Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax

nothingz
post May 10 2009, 11:21 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 10 2009, 11:15 AM)
how much is the penalty like?
maybe 10% of your outstanding tax balance, 5% extra if after 60 days. if i'm not mistaken

but some lucky fellas may run away with that
nothingz
post May 10 2009, 03:51 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ May 10 2009, 01:01 PM)
Then you are a useless tax consultant.

Section 4(a) income in respects of gains or profit from business
Section 4(d) income in respects of rents, royalties or premium

Section 4A is special classes of income in which tax is chargeable.

There isn't Section 4D in the Income Tax Act 1967

Added on May 10, 2009, 1:03 pm

There is no running away. Late means late. Pay the penalty.
just the bracket problem... do you need to emphasized on that? i don't expect her to understand the sections, it's just a simple explanation

since you are not helping then better gtfo, don't try to come here just to increase post counts, the clever as whole

one more thing, i have seen some employment income tax payers ran away from late payment penalties due to they don't have business income, as prescribe by IRB officer. even so, i also don't advise people to take this kind of risk

QUOTE(JESS03101983 @ May 10 2009, 02:22 PM)
Thks....is the only one property of the  company own and wish to rent to its related company to chare the cost/exp and as the only income of it ,is it the tax charge same as normal biz company tax rate ?? And i heard some ppl say can claim IBA is treated as factory for it...how its works and ref for it ...Thks

Added on May 10, 2009, 2:24 pm
Sorry ,one more question...do i need to prepare rental agreement and for intercompany deal ?? and the rental rate shld not lower for mkt rate is it ?? if not the IRB may queiry on it...
IBA is applicable to manufacturing factory/warehouse only. generally, the expenses incurred can be charged on either side, both is tax deductible provided the factory/warehouse is being used(means not vacant). it is better to have a rental agreement and the rental charge should be a fair value/market rate to avoid any transfer pricing discrepancy
nothingz
post May 10 2009, 05:21 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ May 10 2009, 05:13 PM)
Who cares how I increase my post count

Wrong section means wrong section, just admit it. It is not  the bracket, who cares about the bracket
whatever....

at least we have identified a user who is not giving any constructive comment but want to find others' mistake

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 10 2009, 05:22 PM
nothingz
post May 10 2009, 05:28 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ May 10 2009, 05:22 PM)
the problems here is the big A/D or small (a)/(d). nothingz juz use a layman's term to explain. no need so complicated. sometimes simple explaination ppl will understand more easily.
nevermind, just accept the fact that

'some kind of people does not want to lend a helpful hand but want to criticize people's work'
nothingz
post May 10 2009, 05:30 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ May 10 2009, 05:28 PM)
what u mentioned juz now normally is direct expenses.
for Investment Holding Company there's still got some expenses allow for deduction up to 25% of "permitted expenses". for yr info permitted expenses is under section 60F / 60H  biggrin.gif
ya, i know. the 25% of those admin expenses or 5% of gross income whichever is lower. that would cause her to rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(one19944 @ May 10 2009, 05:29 PM)
Click on this website guys and girls out there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/622245/+3520

Successful trader at garage sales making alot of profit by selling gundam. Do you think he is taxable? I don't think he have a shop, register under SSM or Business License to do it and he escape from tax. There is a heat argument over there. check it out and give comment
actually if you are running the trading business for profit, then you should apply a business licence, just RM60/year. report tax or not, that's another matter.

if you feel that he is running away from income tax, feel free to report him at LHDN website & you may share the rewards drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 10 2009, 05:38 PM
nothingz
post May 11 2009, 08:31 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(JESS03101983 @ May 10 2009, 11:59 PM)
But the problem is if i rent out the factory to my related company than can i get IBA since my related is used as a factory/warehouse??if not wat allowance is give for tax deductible for a leasehold building...cause the factory is bought under related co name...
i cannot really understand your situation, please state in Company A & B. which company is the owner and which of them wants to claim expenses/IBA
nothingz
post May 12 2009, 11:05 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(JESS03101983 @ May 12 2009, 09:51 AM)
Sorry...if A is the owner and rent to B the R.Co..as a warehouse so A can claim the IBA for it ??

And if just 50 % of the place i for warehouse and bal is as office and staff welfare except IBA for warehouse wat other allowance can it get...
your question is very wide, inclusive quite a number of rules + whether the factory was built was your own/purchased from third party.

you better consult your Group's Tax Agent for prefessional advice because in the end, they will be the one who will compute your Company's Tax Computation
nothingz
post Jun 12 2009, 08:56 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

read those letters that they posted to you, it is stated on the heading
nothingz
post Jul 22 2009, 10:31 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Jul 21 2009, 01:54 PM)
Computer relief question. Any one know if netbook bundle with broadband package such as celcom/digi/maxis can be claim?
hard to separate the portion of the pc & subscription, somemore payment may be 24 months, how are you going to claim the tax?

QUOTE(wcliang @ Jul 22 2009, 10:08 AM)
<< 4.8 Purchase of personal computer for individual. Deduction allowed once in every 3 years. (Limited to RM3,000); >>

thinking to buy a new PC: a CPU and 32" LCD TV as my monitor, do u think tat this LCD can be considered  under PC ?
as long as the LCD TV can be connected to your CPU, i think it would be acceptable
nothingz
post Jul 22 2009, 04:00 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 22 2009, 02:55 PM)
You can't claim the LCD TV IF it is stated as LCD TV on the invoice/receipt.
can tell why?

since an 8k/10k laptop can claim the computer relief, why can't a LCD TV used as a monitor?

the introduction of computer rebate/relief was to encourage the public to purchase PC, afterall i don't think IRB will reject your claim on the LCD TV as monitor as long as it is proven to be supported on the PC.

