dreamer101
post Sep 19 2015, 12:04 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 17 2015, 10:43 PM)
It doesn't matter what I believe, I am just trying the complete the full story. What is your take on the price movement of Oil within the next couple of years?
QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 18 2015, 12:16 AM)
Congrats rclxms.gif . I unfortunatefully didn't manage to diversified, just like what dreamer said, put everything in the same basket. But luckily I can still live with 2% of my networth as my yearly expenses with negligible debts(4%). Was thinking about investing in s-reits few years ago when I started following a Sporean's blog http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.sg/, at which time exch-rate @rm2.50.

Say if I had invested rm250k(SGD100k) in S-reit(instead of ASx) 3 years ago,  would my present value in S-reit > SGD100k (rm300k)? My present value of the ASx is roughly rm250k+21%=rm302k.

Based on the chart below, FTSE ST Real Estate Investment Trusts Index SIN: XX:FSTAS8670 was about the same level 3 years ago compare to now.~700. Does the chart includes dividend?
MGM,

Are you PREPARED if RM drop further or Malaysia economy crashes and never recover??

<<I unfortunatefully didn't manage to diversified, >>

The past is gone. Are you DIVERSIFIED enough to prepare for the worst in the FUTURE??

Dreamer
Hansel
post Sep 19 2015, 05:56 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 18 2015, 04:46 PM)
taxation, transfer fees, etc.. maybe 79k profit.. still decent over 2 years. question is.. u have RM250k lying around?
Sorry, but what other taxation and transfer fees, etc ?? That's all there is to it. I believed MGM does have 250K in ASX funds, many people do nowadays.
Hansel
post Sep 19 2015, 06:01 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 19 2015, 12:04 AM)
MGM,

Are you PREPARED if RM drop further or Malaysia economy crashes and never recover??

The past is gone.  Are you DIVERSIFIED enough to prepare for the worst in the FUTURE??

Dreamer
Dreamer,

I would think he is not diversified enough AT THE MOMENT. He's written that in his posting and at the same time, and at the same time, he is considering to do this now from his postings too, which is a healthy sign.

What would happen if the ctry economy crashes and never recovers ? What is a model to see in the world ?
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 08:06 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 19 2015, 12:04 AM)
MGM,

The past is gone.  Are you DIVERSIFIED enough to prepare for the worst in the FUTURE??

Dreamer
I am prepared even if rm drop to 5.00 against USD. Sorry but I don't believe Mysia econ will crash n not recover, on this I have more faith with DrZeti than Dreamer.
I am not DIVERSIFIED enough if u mean investing out of Mysia. My networth within Mysia consists of oilpalm estates, ASx and EPF. I thought I am diversified enough within Mysia. I have some shares in KLSE n some private companies and a fully paid house which I am staying in n 2 years of emergency funds in FD.
I also believe that oil price will rebound. Worst come to worst I just have to shelf my plan of early retirement and continue to work as I can live with my employment income without touching my networth which is appreciating ~6-8%/year although in RM terms.
I also believe that it is too late to diversified out at the current exch rate, so just have to wait out for the rebound. Or maybe I will start buying nonlocal UT.
I am treating my ASx as a high-interest savings acc waiting to channel them out when the time is right. My ASx has appreciated by 46% since 2009, while USD/MYR has increase from 3.5 to 4.2, 20% increase (at 46% USD/MYR has to touch 5.11).

Would like to see your view on Oil for the next 5 years?

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 19 2015, 08:30 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 19 2015, 08:32 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 08:06 AM)
I am prepared even if rm drop to 5.00 against USD. Sorry but I don't believe Mysia econ will crash n not recover, on this I have more faith with DrZeti  than Dreamer.
I am not DIVERSIFIED enough if u mean investing out of Mysia. My networth within Mysia consists of oilpalm estates, ASx and EPF. I thought I am diversified enough within Mysia.  I have some shares in KLSE n some private companies and a fully paid house which I am staying in.
I also believe that oil price will rebound. Worst come to worst I just have to shelf my plan of early retirement and continue to work as I can live with my employment income without touching my networth which is appreciating ~6-8%/year although in RM terms.
I also believe that it is too late to diversified out at the current exch rate, so just have to wait out for the rebound. Or maybe I will start buying nonlocal UT.
I am treating my ASx as a high-interest savings acc waiting to channel them when the time is right. My ASx has appreciated by 46% since 2009, while USD/MYR has increase from 3.5 to 4.2, 20% increase (at 46% USD/MYR has to touch 5.11).

