TShyperyouth_firepower
post Sep 19 2015, 10:30 PM, updated 10y ago

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

Well, its here. (not quite)

In the past those are leaks.

Now no more.

In any case, there will be 2 flavours:

BlackBerry 10, and BlackBerry-Android (i'm not exactly sure what's the name of the BlackBerry's Android OS will be called)

Please discuss about it here.

I'm already predicting that this phone will create an uproar like how the Passport did.

- Confirmed:
- runs only Android 5.1.1(blergh, I want my BlackBerry 10!)
- MSM 8992 , Snapdragon 808
- 3GB of RAM
- 32GB internal ROM, with expandable MicroSD up to 128GB, if previous history is correct will only take in Class 10 and above cards only.
- will come with some BlackBerry apps such as the Hub, the notes, bla bla. Think of it as Android with BlackBerry stuffs. Hardcore Android purists will call it 'bloatware', so it depends. If its as useful as BlackBerry Apps on BlackBerry 10, its gonna be really good.

- Display at 5.4-Inch, 1440x2560, 537ppi, not sure Super AMOLED or IPS or IGZO, or what.
-Camera - Rear: 18MP, Fast Focus, OIS, 4K video capable. Front: 5MP HD. Uses Schneider Optics's lenses. BlackBeryry's own fast focus based on TOL which was present in the Passport should be here.
- Hybrid touch keyboard (just like the passport, but with full four rows instead of a miniaturized 3 in Passport)
- Full stereo speakers on bottom grill.

(more to come as details emerge)

This post has been edited by hyperyouth_firepower: Oct 6 2015, 07:39 PM
waqi953
post Sep 22 2015, 05:40 PM

248 posts

I'm looking forward for this. Really like the design.
lp16
post Sep 26 2015, 12:23 AM

411 posts

Most probably priced at iPhone's range... Will be expensive, again!
harrycnut
post Sep 26 2015, 05:56 PM

28 posts

The Venice is now officially called BlackBerry Priv... not sure about this name tho huh.gif
remix2040
post Sep 27 2015, 12:50 AM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(harrycnut @ Sep 26 2015, 05:56 PM)
The Venice is now officially called BlackBerry Priv... not sure about this name tho  huh.gif
Venice is the internal device codename. Correct me if I'm wrong hahah
TShyperyouth_firepower
post Sep 27 2015, 02:50 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

updated the post.
popsoul
post Sep 28 2015, 03:53 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

Euro 700. I am shitting bricks already.

This will be the do or die device, at least for John Chen.
buyou12
post Sep 29 2015, 10:00 AM

271 posts

Nice device for app users.

I have been wanting to use wearables for a while but BB doesn't support this. This new device would be a very good compromise between BB hardcore fans but still want the flexibility of Android.

Only downside is the price. It would be hard to get people to part with their money for something that is perceived to premium when for the same amount of money, I can get one decent android and one old school BB (or new Q20) also can.

Only reserved for the elite.
wcz
post Sep 29 2015, 12:43 PM

could be my next phone, if the price is reasonable
TShyperyouth_firepower
post Sep 30 2015, 08:44 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

Price could be an issue, like how the Passport was, and the weak ringgit.

Yet, I'm thinking this android powered phone is unique.
popsoul
post Oct 6 2015, 05:59 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

http://crackberry.com/new-priv-blackberry-...ideo-capability

Some new photos and Blackberry Safeguard, ladies and gentlemen.

Blackberry is trying to secure the unsecured OS of Android. Wow. cool2.gif

p/s : We can now change the thread name to Blackberry Priv. smile.gif Although many will prefer to call this device as BB Android or BB Slider.
TShyperyouth_firepower
post Oct 6 2015, 07:40 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Oct 6 2015, 06:59 PM)
http://crackberry.com/new-priv-blackberry-...ideo-capability

Some new photos and Blackberry Safeguard, ladies and gentlemen.

Blackberry is trying to secure the unsecured OS of Android. Wow.  cool2.gif

p/s : We can now change the thread name to Blackberry Priv.  smile.gif Although many will prefer to call this device as BB Android or BB Slider.
done and done.
kakikubesi
post Oct 8 2015, 06:14 PM

1,274 posts

More pic please..
Looks tempting
I like the design and keyboard
waqi953
post Oct 10 2015, 12:54 PM

248 posts

I would say it slimmer than I expected. Hope the battery is big enough.
TShyperyouth_firepower
post Oct 10 2015, 11:06 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

that's very slim. i don't know how will it hold charge.
squall_kay
post Oct 12 2015, 12:40 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(waqi953 @ Oct 10 2015, 12:54 PM)

I would say it slimmer than I expected. Hope the battery is big enough.
really interested to know what kind of actual material they use. hopefully it will give premium feel with pretty good camera. To wish the camera will be as good as S6e/Note5/G4 will be too much but anything near to that quality will be great.
perhaps this can be my 1st Bb.
xisan
post Oct 12 2015, 10:33 PM

≥< • BOXKEEPERS • ≥<
5,261 posts

"BlackBerry's first Android-powered handset Priv will carry a price tag of RMB 3,999 (around $630) in China, according to renowned Chinese leakster Leaksfly, who revealed the information on Weibo."

Source

Price is okay, but hopefully it will land here officially and telco will make a plan with it
squall_kay
post Oct 12 2015, 10:58 PM

5,726 posts

preview

the looks pretty gorgeous

Priv preview

if really early 2016 then i think they're going to miss the boat especially with their plan expected price.
TShyperyouth_firepower
post Oct 13 2015, 09:07 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Oct 12 2015, 11:58 PM)
preview

the looks pretty gorgeous

Priv preview

if really early 2016 then i think they're going to miss the boat especially with their plan expected price.
Don't think that is an issue.

Normally companies tend to purchase in the beginning of the year anyway, and traditionally speaking BlackBerry has often relied on its corporate partners and subscribers to buy in bulks than consumer market (corporate purchases as of 2013 makes up around 70% of the purchases of BlackBerry 10 devices, so I think they're relying on this as a data for sales pitch?
waqi953
post Oct 15 2015, 03:08 AM

248 posts

http://us.blackberry.com/smartphones/black...e-register.html

Pre-register for Blackberry Priv already available to get latest news.

Little bit of info about the spec on that page.
- Stunning 5.4” dual-curved screen
- Long lasting 3410 mAh battery
- Both touch and physical keyboards
- Schneider-Kreuznach® certified camera
- Extraordinary audio quality

Pretty slim phone for the 3140mAh battery.

30 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:21 PM