May I know currently whether Form 6 is in BM or English?
And what is the difference between the Form 6 syllabus and the Cambridge A-Level syllabus?
Form 6 is in BM or English?
Sep 23 2015, 11:53 AM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
4,703 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
May I know currently whether Form 6 is in BM or English?
And what is the difference between the Form 6 syllabus and the Cambridge A-Level syllabus? |
Sep 23 2015, 06:07 PM
61 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
Maths and science are taught in English
Sep 23 2015, 06:16 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
581 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: Selangor |
depends on what subject la and i think its different
Sep 23 2015, 07:44 PM
399 posts Joined: May 2015 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 23 2015, 11:53 AM) May I know currently whether Form 6 is in BM or English? for more details of form 6 syllabus, you can go to MPM website, at there you can check the sukatan pelajaran which will write out all the syllabus for each subject....And what is the difference between the Form 6 syllabus and the Cambridge A-Level syllabus? and for A-level, sorry i don't know how lol |
Sep 23 2015, 07:57 PM
Sep 23 2015, 08:39 PM
4,496 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 23 2015, 07:57 PM) Let me generalize for you:As I gained 3 months of personal experience of STPM Lower 6 life(Science Stream) before moving to A-Levels. Form 6: - Your Teachers' Quality will be based on what type of school you are in. If you are in those MARA/Malaysian Public U/Sekolah Kluster Cemerlang most of your lecturer will assist you all the way, and in terms of quality, it will definitely be better compared to the average school teacher (also based on your school Form 6 background) - More onto self revision before class and after class. - As you self study, you tend to need a greater UNDERSTANDING, and think A LOT, before you can start memorizing facts. - Rush assignments for Paper 4/5 to each subject for Maths, Physics/Bio, and Chem - The Giant GAP bridging SPM and STPM compared to A-Levels. - You will have those teachers who hardly can talk properly in ENGLISH, giving you lectures on Science and Maths subject, which will be a TOTAL DISADVANTAGE and hinders your learning progress (my personal experience), especially if your Math T lecture comes from KELANTAN... - Time Flexibility should be greater than A-Levels as you might just go to a closer school than further away private colleges for A-Levels, which varies from person to person, and very tiring to some people especially me. - 'Forced' to join KOKO, to compete for better OVERALL SCORE. (Separated from Form 1-5 KoKo from some schools) - Class Time table : 8am - 2pm max. KOKO - 2pm to 3pm max. - REHAT time : 30mins - 45 mins depends on schools - If you live nearby your school, then good travelling tru and flo back home should be fast and easy around 20 mins. - Wake up around 7am in the morning should be fine. - School Library depending on school resources might be not as much info you need. - Air conditioning are depended on location - Can repeat your Term 1 and Term 2 STPM infinite times. - Don't have MATA PELAJARAN UMUM until your Degree - Syllabus is very detailed and refined compared to A-Levels. - Takes a lot of effort to score 3.80 A+ - No Open Marking Scheme to see how examinations go through. - No Government Textbooks, all are based on reference books. - Minimum spending of STPM on books and examination less than RM 1K, except you factor in Tuition Class. - Pengajian AM will not be your favourite subject, if you have bad BM background especially on writing essays. A-Level: - depending on which college, most of your lecturer will be highly skilled. (unless your College hires some lecturer from UTAR, or someone who has no tendency to teach... - picking your 4 subjects should be a wise matter and no fooling around with. - Class starts at 8am - 4pm - Wake up 6am in the morning. - REHAT/Brake period : 1 hours - 3 hours max - KOKO : 4pm - 5pm (optional if you have the time or will to join) - FORCED TO TAKE MATA PELAJARAN UMUM for All A-Levels Colleges except TARC (General Paper as 5th Sub) and Sunway College. - Textbooks are CIE Approved for their materials inside, but mostly you need to WIND THROUGH PAGES AND PAGES OF USELESS TEXTS, not as direct as your STPM, SPM reference books you used to. - Good Facilities like Study Room, Library and Computers for students access at all times. - Feeling quite tiring after a day of studying when you go home, which is 16km - 20km aways by your parents or public transport sucks. - Rent is around RM 300 - RM 600 a month, not factoring food costs in hostels. - Will be no life studying, unless you went to outside tuition if you can't cope with your lecturer or can't accept your lecturer's teaching. - Tuition fees range from RM 19K from TARC to RM 50K+ at Taylor's - Your Textbook price will be equivalent to 3 semester of STPM pricing. - Your life will sucks if you don't mix along with College people, especially your classmates who are from O Levels which are damn hyperactive, who just making the class a nuisance to be in. This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 23 2015, 08:43 PM |