Would like to see your view on Oil for the next 5 years?
MGM,

<<Sorry but I don't believe Mysia econ will crash n not recover, on this I have more faith with DrZeti than Dreamer.>>

What if she no longer in charge of BNM??

<<Would like to see your view on Oil for the next 5 years?>>

It is not going to recover over the next 5 years. Beyond the next 5 years, Oil would not matter to Malaysia anymore since Malaysia would not export enough oil to have enough Oil Money. So, without the Oil Money, how is THE GOVERNMENT to continue deficit spending and keep the economy going??

<<continue to work as I can live with my employment income?>>

If the economy crashes, you will not have a job.

<<my networth which is appreciating ~6-8%/year although in RM terms.>>

Which may or may not generate enough cash flow in RM to feed you and your family.

It is VERY SIMPLE.

Why take the RISK that you might be wrong?? Why put all your eggs into ONE basket??? You have ENOUGH. Having MORE is not that important. Making sure that you do not lose money is more important.

Dreamer

Showtime747
post Sep 19 2015, 08:34 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 08:06 AM)

I also believe that it is too late to diversified out at the current exch rate, so just have to wait out for the rebound.
Just a few months ago when US$ touches 3.80 I also thought it is too late. Or BNM will intervene. Then it breached 4.00 psychology barrier and I thought that is the max it could go. And then it breached 4.30....is 4.50, 4.80, or even 5.00 coming ?

Now US$ is taking a breather. It is a good time to enter if you really believe in diversifying. There won't be the "best time" for investment. You can only see a longer term view of the RM - will it come back ? Or hopeless ? And then hold on to your foresight and act accordingly.

"Waiting for rebound" is just an excuse for the "not so bold" rolleyes.gif

MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 08:45 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 19 2015, 08:34 AM)
Just a few months ago when US$ touches 3.80 I also thought it is too late. Or BNM will intervene. Then it breached 4.00 psychology barrier and I thought that is the max it could go. And then it breached 4.30....is 4.50, 4.80, or even 5.00 coming ?

Now US$ is taking a breather. It is a good time to enter if you really believe in diversifying. There won't be the "best time" for investment. You can only see a longer term view of the RM - will it come back ? Or hopeless ? And then hold on to your foresight and act accordingly.

"Waiting for rebound" is just an excuse for the "not so bold"  rolleyes.gif
You r right I am no longer bold, cos I am no longer in prime years for investment, I am more into preserving my wealth.
dreamer101
post Sep 19 2015, 08:59 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 08:45 AM)
I am more into preserving my wealth.
MGM,

Then, why are you putting all your eggs into ONE basket?? If this basket crashes, you will not be able to get any back. There is no second chance for you.

Dreamer
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 08:59 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 19 2015, 08:32 AM)
MGM,

<<Sorry but I don't believe Mysia econ will crash n not recover, on this I have more faith with DrZeti  than Dreamer.>>

What if she no longer in charge of BNM??

<<Would like to see your view on Oil for the next 5 years?>>

It is not going to recover over the next 5 years.  Beyond the next 5 years, Oil would not matter to Malaysia anymore since Malaysia would not export enough oil to have enough Oil Money.  So, without the Oil Money, how is THE GOVERNMENT to continue deficit spending and keep the economy going??

<<continue to work as I can live with my employment income?>>

If the economy crashes, you will not have a job.

<<my networth which is appreciating ~6-8%/year although in RM terms.>>

Which may or may not generate enough cash flow in RM to feed you and your family.

It is VERY SIMPLE.

Why take the RISK that you might be wrong?? Why put all your eggs into ONE basket??? You have ENOUGH.  Having MORE is not that important.  Making sure that you do not lose money is more important.

Dreamer
Wa, u guys are fast. Like I said I believe the econ would not crash but maybe go into recession. Even if I lose my job, I believe I could easily get a job in Spore(if not for the daily travel) to tide me over. At the moment I only need 2% of my networth for yearly living expenses n currrently this networth is appreciating at ~6-8%. I think I can even stop working now, and my networth will still appreciating at 4-6% (but in depreciating RM).
poks
post Sep 19 2015, 09:03 AM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

Hello gurus, this is a good thread to read..

but i just have one question... why do Brunei dollar is higher compared to myr in view of being the same oil producing countries which is affected by the price falling commodities.

where as brunei to sing dollar is at 1:1 appx.

or is it our country fundamentals that are dragging ringgit down?

p/s: still trying to read all the posts here smile.gif
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:04 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 19 2015, 08:59 AM)
MGM,

Then, why are you putting all your eggs into ONE basket??  If this basket crashes, you will not be able to get any back.  There is no second chance for you.

