ILLEGEAR Z5 & Z7 Discussion Thread V2, ILLEGEAR Z7 is here!

Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 11 2015, 09:11 PM

Peace :D
3,928 posts

QUOTE(palatun @ Sep 11 2015, 08:44 PM)
Ermm, why new thread?
reach limit dy for v1
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 12 2015, 07:34 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Sep 12 2015, 05:24 AM)
im planning on getting the Z5 by around October, gtx970m & 16gb ram! for work purposes.
Has no budget for SSD yet but in the future if i wanna upgrade its possible right
and how about GPU? so far the upgrades r meant for the rs series only?  smile.gif
Ssd yes
GPU no..its soldered to the main board

Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 15 2015, 11:39 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Sep 14 2015, 09:02 PM)
Yay get back my Z5... now can play my Games again.... My Z5 use win10 so can't say much
what happened to your z5? ohmy.gif

edit: ignore question..didnt read earlier posts..now i know

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Sep 15 2015, 11:41 AM
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 15 2015, 11:43 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 14 2015, 11:54 PM)
i also thinking about msata, but i think i will invest in another 8GB to make it 16GB ram.

whats ur ram now?
for ur case..better to get m sata although is it slightly expensive than ram..but ur speed will increase tremendously over the 1tb hdd..

8gb ram is enough at the moment for the apps and softwares at this time and in near future
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 15 2015, 09:19 PM

3,928 posts

yeah baby!!! skylake processors in november..just in time to get a gaming laptop

http://www.lowyat.net/2015/74805/illegear-...efresh-laptops/
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 15 2015, 09:35 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Sep 15 2015, 09:33 PM)
Now we must wait for Prince J announcement...  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
yup..exact date not sure yet..but lowyat said the statement is from illegear themselves
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 15 2015, 09:46 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Sep 15 2015, 09:36 PM)
Are you gonna buy Z5 again?  tongue.gif
undecided yet bro..either a macbook or the thinner illegear laptops...not z5 tongue.gif
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 16 2015, 01:27 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 16 2015, 01:09 AM)
but only on start up right? cuz i don't turn off my lappy normally jz put it on sleep mode.

8GB i think not enough for me, cuz recently i on Lightroom 5 + Diablo 3 + League of Legends client running, and 5+ google chrome tabs >< then i notice the lag.
startup, app loading, file transfer speed, no defragment etc etc

http://asia.pcmag.com/storage-devices-revi...-the-difference
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 16 2015, 07:37 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 16 2015, 07:28 PM)
if i were to run more programs on the same time then RAM would be the choice?
I used to have SSD on my old laptop, can't bring over cause it's not MSATA and only 126GB.
So far I still can get use to not using SSD lah
ya bro..if want to run many apps at the same time then ram better..but it also depends, because i used to open many apps at the same time too and 8gb enough for me

for start up time, file transfer speeds increase u can get msata (64gb enough)..then put your os in the msata and use the 1tb hdd as your storage for your files..with this your os speed will increase alot

u dont even need 128gb msata smile.gif ssd is quite similar to msata(the features and advantages) thats why i put that link in my earlier posts.

btw your hdd is the normal hdd or the sshd? blizzardcraft

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Sep 16 2015, 11:38 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 16 2015, 11:37 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Sep 16 2015, 07:40 PM)
Yes, if you run a lot of programs at one time RAM is the better upgrade if u have limited budget; I went for RAM upgrade for this reason. I usually will have 2 browsers with dozen of tabs each open, photoshop/Lightroom open, torrent or any downloader, and bunch of other stuff running at the same time.
Oh yea. For your case, since u download 10 to 29gb per day, its best to have the classic HDD or sshd..but u can still install your OS on the msata like what I explained above to blizzardcraft smile.gif

Same question for u also, yours is the normal HDD or the sshd?