Sep 23 2015, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 23 2015, 08:39 PM) Let me generalize for you: That's very good info As I gained 3 months of personal experience of STPM Lower 6 life(Science Stream) before moving to A-Levels. Form 6: - Your Teachers' Quality will be based on what type of school you are in. If you are in those MARA/Malaysian Public U/Sekolah Kluster Cemerlang most of your lecturer will assist you all the way, and in terms of quality, it will definitely be better compared to the average school teacher (also based on your school Form 6 background) - More onto self revision before class and after class. - As you self study, you tend to need a greater UNDERSTANDING, and think A LOT, before you can start memorizing facts. - Rush assignments for Paper 4/5 to each subject for Maths, Physics/Bio, and Chem - The Giant GAP bridging SPM and STPM compared to A-Levels. - You will have those teachers who hardly can talk properly in ENGLISH, giving you lectures on Science and Maths subject, which will be a TOTAL DISADVANTAGE and hinders your learning progress (my personal experience), especially if your Math T lecture comes from KELANTAN... - Time Flexibility should be greater than A-Levels as you might just go to a closer school than further away private colleges for A-Levels, which varies from person to person, and very tiring to some people especially me. - 'Forced' to join KOKO, to compete for better OVERALL SCORE. (Separated from Form 1-5 KoKo from some schools) - Class Time table : 8am - 2pm max. KOKO - 2pm to 3pm max. - REHAT time : 30mins - 45 mins depends on schools - If you live nearby your school, then good travelling tru and flo back home should be fast and easy around 20 mins. - Wake up around 7am in the morning should be fine. - School Library depending on school resources might be not as much info you need. - Air conditioning are depended on location - Can repeat your Term 1 and Term 2 STPM infinite times. - Don't have MATA PELAJARAN UMUM until your Degree - Syllabus is very detailed and refined compared to A-Levels. - Takes a lot of effort to score 3.80 A+ - No Open Marking Scheme to see how examinations go through. - No Government Textbooks, all are based on reference books. - Minimum spending of STPM on books and examination less than RM 1K, except you factor in Tuition Class. - Pengajian AM will not be your favourite subject, if you have bad BM background especially on writing essays. A-Level: - depending on which college, most of your lecturer will be highly skilled. (unless your College hires some lecturer from UTAR, or someone who has no tendency to teach... - picking your 4 subjects should be a wise matter and no fooling around with. - Class starts at 8am - 4pm - Wake up 6am in the morning. - REHAT/Brake period : 1 hours - 3 hours max - KOKO : 4pm - 5pm (optional if you have the time or will to join) - FORCED TO TAKE MATA PELAJARAN UMUM for All A-Levels Colleges except TARC (General Paper as 5th Sub) and Sunway College. - Textbooks are CIE Approved for their materials inside, but mostly you need to WIND THROUGH PAGES AND PAGES OF USELESS TEXTS, not as direct as your STPM, SPM reference books you used to. - Good Facilities like Study Room, Library and Computers for students access at all times. - Feeling quite tiring after a day of studying when you go home, which is 16km - 20km aways by your parents or public transport sucks. - Rent is around RM 300 - RM 600 a month, not factoring food costs in hostels. - Will be no life studying, unless you went to outside tuition if you can't cope with your lecturer or can't accept your lecturer's teaching. - Tuition fees range from RM 19K from TARC to RM 50K+ at Taylor's - Your Textbook price will be equivalent to 3 semester of STPM pricing. - Your life will sucks if you don't mix along with College people, especially your classmates who are from O Levels which are damn hyperactive, who just making the class a nuisance to be in. How about the assessment between Form 6 and A-Level? If I'm not wrong, Form 6 students have to >Do assignments >Take the exams every semester >And the Final Exam at the end of the two years. Is that right? |
