University Multimedia University Thread V9, July Intake Promo & Scholarships at Pg1

NoobHacker
post Jan 22 2018, 08:43 PM

1,753 posts

Anyone satisfied with their room in cyberjaya? I'm now on mutiara ville, bottom floor everyday playing games, move things, throw things, sometimes yelling from 6pm to 6am.. crazy. Police went with guns before, still the same. My friend in cyberia is experiencing similar issue, 3am turn disco music loud. I'm currently looking at cyber square studio room, i suppose studio room will lesser party overnight? anyone really satisfied with their room? I never had to worry these in melaka.. crazy here
NoobHacker
post Feb 28 2018, 09:49 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Feb 25 2018, 01:55 PM)
I'm interested in taking Diploma in IT programme offered by MMU (Cyberjaya Campus). Before I'm pulling the trigger, I want to ask some opinion from the seniors who're currently studying or had studied the programme before. Are the modules taught to you guys any good? Is it on par with the current leading industries? Are the lecturers know what they're teaching to you guys about or not at all?

Next, is about the facilities. Is it comfortable enough to get the knowledge from the lecturers in the class hall? How about the cafeteria? Is it clean and are the food is any good? About the library, are there many books that'll help me in my studies and to read just to kill some time? Last but not least, can you wear crew neck t shirts and jeans to the class hall or you must wear office attire to the class hall? Is the hostel rental price reasonable enough? or it's expensive?

Do you guys will ever recommend MMU (Cyberjaya Campus) to a new student who wants to learn more about IT and wants to have fun here and there? What're some places that you guys recommend to go when studying at MMU? Lastly, do you guys ever regretted studying at MMU? Hopefully I'll get some input from you guys as soon as possible. Cheers.
I'm from Diploma Malacca in IT. Now in Cyberjaya for Degree.

1. You want diploma or degree? Diploma will teach you how to do it, meaning, doesn't care your process as long as you produce something. Degree will teach you how it is done, meaning, even you done it the process is important. It is quite updated, I wouldn't say fully updated, but some lecturers really push their syllabus to the latest one. For lecturers, I would say 1 out of 16 do not know what they are teaching at all, like sticking to 10 years old knowledge, which is acceptable, based on my experience.
2. Lecture hall is OK, sometimes too cold. Wifi is improving. Cafeteria cannot, totally cannot for my taste. In Malacca there are LOTS of food nearby campus but in Cyber isn't, you probably have to drive at least 10km away to get good food.
3. I do see lecturers often borrow new books and interesting books but when I go to visit the library there just super old books. I've seen lecturers borrow some books like cryptocurrencies (considered new) and few books that costs RM250+ in kinokuniya but I didn't find any in library yet. If you search for them you should find them.
4. rounded T shirt is ok, jeans is ok, slipper they close 1 eye in Cyberjaya. Malacca is much stricter than Cyber.
5. Cyber is expensive, idk about hostel, outside is quite expensive. If you have car I suggest live far a bit, will save you a lot of money.
6. Depend on what IT you want to learn.. it's like asking, a student wants to learn more about food, but in food you have cooking, frying, baking all those. need to be more specific. If you really want to prioritize fun and make studies as secondary I recommend Malacca, club is much more active there. MMU malacca, a lot of places to go, in Cyber I think not really, have to go far a bit, but closer to KL is easier to attend events.
7. I didn't regret, it is pretty good for it's price. I mean, you will hear a lot of complaints here, but we didn't pay for price of MIT students.. if you have rm600k budget going overseas definitely good exposure and experience, for limited budget mmu is good. 1 thing i really satisfied is toilets here is really clean. Remember, if you wanna ask something here, straight to the lecturer, don't listen to seniors.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Feb 28 2018, 09:57 PM
NoobHacker
post Apr 23 2018, 02:05 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Apr 19 2018, 06:10 PM)
Hey guys, I've applied online application at 8th April. Until now, I didn't get the email nor call from the admission staff about the eligibility status. Usually, how long it'll for you guys to get the email?
phone them. iirc I got mine within a week.
NoobHacker
post May 6 2018, 03:33 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Intricate @ May 3 2018, 11:02 PM)
Hey, guys. I have almost completed my Pre-U and I'm interested in MMU's Computer Science with a specialisation in either Data Science or Software Engineering. Would like to know if someone who preferably is in their 2nd or 3rd year in either of those 2 respective specialisations could tell me about their experience in this university?
Eg. How are the lecturers? Are the facilities good? Is your specialisation particularly difficult? If so, why? Which subject in particular is difficult?

