Personal relief Income tax, legally, reduce income tax

SUSDavid83
post Mar 10 2011, 10:23 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Mar 10 2011, 10:21 PM)
i used this link
http://ekl.hasil.gov.my/pcbcalc/pcb_calc_2...&curr_year=2011

what is anuity? how does it work
Skim anuiti baru atau tambahan jumlah anuiti sedia ada dan bayaran di buat mulai 01/01/2010 (apa-apa lebihan daripada premium anuiti baru atau tambahan melebihi RM1,000 boleh dituntut dan diambil kira bersama-sama jumlah premium insurans nyawa)

URL: http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?kump=5...3&unit=1&sequ=1
SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2011, 10:09 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 17 2011, 10:07 PM)
ARGH

I switched jobs in Oct 2010, and the new company didn't deduct my PCB for the 3 months (they started deducting Jan 2011 onwards). Dapat gaji that time didn't notice, now only notice. So end up I need to pay LHDN like almost 2k for this year's filing cry.gif

Also I pay broadband but the bill/acct in my dad's name ... so he gets the rebate (aha).

Also I bought a computer last year to relief, but after looking back at my previous year's submissions sh*t i miscalculate, actually I only eligible to claim in 2011 cos I last claimed in 2008 ... sad.gif
You meant that you're planning to claim for last year (2010) computer purchase relief in YA2011? Possible?

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 17 2011, 10:09 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2011, 10:13 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(prettyboy @ Mar 20 2011, 09:22 AM)
hi guys, for the relief to education fees, if i go to those external language classes can i claim for relief?
Cannot.

Yuran pendidikan (sendiri) : (Terhad 5,000)
(i) peringkat selain Sarjana dan Doktor Falsafah-bidang undang-undang, perakaunan, kewangan Islam, teknikal, vokasional, industri, saintifik atau teknologi maklumat
(ii)peringkat Sarjana dan Doktor Falsafah-sebarang bidang atau kursus pengajian

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 20 2011, 10:14 AM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2011, 10:57 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 20 2011, 08:37 PM)
If I cannot claim medical insurance as medical expenses, then can I claim under "Insurans pendidikan dan perubatan" (Education and medical insurance)? The policy is under my mom's name.

I don't think so.

Pelepasan Cukai bagi Premium Insurans Perubatan

Kini, pembayar cukai individu adalah diberi pelepasan cukai untuk premium insurans pendidikan dan perubatan untuk individu, suami, isteri atau anak sehingga maksimum RM3,000.

URL: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...mi&pg=ek_04.htm

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 20 2011, 10:58 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 21 2011, 11:08 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(clovercelia @ Mar 21 2011, 10:50 PM)
that news is only a proposal. havent executed yet.
My point is not about those suggestions but the explanation on the current relief/rebate.

His question is on medical insurance. Refer to my earlier post.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2011, 09:34 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Mar 23 2011, 09:17 AM)
For any purchases that requires receipt as a proof, I know I can photocopy the receipt... but I'd like to know, after I photocopy the receipt, can I throw away the original receipt, and just keep the photocopy? I don't like to keep too many papers. 1 A4 photocpy can already fit at least 4 receipts in it..
Original receipts are more important. Must keep it.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 28 2011, 08:52 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Mar 28 2011, 08:38 AM)
how about those ING I-Income? Does it includes inside the insurance/EPF?
Is it a life/medical/education insurance plan?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 20 2011, 11:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Apr 20 2011, 11:07 PM)
hi, can we claim for relief for purchasing nutrition products for parents under the category of "medical expenses for parents"?

tq
Nope because it's not medicine prescribed by medical practitioner.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 20 2011, 11:46 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Apr 20 2011, 11:41 PM)
tq. why did the tax expert in 988 say  can?
They're not tax expert. Always refer back to LHDN website or other reliable sources.

According to the IRB's website, the list of allowable deductions for medical expenses incurred for parents includes expenses at nursing homes and for dental treatment. Are medical expenses for parents for treatment at hospitals or clinics allowed for deductions?

Yes, they are allowable. Individuals can claim medical expenses for parents up to a maximum of RM5,000 per year. Receipt from the medical practitioner (only those approved by Malaysia Medical Council) is required as evidence for certifying that the medical treatment has been provided to the parents.

URL: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...4144&sec=nation

> I purchased supplements which helps in controlling my sinus. However, this is not a prescription from a doctor. Am I able to claim for it?

