Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax

htt
post Dec 30 2008, 05:03 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wenjie86 @ Dec 30 2008, 02:12 PM)
can anyone enlighten me?

My friend mother, working as secretary in a law firm. What they do, they didn't fill out for rebate, or even request for refund of excessment.

what they did is, when the time is come, those accumulated money in IRB + interest ( not sure how much ) they will use it for buying a property.

Anyone know about this?
IRB pay interest? Don't think so... hmm.gif
Accumulation, yes.

This post has been edited by htt: Dec 30 2008, 05:04 PM
htt
post Dec 30 2008, 10:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Dec 30 2008, 05:56 PM)
Actually that is not rebate or anything that can be claimed. That is Benefit in Kind (BIK), where your employer provides you with servant/gardener/driver. This BIK which should be declared and is taxable.

Declaring this BIK won't reduce your tax. It will increase your tax.  sad.gif
Correct, but that's breach of law if not declare... tongue.gif
htt
post Dec 31 2008, 08:13 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Qasy @ Dec 30 2008, 10:49 PM)
hi all,

wana ask a few questions which kinda pop up in my head.

1. wat is the minimum amt per annum tat would require me to declare tax?
2. how will the govt. know tat i didnt pay tax?
3. wat if i haf tat minimum amt in my savings, need i to declare tax?
4. is thr any organizations in which we can hire to calculate tax for us?

thank you very much.
1. 30k?
2. If you acquire property etc. Or someone whistle blowing.
3. Saving no need to declare tax.
4. Tax agent, they help you with fee.
htt
post Dec 31 2008, 04:22 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Dec 31 2008, 04:06 PM)
if ur salary is RM2.5K/month = RM30K/year, KWSP 11% every month, amount taxable is RM86.00 

actually when ur salary RM2.3K/month = RM27.6K/year, KWSP 11%, amount taxable is RM21.92  tongue.gif

so salary starting RM2300 is taxable already.. below that will be covered by rebate.
To be exact, RM24,906/ year will not be taxable.
RM2,075/ month.
Assumed EPF at 11%, personal relief of RM8,000, Rebate RM350 and no other relief for single with no child.
But if you go IRB and tell them you want to declare for income tax with not much salary for them to tax, they might just ask you 'baliklah, if need declare we will inform you'. blush.gif
htt
post Jan 1 2009, 01:09 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Dec 31 2008, 05:12 PM)
sorry don't quite get u..do u mean RM24,907/year is taxable then? i calculate base on my calculator so might be my mistake so just want to clarify..

anyway should register and declare even though no tax for the year...reason is to save u from trouble when they audit you and suddenly realized you never declare your salary, then 'kena' because of not declaring your salary...so income tax must still be filed.

Another reason is that when you start to get PCB (potongan cukai berjadual) and sometimes you are over-deducted, you can only claim back the extra deductions if your past tax declaration is settled, so u don't want to end up having problem in this.
I mean first RM24,907 is not taxable. Amount after that is taxable.
But that's based on an individual with taxable income of less than RM35,000. No kid, not married and have no other relief. Each individual might have different figure, that's just some rough indication only.

Last time we use to have trouble to open that account with IRB, maybe they had improved over the years. Or maybe those officers think we will never pay anything towards building of our nation. blush.gif

htt
post Jan 1 2009, 04:15 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Jan 1 2009, 02:06 PM)
yes its good that streamyx bill can claim for exemption..

by having exemption, of course it is your expenses, but that expenses will not be taxed, which means if total income RM2.5K/month = RM30K/year, only exemption if 11% KWSP and RM8K yearly expenses, your total tax would be RM86.00

but if streamyx bill is allowed for exemption, using same example as above and streamyx bill RM100/month = RM1.2K/year, your total tax would only be RM50.00; that's quite a difference right, especially when it helps to lower your tax bracket.

Added on January 1, 2009, 2:17 pm
hehe sorry again, i still dont get u... tongue.gif total income per year of more than RM2500 (after deductions) is taxable, in this case only 1% = RM25. but with rebate RM350, it may seem that it is not taxable. but this rebate might be increased,reduced or taken away by the government so it doesn't mean that the income is not taxable. u have to declare your income if you have monthly salary.

and again based on my previous example, after minus rebate and deductions, a person having salary of at least RM2300/month =  RM27,600 would have to pay tax..lower than that is covered by the personal rebate.

if yearly salary is RM24,907 don't have to pay any tax as it is covered by the rebate. please correct me if i'm wrong.

