WTA Alienware M17x R4, worth or not?

TSSoulRex
post Sep 19 2015, 08:31 PM, updated 11y ago

258 posts

hi all sifu here,
is it worth to go for a 2rd hand good condition m17x r4 with I7 3820QM for around 3k
and upgrade the gpu to gtx980m which is also around 3k drool.gif drool.gif
and is the cooling pipe in the r4 sufficient for cooling down the gpu beast?

and frankly speaking i prefer the design in the old AW r4 then to the new AW 17 blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif
or is there any other alternative solutions for a budget of 5-6k?
prefer 17 inches or 15inches.

myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 10:15 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Sep 19 2015, 08:31 PM)
hi all sifu here,
is it worth to go for a 2rd hand good condition m17x r4 with I7 3820QM for around 3k
and upgrade the gpu to gtx980m which is also around 3k drool.gif  drool.gif

and frankly speaking i prefer the design in the old AW r4 then to the new AW 17  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
M17xr4 dun support gtx 980m yet... fyi m17xr4 better cooling than aw17... m17 u add gtx 780m enuf de la
TSSoulRex
post Sep 20 2015, 01:16 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 20 2015, 10:15 AM)
M17xr4 dun support gtx 980m yet... fyi m17xr4 better cooling than aw17... m17 u add gtx 780m enuf de la
okay okay, my heart still leaning toward m17x r4....haha
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 01:21 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Sep 20 2015, 01:16 PM)
okay okay, my heart still leaning toward m17x r4....haha
Tat used good deal.. i Sell tat i7 wif 3d screen @rm5000..

Now cant find de

This post has been edited by myway1985: Sep 20 2015, 01:21 PM
TSSoulRex
post Sep 20 2015, 02:15 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 20 2015, 01:21 PM)
Tat used good deal.. i Sell tat i7 wif 3d screen @rm5000..

Now cant find de
3d does not work well on me...my eyes too sensitive d..hopefully nvidia pascal will still adopt MXM 3.0...
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 02:52 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Sep 20 2015, 02:15 PM)
3d does not work well on me...my eyes too sensitive d..hopefully nvidia pascal will still adopt MXM 3.0...
The 120z very smooth lo
TSSoulRex
post Sep 20 2015, 03:29 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 20 2015, 02:52 PM)
The 120z very smooth lo
but for now, its quite impossible to get it anymore right? wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 03:51 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Sep 20 2015, 03:29 PM)
but for now, its quite impossible to get it anymore right?  wink.gif  wink.gif  wink.gif
Can try us refurbished lo.. but u need to hv ppl in usa to collect for u..
pandera999
post Sep 20 2015, 05:54 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

hi all sifu here,

and frankly speaking i prefer the design in the old AW r4 then to the new AW 17  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 20 2015, 10:15 AM)
it cant be right. should have supported gtx980m. but malaysian unit not so sure. cz different model. need to be imported or buy from other place. but not malaysia.
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 11:15 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Sep 20 2015, 05:54 PM)
it cant be right. should have supported gtx980m. but malaysian unit not so sure. cz different model. need to be imported or buy from other place. but not malaysia.
M17xr4 3rd gen i7 la... can ask tuk guru e_mc_square
e_mc_square
post Sep 20 2015, 11:24 PM

768 posts

M17x R4 support 980m and 970m, this is not officially. You need to use windows 8 or above, and UEFI and also driver mod.

Another condition, 120hz screen user will never success using gtx 980m and 970m. Because 120hz screen will only use the dedicated graphics card to operate.

Install 970m and 980m in M17x R4, you will need the intel graphics to boot POST the system and enter UEFI and then, your 970m and 980m can works.

Based on latest news, Pascal will have more than double of the transistor number in same size die/core compare with Maxwell. Mean it will use less power, more speed. Will it continue support MXM 3.0b or not? We have to wait... tongue.gif
AthrunIJ
post Sep 20 2015, 11:27 PM

2,993 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Sep 20 2015, 11:24 PM)
M17x R4 support 980m and 970m, this is not officially. You need to use windows 8 or above, and UEFI and also driver mod.

Another condition, 120hz screen user will never success using gtx 980m and 970m. Because 120hz screen will only use the dedicated graphics card to operate.

Install 970m and 980m in M17x R4, you will need the intel graphics to boot POST the system and enter UEFI and then, your 970m and 980m can works.

Based on latest news, Pascal will have more than double of the transistor number in same size die/core compare with Maxwell. Mean it will use less power, more speed. Will it continue support MXM 3.0b or not? We have to wait... tongue.gif
Sure ke? blink.gif blink.gif

If i remember correctly, more transistor more power usage. Reducing power would be architecture design or making the transistor smaller.
horns
post Sep 20 2015, 11:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

hi all sifu here,

the old m17x r4 in good condition is still better than many mainstream laptops today. the cpu is 3820qm and you get it for 3k. it's a good deal.

like what e_mc_square said, the laptop supports 980m. don't worry about the heat from gpu. its heatsink is good (it will be below 75c). as for the cpu, just use gelid gc-extreme (thermal paste) and it will be fine.
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 11:52 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 20 2015, 11:27 PM)
Sure ke? blink.gif  blink.gif

If i remember correctly, more transistor more power usage. Reducing power would be architecture design or making the transistor smaller.
Smaller transistor n transmitter? Now everything going more n more fine lo...
myway1985
post Sep 20 2015, 11:54 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 20 2015, 11:51 PM)
the old m17x r4 in good condition is still better than many mainstream laptops today. the cpu is 3820qm and you get it for 3k. it's a good deal.

like what e_mc_square said, the laptop supports 980m. don't worry about the heat from gpu. its heatsink is good (it will be below 75c). as for the cpu, just use gelid gc-extreme (thermal paste) and it will be fine.
So far any brave soul post the benchmark after upgrade to gtx 980m?

Since its not official... does tat means no warranty if u install the gtx 980m?

This post has been edited by myway1985: Sep 20 2015, 11:56 PM
horns
post Sep 21 2015, 12:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 20 2015, 11:54 PM)
So far any brave soul post the benchmark after upgrade to gtx 980m?

Since its not official... does tat means no warranty if u  install the gtx 980m?
check techinferno.

when you do custom stuff like this, what warranty are you expecting?
myway1985
post Sep 21 2015, 12:27 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 21 2015, 12:12 AM)
check techinferno.

when you do custom stuff like this, what warranty are you expecting?
The card itself dun hv warranty from Nvidia? Never tried customize.. modify only
horns
post Sep 21 2015, 12:30 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 21 2015, 12:27 AM)
The card itself dun hv warranty from Nvidia? Never tried customize.. modify only
since when mobile gpus have warranty from nvidia?
myway1985
post Sep 21 2015, 01:00 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 21 2015, 12:30 AM)
since when mobile gpus have warranty from nvidia?
Oic... dunno ma... thought warranty goes back to the brands... coz mobile gpu dun hv zotac, msi, asus...

Btw u plan to get aw18 wif 980m? Now us refurbished open for oversea de... but ringgit so weak now.. haih
e_mc_square
post Sep 21 2015, 12:38 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 20 2015, 11:27 PM)
Sure ke? blink.gif  blink.gif

I mean the transistor inside the GPU die. Yes, to squeeze more transistor, need to make the transistor smaller. When the distance between transistor is smaller, less power you will need to do signaling between transistor. And small distance like "shorter wire", signal can transmit faster.

0.0196sec    1.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:42 AM