Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion

Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 17 2016, 05:10 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Hi guys, previous owner of a 208 (which got totalled sad.gif)

Looking at a used 408 1.6T (2-3 years). Any common problems I should be aware about?

This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Jan 17 2016, 05:11 PM
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 18 2016, 05:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 18 2016, 08:01 AM)
No serious problems, reliable engine & smooth gb. What price and which year?
Still looking around smile.gif
Considering between this, 308, Jetta, Elantra, and Golf.

Got soft spot for Pugs biggrin.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 18 2016, 06:48 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 18 2016, 06:04 PM)
If you go for 308, get the 6sp model. Much improved engine, most of the bugs fixed.
How to differentiate 4spd and 6spd? VTI is definitely 4spd right? Are there turbos with 4spd?
I'm in favour of the 308 also, but my bro warned me about the turbo and also the moonroof. Heard of cases where people throw rocks on cars from flyovers sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Jan 18 2016, 06:48 PM
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 29 2016, 06:04 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Do the pre-reg cars of 2016 already come with the new parts? hmm.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 31 2016, 11:53 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Do you guys pump RON95 or RON97?
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 1 2016, 10:12 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Feb 1 2016, 09:24 AM)
RON97 since day one ...
Any specific reason? Or just in case?
My brother is also advising me to use RON97, but he's driving a Golf.
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 1 2016, 04:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Thanks guys for the responses. I think I'll pump RON95 at BHP or Caltex.

I'll give RON97 a try sometime and see if there's a difference. smile.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 8 2016, 08:10 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Happy new year guys.

A couple of questions:
1. How do I connect my phone automatically?
2. How do I make the head unit remember that I want to shuffle the tracks?
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 23 2016, 03:29 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Clic informed me that my car is recalled for the following parts:

1. Timing
2. Breather hose - Labour
3. Oil Pump Solenoid
4. Water Pump
5. Turbo Electric Coolant Pump

Anyone know the problems with these parts?
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 23 2016, 04:15 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Feb 23 2016, 03:37 PM)
What year is your car?  shocking.gif
end of 2012.

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 23 2016, 04:07 PM)
clic is sending the recall list to all owners?

how come i dun get it?

sad.gif
I emailed them to ask.
Zephyr_Mage
post Mar 8 2016, 02:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

One month into getting a used 408 (3.5 years), A/C is blowing hot air already.
Went to external pug workshop, was quoted around 3k for compressor+condenser. He says it's important to change condenser together with compressor. Is this true?

Decided to go to Glenmarie to claim extended warranty, was told that I needed to get original owner's signature. Otherwise I would have to pay 5k upfront.

I didn't expect it to happen so soon sad.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Mar 8 2016, 04:28 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(vemaltech @ Mar 8 2016, 03:58 PM)
Go to other aircond shop....the compressor can be repair by changing the internal bearing.... unless compressor fully damaged internally.......not necessary to change the condensor unless no maintenance done before...."changing compressor oil"
What is the mileage
64k at the moment.
Where do you recommend I go to? I'm just afraid that they'll just push a new compressor to me.
Zephyr_Mage
post Mar 9 2016, 10:07 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Glenmarie SC diagnosis: "A/C compressor"

So I guess it's not just the internal bearing then. sad.gif
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 19 2016, 04:08 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

After taking over a 2012 408 1.6 in February just before CNY, here's my experience so far:

1. A/C failure in March. Got told to replace compressor.
2. Extended warranty still under previous owner's name so Glenmarie told me to do two things: i. Get previous owner's signature on claim form and submit to them. ii. Submit transfer ownership of policy directly to Tune Insurance.
3. After all the hassle of getting the previous owner to sign the form, my car is fixed. I also submitted the transfer ownership form to Tune Insurance. Took over 2 weeks to close this case. Fine.
4. 1 week after getting my car back, which was just 2 Sundays ago, engine oil pressure fault error pops up. Serious knocking sound in engine.
5. Brought car into Peugeot Sungai Besi as it was the closest. Monday they told me that the queue is really long. Wednesday, they told me that my car will be checked Thursday or Friday.
6. Nothing over the weekend, so I called back on Monday. Fella tells me that the car will be checked most likely next week. I told them that I was promised that my car would be checked last Thursday/Friday. They cut me off and said "We didn't promise you anything". mega_shok.gif
7. Meanwhile, I called Tune Insurance to follow up and they told me that there is no such thing as submitting the transfer myself. I have to submit it through Peugeot. doh.gif
OK Fine. However, I've been trying to follow up with clic on my case and the last time they replied to me was last Thursday morning.