p/s: ok i done a bit more of calculations, if your salary is RM2233.33/month = RM26,800 / year, kwsp 11% and RM8K relief, your income tax would be RM0.59 tongue.gif
Maybe I too lazy blush.gif
The assumption is, a single individual, not married and have no kid.
Total annual income is RM24,907.
EPF contribution at 11% (-11%*24,907).
personal relief RM8,000.
Balance *3% (I don't know 3% correct or not, got it from somewhere) <RM350.
Tax payable =0.
htt
post Jan 7 2009, 07:26 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jan 7 2009, 06:09 PM)
i heard those like reimbursement like parking from company can be relieved as well, is it true ?
Reimbursement of parking fee on business purposes shouldn't be taxed at the first place, that's not source of income, unless you enjoy the parking... hmm.gif
htt
post Jan 8 2009, 09:16 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Sonic boomer @ Jan 7 2009, 10:38 PM)
Just curious, I bought a PC from Dell recently. I just got an invoice from them. Can I use this invoice to say that I have bought the PC? If I am not mistaken invoice is just a document mentioning what you intend to buy from the company while receipt is an acknowledgement of payment?
Invoice represent the fact that transaction had been perform and you owe dell that amount of money (if you haven't paid), a receipt is just to close the loop (to prove consideration had been received), sometime invoice will mention that amount had been prepaid etc. IRB will care less whether you pay dell or not, that's something between you & dell, none of their concern tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 8 2009, 05:22 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Jan 8 2009, 03:41 PM)
but then, i think they do care whether u pay or not. if you don't pay, then you cannot claim the tax exemption. So i think its still receipt.  tongue.gif
If you don't pay, you owe the money to dell, in accounting term, that still perfectly all right. When and where and how you pay your debt don't have anything to do with IRB tongue.gif It's same like the vehicle rebate, government pay you the rebate, regardless you owe money to the bank or not tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 9 2009, 11:28 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 9 2009, 11:08 AM)
Would like to know living allowance taxable or not?

Also do non-residents pay less tax than residents? Seems other countries residents get to pay less than non residents.
Most case yes, depends.

Depends on source of income generated, this is not one size fit all case. From your question can write a thesis loh tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 13 2009, 05:14 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(peterlee @ Jan 13 2009, 04:55 PM)
My fren gonna be coming over to work as engineer.

He is from Singapore. I told him he better come before June 2009, so that his stay here for the year 2009 will be 180 days, thus when time comes for assessment in April 2010, his 2009 income can claim relief and will be on multi-tiered scale.

SInce our salary are deducted with tax in advance, I told him for 1st 6mths, he will be taxed very badly at 28%.

But once he qualifys as resident, and after the assessment for 2009 is done in April 2010, he should get some tax money back (as his income works out to RM60k per year, and in lower tax bracket).

Did I provide him with the correct info?

U guys know how long it takes to refund? i heard many people said it takes forever! But from your experience?
I think the employment need to be continue to the next year, put some allowance for him to go back Singapore tongue.gif . But if he stay for part of 2008, full 2009 and 2010 (full or part), guess his 2008 income still at resident rate. If I not mistaken.

This post has been edited by htt: Jan 13 2009, 05:20 PM
htt
post Jan 31 2009, 04:52 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(small lady @ Jan 30 2009, 07:01 PM)
I got an assignment to do.
The topic is on personal relief,whether it is enough or not..
I am going to conduct a survey on that topic
but then I got no idea to ask in my questionnaire...
anyone could help me...
Think you have to probe into rationale of government introduce the relief (e.g. computer to encourage people go blogging etc, if that's the purpose, I not sure about their rationale brows.gif ), then check the time they implement and study the trend of inflation, tax rate, environment etc. Then only you can start argue of sufficient of such relief. From there without survey you already can write a book loh tongue.gif

Agree with cherroy on the survey thing, no one will have enough relief, if you have enough, mind transfer some to me... haha... biggrin.gif
htt
post Feb 8 2009, 02:43 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Feb 7 2009, 12:54 PM)
Hi Guys,

Need some advice... From the spreadsheet of attahun, I found that last year i start enter higher tax blacket... the tax is really painful. My income just purely salary from my employment. Basically i oredi maximized my relief legally, books, sport, kwsp, medical insurance, donation, computer (oredi claimed previous year smile.gif. I think there is no chance for me to reduce my tax for 2008 oredi..

However, i think this year i would kena again. Is there any idea how could i reduce my tax legally?

From my own study:
1. Get a wife and get kids.... Tax relief but more expenses  tongue.gif
2. Spend more on medical... company covered oredi.
3. Pay medical for parents... a bit lucky cos parents still healthy

If i pay SSPN for my siblings, could i entitled for tax? (my father still working....)
Or could i make some business then use the kerugian in business to reduce my income??? (i have no idea on this)
Rugi money just to reduce income tax? You have to be sole proprietor or in perkongsian to do that. Register and keep record will be a bit troublesome, and I don't see point of rugi 100% just to get 20+% back, and it will be illegal to massage the account. blink.gif
htt
post Feb 8 2009, 09:13 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(getsmart @ Feb 8 2009, 05:26 PM)
Those dividend statements i got in 2008 still show income tax at 26% deducted from the dividend.
As I understand, we can no longer claim dividend deduction under section 110 now right?
So long you got dividend under old imputation system (aka dividend with clearly stated 25% or 26% been deducted), still can claim.

0.0342sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:10 PM