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Sep 16 2015, 11:38 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 07:18 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 17 2015, 12:24 AM)
mine is SSHD, my illegear z5 left only msata slot D: else im going to use back my 128GB SSD liao..  T_T
lightroom eats RAM for breakfast,lunch and dinner D:
u mean the 64GB only for OS?
photoshop + lightroom is enough to kill the RAM already >< so 16GB worked well for u?
Ok..since its sshd, forget everything I said about the msata

Sshd is good enough dy..its a hybrid drive with ssd cache in it..so don't need to worry about speed

Just upgrade your ram for the lightroom biggrin.gif
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 09:36 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Sep 17 2015, 09:27 AM)
I'm using sshd with 16Gb, so far quite satisfied with OS speed.
YUP..i forgot that z5 comes with sshd instead of the hdd..hence i recommended the msata with hdd configuration.

since come with sshd, no need dy..ram upgrade is enough
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 09:37 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 17 2015, 08:04 AM)
haha no lah... i change laptop once in a green moon, probably next would be 9th gen intel with v6 beast LOL whistling.gif
desktop brows.gif whistling.gif
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 11:42 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 17 2015, 11:38 AM)
SSHD and SSD difference so little meh? except the start up time, i tried counting the startup time, almost same as my SSD laptop ( part of the reason maybe cuz my z5 stli new ? )
quite little the difference except for the writting speed and the rotating disc (ssd dont have)
u got sshd, then no need msata dy...go for the ram upgrade
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 11:45 AM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 17 2015, 09:49 AM)
not bad wor if illegear got, like aftershock

got no use for me, always outstation, cant bring here and there, my base and home different haha
d5 lor...with skylake and nvidia pascal gpu next year brows.gif brows.gif whistling.gif
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 17 2015, 12:28 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Sep 17 2015, 12:11 PM)
I went for Hitachi 7200rpm 1TB HDD
owh, then the msata configuration i told above will benefit u alot.
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 24 2015, 05:08 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(willaw @ Sep 23 2015, 11:09 AM)
So I went to Illegear today to get my laptop fixed. I thought I'll have to leave the laptop there and come back later to get it (maybe after work or later in the week).

But no, I was asked to have a seat, and then the boss moved on to take out a new screen and change it on the spot. It only took about 15 minutes I think.

After that, all is well! I am impressed with the great service!

I highly recommend Illegear!

PS. Maybe this should be in the front page review as well.  biggrin.gif
illegear warranty service is top notch..

last time i went to illegear and princej changed the motherboard in my z5 within 3 hours..no other brand except dell will do that
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 24 2015, 06:26 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(jason_tee @ Sep 24 2015, 06:08 PM)
I used to be Dell supported, heck I was even an employee few years back. Despite their service is good the quality seem to be dropped compared to before,.
After compared the spec of alienware 15 with z5, I decided to give illegear a try this time after saw so many good review  icon_rolleyes.gif
For me..alienware still has a much better solid build compared to the z5..if I got a choice to choose either alienware or z5, I will still go for alienware

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Sep 24 2015, 06:26 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 24 2015, 06:30 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Sep 24 2015, 06:28 PM)
Until the motherboard burns from gaming within 3 months after purchase... That's what happened to my friend.
Investing so much in a laptop which should deliver in gaming but still managed to overheat until it fried the mobo.
That was an older model of course, the newer one is probably better.
That is why desktop is still the best for gaming brows.gif but I don't game much dy now..targeting the macbook with skylake processors (next year)

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Sep 24 2015, 06:31 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Sep 24 2015, 08:17 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(jason_tee @ Sep 24 2015, 08:11 PM)
No doubt the build is solid but the plastic really feel cheap. My X51 the first day I got it got some squick sound when I press the casing but it does serve me well. Never use alienware laptop before but played with me several times, yes it is solid.

However my alienware x51 motherboard was screwed up by Dell's recommended BIOS update, when call up their technical support, that person told me it is not advisable to upgrade the BIOS as it happened to many other users as well, I was like WTF, why you put up as recommended update then?  mad.gif And due to out of warranty changing it will cost me 1k for a old motherboard and no guarantee will fix.  rclxub.gif
Bro.. I don't understand.. Why did u buy the x51 what u could have get a beast desktop with very good specs at that price??

0.0500sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:15 AM