Sep 23 2015, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 23 2015, 08:49 PM) That's very good info Yes How about the assessment between Form 6 and A-Level? If I'm not wrong, Form 6 students have to >Do assignments >Take the exams every semester >And the Final Exam at the end of the two years. Is that right? > Do Assignments is a rush for every subjects since 2011. > Trials is always 2 months before the exam > Syllabus is detailed as hell, so studying would be a total stress. Especially chasing the syllabus, May to 2nd week of September finished everything for Term 1. > Exams are split into 3 parts, where Term 1 and 2 results can be repeated during Term 3 if you have time for it. Assessment for A-Levels : - College based assessment, if you care normally you are under their scholarship. - A-levels assessment will bet set by A-Level Board over at Cambridge / EdExcel. - Generally the questions would be simple compared to STPM. But the tricky part is the logic behind each question asked. Assessment in Exam will be AS and A2. Where AS will covers everything you will learn in STPM but in less detail, while A2 is all application theory. This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 23 2015, 08:58 PM |
Sep 23 2015, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 23 2015, 08:54 PM) Yes The Term 3 exam only covers the syllabus in Term 3 or it includes all from Term 1 to Term 3?> Do Assignments is a rush for every subjects since 2011. > Trials is always 2 months before the exam > Syllabus is detailed as hell, so studying would be a total stress. Especially chasing the syllabus, May to 2nd week of September finished everything for Term 1. > Exams are split into 3 parts, where Term 1 and 2 results can be repeated during Term 3 if you have time for it. |
Sep 23 2015, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 23 2015, 08:56 PM) Well for what I know, it just only what has been learnt and taught in Term 3. But those general things in your Term 1 and 2, you need to know lah. As hard as I know, there are no formula sheets given for Physics, not mistaken. This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 23 2015, 09:01 PM |
Sep 23 2015, 09:03 PM
1,353 posts Joined: Jan 2014 From: Sunway South Quay |
QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 23 2015, 09:00 PM) Well for what I know, it just only what has been learnt and taught in Term 3. May I know what do you mean by MATA PELAJARAN UMUM as stated in your previous post?But those general things in your Term 1 and 2, you need to know lah. As hard as I know, there are no formula sheets given for Physics, not mistaken. |
Sep 23 2015, 09:04 PM
Sep 23 2015, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 23 2015, 09:03 PM) mata pelajaran umum, there are 4 types: - Bahasa Malaysia (for those failed SPM BM / international students) - Malaysian Studies - Moral Studies - Character Formation (doing charity work most likely) depending on which course you are in, your college will assign you to which MPU course you need to be in. This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 23 2015, 09:06 PM |
Sep 23 2015, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 23 2015, 09:05 PM) mata pelajaran umum, there are 4 types: I don't think A-levels require those subjects as A-levels only have min of 3 subjects to take.- Bahasa Malaysia (for those failed SPM BM / international students) - Malaysian Studies - Moral Studies - Character Formation (doing charity work most likely) depending on which course you are in, your college will assign you to which MPU course you need to be in. Correct me if i'm wrong . |
Sep 23 2015, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 23 2015, 09:08 PM) I don't think A-levels require those subjects as A-levels only have min of 3 subjects to take. Well they are assigned by MQA. Those monkeys who set up these whole thing Correct me if i'm wrong . Basically you just need to pass to project for Character formation just to get a useless certificate by the college. It is seen like a must from the people I asked from Taylor's to Yayasan UEM. So far I asked, only Sunway and TARC aren't required to do so. |
Sep 23 2015, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 23 2015, 09:11 PM) Well they are assigned by MQA. Those monkeys who set up these whole thing How come it's never mentioned here : http://www.help.edu.my/a-levels/programmes...egistration-due Basically you just need to pass to project for Character formation just to get a useless certificate by the college. It is seen like a must from the people I asked from Taylor's to Yayasan UEM. So far I asked, only Sunway and TARC aren't required to do so. If there's really MATA PELAJARAN UMUM for HELP, I'd rather go Sunway College to avoid them |
Sep 24 2015, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 23 2015, 09:16 PM) How come it's never mentioned here : http://www.help.edu.my/a-levels/programmes...egistration-due Well i haven't asked people from HELP tho. If there's really MATA PELAJARAN UMUM for HELP, I'd rather go Sunway College to avoid them Personally you need to enquire properly by each college. Because you will be doing the same thing in your Degree. Which will be a nuisance. |
| Change to: | 0.0175sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:19 PM |