BTW, i have just found something may be useful for the people here

Example 2
Ahmad purchased a personal computer for his own use for RM5,000 on
01.01.2006. Subsequently on 01.11.2007, he purchased a laptop for his
own use for RM8,000.
Ahmad qualifies for a rebate of RM500 on the purchase of a personal
computer for the year of assessment 2006 under subsection 6A(3A), ITA
1967. He is also entitled for a deduction of RM3,000 on the expenses
expended on the laptop for year of assessment 2007 under paragraph
46(1)(j), ITA 1967.

link

Before Y/A 2006, computer deduction was done in rebate format until Y/A 2007, computer relief was introduced. In other words, Y/A 2007 was a new start for the 3 years count for purchase of new computer, for those who have done it wrong, it may not be too late to revise your tax return.
nothingz
post Jul 22 2009, 07:55 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

ronnie may be right for not claiming the LCD TV & printer(play safe) but i still think that since the government is encouraging the public on 1 PC/house, i still think that as long as it is PC stuff then it would be able to claim. even computer printer can be claimed 40% on CA, why can't it be classified as computer gadgets?

On top of that, most of the time the IRB officer will concentrate on the declaration of income rather the claim of expenses/relief. BTW, how do you know printer is definitely not allowed? it would be normal if someone purchase a new PC with a printer as well.

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Jul 22 2009, 05:25 PM)
if like that, can we claim it as buy netbook + free subscription? i think streamyx/celcom/maxis do have this kind of package.

as for 24month payment not sure if they got an invoice of the netbook. anyone bought before?

is there any separate invoice from dell/hp/etc from those maxis/celcom/streamyx package?
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 22 2009, 06:55 PM)
Based on my experience from the HP notebook + Streamyx promo in 207/08...I got a HP invoice for the total amount which you can use to claim the tax relief.
i have bought the Streamyx PC Bundle package this year, the HP invoice clearly stated the package includes 24 months of 1mb streamyx package + notebook at a cost for RM3,813.60. i don't think we can ignore the streamyx package on the calculation. i think you may try to deduct the broadband portion. Eg, RM88 x 24 = RM2,112. Net claim = RM1,702.
1.0  Upg NB1:Cpq Presario CQ40-155TU(NE607PA):TMFIXED2  3,813.60  1  3,813.60 
1.1  NE607PA
Compaq Presario CQ40-155TU Notebook PC   
1.2  RY800PA
TM Net-1MB unlimited Broadband Access 

refer to the previous link, if purchase PC under hire-purchase agreement, full cost can be claimed during the year of purchase. therefore RM1,702 can be claimed in Y/A 2009. This should be more reasonable.

nothingz
post Jul 22 2009, 09:09 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

This is it

nothingz
post Jul 23 2009, 10:09 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 23 2009, 10:03 AM)
An IRB officer came to my office for e-Filing talk and mention it to us... strictly no Printer to be bundled.
oh, ok!

what will you do with the above invoice if your client asks you to claim the relief?
nothingz
post Jul 23 2009, 10:20 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 23 2009, 10:17 AM)
HP is smart enough not to split the Streamyx and PC charges to ensure that we can claim full Tax Relief of RM3000
LOL! you dare not claim the LCD TV but you dare to make full claim on this invoice which has included broadband subscription biggrin.gif
nothingz
post Jul 23 2009, 10:55 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 23 2009, 10:25 AM)
Which invoice are you referring to ?
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 23 2009, 10:26 AM)
Because the line item states NBPC (NoteBook Personal Computer)... to the eyes of IRB, that's correct.
you were answering to the correct one but sometimes don't underestimate the knowledge of the IRB officers, once they read the invoice in detailed and the market value of the notebook could not reach 3k, then the trouble will arise (even though the face value is 4k)

This post has been edited by nothingz: Jul 23 2009, 10:56 AM
nothingz
post Jul 23 2009, 11:38 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

the invoice clearly stated 1MB unlimited broadband access doh.gif

let's pray that the officer is blind... biggrin.gif

nothingz
post Sep 29 2009, 05:04 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

it's simple, just tell the shop to include the printer cost in to the computer hardwares cost. then list the printer as freebie. then your problem is solved!
nothingz
post Sep 30 2009, 09:22 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Sep 30 2009, 12:37 AM)
also can do that meh?  sweat.gif
why not, you can argue that it's a promotion/package
nothingz
post Sep 30 2009, 11:32 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

based on the IRB notes attached with the Form B/BE, there is no clear guideline that printer cannot claim under the Computer Relief.

Just in case, the officer review your case, they want to add back the printer cost, there will only be extra balance of tax. shouldn't be any penalty on the mistake since there is no clear definition on 'Computer'.

therefore, i would say that 'it worths a try'.

only noob officer would issue additional tax on those small figures of taxes. RM200 * 27% * 60% = RM32.40 sweat.gifsweat.gif

waste time and energy, rather go catch some big fishes
nothingz
post Oct 1 2009, 08:50 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Sep 30 2009, 03:34 PM)
what if i just buy the pc without the monitor,can?  hmm.gif also count as a computer?  hmm.gif
of course, but may not worthwhile to claim since the cost is lower without the monitor.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0448sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:46 AM