Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

kpfun
post Sep 30 2015, 09:02 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 29 2015, 05:31 PM)
Depends on the individual.  Like I said if you want to topup now, now is the chance. Opportunity like this does not come everyday. Just see whether you have
1) The cash
2)  The confidence

If me, I still have confidence. Why?
1) ASX gave good returns during 1998-1999, 2008 crisis
2)  ASX unlike other funds DOES NOT give you 100% of what they earned. They ALWAYS keep some as their reserve. So even if you are pessimistic,  easily scared and think of worse case scenario, I will say their reserve can last them min 3 years at 6.x%
3) ASX is national interest tongue.gif
4) ASX FP generates their money based on dividends from Bursa. They are not really traders.

If you want to run, please let us know so that those of us who still want to topup can topup. tongue.gif
My view is that the taxation exemption is their beating market power. The exemption entitlement is continued, these products are attractive.
kpfun
post Oct 5 2015, 11:15 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 4 2015, 08:51 AM)
U can consider in-house will offer by ASNB, Pengisytiharan Amanah or external will namely Rockwills
http://www.asnb.com.my/v3_/pdf/promo/pengi...araanamanah.pdf
Amanah charges RM190.90 per contract, and the distribution fee is according to units holding, which 1.5% for first 25K, 1% for until 500K, and there after is 0.5%. According to Amanah personnel, their fee is the most attractive in the market.

I'm still looking for the optimum option. Do you have any better plan.
kpfun
post Oct 5 2015, 05:41 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 5 2015, 11:18 AM)
Did u xplore with Rockwills?
I have called their office, but I was further confused by their explanation. I was suggested to meet their agent face to face to understand the details.
kpfun
post Oct 6 2015, 10:29 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 5 2015, 05:44 PM)
Y dun u meet up face-to-face to understand the products 1st b4 decide to sign up for which product
I have not committed anything yet. But, I am thinking of getting a will. I just want to find out the necessity of Pengisytiharaan Amanah while having a will.

After speaking with the Rockwills agent in the phone briefly, I realize that will is a very complicated thing, and the inheritors can be fooled by the lawyers or Will agents in fees/service charge if not careful.

No hurry for me, I am not that elder, mostly, I will do the will when my youngest kid reach 18, a year plus from now. I still have time to source a good way of doing it.

If ASNB products allow joint name accounts with either to sign like FD, everything is easier to be managed.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 6 2015, 10:33 AM
kpfun
post Oct 8 2015, 04:43 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Pisanggoreng @ Oct 7 2015, 12:58 PM)
yesterday and today went to CIMB, RHB and Pos Msia to open ASM, all dont want to entertain me.
RHB straight tell me off, memang tak dapat punya...
CIMB for 2 days said ASM system down..
Pos Msia said open new account must go bank..

pfffttt...
All these banks are really crap. Pretty pissed off with them.

You may consider to lodge a complaint to ASNB or Bank Negara?

kpfun
post Oct 9 2015, 10:15 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 9 2015, 02:38 AM)
Yesterday, I embarked on my maiden journey to hunt for additional ASW units.

First hunting ground was at ASNB office. Apa hasil pun tarak sad.gif  I think too many treasure hunters around.

Went to CIMB to continue my quest. Met with a helpful staff. Attempted multiple time for me. Finally managed to hunt down RM100.

Thanks to the anonymous unitholder who sold the units exactly at the time I made my bid. My gratitude to other treasure hunters too who give face & give chance to me. At least no going back tangan kosong biggrin.gif

Those who have vast experience in the hunt, the system at ASNB & agents can't check how many units are available ka?
I asked that question to MBB counter before. The reply is NO.

I guess, only ASNB main system can view the movement. For agents, the system has no reason to show the available units. This is because of the moment you see the available units could be already sold by other agents just after your display.

But, I can't understand their system why they do not allow 'take all the available units although less than requesting units'. This means, let say, if you place RM20K, the available units is RM16K, your placement is not matched. So, you need to place a figure less than RM16K to get the placement success. It is really a funny ordering software.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 09:28 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 10 2015, 06:35 AM)
Wow!!!

Even HJebat is in our ship already!!! I am so glad with that.

I still remember that time we fight about FD vs ASNB hahaha..

Good to see you here.

But you already miss the 4 crucial months which started from JUNE 2015.. Until Beginning of OCT 2015...

But never mind, now better pick it up!!!

Now we confirmed that ASM is still a lot a lot!!
Interesting subject - FD vs ASNB. I missed that.

So, any conclusion has been made?

My FD allocation of the total assets has gone down from 25% to less than 5% now. And, I raised my AS1M/ASM/ASW from 8% to 22%. I started topping up ASNB from mid-August. I was lucky because most of my long terms FD matured in Aug and Sep, and happened that during these period many available units.

Obviously, I like ASNB more than FD.

kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 10:02 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Oct 10 2015, 09:34 AM)
with the bursa recovering, confidence for asnb increases
Many my relatives and friends are very negative to ASNB and EPF. They feel totally unsecured by putting their money there. Their main aim in financial planning is withdrawing money out from the EPF as soon as possible. It is still fine if some of these folks are using the money for other better investments or meaningful spending. But, many of them keep the money in FD indeed.

