cherroy
post Sep 22 2015, 09:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 22 2015, 09:47 PM)
Bnm foreign reserve is largely financed by short term external debt.
The statement is not quite correct.

BNM doesn't borrow foreign money itself to have foreign currency reserves.

It just means BNM foreign currency reserves is sufficient to fund the short term external debts that may needed by various parties in Malaysia be it gov or whatever entity.
cherroy
post Sep 23 2015, 02:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 23 2015, 01:47 PM)
HLIB Research: Ringgit to hit 4.00 level against USD by year-end, international reserves to stabilise rolleyes.gif

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/h...?type=Corporate
It is quite a big call for 4.00.

We are now at 4.35. sweat.gif

cherroy
post Sep 24 2015, 10:30 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:09 AM)
I do care IBs or stock brokers are right or wrong. Their opinions affect my decision. And yes, I will form an opinion on who is good at prediction as times go. At least I can judge them if they give a time frame.

For those who refuse to give a time frame while still love to give their prediction with rhetorics, I can't tell whether they are right or wrong ever. They could be right after all. But they have not balls or intention to prove themselves. That makes a debate very difficult and with no ending

BTW, what do you think of RM by this year end ? Just curious to know
After a month of 2 time, IBs or analysts can write another report, due to fundamental deteriorating, world economy slowdown etc, then change the target price to other figure.

This is quite common happening in stock market.
Target price being revised many time in a year... whistling.gif
cherroy
post Sep 24 2015, 10:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 24 2015, 08:43 PM)
Now i feel like spending all my FD finish because it seems no point saving with lesser gain only laugh.gif doh.gif
There were people saying this for 2012 doomday approaching time, dooms day already why save money, spent all on whatever you like.
Now, may be struggling to repay all the money spent... tongue.gif

Every crisis always got silverlining and opportunity, but if without money/capital then one won't able to capitalise it.

Situation is challenging, but not the end of the world.
If RM is depreciating then the money can be used to invest into something that has inverse relation with RM depreciation.

cherroy
post Sep 24 2015, 10:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 24 2015, 10:11 PM)
SGD
There are a lot more actually, even with local RM denominated investment.

Eg.
Global UT that invested in overseas asset primary in USD.
Local company that has asset overseas in foreign denominated currency particularly in USD one.

Having said that, USD won't forever appreciate one, there may be a point of shift or changing, as world economy and financial market is not one way street forever.

So a better diversification asset is always preferred to mitigate those risk.
cherroy
post Sep 29 2015, 04:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2015, 02:25 PM)
Same.

The prb with the SGD is if we let it stay there, it does not generate any interest for us, or very low interest. So, as of this morning, I've decided to convert into the USD, park the funds in a Sgp bank, and hoped to enjoy the appreciation of the USD funds AGAINST THE SGD. I am now comparing how to make more SGD and no more comparing against the RM.

The SGD is targeted to weaken soon against the USD. Against the RM, IT KEEPS STRENGTHENING.  sad.gif
One can venture into SGreit, yield pretty attractive with more than 5-6%, while get the same exposure to SGD, as your asset is in SGD denominated already.

Keep cash that yield zero interest doesn't seem quite a good strategy for longer term.
cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 01:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(drake88 @ Sep 30 2015, 01:32 PM)
actually im curious ...majority of the advice given here is to change RM to USD.

But how many % USD will appreciate against RM ? Say expecting a minimum of 5%. USD have to appreciate by .22 cent (Approx) . Meaning to say everyone TP would be around 4.7 (At the safe side). Correction me if im wrong.

Like what Showtime747 always mentioned.. time frame time frame.. when do you expect it will go to 4.7 ?

And having saying that ... i guess plenty of investment vehicle can generate 5% ROI. Even a flexi account can give 4.8% interest every DAY in fact and it is rock solid sure with bare minimum risk.
Changing cash RM to USD and keep as cash is not that wise.

Majority posts are about exposure and diversification asset that denominated in other currencies.

Invest, diversification that have exposure to other currency /= changing cash RM to cash USD.

Flexi account is mitigate interest charging on your mortgages, not actually a "investment" that most talked about.
cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 02:29 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 02:08 PM)
Changing RM to the USD, hold the USD and wait for the SGD to weaken against the USD, finally changing the USD in-hand into the SGD to buy SG assets is, to me, very strategic at this moment.

We go one big round now and fiddle with three currencies to maximise gain.
If one really can hit the timing so accurately, might as well, put those "timing" in the stock market, can gain even more.

Mind that every exchange, there is spread incurred.
While in normal time or market relative calm time, currency fluctuation won't as big as recently one, spread will eat up portion of the gain in the process.

Mind that USD won't strengthen forever non-stop, USD will also feel the pressure if it surges too much, just like last time that was on Yen about many years ago.

This strategy looks good at current situation, but there is no single strategy works forever.
That's why most advice are on diversification asset to mitigate risk in between.