If you would prefer, you could pm me too about it.
Much thanks in advance.  thumbsup.gif
Software Eng. here. I think you shouldn't decide first as you haven't learn the foundations of computer science, you might not have idea about what are those. My advice is ask lecturers what are those before you choose it. I heard mis-leading informations from seniors and even some of my friends picked the wrong one (not what they really liked).

So far the lecturers I met do not read slides. Some explains until you know. The current problem I met are more on not-so-straightforward slides than quality of lecture. Facilities wise, 1 of the lab is having i7 8700 16GB ram and nvme ssd, some are still upgrading. Lab internet speed is fast (Usually 100mbps, hardware limited) but wifi still needs improving, need login and those every time.

My specialization must understand what is it with practical example, else just plain memorizing words. Some lecturers are very deep researchers and might forgot we students do not understand what are the terms, in this case, you must ask, else you go home and don't understand what are those at all.

I don't think there are 'difficult subjects', it's all depend on a person. With new syllabus they are killing memorizing technique really hard, like you even need to explain to lecturers what you wrote to get attendance.
NoobHacker
post May 14 2018, 06:08 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(limtenggen @ May 7 2018, 12:39 AM)
melaka campus ?
Cyberjaya. Melaka do not have Computer Science in Software Eng.
Frankly speaking, based on what I see, for pure academic aspect I sees Cyberjaya is much better. (In my field)
NoobHacker
post May 17 2018, 03:49 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Iam_anonymous @ May 15 2018, 10:33 PM)
Actually I am choosing between MMU and INTI for SE, do you recommend Computer Science major in SE? Do you see many Chinese in your class?
Why do you mind the amount of Chinese when you only come to trade the knowledge? It doesnt really matter unless you want to get really close activities with classmates such as halal stuff. I as Chinese myself have seen lots of non chinese students much passionate and knowledgeable than the chinese.
There is amount of Chinese like 30% but Melaka is like 90% chinese to me.

Well SE in Malaysia actually hardly finding lecturers who understands the theories practically, you can only try to pick those not reading the slides. I think we have a MIT grad here teaching a SE subject. (SE major have 4 subject so you had 1 by MIT grad and the other 3 try ur luck). The fundamental fields like OS, Architecture, networking, algorithms are fine, i can fully understand them only attending the class even without reading at home myself.

Contrasting to INTI, i think INTI having a major called mobile development? Comparing to SE of course SE kind of major is much atas than that. In this case i will recommend MMU.
NoobHacker
post May 17 2018, 04:44 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Iam_anonymous @ May 17 2018, 04:32 PM)
I just scare that can't mix really well with other races. Of course people will mix more comfortably with own races, but doesn't mean I am not racist I just prefer more Chinese in the environment.

You did your diploma in Melaka and now degree in Cyberjaya?
Yes I used to have that mindset, but now when everyone aims for the same assignment milestone it doesn't matter. Like even you can speak native chinese with ur teammate doesnt mean he/she will reply ur whatsapp asap sweat.gif sometimes work with other race is even easier. Just to let you know that. There is fair amount of Chinese to work with if that is your concern.
Yes diploma in Melaka and degree in Cyberjaya.
NoobHacker
post Jun 18 2018, 03:00 AM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ May 31 2018, 04:02 AM)
1. By this I mean the price is reasonable for what I'm paying for. What's the best way to find an empty room?

2. What do you think of overall students that're staying there? Are they mostly consist of good students? I know this might be impossible to do but if possible, I want to live with housemates that doesn't smoke, know how to make the unit that I'm living with them clean and will not cause much trouble for me.