Dreamer
I hope to slowly diversified out of the country carefully which was why I seek your advise previously on Vanguard's products.
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:06 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Sep 19 2015, 09:03 AM)
Hello gurus, this is a good thread to read..

but i just have one question... why do Brunei dollar is higher compared to myr in view of being the same oil producing countries which is affected by the price falling commodities.

where as brunei to sing dollar is at 1:1 appx.

or is it our country fundamentals that are dragging ringgit down?

p/s: still trying to read all the posts here smile.gif
Becos SGD and BND are pegged together.

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/aec/Brunei...r-30208975.html
poks
post Sep 19 2015, 09:07 AM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 09:06 AM)
ok... thanks for the info
MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:10 AM

18,419 posts

Showtime n dreamer, What is your take on properties in Mysia?

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 19 2015, 09:11 AM
thequestionway
post Sep 19 2015, 09:13 AM

13 posts

How easy is it for a country peg its own currency to another country's currency? For example, Brunei does it but Malaysia does not, is it because it will be a lot more difficult to do so while a smaller country such as Brunei with smaller populations is easier?

MGM
post Sep 19 2015, 09:19 AM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 03:40 PM)
Hi MGM,.. about the chart, if you say that the level is the same between today and three years ago, then I would say that dividend has not been factored in.

For the REITs in my portfolio, I can tell for certain that the yield has been, on the average, at least 4% per year for the last THREE years, using your frame of time reference. I checked my updated spreadsheet a moment ago, the yield is at 7.98%.

My unrealized capital gain is now at 38%. Let's take a quarter of that, hence at 9.5%, since we are going to use the last three years as the time reference.

So, totalling up the above : 4% + 9.5% = 13% gain.

Had you invested SGD100K into SGREITs three years ago, then : SGD100K + 13% gain = SGD113000 sitting in Singapore now.

If you liquidate and realize your profits by selling-off everything and converting back into the RM, bringing back to Msia to invest more into the ASX, you would have : SGD113000 x 2.98 (conservative exchange rate) = MYR336740 dropping into your bank account.

You would have profited by : MYR336740 - MYR250000 = MYR86740.[SIZE=7]

I have taken very, very conservative figures in my calculation. The profit figure derived above should be higher !

The snag here is : the above calculation is based on my portfolio of REITs and some Dividend Stocks. Not across the board of REITs.
So if your profit is RM100k which if double of mine, I still can live with it.
Nauts
post Sep 19 2015, 09:28 AM

340 posts

USD-MYR 4.1965 -0.0572
dreamer101
post Sep 19 2015, 09:38 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 08:59 AM)
I think I can even stop working now, and my networth will still appreciating at 4-6% (but in depreciating RM).
MGM,

Come on. If the economy crashes and NEVER RECOVER, you asset in Malaysia will not be appreciating. In fact, it will go down.

<<I believe I could easily get a job in Spore >>

What if Singapore economy goes down too??

Why take the RISK??

You have ENOUGH. If you are DIVERSIFIED across the world, you do not have take any of this RISK. So, WHY are YOU doing THIS??

You have NOTHING to gain but EVERYTHING to LOSE.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Sep 19 2015, 09:41 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 19 2015, 09:10 AM)
Showtime n dreamer, What is your take on properties in Mysia?
MGM,

1) I do not invest in Malaysia. I believe Malaysia is DOOM. It will crash and NEVER RECOVER. The ONLY QUESTION is whether people get their money and asset out of the country before it is too late.

2) I do not know how to invest on properties.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 19 2015, 09:43 AM
cherroy
post Sep 19 2015, 10:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(thequestionway @ Sep 19 2015, 09:13 AM)
How easy is it for a country peg its own currency to another country's currency? For example, Brunei does it but Malaysia does not, is it because it will be a lot more difficult to do so while a smaller country such as Brunei with smaller populations is easier?
Ability to peg your own currency is all down to how much foreign currency reserves and current account balance situation.

As the problem of pegging the currency, is when a person takes your currency want to exchange to foreign currency, you must have to enough coffer of the foreign currency to pay the person.

The downside of pegging is that you have no flexibility in the exchange rate and interest rate which may be needed for the economy, particularly when the target of pegged currency soaring.

123 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0295sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:03 PM