Never try to time the market.

cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 02:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 30 2015, 02:12 PM)
How do you change myr > usd > SGD? Through SG bank?
After getting SGD, how to buy?  Online?
Local banks also can.

Local banks do allow people to open foreign currency denominated current/FD account.

Just put the exchanged USD (not cash note) into USD foreign currency account, then change it to SGD currency account.

While if one has bought SG share or reit, just TT the SGD to the broker.

cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 04:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 03:42 PM)
I agree that it's not possible to time the market. I wouldn't time the stock market directly, but with a very, very high possibility of the SGD weakening against the USD soon, I am confident I will win in this bet, at the very least.

And when I have won by getting more SGD from every unit of USD in-hand, I will wait fro the SGX to plunge (which in my opinion, will happen soon) and then buy-in to the SGX.

Another thing I'd like to mention here is though the USD may stand still for sometime, the RM has a very high tendency to drop against the 'standing' USD. Hence, it is again to my advantage to 'run away' from the RM as fast as I can.

I go back to my basic principle : I am betting that in the long term, the RM will still lose out to the SGD and the USD.
It depends how it is being viewed.
eg.
if we take 2008 as reference point, USD/RM was about 3.40 during that time

Now 2015, USD/RM is 4.40 today.

A person used 34K RM to exchange for 10k USD on 2008, as USD was paying virtually zero interest since 2008, now A person still has 10k USD, which is equivalent to RM44K today

So, A person gain RM10K by holding USD since 2008, now A has RM44k worth.

B put 34K in RM FD on 2008, which carry interest range from 3~4% in this period of time, if we takes average of 3.5%, 7 years x 3.5% compounding is about 27%.
34K x 27% = RM43.2K.

B person has RM43.2K vs A RM44K.

But on paper, A looks like the person "win" big, but in real fact, A only slight better off than B,
while if USD vs RM dropped below 4.30, A actually lose out to B.

Do pay consideration on this issue as well in term of comparison. That's the reason why I emphasis a lot of importance on the yield of every investment.
cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 09:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 05:53 PM)
biggrin.gif Cherroy,... I'm afraid you have put in very, very tight timings into your example here to corner me. I am of the opinion that what I intend to do by manipulating around the currencies is quite macro in nature and am not really trying to catch the tight timings that you have put in-place above.

Your example above starts in 2008 and terminates at mid-September, 2015, measuring the parameters exactly during that period to determine success. This is quite an extreme case of market timing in-play, which, again, is not I am not trying to do here.

Furthermore, the view that I take is far into the future. I do not intend to take a measurement by the end of this year, nor by the end-of-the-next, etc.

I do not base my investment success on the RM anymore, for I am running away from the RM.
I do not try to corner you. biggrin.gif
Just 2008 is the aftermath of financial crisis, that's why I took this time as starting point.
The extreme case was actually pro USD (RM4.40), but even with extreme case, it doesn't gain as much as many taught.

I just try to highlight that another perspective that many may forget about it.
RM may not strong in term of long term future based on current fundamental, but USD fundamental may not as strong as well.

That's one reason I strongly emphasis and prefer on asset class that can yield good and still got diversification exposure.

USD is safe heaven currency, whenever there is turmoil, crisis, uncertainty arised time, it will surge and stay strong.
But when situation becomes smooth sailing time, everyone will focus back on its massive debt issue, and saying USD is worthless etc again one.

I never intend to say which ever RM or USD is good in the case. smile.gif
cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 09:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 30 2015, 08:04 PM)
need to understand this...

meaning... bank indon issuing foreign currency debt?

borrowing fx to fight fx? shakehead.gif

woo... how are they going to redeem them in future?

with only 105 billion usd in fx reserves...
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/indonesia/...change-reserves

looks like just another risky way to peg the rupiah... sweat.gif

Key steps include the planned issuance of Bank Indonesia certificates in foreign currency and central bank intervention in the forward market for rupiah, in order contain expectations on how much more it might depreciate.
By borrowing in foreign denominated currency, it will push up the foreign currency reserves, or in other word, you solve the short term problem, but need to solve it later on over the long term.

Buying time is also a strategy, as long as you manage well the economy afterwards, as if Rupiah does rise in the future (due to well managed economy) and when debt maturity time, it saves you money instead, as you repay less.

But generally, not something advisable, as it is always a risky move to borrow in foreign denominated currency, which Asian financial crisis has given a good lesson on it.

cherroy
post Sep 30 2015, 10:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 05:37 PM)
I think in the longer term, there is really no catalyst for the RM to turn around. Slight breathers like this are good for RM sellers to take positions into the foreign markets/currencies.
If a tabled budget is seriously in term of tackling the economy shortfall and budget deficit, it may be a positive factor.

For long term, it is always a lot of unpredictable event.

When 1998 crisis "exploded" time, many taught it is dead and buried, KLCI sink to 300, RM to 4.80.
But years later, KLCI recovered to 700, and became 1200 10 years later, and 1800 15 years later, which nobody can guess.
Last time, many also said the same thing, no catalyst for the RM or KLCI to turn around.