3. Is it a must to wear it everyday? Can you change the card picture that you submit before the registration day later on? Right now i don't have a choice but to submit my not so good looking picture because the deadline is today.

4. What do I need to prepares before registration day? Can you wear t-shirt? Or is it one of those event where student must wear collar shirts?
1. I find in ibilik / facebook page. Ideally to have a car, even small old kancil or motorbike will benefit alot. Try to find those without contract so you can look around.
TBH I don't feel cyberjaya is a nice place to live, but academics here is much better so I choose here instead of Melaka campus. I really miss melaka where 1 minutes can reach cheap and nice breakfast. If you have transport you might want to look around in sri kembangan / dengkil / kajang.
Depends where you from tho. If you used to cyberjaya kind of place would be fine for you. Quite subjective. If you are from KL and just finding a place to stay and go back on weekend then cyberia is fine.

2. Find one without contracts so you can move anytime. Students here are ok, but there is a lot of... ahem. They yell and party loud in the midnight if you were unlucky.

3. You can't change. Most people take better picture and paste at the plastic cover so when you put your ID in it looks nice biggrin.gif

4. If it is unspecified, in the campus you can wear Tshirt. Just make sure with long pants.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 31 2018, 08:40 AM)
Ignore SRC
I would say ignore confessions tho.
Those people speak without the need of taking responsibility of what they had spoken, I don't think it's worth to take serious considerations. Just read and pass.

QUOTE(Julius698 @ Jun 14 2018, 12:04 PM)
This 26th June, I'll be going to Cyberjaya Campus for the Registration Day. What event/activities usually they set up for the students that day? What're additional things that I need to take note of before going there? Do I need to bring parents with me or it's up to the students?
You can come without your parents from the first day to the last day tongue.gif You are already university student.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Jun 18 2018, 03:05 AM
NoobHacker
post Jun 18 2018, 06:22 PM

1,753 posts

Can't comment on hostel inside MMU but in average condo in Cyberjaya is considerably bad. I see lots of seniors lecturers live in puchong, sri kembangan, kajang etc.
Most of the time you hear a lot of *ahem* people talking loud in the midnight. You can get a nice one if you are lucky though, I have one friend got one very cold and silent. Thats why I recommend new comers must find one without contract.
Cool part about cyberjaya is you can access to TIME fibre, RM149 for 100mbps and 3ms ping to 8.8.8.8

Now I let you know what I see in Cyberjaya (Might not facts, just what I see), not MMU. It is a place where everything is overpriced. This is how it works - The IT industry wasn't so strong when mahadir established the Malaysian's silicon valley, but the investors goreng the price really high because it's silicon valley, however it doesn't worth the value. The government want to make here a nice place thus invested a lot of money in cities planning like nice roads and designs (You see grass here are actually very well maintained). Dedicated police force here (You see a lot of police here). To pay those maintenance, those high price are needed. But what those price offers are not much, no local foods (I meant not enough, just 1 or 2, and they are not nice imo. I often drive to dengkil or sri kembangan to have cheap and nice local food, like RM5-RM7, I would pay RM15-RM17 if they were in cyberjaya but even in cyberjaya RM17 can't get those taste), no pasar pagi / malam (afaik), no jusco/tesco (have jaya gorcer), even in 'silicon valley' we don't have an IT mall. So, everything became expensive and don't actually offer the convenience.

I live here because the academic environment is really much better here. I have few friend taking same subject in melaka, I finished my final and go teach them. They don't even understand what their lecturers told them but few sentences from me they fully understand in few seconds. The students here also much passionate than what I see in melaka. Don't get me wrong, there are good ones in melaka, just what I averagely sees.

