779 posts

QUOTE(celine86 @ Mar 18 2009, 04:32 PM)
What  is the latest tax relief? Do anyone know
i saw the exemption list  is stated in the 1st page of this thread by mxxuang,
it was in 2006, is there any lately?
2008/2009 Malaysian Tax Relief

Section 46
a) Personal relief : RM8000
b) (i) Medical expense for parents : RM5000 (max)
(ii) Medical expense for taxpayer(you), spouse and children in respect of serious diseases (including expense on a complete medical examination RM500) : RM5000 (max)*
c) Basic supporting equipment(i.e. wheelchairs, crutches for disabled taxpayers, spouse or child) : RM 5000
d) Disabled tax payer(Hopefully you don't make yourself one) : RM6000
e) Fees for education in law, accounting, technological, vocational or industrial fields scientific and ICT : RM5000(max)
f) Purchase of books, journals, magazines : RM1000 (max)
g) Purchase of sports equipment : 300 (max)
h) Relief for purchase of personal computer (once every 3 years) : RM3000 (max)

Section 47
a) Spouse relief : RM3000
b) Disabled individual - additional relief for self : RM6000
c) Alimony payment(only males can claim) : RM 3000
d) Disabled person - additional spouse relief : RM 3500

Section 48
This section covers reliefs related to your child/children

a) Normal relief (below 18 years of age): RM1000 per child
b) Per physically / mentally disabled child : RM5000
c) With effect from year of assessment 2006 and thereafter, per child (over 18 years of age) :
1) For child studying in overseas (degree level and above) : RM4000
2) For child studying in local institution (Diploma level and above) : RM4000
d) Disabled child satisfying criteria (c ) above : RM9000

Section 49
a) EPF & Life insurance premium : RM6000 (max)
b) Medical and education premium : RM 3000 (max)
c) Premium on annuity purchased under EPF annuity scheme : RM1000 (max)

Section 6A
Rebate for resident individuals. If resident individual's chargeable income is less than RM35000,
rebate granted is deducted from tax charged and any excess is not refundable.
Amount of rebate
- where husband and wife are jointly assessed:
Individual : RM400
Wife/husband : RM400
- where husband and wife are separately assessed:
Amount available to each, as an individual : RM400

This post has been edited by babychai: Mar 19 2009, 10:34 PM
babychai
post Mar 21 2009, 03:31 AM

I go to work because my name is not in Forbes list
779 posts

1) Petrol card/petrol/travel allowances between home and work place is exempted up to RM2400 p.a.
2) If for official duties is exempted up to RM6000 p.a
3) Parking fees/allowances : fully exempted

refer 3 case above & u'll know~
babychai
post Mar 22 2009, 12:45 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Mar 21 2009, 09:22 PM)
baby chai,

i dun understand la..

coz that rm 600/mth actually is considered as part of our salary also...

so can i consider it as official use whereby i can claim till rm 6000/yr and claim the rest of rm1200/yr under travel allowance between home and office???

coz parking is reimbursable and petrol, i just use company's petrol card.

thanks.
can but u have to make arrangement between u & yr employer and yr employer agreed with it. tell yr boss that u want to treat rm500 per mth is for official duties and rm100 per mth is for allowances between home & work.

Normally big company got give travel allowances between home & office. small company seldom one.

Since yr parking is reimburseable, so u r not taxed on the amount received. but make sure u keep ALL the parking receipts.

Added on March 22, 2009, 1:02 am
QUOTE(MaggieMee @ Mar 21 2009, 11:02 AM)
is there an age requirement to pay tax? just curious
hmmm....i think when u reached school leaving age and yr salary is taxable then u'll require to pay tax liao. but not 100% sure about this.

this 1 got any law to refer or not ah?

any1 can help ah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by babychai: Mar 22 2009, 01:02 AM
babychai
post Mar 27 2009, 09:44 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(limsy @ Mar 27 2009, 02:24 PM)
First of all, I want to thank you all for sharing such useful information. It has been most educational and helpful.  smile.gif

However, I'm still pretty lost on the part that says:
Employers’ own services provided free or at a discount provided such benefits are not transferable (No Limit)

What does it mean?  If I buy goods from my company for personal use... it's deductable?  All I need is the invoice? 

