Performance Improvement Plan, (Any company with PIP Monitoring )

speedfamgirl
post Sep 17 2015, 09:50 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

PIP is initiated by the management or probably by your supervisor. It is a very structured monitoring process of under performed employee.
Reason is depend pretty much on the mercy of your employer or how much that troublesome employee is willing to commit to do all the necessary action item within a time frame, usually 3 months.

After 3 months the result would be reviewed, and to decide whether to terminate the employee, extend PIP or deactivate the program.
speedfamgirl
post Sep 17 2015, 10:53 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 17 2015, 10:36 PM)
Stood.

Isn't that will be better if there monitor p.a ? before enroll with PIP monitoring ?

Scenario 1 :- Receive order from your hod and claim that who ever does met your individual target will be given coaching / warning letter / termination or relocate & etc.

Company A Target : No idea.

Individual target : Example in Teir-ring ( per month) = (Incentive Base / No Bonus ) as followed

Tier 1 - $300k
Tier 2 - $500k
Tier 3 - $700k

Say you have done your best and end up manage to gather $299k for 2-4 months down the road.

Here come your company A : compliment us with a coaching form / warning letter ending filtering us out.

Ridiculous path : what's related to our individual target / PIP. ( Incentive base) - Achieve ( extra income for the month if doesn't met got nothing )

Does any company enforce or amend any new ruling via verbal message from hod without any official email / letter from HR ?

Target maybe reset any time - verbal also.

It actually demotivate and sound like indirectly layering to trim staff away.

Being figuring ways to consult my team.
Yes, PIP sounds very demotivating at first and most of the affected employee would just opt for plan B which is to nego separation scheme (resign with dignity and a bit of compensation) with HR rather than doing the PIP, if applicable.
But if your people have all the semangat juang and confident they can achieve target as per the PIP, by all means do it.
In the end depends on the company culture, whether you believe in the system and think PIP is fair for you to fix that employee. Read all the horror stories in the internet with a pinch of salt.

If the management agree to put an employee in PIP they must agree to provide necessary tool/counseling/coaching within the time frame of the PIP, not after.
Employee must also be proactive to keep everything as record, all log books, emails, verbal communication, everything just to be sure.

speedfamgirl
post Sep 18 2015, 12:06 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 17 2015, 11:37 PM)
I would not default your statement if i'm a-line with management (self sanctification) end up losing all my men.

Nothing will benefit the company if all demotivated and end up - turn over high.

Hardly for them to keep record, everything was by verbal communication. - Non official emails / letter given.

I'll totally agree with you " semangat juang if you ever in sales line "

But once you step into " collection " similar to sales strategies. but on cash term only consider our point.

Any broken promise made doesn't count as their effort.

Some of it, base on luck - probably might get redemption / bankruptcy / deceased. - free token.

Probably is not their effort but sometimes company politic - chain of relationship. 

I feel not fair to those who in real effort, rather than waiting for free token ( chain of relationship) to feed them.

If we really wanna determine or judge a person. My opinion must be fair to others. - to be done equally and fair in order to show others that the ending if chances given.

I've gone through that path and i understand their feelings well.

Target change very subjective 3 month / which sales probably encounter once a year. probably slight 1 -2 % increase.

Is it wise to set their individual target as company target ? as there were incentive base ? No bonus. 

Hard task & dunno how to decide haha.
Umm, i'm not sure on the details of your case since i'm not from the sales department.
But i do think the basic of the PIP is the same. Been here, done that. fought well and i survived for now...but i wont put up my hopes too high especially with the restructuring around the corner.
Your employee can always keep a personal daily record of their work if no emails/letter given. They have the right to meet the managers daily/weekly to discuss about their progress. Please record them all. The manager would feel leceh to keep up with them, but that is the way of the PIP. Both manager and employee must be proactive to fix the problem, otherwise it will backfire the manager.
This is one of the way to see which employee puts a real effort to survive...just dont give up! The manager probably will feel ashamed of himself if the employee can prove he's been doing his job & can meet his target within the time frame. Sometimes it's just only communication problem within the manager & employee. It is sad when the employee gets demotivated, no means of channeling his concerns to the management, manager sees only the weakness of the employees and BAM, marked as poor performer.
speedfamgirl
post Sep 18 2015, 12:10 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(Qwister8 @ Sep 18 2015, 12:31 AM)
Btw nice talking to you, which field were you from ? how come your have pip since you're not dealing with numbering ?

It's a long story, and it's a unique one just because i am different species in this industry which mostly dominated by men.
I had a fair share of harassment but i cant say a word just because he's a manager (very skillfull but asshole attitude).
Been transferred to different department, i was happy for a while and the cycle repeats again. I once was assigned working night shift for almost a year without any competent person. I was by myself doing all of the reports and making a lot of mistakes. But when i raised my concern nobody gives a fuck. I feel demoralized and sad, and became defensive with everyone. My latest manager not sure how to approach me & straight gives me PIP due to my last year poor review. I knew it will eventually leading to this, i dont know what to do at first. but then maybe this is the right time to prove myself that i am worthy, it's just communication breakdown. The good thing is during the 3 months i am entitled to use all the counseling benefit and travel for courses. I have to work hard both during my shift & attending courses during my off days. and of course keeping reports. No doubt the program changes me to a new person though. Well i dont really care if i made it or not in the end, at least i close the gap and they see me as trying to improve myself. Once you're out of this, this is the biggest takeaway you can do for yourself.
speedfamgirl
post Oct 1 2015, 02:37 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Oct 1 2015, 08:26 AM)
The PIP is ridiculous even if I do all they will still fail me. What is the next course of action will they take? If they fire me that will be very difficult to find next job is it? Reason for leaving previous company kena fired. Or they will not mentioned if my new employer called HR? Or if I join company under different department will there be problemin future

Or should I resign before they fire? Need to know how long I have to find a job?

PS there is no signature whether I agree or disagree to this PIP or I have no say
they dont need any signature, as long as you get from email stating your PIP will start at this date to date..then it's official.
if you have not secured anything good yet, just hang on & play their game. 3-4 months salary plus overtime & allowance and benefit is good for now rather than 'mutual separation' package which only paid basic until at the end of the year.

my company have 3 stages of PIP, first one counseling, 2nd one verbal warning & 3rd written warning for duration of 3 months. if the company is hell bent to terminate you after the last warning stage, look it this way..9 months of full salary is better but then fired maybe no compensation..

your choice.
speedfamgirl
post Oct 1 2015, 05:15 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

Dont lose hope yet...just pray your HR will be fair and not siding to your manager. at least you can still buy time to look for another job.

Or try nego with HR if they will offer some sort of mutual separation instead of you just resign without any compensation if you dont want to do PIP

0.0201sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:49 AM