Living wise, can't compare with melaka. Melaka was one of the best place I ever live even compared to overseas such as UK, Japan or HK. Everything is so near and cheap, convenient and safe. Complete silent in the midnight.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Jun 18 2018, 09:31 PM
NoobHacker
post Jun 19 2018, 11:45 AM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Jacksp @ Jun 19 2018, 11:35 AM)
Thanks for your input. Are there any other websites other than iProperty to rent rooms? iProperty seems a bit too expensive, and not completely justified. My budget is ~ RM450
You can look for facebook cyberjaya/mmu groups or ibilik
RM450 in cyber can only get small - medium room, however if u stay far abit can get larger medium room thumbsup.gif
NoobHacker
post Jul 12 2018, 11:24 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Jul 3 2018, 03:40 PM)
It's kinda hard to get friends especially for introvert person like me 😅😅. Everytime I stop for a moment and sit on a chair around the campus, literally everyone at least walk to classes or other places in the campus with their buddies.

Even worse, I could not even find a single friend from my faculty. It's not that I don't want to talk to them, it's just that it's overwhelm me everytime I see them with somebody they know. I've heard that you cannot survive college life if you don't have friends.

To the senior who basically went through the same situation as me, how do you cope with it? I'm thinking of joining club but I don't know when it open for registration. Does being in the club gives you some extra pointer or is it just for fun one?
1) there are some including me walk alone, don't feel weird about it, be yourself, just don't ego and you will be good
2) try join clubs, they have ice breaking sessions that help you to make friends. Friendly seniors in the clubs will talk to you aggressively too biggrin.gif
3) you can join for pointers or just for fun, they aren't like co-co's during your high school, you can even join them just for personal reasons, don't have to be officially written in the computer system that you are one of their members.

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Jul 7 2018, 10:16 PM)
Is there anyway to boost up the speed at the Cyberjaya hostel? I'm using the LAN one and when running the speedtest only get below 5 mbps most of the time. With this speed, I can't play online games & stream youtube constantly at 1080p

You may think that I'm whining for the price that I'm paying for the hostel but this is the only way for me to entertain myself as I don't have car to go around sightseeing and friends (even my roommate rarely talk to me because he most of the time spend time with his high school friend).
I think your best bet is to find LAN ports around the campus. I get 100-300Mbps depending on which port.

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Jul 9 2018, 11:33 PM)
Is it for Malacca Campus one? I'm from Cyberjaya and haven't heard any news about club registration at all or am I missing something?
Cyber clubs are much silent than Malacca ones. You might have to contact them personally through facebook page or such.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Jul 12 2018, 11:47 PM
NoobHacker
post Jul 14 2018, 04:13 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Jul 9 2018, 11:33 PM)
Is it for Malacca Campus one? I'm from Cyberjaya and haven't heard any news about club registration at all or am I missing something?
NoobHacker
post Aug 14 2018, 06:12 PM

1,753 posts

Anyone tried to do their lecture kaw2 through the AES in group? Something like over 80% of the students give 1 star rating
NoobHacker
post Aug 16 2018, 11:53 PM

1,753 posts

err i dont think it's good to talk about too detail here, the main issues is
1. over 90% of the students cant understand the lecture.. i been first class since diploma until degree, and this is the first time i get blank understanding on what is the lecture about.
There was a case where almost entire class can't understand the concept for 1 hour and I go home google then understood in 5 minutes.
2. assignment guideline unclear and keeps changing. this is the first time too, getting 'stranger emails and whatsapp (our classmates, you know we don't make friends with the entire class)' to ask about the assignment which never happened to me before.
3. sometimes really mean to students.. if there is a student that is offensive in class who doesn't care about cgpa will surely confront.

I was thinking to drop this subject on week 3, which is late anyway, but i try to getting used to it. Now i'm in trouble. the lecturer somewhat nice when talking one to one but I can't understand the content. I met my academic advisor and my advisor said that if no one understand but i managed to understand myself I will be in big advantage.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Aug 17 2018, 12:01 AM
NoobHacker
post Mar 23 2019, 05:46 PM

1,753 posts

are there bathrooms with water heater in mmu cyberjaya? just asking lol the water flow is amazing.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Mar 23 2019, 05:46 PM

0.0319sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:25 AM