I have noticed some people giving free food in the evening in front of 7 eleven at chow kit. Just curious to know who are these people?
Free Food at Chow Kit
Sep 20 2015, 06:53 PM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
88 posts Joined: May 2011 |
I have noticed some people giving free food in the evening in front of 7 eleven at chow kit. Just curious to know who are these people?
Sep 21 2015, 06:22 PM
1,196 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kampung |
http://poskod.my/cheat-sheets/soup-kitchens/
Im not sure, but from the profile, Kechara or Pertiwi have higher chance |
Nov 10 2015, 11:28 PM
27 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Hi, Yes inded Pertiwi Soup Kitchen is the ones that you probably have been seeing. I've been part of the Charitable Society for awhile now.
Nov 11 2015, 07:57 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i am not so sure it that is the correct way to "help" the society. They are just encouraging beggars or mostly drug addicts to continue their ways. Give the food to those who are more deserving.
Nov 14 2015, 09:29 PM
88 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Nov 14 2015, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(CaptainAmerica @ Nov 14 2015, 09:29 PM) Every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday, be there at 9pm behind Tunes Hotel, KL. There'll be a convoy of a mobile clinic (myvi), food distributor (Loke Loke style food truck), and a SUV (Hilux). There'll always be some volunteers waiting there about 8:50 onwards. If you're afraid of being there alone, tunes hotel is open to allow volunteers to wait at the lobby. You'll see that the homeless there (over 300-500) knows the drill and line up according to female, female with a child, older men (over 50), then younger adults. There'll be two "stations" one for a meal, another strictly for syrup water. Occasionally they'll be giving clothing, giving haircuts, giving sanitary packs, and often times teaching young mothers and their children about how to live, teach them classes like primary school children and the sorts. After that, they'll move off to kota raya bus terminal and repeat. Everything finishes about 11:30ish Click here for the soup kitchen location This post has been edited by GalaxiasWilliam: Nov 14 2015, 10:19 PM |
Jan 12 2016, 04:10 PM
786 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
Kota Raya Bus Terminal? ... the one in JB is it? ..
Jan 16 2016, 12:15 AM
Jan 16 2016, 12:23 AM
18 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(abubin @ Nov 11 2015, 07:57 PM) i am not so sure it that is the correct way to "help" the society. They are just encouraging beggars or mostly drug addicts to continue their ways. Give the food to those who are more deserving. Beggars and mostly drug addicts? Please join some activities with the soup kitchen organization before you comment ? Majority of them are Malaysian that are working, you expect them to stay in a shelter when their salary is only around Rm700-800? They still need to send portion of their income back to their 'Kampung'. They only left RM300-400, what do u expect? Soup Kitchen organization are there to ease their burden and not to encourage beggars and feeding drug addicts. I can tell you these because of the experiences with ReachOut Malaysia. |
Jan 16 2016, 12:31 AM
1,053 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
may i know what ethnicity are mostly the receiver? (no prejudice) got foreigner like bangala, viet there as receiver?
Jan 29 2016, 11:26 AM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(hongcheeken @ Jan 16 2016, 12:23 AM) Beggars and mostly drug addicts? Please join some activities with the soup kitchen organization before you comment ? Why do they have to send money back? and whose salary is 700-800 these days? why don't they get a better job? PM me a few, we can always find them free education and better jobs, that's better than handouts.Majority of them are Malaysian that are working, you expect them to stay in a shelter when their salary is only around Rm700-800? They still need to send portion of their income back to their 'Kampung'. They only left RM300-400, what do u expect? Soup Kitchen organization are there to ease their burden and not to encourage beggars and feeding drug addicts. I can tell you these because of the experiences with ReachOut Malaysia. |
Feb 2 2016, 02:13 AM
6,723 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 29 2016, 11:26 AM) Why do they have to send money back? and whose salary is 700-800 these days? why don't they get a better job? PM me a few, we can always find them free education and better jobs, that's better than handouts. Ahh... but you are expecting their age to be like you. Young. Go there and be greeted by displaced senior citizens. Better job is an option if there was job for them in the first place. Some managed to freelance as cleaners. Some scavenging for recyclables. Some may have home, some on the streets. Everyone has their story and not your assumption that they should not beg. Some have to. |
Feb 2 2016, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 2 2016, 02:13 AM) Ahh... but you are expecting their age to be like you. Young. Go there and be greeted by displaced senior citizens. Better job is an option if there was job for them in the first place. Some managed to freelance as cleaners. Some scavenging for recyclables. Some may have home, some on the streets. Everyone has their story and not your assumption that they should not beg. Some have to. You mean they earn 700-800 a month and they have no job? |
Feb 2 2016, 03:47 PM
6,723 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 2 2016, 02:35 PM) Earlier u mentioned why not get better job? Well there is there is the problem of age and limited skill set. Why send money home? Obviously they came here for better prospects. End up things are not what they hope for. Sure they can go back. Once there then what? Most are too old to start again. We don't even know whats their story. Those who can earn few hundred a month, we don't even know what they do to earn those money. Maybe doing something good or bad. Sleeping on the streets cuts a lot of cost but at the price of dignity & humility. Maybe you need to have a random conversation with these people. |
Feb 2 2016, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 2 2016, 03:47 PM) Earlier u mentioned why not get better job? Well there is there is the problem of age and limited skill set. There's really no age limit. Introduce us to anyone you know, they might not welcome strangers after so long on the street. This post has been edited by wodenus: Feb 2 2016, 03:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0158sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:04 AM |