See above. The purchase of supplements would not fall within this definition and therefore it is not claimable as a tax deduction.

> My daughter has been on anti-allergy medication for more than a year. Are her medical costs claimable?

See above. Since the definition exemplifies diseases which are serious and chronic in nature, this is unlikely to fall within this definition.

> I want to claim for my parents’ medical expenses but receipts are under their name. What should I do?

Tax relief of up to a maximum of RM5,000 is available in respect of medical expenses expended by an individual for his parents provided that the claim is evidenced by a medical practitioner’s receipt to certify that the treatment was provided for your parents.

Where the receipts are issued in your parents’ names, you may substantiate your relationship with your parents by showing proof such as your birth certificate, in the event of an audit by the Inland Revenue Board.

URL: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...88503&sec=focus

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 20 2011, 11:48 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 10:30 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Apr 21 2011, 10:10 AM)
he, the Dr, is a tax expert.  I reffered to the speaker not the DJayss.  Very useful information, thankx.

1 more q, how do we know if we are qualified as "skill worker" and hence, entitled to fix 12% income tax levied?

tq
Refer to: http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/PUA_344_2010_2.pdf
SUSDavid83
post May 5 2011, 08:50 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ May 5 2011, 06:30 PM)
Hi guys. I want to know if TM + Streamyx is under my name (non taxpayer), can my father claim tax deduction?
No.
SUSDavid83
post May 25 2011, 07:30 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(5297 @ May 25 2011, 05:54 PM)
I would like to ask is personal computer relief applicable to personal tax deduction or a household deduction? Thanks!
Personal income tax. The receipt should be addressed to the name whom the relief is claimed from.

This post has been edited by David83: May 25 2011, 07:31 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 11 2012, 10:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(pucapuca @ Dec 5 2011, 09:49 PM)
I need to buy some medicine (from Tung Shin hospital) for my mother in law. Usually we buy 1 years' supply at one go (as she stays outstation).

Can I use the receipt to deduct income tax? Should the receipt be made to my name or my MiL or how should we go about this?

The cost is about RM2000 for the year's supply of med..

Cheers!
Mother-in-law is entitled? I thought only parents.

Sorry my memory is not strong to remember the details. It may get expanded.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 13 2012, 06:10 PM

52,874 posts

I received an email from HR regarding this:

You are receiving this email because you are provided the benefit of Employee Awards & Recognition paid.

In accordance to LHDN’s Public Ruling No.2/2004 issued 8 Nov 2004 and Second Addendum to Public Ruling No.2/2004 issued 17 Jan 2006, the prescribed value of this Benefit-In-Kind (BIK) is taxable as there is personal elements involved or has the potential of it being convertible to cash.

The amount will be reported in your EA Form for year 2011 as a BIK.

Please also take note that for year assessment 2011, individuals are allowed tax exemption of up to RM2,000 for BIK related to innovation, productivity and efficiency.  If you have received other cash bonuses (e.g. Special Incentives, Inventor Bonus or Recognition) directly through payroll, the amount will be sum up and tax rebate of RM2,000 will be applied.

For further reference, please refer to LHDN website on the ruling of BIK and exemptions allowed.

Thank you.
May I know what does this mean? I see a lot of stars! rclxub.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 13 2012, 11:00 PM

52,874 posts

May I know what is BIK? I'm still unclear over this as this term is my first time encounter such entry. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 13 2012, 11:01 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 9 2012, 09:46 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(invest2229 @ Apr 9 2012, 09:35 PM)
Can I claim my daughter tuition fee? Or the cost of buying text book from tuition?
Tuition fee no.

YURAN PENDIDIKAN (SENDIRI)
Bayaran yuran tahunan terhad  kepada RM5,000 dibenarkan sebagai potongan untuk kursus pembelajaran di institusi atau badan profesional di Malaysia yang diiktiraf oleh Kerajaan Malaysia atau diluluskan oleh  Menteri Kewangan bagi maksud meningkatkan kemahiran atau kelayakan:

(i) sehingga ke peringkat tertiari (selain Sarjana dan Doktor Falsafah) – dalam bidang  undang-undang, perakaunan, kewangan Islam, teknikal, vokasional, industri, saintifik atau teknologi; atau

(ii) peringkat Sarjana dan Doktor Falsafah – sebarang bidang atau kursus pengajian
But you can claim for child relief under ANAK - 18 TAHUN DAN KE ATAS YANG MASIH BELAJAR