I told them ASNB owned by more than 80% Malay subscribers, and so do EPF, at least 50%+. No political parties dare to screw up these 2 organizations. They have many imaginative alternatives to rescue them if they are into trouble.

kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 10:18 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 10 2015, 09:46 AM)
It was no conclusion last time... But in here we come to a conclusion that one must have at least 6 months of current income in the form of save deposits be it in CASA or FD.

Others be it in foreign or local is depend on personal preference.

Many of us even some fd do not mature also inject into asnb last few months. We even move from VP to FP when the IRR at 2.89%. Haha.
ASNB is a MONTHLY FD form. Their dividend calculation is based on minimum monthly average. So, the money, in fact, is tied up by one month only for earning dividend. It is a better deal than any FD.

At any particular moment, should buy ASNB instead of FD, if units are available. Furthermore, you have totally free hand of determining how long you want to keep in ASNB without losing any dividend.

It returns better rate than FD and very liquidated too.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 10:41 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 10 2015, 10:26 AM)
Are you sure? Tabung haji have been used to rescue *cough*
They are paying 6.25%+2% this year.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 10:45 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Oct 10 2015, 10:27 AM)
If you deposit into ASX on the 2nd of every month, you lose out on the dividend.
Of cause, you have to catch it on month end and before 2nd. This limits the investing date flexibility. But, looking at the returned rate which is better than FD, almost 40-50%. It is still a better deal.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:01 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2015, 10:47 AM)
Mind to share the balance of 73% allocation goes to where?
Bond stocks (12%), equities (less than 5%) and USD+EPF+Properties..

kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:12 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 10 2015, 10:56 AM)
Didn't you read the news that tabung haji was bought some land and paid more than the market price some where early of this year?
I can understand your concern. I will exit all these placements soon Malaysia turns into high transparency financial transactions model. I think, time will come, not so soon. This is my personal guessing.

As long as, these placements are liquidated, and we should follow closely the related news, our risk is manageable.

Of cause, ASNB is not risk free product. But, it is a political products, which carry votes and government support implication. We are taking of the advantage of that with the risk we assumed.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 10 2015, 11:13 AM
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:21 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Oct 10 2015, 11:08 AM)
Near retiring age?
Retired officially at 46. These few years, focusing on investments knowledge and opportunities.

My favorite is Forex - don't ask how much I make or lose. I like Forex very much, but still far being a FX trader, working hard on that.

kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:35 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2015, 11:04 AM)
Yo portfolio(s) r very stable with negligible volatility except USD
The USD, in fact, was there more than a year, a ready money for trading ETF in NYSE, waiting for entering. Still incapable in selecting the ETF. Luckily, the USD rate has been up more than 20+%, otherwise, earning <0.5% interest rate in the trading account is losing money everyday.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:49 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Oct 10 2015, 11:39 AM)
Well done... Im targetting to retire in 40+ also...haha
You wanna the tips. consultancy fee wow.... haha

One clue - work damn bloody hard for earning when you are young... and don't drive luxury car or staying in a big house.

Everyday, do whay you want to do, and no need to report to anybody (except your wife), is a damn good life. Do it!
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 11:56 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2015, 11:51 AM)
Who is the cheq signatory, u or yo wife?
She doesn't really know how much I have. Kidding... she has no interest in any money making matter, except consuming.
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 12:26 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2015, 12:05 PM)
Perhaps it's about time u prepare 2016 Budget on revenue n expenditure  brows.gif
Did it already last week.

Planning is good, but, sometimes, it is changing based on everyday situation.

Such as, last year, I planed to move all the matured FD in Aug and Sep to USD trading account for ETF in NYSE. It happened that USD rate went to sky high, then,I have to alter the plan by moving these money into ASNB indeed.

When USD returns to a reasonable rate, I may consider move some fund from ASNB to USD for better opportunities mainly in ETF. That is my long term plan.

kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 12:54 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2015, 12:33 PM)
Historically, wat is the average returns (assume 5 & 10 yrs) of US ETF?
NYSE has more than 1,600 ETFs and more than 1,000 in application. It covers various sectors. The average earning of the entire ETF industry is not a meaningful figure. ETF is just a kind of unit trust, but, the formation is different and so do its liquidation.

Of cause, it has many advantages than traditional Unit Trust. Relatively, ETF is still new in the investment market, 10 years plus only. It is evolving now, and some, are turning into high risk as well, because it can be configured for hedging, and law in USA is still not fully capable to manage it.

hehe.... My knowledge in ETF is limited. I'm still working on ETF research since 2 years ago. I am a slow learner and a very conservative investor.

My personal plan is - for fun I am with Forex, for mid/long term incomes is with ETF.

I am not favor to traditional Unit Trust. Unit Trust concept is good, but, the formation is suck. Not really at subscribers benefits.

I never take ASNB as a traditional trust. As I said, I am taking its political purpose advantage. That reason I like ASNB.

This post has been edited by kpfun: Oct 10 2015, 01:06 PM
kpfun
post Oct 10 2015, 03:45 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Oct 10 2015, 01:03 PM)
Spot on!!
The main critic of the mutual funds is the cost of investment. Sunny day or rainy day, they still make money from the investors regardless of performance. ETF provide cheaper and more effective option to invest in index stocks.

Asnb variable priced funds are following the mutual fund concept. The exception is Asnb's fixed price fund. It's the hybrid of FD and mutual funds based on its product features.

A retiree here too.
Glad to know that you are a retiree and positive to ETF too. Mind to share your personal portfolio investment.

1.4890sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:39 PM