressure turbo sensor  Replace 
d. Aircond compressor & condenser.

Guess what... the mechanic told me "u kira lambat kena... ramai org sudah kena lagi awal lor" . He showed me the records.. i felt blessed..hahahahahaa..

TQ Ali Express online platform for China OEM part (turbo charger). Still looking for original  parts ka? 3 yrs plus suda expired semua. No.need la bros..dont waste ur money on original  parts lor..

I.will not buy any Naza disributed cars in future. My 7 years Camry and 9 yrs Harrier are so happy to serve with a very minimal.default and I would not blame Toyota if the main parts needed to be replaced after 7 yrs..but unluckily they are still.as handsome.as before. . bye2 NAZA.

P/s: i write this based on my personal experience  and 3 yrs.of servicing car at KT branch was.awesome. my main point is why the  parts are too not realiable when it reaches 3-4yrs.
Just send my car this morning to replace the valve cover. The noise is so damn annoying & memalukan. 408T year 2015, 105000km on mileage so far. The mechanic told me that most owners didn't complaint after they changed the defective parts. Then it means either the original parts suck or the owners are happy with the repair or they replace it outside or they sold off their car. Which doesn't comfort me much.

Baru 2 tahun pakai,sudah tukar aircond compressor/condenser,cooling coil, valve cover, fan relay & they told me these are common problems. Scary la wei.

0.1231sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:54 AM