Juz wan to check wif all the Tax Gurus here...
How do you file your tax claim if you have a part-time job (without epf deduction) besides your normal day job??
Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax
Mar 6 2008, 01:06 PM
1,351 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL/S'gor |
Juz wan to check wif all the Tax Gurus here...
How do you file your tax claim if you have a part-time job (without epf deduction) besides your normal day job?? |
Mar 6 2008, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2008, 01:24 PM) Basically the part time job you are talking about , is it selling " unit trust" or still working overtime for people on hourly basis ? Yup, the part-time job i'm talking here refer to my Unit Trust business....All unit trust or insurance agents are deemed to be in " business " of their owns ( whether part time or full time ). the advatanges are : 1) you can claim for capital allowances , repairs, petrol etc on your vehicle in relation to your business. 2) there are many other expenses like hand phone bills etc that you can claim for " in the production of your business ". It could be an advantage to put your other earnings ( if significant ) under business income rather mere " other incomes" . But you have to plan properly like keeping the proper original receipts. just my 2sen opinion. So, even u have another job u can put it as Business setup tax claim? Else, like wat u mentioned, put it under other income source? |
Mar 7 2008, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2008, 05:20 PM) You have 2 sources of incomes :- Thanks....shall ask some more info fr my accountant fren 1) from fixed employment, allows set off personal allowances ( very limited ) 2) Business incomes - derived from unit trusts, insurance, financial planning etc For (2) You need to submit with a simple profit & loss statement together with a balance sheet ( can ask any tax agent to do for you. ) Then you can claims expenses relevant to these incomes such car expenses, cap allowance, insurance,interest, office exp, HP bills, electricity etc ( relate to the production of unit trusts business ). without te accounts , income tax dept may tax you as other source without deducting the expenses. More works to do but you could end up paying less tax with proper tax planning. |
Dec 31 2008, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Qasy @ Dec 30 2008, 10:49 PM) hi all, 1) Even your annual income is not taxable...you still need to file your tax.wana ask a few questions which kinda pop up in my head. 1. wat is the minimum amt per annum tat would require me to declare tax? 2. how will the govt. know tat i didnt pay tax? 3. wat if i haf tat minimum amt in my savings, need i to declare tax? 4. is thr any organizations in which we can hire to calculate tax for us? thank you very much. The penalty for not filing your income tax is much much higher than does who filed lower income tax than supposed to. 2) Guess wat, your employer oso file their company tax as well...and you as their employee.... Your salary goes into banks...records r left everywhere... IRB have all the means to check if they wan to 3) You declare your annual income for that year alone...as long as it is income... even u save it or not... 4) You can always go to accounting firm to find out...any qualified accountant will know wat to do. But i suppose if you are only doing personal tax...no need to go to that extend...do it your own oso can This post has been edited by kingkong81: Dec 31 2008, 10:14 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:38 AM |