Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax

attahun
post Feb 8 2009, 11:58 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Feb 7 2009, 12:54 PM)
Hi Guys,

Need some advice... From the spreadsheet of attahun, I found that last year i start enter higher tax blacket... the tax is really painful. My income just purely salary from my employment. Basically i oredi maximized my relief legally, books, sport, kwsp, medical insurance, donation, computer (oredi claimed previous year smile.gif. I think there is no chance for me to reduce my tax for 2008 oredi..

However, i think this year i would kena again. Is there any idea how could i reduce my tax legally?

From my own study:
1. Get a wife and get kids.... Tax relief but more expenses  tongue.gif
2. Spend more on medical... company covered oredi.
3. Pay medical for parents... a bit lucky cos parents still healthy

If i pay SSPN for my siblings, could i entitled for tax? (my father still working....)
Or could i make some business then use the kerugian in business to reduce my income??? (i have no idea on this)
if you've maximized the other reliefs (with receipts/proofs, i hope), guess there's not much room for reducing the tax i guess.

You still can donate to charity though...thats a way to reduce the tax bracket by lowering the taxable income.

another method would be to ask your company to give allowance rather than high salary, allowance such as phone allowance, internet allowance and others are not taxable if not mistaken... but this you have to arrange with company.
attahun
post Feb 9 2009, 08:32 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 8 2009, 02:57 PM)
Nope, it is all taxable. Everything come into your pocket is taxable unless stated otherwise, by right, if one collected RM1,000 at the roadside, it is still considered taxable under the law as it is your income.  tongue.gif

Even if your company buy you a phone or give the company to drive around or your personal usage instead give you higher salary, it is still taxable under benefit in kind.

Once one has the full tax relief, then pay the tax lor. Actually one should be glad one is paying more tax, as it just means you are making more money.

Added on February 8, 2009, 2:59 pm
All including Adun, menteri or PM also need to pay tax.

Please don't treat the finance section as ranting place or kopitiam talk. Occassion making fun in between seems no harm done, but constantly doing it will be seen as spamming.
somebody mentioned about this, internet allowance gets exemption.. too lazy to search around...its a new exemption by the government.

Added on February 16, 2009, 2:32 pmanybody filed in their e-filing yet? still waiting for EA form. Anyhow i managed to login into e-filing using old login.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Feb 16 2009, 02:32 PM
attahun
post Mar 4 2009, 11:47 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 3 2009, 07:03 PM)
Argh,

I just realized that having big bonus also bumps up your payable tax by a huge amount. My monthly deductions in 08 were like $140 a month only, but after taking my bonus into account & all the deductions, seems like I'm going to have to pay an extra 3.5k to IRB ... =_=;;

/sigh
woww must be a big bonus there... rclxms.gif learn to maximize on exemptions to minimize the tax u have to pay.. btw, an EXTRA 3.5K?? thats a lot.. tongue.gif

Added on March 4, 2009, 11:48 am
QUOTE(aeronlim @ Mar 4 2009, 10:47 AM)
Any website can recommend in filling the forms? First job, work for alrdy 1 year, no idea in filling the form....
aeronlim, try my calculator.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Mar 4 2009, 11:48 AM
attahun
post Mar 12 2009, 08:19 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Mar 12 2009, 08:09 PM)
anybody know tm streamyx can be deducted from our personal tax? pls advise
no, cannot. but if company give u streamyx allowance, you do not need to declare that because its under company allowance exemption..

am i right? somebody care to clarify my statement? tongue.gif

Added on March 12, 2009, 8:20 pm
QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Mar 11 2009, 04:04 PM)
download attahun's income tax calculator. or you can login your e-filing account to calculate ur tax.
thanx GeminiGeek. biggrin.gif try out my spreadsheet and then use the e-filing, avoid mistakes maa.. rclxms.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Mar 12 2009, 08:20 PM
attahun
post Mar 14 2009, 09:41 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Mar 14 2009, 01:35 AM)
may i know under which session and portion of hp can be deductible? appreciate if u could clarify my doubts  drool.gif
check out "nota penerangan BE2008" from LHDN - Borang

It is stated that handphone, pda, pager, phone bills given by employer to the employee is not taxable. however this does not apply to the owner/partner of the company.

Another good way to reduce the tax is to convert some allowance to parking allowance, no limit. another would be petrol cards or allowance, but with certain limit.

Check it out and you can find other ways to minimize tax.
attahun
post Mar 20 2009, 10:20 PM

593 posts

nice..good job! biggrin.gif
attahun
post Mar 25 2009, 05:46 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 25 2009, 10:59 AM)
does this means if my chargeable income is RM36000, i wont get the RM400?
yes

Added on March 25, 2009, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Mar 25 2009, 12:34 PM)
This does not appear on the e-Borang, but there is a space for individual and dependent relatives that is filled in by default for RM8,000.00. Should I just increase this to RM11,000.00 to account for my wife if doing a joint assessment?
no you should not increase it. maintain it at RM8,000. then there is another clause which gives relieve of RM3000 for wife - 'D9'

This post has been edited by attahun: Mar 25 2009, 05:48 PM
attahun
post Mar 26 2009, 11:25 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 26 2009, 11:04 AM)
thanks so much for the explanation & the wonderful calculator!
no prob. cheers. biggrin.gif
attahun
post Mar 28 2009, 06:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Mar 27 2009, 07:15 PM)
Is shift allowance same as meal allowance?