Pelepasan anak yang belum berkahwin dan berumur 18 tahun dan ke atas dan menerima pendidikan sepenuh masa adalah sebanyak RM1,000. Perenggan 48(1)(b) & 48(2)(a) ;
atau Pelepasan sebanyak RM4,000 bagi anak yang belum berkahwin dan berumur 18 tahun  dan ke atas tertakluk kepada syarat-syarat berikut:

(i) mengikuti kursus di peringkat diploma dan ke atas di institusi pengajian tinggi dalam Malaysia (tidak termasuk kursus matrikulasi/pra-ijazah).
(ii) mengikuti kursus di peringkat ijazah dan ke atas di institusi pengajian tinggi luar Malaysia.
(iii) kursus dan institusi pengajian tinggi diiktiraf oleh pihak berkuasa Kerajaan yang berkaitan.

Subperenggan 48(3)(a)(i)

Books yes.

PEMBELIAN BUKU/MAJALAH/JURNAL/PENERBITAN
Perbelanjaan pembelian mana-mana  buku, majalah, jurnal atau penerbitan (dalam bentuk  hardcopy atau elektronik tetapi tidak termasuk surat khabar atau bahan bacaan yang terlarang) untuk individu, suami / isteri atau anak dibenarkan sebagai potongan terhad kepada RM1,000. Perenggan 46(1)(i)

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 9 2012, 09:48 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 15 2012, 12:50 PM

52,874 posts

It does not have to be taxing

Many taxpayers are still in doubt over deductible claims. Here are more advice from the Inland Revenue Board to ease taxpayers' worries.

ONE difficulty when filing one's taxes is the differing interpretations of the Income Tax Act provisions. Then there are the amendments or new reliefs introduced every year.

Last week, capital gains tax became a point of contention. According to the IRB, the net profit gained from the share market is taxable if the transaction is done repeatedly.

However, as one reader wrote in, most people are of the view that capital gains from stock investing in Malaysia are not taxable, a perception that is propagated on the Internet.

This is the IRB's further clarification on the perplexing issue. Profits derived from dabbling in the share market is an adventure in the nature of trade and is taxable as a business income if some characteristics of the badges of trade as follows exist: profit-making motive such as engaging the service of a portfolio manager; assets were purchased with the intention of selling for profit; and the period of ownership

For example, a short period of ownership can denote trading of shares when trading of shares is the main source of income for the stock broker/remisier. Another is the frequency of transactions where transactions are found to be one of the series, that is repeated or similar, arising from a pattern of activity.

From the facts given, IRB is of the opinion that the income derived from dabbling of shares in the shares market is not in the nature of trade and not taxable as a business income under section 4(a), Income Tax Act 1967. However, it might be taxed under other gain or profit under section 4(f) of the Income Tax Act 1967 if such activity is carried out frequently.

For further confirmation, please contact the nearest IRB office with your supporting documents. Currently, there is no threshold amount for exemption.

URL: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...9510&sec=nation
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2012, 12:36 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(monkeybanana123 @ Apr 21 2012, 11:56 AM)
Hey all, I just want to clarify something bout tax deductions. lets say if I bought RM 300 worth of sporting equipmenst, will I be deducted Rm 300 from my tax? because I saw in a website that says RM 300@ 24% = savings of RM 72, Wat does that mean? just a studnet btw
It's not directly deducted from your overall tax.

It's under tax relief which will reduce your chargeable/taxable income.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2012, 03:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 21 2012, 03:18 PM)
Peralatan sokongan asas untuk kegunaan sendiri, suami / isteri, anak atau ibu bapa yang kurang upaya.

What kind of equipments fall under this? spectacles doesnt count right biggrin.gif
Wheel chair. Hearing aid maybe.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2012, 05:31 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Apr 21 2012, 05:18 PM)
Want to check

1) My wive visit doctor for pregnancy check up can claim relief?
2) got for atenatal class can claim ?

sorry noob here
Both also no.

For full medical check up:

Pemeriksaan perubatan penuh bermaksud pemeriksaan secara menyeluruh dibenarkan sebagai potongan terhad kepada RM500 untuk diri sendiri, suami / isteri atau anak tetapi jumlah pelepasan untuk D6 dan D7 adalah terhad kepada RM5,000. Perenggan 46(1)(h)

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0471sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:09 PM