This is the last time I'm ever buying a Peugeot. I have owned the car for just 2 months and I spent less than half of it actually driving it. Which is a shame, because I enjoyed driving my 208 for the past 2 years.
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 20 2016, 06:45 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

OK so after escalation my car is finally checked.
Damages:
1. Timing pad broke (after 60k? Really?) and the timing chain damaged other stuff in the timing system.
2. Leaking coolant due to leakage in the thermostat.
Total damage: RM44xx.

Best part? Apparently they are not covered under warranty as they are considered "wear and tear'. Really? Leaking is wear and tear? Timing pad breaking and damaging the entire timing system is wear and tear?

I defied everyone when I bought the pug. Now it comes back and bites me hard.
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 22 2016, 02:26 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 22 2016, 08:30 AM)
It is unfortunate you ended up with the problems. It is not normal for car of this age to have theses problems. Mine is also 2012 model & 60k km, I do not have any of the defects. I'm not saying, there were no issues at all with my car.There is no perfect car with no issues, in this world. My car is running well cos I've been very strict with maintenance schedule.

The reason why you are faced with that many problems is the former owner did not carry out proper maintenance. I am very sure he skipped the major service at 36th month. At this service timing chain is checked for condition & tensioner changed. If the tensioner is not changed, chain starts to slack and slap the guide. Continued usage will cause other damage within the engine, as in your case!

The question is, why did the former owner skip major service? The only reason is, he did not want to pay $3+k for it! This is a very important lesson, any Conti will not forgive if proper maintenance is skipped!

Ok,now that you have this big headache, the only thing you can do is fix it. As suggested by bro ginny88, go to a Peugeot independent workshop. It will only cost half the price! Your Lion will start to roar again!
Actually, no. The previous owner was very disciplined when it came to servicing. That's how I managed to claim for the a/c compressor just 1 week before.

If we go by your explanation that means they didn't go a good/thorough job servicing it.
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 22 2016, 06:02 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 22 2016, 04:46 PM)
If the former owned was disciplined on maintenance, then it has to be poor or shoddy work.

Major service would have been done just  a few months ago. As a matter of fact after major service, my engine has an amazing new feel! The engine sounds much more crisp! From the records you can find out if the service was properly done. Since you have timing chain problem, check if the timing tensioner was changed.

Whatever you can't claim by warranty, have it done at independent Peugeot workshop.Once you fix the defects and carry out timely maintenance, this car will be very enjoyable.
I'm not sure how to check what was done during the 60k service as it was done by the previous owner.

I'm pretty sure the servicing carried out is pretty standard for all cars up to 100k right? Where can I find such a list? If yes, then maybe I have a case.

Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 22 2016, 06:23 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Oops... well the car have been serviced at Sungai Besi (Sing Huat) all this while by the previous owner. Guess where my car is now. Oh crap.

I'll need to check with them I guess. They better not lie to me to cover their asses.
Zephyr_Mage
post Sep 3 2016, 09:08 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Brought my 1.6t into geutauto today for low engine oil level and was told there is a leakage. To repair it would cost me over 2k. sweat.gif

Where can I bring my lion for cheaper repair?

Susah... first coolant leakage now engine oil leakage....
Zephyr_Mage
post Sep 3 2016, 11:18 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Sep 3 2016, 03:08 PM)
Ur cat no more warranty?
SA told me rubber is not under EWP sweat.gif

0.1263sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled