Ram capacity, upgrade ram
TShyroxy
Sep 9 2015, 01:37 PM, updated 11y ago

I have laptop brand Samsung model NP-R440-JT01 MY. This laptop year is 2010. So, its 5 years old now. My laptop support 32-bit, intel i3 and have 2 slot platform of ram. Can I change my ram to 4gb both? can you help me? below is link about my laptop http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/p...0-JAE1US-searchThis post has been edited by hyroxy: Sep 9 2015, 01:38 PM
CyrusWong
Sep 9 2015, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(hyroxy @ Sep 9 2015, 01:37 PM) I have laptop brand Samsung model NP-R440-JT01 MY. This laptop year is 2010. So, its 5 years old now. My laptop support 32-bit, intel i3 and have 2 slot platform of ram. Can I change my ram to 4gb both? can you help me? below is link about my laptop http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/p...0-JAE1US-searchcan. but is it your windows is 64-bit? to support 4gb ram you need 64-bit windows. else on 32-bit it only can partially support, probably 2.5gb only. probably 3.2gb. and also, your processor i3-350m, support up to DDR3 800/1066, it's difficult to find this ram on market nowadays, you need to pay a visit to those pc shop to ask. This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Sep 9 2015, 01:47 PM
nilinaxolotl
Sep 9 2015, 01:44 PM

32-bit system only support until 4GB ram (correct me if I'm wrong). Even if you put another 8GB of ram, only 4GB is usable.
seerub senpai
Sep 9 2015, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Sep 9 2015, 01:43 PM) can. but is it your windows is 64-bit? to support 4gb ram you need 64-bit windows. else on 32-bit it only can partially support, probably 2.5gb only. probably 3.2gb. and also, your provessor i3-350m only support DDR3 800/1066, it's difficult to find this ram on market nowadays, you need to pay a visit to those pc shop to ask. QUOTE(nilinaxolotl @ Sep 9 2015, 01:44 PM) 32-bit system only support until 4GB ram (correct me if I'm wrong). Even if you put another 8GB of ram, only 4GB is usable. like they said. otherwise, reformat to 64bit and then u can fully utilize ram more than 4gb. dun 4get to backup ur data 1st
TShyroxy
Sep 11 2015, 11:24 AM

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Sep 9 2015, 02:43 PM) can. but is it your windows is 64-bit? to support 4gb ram you need 64-bit windows. else on 32-bit it only can partially support, probably 2.5gb only. probably 3.2gb. and also, your processor i3-350m, support up to DDR3 800/1066, it's difficult to find this ram on market nowadays, you need to pay a visit to those pc shop to ask. so, i just need to find the ram ddr3 800/1066 right? can I just use ddr3 1330/1600 mhz? i3-350 can support it? because this type of ram are many in market now
karthyhu
Sep 11 2015, 12:06 PM
better bring your laptop to the shop and try it out before paying
Zot
Sep 11 2015, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(hyroxy @ Sep 9 2015, 01:37 PM) I have laptop brand Samsung model NP-R440-JT01 MY. This laptop year is 2010. So, its 5 years old now. My laptop support 32-bit, intel i3 and have 2 slot platform of ram. Can I change my ram to 4gb both? can you help me? below is link about my laptop http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/p...0-JAE1US-search2^32 = 4,294,967,296. So, 4G is the most the 32-bit OS can address
jagged
Sep 11 2015, 02:41 PM
CyrusWong
Sep 11 2015, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(hyroxy @ Sep 11 2015, 11:24 AM) so, i just need to find the ram ddr3 800/1066 right? can I just use ddr3 1330/1600 mhz? i3-350 can support it? because this type of ram are many in market now I'm not very sure about this, most likely can support, but just run at 1066Mhz as the maximum support speed. (I repeat, I'm not very sure about this.) Just take along your notebook to the shop, and tell them you will only buy if it work. This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Sep 11 2015, 02:47 PM