I work on shift and there is allowance of RM20/day.
by right, if it states "shift allowance" inside payslip, u must declare that allowance as taxable as shift allowance is not exempted. You should ask your HR to change it to "shift/meal allowance" to have it exempted. Anyone can correct me if i'm wrong.

My HR changed our "outstation allowance" to "outstation reimbursements" just so that it doesn't count as income. tongue.gif
attahun
post Apr 3 2009, 09:06 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 2 2009, 03:09 PM)
Poor ? I see those low cost house/flat... mostly has astro and drive non-local Proton/Perodua cars  hmm.gif
Well i look at it due to the 'easiness' to get a loan (and 'greediness' of bankers), even 'magic' payslips can get you big valued loans for non-local proton cars..it doesn't proof anything..

the poor are still poor.. blush.gif
attahun
post Apr 6 2009, 02:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Apr 4 2009, 03:30 PM)
Some questions

- Can I claim those mileage claim [petrol and toll] for work related trainings? No petrol card for this purpose
- Let's say I join this company in February 2008, how do I calculate the salary for year 2008?
  Main question will be, how to identify the chargeable income? Based on year 2008 pay slip [after deduct overall EPF % and8k personal relief?]
- Usage of EA form?
- RM350 rebate can be deducted if chargeable income is <RM35k starting from year 2008?
- If company provide me cellphone, phone bill and streamyx, can I deduct the amount from the chargeable income? If yes, for those bills are only 11 months right since I joined in Feb 2008?
- Company insurance policy can also be claimed right?
- I bought a DIY pc [with the full PC specs listed in the receipt am I eligible to claim, not sure those officers know this is a full set PC or not  unsure.gif ]

Ps: A first timer submitting the first BE  blush.gif

hmm, let me try..

1. By right, when you claim for mileage claim, you will have more money, therefore it should be under income, therefore chargeable.. LHDN however allows exemption for petrol card,petrol allowance and also travel allowance as of the moment. Therefore, if it is stated in your EA form/payslip as travel allowance, it is exempted, which means you do not have to declare it under 'taxable income'. If it is stated as "outstation allowance" or "mileage claims", i would suggest changing it to "mileage reimbursements" or "travel allowance" which does not subject it to taxable income. Be sure to check where is it stated in you EA Form - under taxable or non-taxable income.

2. The salary should be = monthly salary x 11 months + any overtime + allowance.

3. EA Form serves as a summary statement for your income. Your company should declare what is the income they had paid you and normally they would identify whether the income should fall into taxable or not. EA Form is the best reference to fill in your tax / e-filing.

4. For year 2008, rebate for taxable income below RM35K is rm350, starting next year it may be increased to rm400.

5. Yes, however the bills should be under company name and not your own name.

6. Yes can be claimed for the portion where you paid. be sure to identify if it is medical insurance or life as they are exempted under different sub-clause.

7. Hehe this is subjective. I would think this is still considered a PC therefore you should just claim. Later it will be a matter of explaining to the officer should you get audited. but be sure that the list does make up a unit PC.

I hope the above is correct. Anyone can feel free to correct me if anything wrong. tongue.gif biggrin.gif
attahun
post Apr 6 2009, 09:47 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ykltpm @ Apr 6 2009, 09:49 AM)
Hi, Dear all,

I wonder if anyone can assist me on the following :-
I deposited RM 3,000 and opened SPPN account for my children in 2007 which I claimed for tax exemption in 2007 tax return already. Can I still claim for the tax exemption for year 2008 if I did not deposit anymore money in 2008.
It should be the amount of saving for that year minus any withdrawals of that year..so basically the answer is no, i guess.. tongue.gif
attahun
post Apr 8 2009, 09:28 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Apr 8 2009, 12:01 PM)
If your payslip got PCB deduction, im sure your employer have register tax file number for you with LHDN. Ask from your employer if they receive your Borang BE. If not, go to the nearest LHDN office and ask for e-filing pin code, then register yourself and e-filing account. Submitting your tax using e-filing is very easy.  nod.gif
i was told by my HR that PCB deduction is using IC number and they dont open any tax account. So basically you'll have to check with LHDN for your account number.
attahun
post Apr 9 2009, 05:08 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(GeminiGeek @ Apr 8 2009, 11:03 PM)
Oh is it? Cos based on what happened to my sis and bro, both of them one day just happen to receive their Borang BE when their employer starts to deduct PCB from their salary. And they didn't even register in the LHDN office, so I thought your employer are the one who registered a tax number for you and you will be getting your own Borang BE when you're salary got deducted PCB.

