Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

kluseng
post Nov 30 2015, 10:10 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 30 2015, 07:20 PM)
Yeah that is right, plugs should be changed at 45kkm.

Actually I was very surprised to read your problem, especially since the EP6CDTM is very reliable. I've also read other threads where ppl have said this engine to be 'bullet proof' in terms of reliability.  Finally good to hear your problem was not the engine, but just dirty plugs.

My confidence on this engine is intact thumbup.gif I follow service schedules very strictly, personally check what has been done after every service! I'm on the 4th year, my engine & gb are very smooth, working really well!

Owner has to pay for plug change. Might as well do it at your next service.
I'm surprised that a car need to be towed because of dirty spark plugs. For most cars it just results in rough idling. Are French cars so fragile?

This post has been edited by kluseng: Nov 30 2015, 10:11 PM
kluseng
post Apr 5 2016, 02:05 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 5 2016, 08:28 AM)
Yes  Fluence is quite a looker. I'm surprised on the stability, especially since you feel it's a wobbler. The chassis is Conti,i'd expect stability! Long term maintenance would be cheaper on this engine, being an NA. 

Btw just as a matter of interest, how much is M3 regular maintenance?

About RM200 if you service outside every 10,000km. New M3 are covered by 3 years/60K km free maintenance. There doesn't seem to be any expensive maintenance schedule costing thousands like Pug every 60,000 km.
kluseng
post Apr 5 2016, 10:40 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(de_sengal @ Apr 5 2016, 02:18 PM)
Speaking as an owner of 308, for those that are really...really...really planning to buy peugeot you better prepare your money and more importantly mental. And especially after the car is 5 years old. And know what parts that is expected to fail after above 5 years.
I remember another 308 owner posted his maintenance cost for 308 at about RM10K a year and that was by postphoning some repairs to the following year. If this is typical for maintaining a 308 may as well be maintaining a second hand Merc or BMW.

kluseng
post Apr 11 2016, 10:13 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(wastriketra84 @ Apr 9 2016, 08:34 PM)
I think I was banned as well, for shooting him, can't see new feeds! Please don't ban me again, and sorry for shooting the fake basher.

Anyhow,

1. Boy96, thank you for sharing.
2. My Pug sale almost finalised, however butt itchy tested Jetta TSI today.
3. Now contemplating which to choose, as Pug 408THP-86,888, Jetta TSI-88,888

Need your advise bros!!!
I researched the same dilemma for my sister and my conclusion is that both models are about equal in terms reliability, maintenance cost and quality of after sales service. Jetta has the edge in power but Pug 408T is more refined in interior. In the end I told her to just choose the car she likes.
kluseng
post Nov 11 2016, 08:19 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(trifix @ Nov 9 2016, 05:57 PM)
Mine was 408T and currently on after 3rd year, KM90k. at the moment my Turbo unit gone. Glennmarie told me its will cause 11 to 12k to replace the unit.  It's already 15days, still no news, as usual the toll free or general line will always ringing but there will be no one picking up. mayb their culture. went there to check, abang baru nak open job sheet.  wait for TUNE insurance adjuster to come in n check the car. fyi i am on EWP program. but then the hassle for having this car really test u financially, emotionally,  too many break down. 

1) 1st year - none
2) 2nd year - compressor gone -replaced. wait for 1+ week, after few mths compressor coil faulty -  another 2 weeks(glennmarie cant handle  said  you want fast go to puchong branch - many car to settle) , High pressure pump faulty - replaced - 5 working days.
3) 3rd year - temperature sensor faulty. replaced with a day at Penang. (plus turbo kits crack )
never gets any replacement car or any discount for my towing, taxi fare and no of day without the car. Total without car a month.

4) after 3rd year - air cond - thermostats faulty - under EWP,  replaced on sep 16./ took 2 and half weeks to settle/replaced. and took car out merely  j use for 2weeks car break down again for turbo unit, already 15 days. pending for TUNE adjuster.... again have to go visit them few round. by call, you are very lucky if they attend the call.

Summary [3.5 year].-> 2 months without car. i am regret bought this car..........dont know what else will appear at LCD panel. 

Service center all sucks dont value ppl, time spent for break down.
I feel your pain and frustration. Why not sell it off and get a Jap car? It may not be as fun to drive but was the driving experience of your 408T worth the ownership experience?

kluseng
post Jan 11 2017, 10:16 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(syafiq87 @ Jan 11 2017, 04:29 PM)
just went to allianz and try to renew insurance....they only cover until 62k(in sabah) for peugeot year 2013...i think my debt higher than that.... is it a good value or is there other insurance cmpany that offer the best price....
Why do you want to pay a higher premium? It is quite common for market value to fall below the loan balance for long loan tenure or high depreciation Conti cars. For agreed value insurance the insurance company specifies the amount. As the payout is based on a fixed value they can't insure above market value for obvious reasons.

The total amount insured whether agreed value or not is only important in cases of total loss. Your risk may not be as high as you think.

This post has been edited by kluseng: Jan 11 2017, 10:19 PM

0.1229sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:47 PM