Higher speed RAM for overclocking?
joylay83
Nov 29 2006, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(Diazepam @ Nov 22 2006, 03:29 PM) Darn, I'd really like to not have to change the mobo. Also, as long as it can do DDR500, I'd be more than happy.  , so no need DDR600.  Any other alternatives other than TCCD then? Thanks. if you dun wanna spend any cash, then use divider. A64 performance and stability are relatively not affected by putting a divider (forgot where's the source). u are using amd proc rite? ok... first determine if you really need 2gb of ram. if you dun need, then just go tccd 512x2. alternative will be bh-5 512x2 coz it can do really tight timings up to 1.5-2-2-5. if you need 2gb ram and you dun wanna change board, then personally i prefer uccc. but they have a problem of higher latency. the lower the latency, the more expensive lastly if you are willing to change board, u can get a dfi crossfire or something that can run 512x4 at 1T. put in tccd or bh-5 there. and bear in mind, some nice and cheap KVR can oc really high as stated earlier.
TSDiazepam
Dec 3 2006, 02:11 AM

Hi Joylay, I'm now trying to get a decent OC without changing anything.  So I'm going to try with my current RAM first (and I need 2Gb).
TSDiazepam
Dec 3 2006, 02:19 AM

Update:
The divider route seems to be working out. Although I'm trying to get the speeds I want without lowering the RAM speeds too much.
Still testing, but seems to be pretty stable right now at 270x9, and RAM lowered to 333/166, and HT at 3x.
I'm pretty much stuck with this speed for now as my BIOS only allows me to go 333, then 266 for RAM speeds. And once I put it to 266 (133), everything goes really funny - like I can't launch Firefox, errors on programs etc. At 333, my RAM speed is already running at 221/442 at current 270x9. Even bumping it up to 275x9 gives me the blue screen of death when I tax the system.
I'm not too sure if loosening the RAM timings some more would help me squeeze more mhz out of them, but more importantly, I'm wondering if loosening it too much would actually negate the performance improvements.
It also seems like such a waste to lower the Ht to 3x and yet not use it to the full 1000Mhz. I mean, now its like only 810mhz.
Theoretically, I should be able to go 334x9 (3Ghz) at HT 3x with RAM set to 133/266. LOL.
Any further thoughts on squeezing that last bit of performance out of them without buying anything new? I'm ALWAYS running at 100% for both cores (even with this new speed), and RAM usage is like around the 1.4-1.8Gb mark.
p.s. DOH. Silly me thought I had KVR, but what I had was actually Corsair Value Rams. Apologies for the wrong info.
TSDiazepam
Dec 3 2006, 02:21 AM

Oh, one more thing:
At some point I'm going to want to add in another 1Gb (don't want 4 as I'd lose close to a Gb to PCI), so I'm wondering if I'd get any sort of a performance penalty by not mounting them in pairs? Is that even possible? Or do I have to go 2x1Gb and 2x512?
I'm now running them as single channel, as suggested by Lucifah.
joylay83
Dec 3 2006, 06:24 PM
the HT no problem one, u put 1x or 5x also no difference in performance. not worth it running single channel woh... quite significant performance difference. last time my mobo gave problem with 7/10 divider. but now dunno why i put 7/10 no problem liao. if your ram can do 270 i suggest u keep it  coz even my ocz performance ram is barely stable at 270 3-4-3-8.
TSDiazepam
Dec 3 2006, 09:27 PM

Hmm, you sure about the HT speed not having an effect on the performance?
About the single channel thing - maybe I'll try again with dual channel config on current speeds and see how it is then . . . *cross fingers*
I think you misunderstood about my RAM speed la. I meant my CPU is running at 270x9. My RAM is running at 333/166.
If it was running at 270, I'd be as happy as . . . ummm, I dunno what. LOL.
joylay83
Dec 3 2006, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Diazepam @ Dec 3 2006, 09:27 PM) Hmm, you sure about the HT speed not having an effect on the performance? I think you misunderstood about my RAM speed la. I meant my CPU is running at 270x9. My RAM is running at 333/166. ya... google bout the HT and see.. read it last time. try dfi-street. and i personally tried this out before. i put at stock speed, HT x5, and HT x2, ran benchmark of sandra and superPI, all came out identical. haha ya i think i misunderstood u
LExus65
Dec 3 2006, 11:18 PM
divider and HT does not have much effects on the benchmark or real world application, i did what joylay does too.........no difference
loosen the ram timing however does affect the stability or performance, it's hard to perdict for this case........ u need to do it by trial and error to find ur best combo........
i just upgrade my rams too......... but still havent found time yet to play around with the settings yet........
TSDiazepam
Dec 4 2006, 11:44 PM

Thanks for the input guys.
Now tried it out in dual channel again and it seems to work fine. Haven't tried the acid test and tax the computer yet though . . .
tatayoung
Dec 12 2006, 11:22 PM
Just watch how far you increase the voltages man...,keep pushin it and before long you'll be ramless.....