Well, I guess for those who didnt get their BE, but they got their salary deducted PCB, I think it's time for them to get their e-filing pin in the nearest LHDN office. 3 more weeks before the last day of tax filing. Better be quick rather than last minute, no?  nod.gif
yeah i guess the LHDN are the ones so eager to open up ur tax account tongue.gif

so have to check with LHDN for ur account number.
attahun
post Apr 14 2009, 05:25 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(one19944 @ Apr 12 2009, 10:31 PM)
Example ING Insurance, Where the company buy insurance for the staff.? tax deductible.???
even when company buy the medical insurance, if you are deducted every month a portion to cover the premiums, you can mention that in your tax returns.. if you are not paying and only the company, then you cannot deduct that portion. The medical and life exemption is for individual basis.

Am not sure whether the company is exempted or not if taking medical insurance plans. not sure of corporate tax structure.. hmm.gif
attahun
post Apr 20 2009, 09:45 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Apr 19 2009, 10:19 PM)
Hi guys, just wondering the personal relief of 8000rm, what's the content of this???? Or does everyone automatically gets this without any receipts???

Also can clarify that, for a single guy, bascially the most common things to claim is : computer for 3000rm (or 3500rm?), and 1000rm for magazines, and 300rm for sports shoes, and maybe that personal relief of 8000rm if I didn't misunderstand it.
yes rm8000 is automatically given to everyone as personal relief...

as for the rest, exemption is given provided with receipt which means if you buy a PC for RM2,000 you can only claim RM2,000 and not max rm3,000.. same goes with the other exemptions such as magazine, parents and sport equipments (shoes does not count as equipment and not exempted)..

basically for a single guy, you are relieved of that personal RM8,000 and EPF own contributions..the rest is dependent on your actual purchases..
attahun
post Apr 20 2009, 02:43 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Apr 20 2009, 12:10 PM)
I was referring to the situation when lack of receipts really.
1.Personal relief
2.Computer 3000rm
3. Sports equipment 300rm or 350rm?
4. Parents insurance ? max 5000rm?

what are other common things to claim, as a single guy.
parents insurance? does that count under parents medical? hmm.. hmm.gif
attahun
post Apr 28 2009, 09:35 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Apr 26 2009, 12:23 AM)
is Sarjana = Masters or is it Bachelor Degree only?
I also read some where the kursus needs to be approved by Kementerian Kewangan, is there a website that list the approved kursus?
Sarjana is Masters... Bachelors Degree is Sarjana Muda.. tongue.gif

Added on April 28, 2009, 9:37 am
QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 27 2009, 01:16 AM)
want to ask, is shift allowance considered as 'Penggajian'? cause in EA form it is out of 'Penggajian', thanks.
in EA Form, allowances and bonuses might be put outside of 'penggajian' depending on company's categorization..

In income tax declaration, all that should be put under "penggajian".. Exempted allowances need not include though...

This post has been edited by attahun: Apr 28 2009, 09:37 AM
attahun
post Apr 29 2009, 09:30 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 28 2009, 03:03 PM)
hm... the problem is my monthly basic salary x 12 months is much much less than the one stated in PENGGAJIAN

the PENGECUALIAN is more to traveling allowances (living expenses) and the amount is quite substantial (>7k) since I travel more than 1/3 of my annual working days

hm... kinda confusing my company's EA form is
first of all, penggajian is the amount of salary paid by company to you..so it is not only basic salary but also include overtime, bonuses, allowances and incentives...

As certain allowances are given exemption (capped to a certain amount), you therefore need not declare such allowance under 'penggajian' in your BE form...

As for your case, it would be best to clarify with your HR on the method they used to fill in your EA form...just to avoid mistakes on your part when you fill in the BE form...

IF your travel allowance is lets say RM10K per year and the max amount for exemption is RM6K, perhaps your HR had already fill in your EA Form as allowance exempted RM6K and the balance RM4K inlcuded in your penggajian?? hmm.gif better check it out..
attahun
post Jun 9 2009, 09:05 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 5 2009, 12:08 PM)
i previously overpaid my income tax due to the deductions I got and I haven't gotten any letter or cheque from IRB, what can i do? If say I still dont receive in next 1-2 months, the next time i pay income tax, can i underpay to cover back what IRB owe to me?
do not underpay the tax as it can be considered evading tax and you may be penalized. The proper way would be to write in to LHDN branch where u are registered and ask for the refund. Just write in formally asking for their attention on the refund and do not use harsh words (dealing with government). tongue.gif

LHDN went through my account and had noticed that i wrongly declared one of my exemptions, they will notify you about the discrepancy..lucky me i was not penalized or anything, just that i had to repay the adjusted amount after they deduct the exemption i filed..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0215sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:50 PM