*popcorn*
USD/MYR drop, V2
Oct 2 2015, 11:31 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Wow, Pak Cik Bermimpi is here
*popcorn* |
Oct 3 2015, 05:51 AM
negative returns? LOL!
my EXPENSIVE local mutual funds (but investing offshore) plus my KLSE stocks have been giving me 14% returns over past 12 months now I know dreamer is truly dreaming!! This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 3 2015, 05:52 AM |
Oct 3 2015, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 3 2015, 08:34 AM) Let him answer lar, why u answer for him Cannot compare, his mutual fund is investing in global, established, large cap stocks...whereas my portfolio is more diversified. In those years when Asian stocks rallied, my portfolio would have beaten his... If wanna compare apple-to-apple... The closest I can get here is CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund... Y-T-D returns in Ringgit terms is +20.8% in spite of the weakness in US and Europe, all thanks to the weak Ringgit http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...-Fund-MYCIMB010 Not too bad? Considering that I can conveniently invest in it at minimum of RM200.00 per buy transaction. But to invest in that Vanguard fund...the transaction fees with foreign broker, it just won't make sense if u invest in small sums. That's why I've always said, invest in offshore-managed mutual funds/ETF is not for ikan bilis investors, because of the transaction costs. Yeah, u saved on the commission, but the other transaction costs will eat into your gains. When u give advice, u gotta take into account your audience. It's like a Mr Millionaire saying that Mercedes-Benz C class is the best value car u can buy to an audience of youths who can only afford RM80K+/- cars. They'd go, "Screw u...who doesn't know your mum is a woman..." Correct me if I'm wrong. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 3 2015, 09:32 AM |
Oct 3 2015, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 3 2015, 09:50 AM) Yea. That's the main thing. Most of us are ikan bilis investor.... That's why I don't understand how those aunty uncle go globally..... The closest for them is only banks investment advisor. However we always know that banks will not let us win... HOWEVER the hidden charge will not more than the broker fees or forex whatever fee la.. I don't know but that's the only way for them.... Hidden fees?And.. FSM is a good platform but do they know internet computer etc etc. And nowadays those who not computer literate will fall into phishing or key logger... One of my friend kena before... The money in banks all kena sapu and have to do police report and wait the money to come back up to half year.... If u read your fund prospectus, there is NO hidden fees. The put-off of investing direct in offshore stocks/ETF/mutual funds is the fees and foreign remittance charges. Unless your transaction value is large enough (the last time I calculated, it'd be 4-figures sum), it's not worth it. U can actually open account with local brokerage that offers access to foreign markets, many have this service nowadays, or open direct with a foreign broker. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 3 2015, 09:54 AM |
Oct 3 2015, 09:55 AM
Oct 3 2015, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Oct 3 2015, 10:07 AM) I also CAN buy 1 lot of Maybank share 100 x RM8.50 = RM850 But brokerage and other fees...RM11.87 1.4% of transacted value... I.e., if the stock rose 1.4%, I only covered my transaction costs Or 1 SHARE also can! Buy 1 share at RM8.50 Pay RM20.11 to get RM8.50 worth of share |
Oct 3 2015, 12:38 PM
Offshore assets esp those denominated in USD is already expensive, IMHO too late for us to shift
I can only think, invest in local companies that exports bulk of their products, whilst having costs in RM |
Oct 3 2015, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 3 2015, 12:21 PM) You seen to have forgotten that you poked fun of; the world is our oyster, there are many investment opportunity available, and the world is greater than the kampung. +100Even until recently, some still poke fun on u.s stocks while neglecting value in myr. Those riding on bull run is indifferent from flippers buying kv property at near peak. One should have invested in foreign assets before myr depreciation not after. Opportunity favour the prepared mind. On the contrary, value starting to emerge in local stocks |
Oct 3 2015, 01:30 PM
Another popcorn please!
Oct 3 2015, 04:50 PM
Oct 4 2015, 03:07 PM
| Change to: | 0.0466sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:49 PM |