Same with USD prior before 2008, everyone said massive debt, debt clock ticking which USD would become worthless, but now become the strongest currency.

So I do not dare to make any premature prediction, modern day financial market is simply too volatile and unpredictable.
cherroy
post Oct 1 2015, 09:11 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 1 2015, 08:05 AM)
Our conventional thinking that cash is useless may not be applicable for the past 1 year.

If we hold forex, our returns could be between 10-20% in RM terms. Could be higher depending on the timing and which currency

While if you invest in stock market, the return is negative this year.

The notion of "inflation is eating you alive" may not be applicable anymore. Cash may be a good option despite earning no interest

http://money.cnn.com/2015/09/29/investing/...l?iid=obnetwork
That's why there is no single class of asset can be label as the best.
Situation always evolving and changing from time to time.

Cash is the king at current situation, no doubt.

cherroy
post Oct 1 2015, 09:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 08:33 AM)
I never said I intend to stay-put in the USD. I will convert my USD in-hand into the SGD when the situation is in my favour ! And I never leave my SGD funds idle in the bank. I buy REITs, SG sticks, and HY Bonds denominated in different currencies.

But I guessed each is to his own,... if you believe that the RM and the KLSE will recover later on AFTER the fundamentals have changed, but that is if it can change,... then you can wait fro that time to come. As far as I'm comcerned, I have enough imbedded in Msia, I need to go out.

Without sufficient oil revenue and with PETRONAS starting to dig into her coffers, I really wondered how much can we improve (or change for the better) this time ? How long will it take ? If I am to regret sending my money out and then seeing the RM strengthens against all currencies, hence, making me suffer losses having foreign currencies in-hand,... I REALLY DON"T THINK it will be this time round.
It is good for you to have diversification.

In term of diversification purposes, the goal is not as simple as looking which is better, but wealth protection, there is no such thing of "regret".

I do not think you get my message on the previous posts.
I am not saying invest in USD is good nor bad.
I am not bullish/bearish on KLSE nor RM either.

But just to highlight, don't premature conclude anything, future is always unpredictable.
Today a hot selling product or business, or highly chased after stocks or currencies, doesn't mean they must be good forever.

Many things do change over the time.
That's why we need to have diversification to mitigate those risk.

cherroy
post Oct 1 2015, 11:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 1 2015, 10:41 AM)
will definitely be interesting to see this 1% deficit budget 2016 on oct 23.
The statement said, instead of previous targeting a balance budget by 2020, now with current situation, the target would be probably around -1%.

It doesn't say 2016 deficit in -1%.
Unrealistic to see 2016 to have a deficit -1%.
A reduction of deficit compared to previous year is already a very good news.

If the 2016 budget deficit is indeed -1%, it will provide a lot of catalyst for RM to the upside.
cherroy
post Oct 2 2015, 10:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 2 2015, 08:21 PM)
today, 10 yr mgs high 4.16%, closed 4.14%.

looks like either local funds in a buying frenzy or foreigners have not been selling like crazy.

we'll wait for next foreign holding %, whether 46-47% has changed or not.
given all that is happening, it is very possible it will hover 4.40-4.50 for weeks/months.

key factor will be budget 2016 on oct 23.

i will wait for that to make major decisions on rm-fx.
The US job data announced today is pretty weak, that could send in the new trend for currency market for short term as well.

Treasuries is below 2% after the job data, that investors bet there may no hike at all for this year.

The slowdown global economy is starting taking its toll.

This is why I keep on emphasis that history has showed us, there is always unpredictable event may occur.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 2 2015, 10:39 PM
cherroy
post Oct 2 2015, 10:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 2 2015, 10:51 PM)
When the trend is tight range bound, then play DCI. Good interest rate compare to your fund idling. 7 days also got  thumbup.gif
DCI is the darling place right now. thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Oct 4 2015, 11:12 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 4 2015, 10:44 AM)
Employment data is an indicator market look at.

I still believe USD on up trend, are you going to sell USD for myr tomorrow?
US job data is pretty weak and Fed may shelf off the hike this year.

Treasuries was below 2% speaks all the story.

History always shows us whenever there is mass crowded trade area, better be cautious.
No single asset class booming forever.
Boom and burst (up and down) is always cyclical.

Previously
Banking stocks (prior before 2008)
Oil boom
Gold
Next is? USD?
Yes USD should have some strength left, but we don't know what will happen beyond then.

For long term investment, always beware of crowded trade area
cherroy
post Oct 4 2015, 10:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 4 2015, 07:15 PM)
smile.gif Right ! So we play as long a term as we can. Then time is on our side. Anyway,... I made some predictions for next week in the last few postings above. Let's see !  smile.gif
A sincere advice, never try to "time the market" when investing or for the purpose of diversification or whatever. smile.gif

Often, market could "time" you back.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0606sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:08 AM