Thank you for your time.
(a) Employers’ own services provided full or at discount : fully exempted (use all the services provided and u still not taxable)

(b) Employers’ goods provided free or at a discount : up to RM1000 is tax exempted (goods exceeded RM1k only taxable)

keep all the invoices/bills as supporting documents~

babychai
post May 3 2009, 02:08 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(Trevor Keegan @ May 3 2009, 07:56 AM)

If you are a swimmer, then you cannot claim on your swimming costume.....following your reasoning, I guess that you are right....Even if I am naked, I can still swim.....but can I do it legally  brows.gif 

Regards
Trevor Keegan
www.taxsaya.com
Malaysia's First FREE Multi-Lingual Tax Software
if follow what ronnie said, then for swimmer a bit disadvantages....many things can't claim...even goggles also can't claim it. i still can swim without it what~
babychai
post May 3 2009, 05:30 PM

779 posts

i think is still ok if use banana leaves to cover yr body and swim~
babychai
post May 7 2009, 07:30 PM

779 posts

if u wanna claim yr deductions (e.g magazines, PC, disabled individual, insurance etc) in monthly, quarterly, half-yearly etc instead of yearly then u have to fill up TP1 form.
babychai
post May 7 2009, 11:37 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 7 2009, 11:12 PM)
As I know once you submit TP1 to your employer, your month's PCB will be reduced.
Eg. If submit ONCE on May 2009, your PCB for May 2009 will be lowered. Will PCB for subsequent months be lower too ?
it wont be lower for subsequent month if u dun wan to claim yr deductions or u dun have deductions. PCB will be reduced is becoz u claim yr deductions (e.g magazines, PC, disabled individual, insurance etc) in monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or any months instead of yearly.
babychai
post May 9 2009, 01:00 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 8 2009, 12:28 PM)
Can I project the relief for the whole year. Eg. RM1000 for books and magazines (which I will buy)
Let's say Jan '08 u oredi bought RM1k books, journals or magazines then from Feb'08 to Dec'08 u cant claim anymore coz RM1k is the maximum amount that u can claim in 1 year.

Added on May 9, 2009, 1:10 am
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 8 2009, 10:45 AM)
Oh, TP1 for books deduction.  sweat.gif 

If I purchase books at the recent KLIBF @PWTC, but the give a handwritten normal-receipt with their company/distributor chop (e.g. Berita Publishing & Crescent News - I bought LAT comics  tongue.gif  ), is it valid/acceptable to LHDN ? Or they want official book store receipt like Kino, Borders, MPH, Popular, etc. ?

KL International Book Fair -> annual book fair @PWTC every year around mid-Apr for 10 days.
TP1 is not only for books deduction. medical exps, child relief, epf, insurance, supporting equipement for disabled, alimony, blah blah blah etc also can one.
Any book store also can. as long as not comics, newspapers or XXX books icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by babychai: May 9 2009, 01:10 AM
babychai
post May 9 2009, 02:44 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 9 2009, 12:38 PM)
So if I submit TP1 for May 2009 and maxed out at RM1000 for books, Jun-Dec 2009's PCB won't be reduced ?
Yea~
babychai
post May 10 2009, 05:22 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ May 10 2009, 01:01 PM)
Then you are a useless tax consultant.

Section 4(a) income in respects of gains or profit from business
Section 4(d) income in respects of rents, royalties or premium

Section 4A is special classes of income in which tax is chargeable.

There isn't Section 4D in the Income Tax Act 1967
the problems here is the big A/D or small (a)/(d). nothingz juz use a layman's term to explain. no need so complicated. sometimes simple explaination ppl will understand more easily.
babychai
post May 10 2009, 05:28 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 10 2009, 10:26 AM)
company means Sdn Bhd?

rental can be assessed in either Section 4A or 4D, we must know how many properties are there for rent

the expenses available for deduction would be slightly different between 4A and 4D

generally the expenses deductible are

upkeep of premises(does not include renovation)
management fees
quit rent
assessment
fire insurance or other types
loan interest for the purchase of this property
renewal of rental agreement
etc....
what u mentioned juz now normally is direct expenses.
for Investment Holding Company there's still got some expenses allow for deduction up to 25% of "permitted expenses". for yr info permitted expenses is under section 60F / 60H biggrin.gif
babychai
post May 10 2009, 05:49 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(one19944 @ May 10 2009, 05:29 PM)
Click on this website guys and girls out there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/622245/+3520

Successful trader at garage sales making alot of profit by selling gundam. Do you think he is taxable? I don't think he have a shop, register under SSM or Business License to do it and he escape from tax. There is a heat argument over there. check it out and give comment
avoid yes brows.gif evade no mad.gif
babychai
post Jul 25 2009, 02:32 PM

779 posts

audio book is juz a name only. not a book~

0.0193sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:26 PM