USD/MYR drop, V2

Ramjade
post Sep 21 2015, 05:42 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 21 2015, 05:32 PM)
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ec-calls-for-80

are you prepared to eat your own words?

ps, what ever I have mentioned in the past, I'm still backing it.. long term, you should prepare for a new monetary system.
If I am not wrong the last time when oil price was damn low, countries like Venezuela, and other non ME country beg Saudi to cut production. But Saudi didn't cut. Instead they pump more.

They are competing with shale oil. See who will die first. So if other countries already beg them, and it didn't have any effect, I am sure they will continue through with low prices.
Ramjade
post Sep 22 2015, 02:20 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 22 2015, 08:08 AM)
Supply is not the only factor that determines the oil price.

Secondly, which oil supplying country would be happy with low oil prices for a long time?
Lower production to increase price = your country economy affected. (your cash supply decrease)
Increase price of oil = I just buy oil from your neighbour lo.

You tell me how the price going to increase?
Ramjade
post Sep 25 2015, 07:02 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 25 2015, 05:06 PM)
Why is that ?
It's a sarcasm.
Ramjade
post Sep 29 2015, 09:47 AM

24,341 posts

Is going down and down everyday. Wonder how long the free fall will last.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 29 2015, 09:47 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2015, 02:12 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 02:02 PM)
The taxation against dividends earned in SG REITs is ZERO if you buy as an individual, or joint with a partner, both as individuals - CONFIRMED. This is the beauty of it till now.

In the short run, the SG economy will experience some downward move, possibly a technical recession might be announced by the MAS in the October Monetary Policy Meeting. But like I said earlier, we are in for the long term. Compared against Msia (only) and not against other countries, I will bet that SG will do better than Msia, hence the SGD will always perform better than the RM. We must have a long term view.

To capitulate on the best prices for REITs and to gain as much SGD as possible to buy REITs when the time comes, convert your funds into the USD now. When the SGD weakens against the USD, estimated to ne next month, then you can change your USD back to the SGD and get more of the SGD.

SG REITs are not risk-free, must select the rigt REITs.
How do you change myr > usd > SGD? Through SG bank?
After getting SGD, how to buy? Online?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 30 2015, 02:14 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2015, 03:15 PM

24,341 posts

Actually the way I see it, USD is not good as they are the world's biggest debt country. So when the time comes to pay the interest, expect usd to tank again. But then again, the world uses usd as trade.
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2015, 03:31 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 03:29 PM)
YES. A bank in Sgp does this for me. Vey, very convenient, and after I bought REITs or shares on the SGX, the bank just deducts from my bank account. Or I use margin to buy first when the price is right, then I pay-up the loaned amt after converting over from the USD when the time is right. I maximise my returns in this way.

One more advantage of doing this is my funds are out of this country already. If they should impose capital controls, I'm safe.
What bank is that? All online? Do you need to be a priority customer for this kind of things?
Ramjade
post Sep 30 2015, 04:07 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 30 2015, 03:47 PM)
This, gentlemen,... is where the disadvantage lies when you buy via a local bank. If you buy SGX assets via a brokerage acct and a bank acct located inside Sgp, you will need to worry about the one-time commission of minimum $18 or 0.8% only. Dividends received is not subjected to any holdbacks, if you are an individual investor. Hence, lots of savings there.

Please share which bank and brokerage you use.

Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 01:05 AM

24,341 posts

Well doing something might be able to draw investor's confidence. (Indonesia's case) Doing nothing but monitor is NOT DOING nothing but still DOING SOMETHING which haven't yield results. tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 12:25 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 12:19 PM)
Malaysian govt bond yields fall after Zeti’s assurance
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/m...0%99s-assurance

Tis news assist to arrest the fall in MYR
Fall good or bad? Why?
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 01:10 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 12:41 PM)
Gud coz investors r buying
Look like Zeti’s words still worth something.
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 07:01 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 1 2015, 06:39 PM)
well u could be right. people would spend less. no more fancy food  sad.gif
Good. Let's see how such people adjust. I bet with you they will have a hard time. Imagine drinking starbucks everyday and suddenly starbucks increase. Or go fancy restaurant every weekend, suddenly price increase. Let's see how well they adjust.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 1 2015, 06:52 PM)
consumer / people suffer  cry.gif  cry.gif
Good. This will "open" people's eyes. Fertilizer increase. Seeds increase. Wages stay the same. You know what I am talking about. whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 07:32 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 1 2015, 07:28 PM)
this one, some of these franchisees will just give up, close down.

then, cheaper kopi "shops" will emerge.

rm10 a coffee becomes rm5, still can make a profit.

standard and gaya, no more la....
Trust me, people will still gaya. Old habits die hard. There's something magical call "credit card", "personal loan" and "installment"

On the other hand, it can open people's eye to the real situation.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 1 2015, 07:32 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 09:34 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 1 2015, 08:33 PM)
Ramjade,

You are in the same boat.  You are 100% invested in ASx.  So, you are not safe from RM drop either.  You need to adjust too if RM drop further.

Dreamer
Yes. Unlike them, I have been living this kind of life for a long time. You have no idea how cheap-skate I can be. I can adjust. Why drive when one can cycle/walk/take public transport? Drive using proper technique. Why bother eating at fancy restaurant? After all is just for self gratification. And as I already shared with Hansel my opinions on ASX. Like I said before, careful planning and spending will be able to help. Unless malaysia's money become banana money then yes we need to worry. Even then, our ancestors survive in the jungle just fine (planting their own crops, rearing own chickens) during the Japanese occupation. There were no purchasing power back then only about whether one can survive to see the next day or not. You may be anti ASX. But ASX for me is just FD with higher interest. I won't move money into something I do not know yet. It will be suicide. If I move into something I don't know, I might lose 100% of say the 50% of what I moved compare to a decrease in purchasing power of say ~10%. YOu tell me which is better. Losing 50% of what you have or just 10% of purchasing power?

And like I said, price of vege increases? Easy, plant your own vege. It won't be enough but it will help. And there's always tesco which offer reduce to clear vege (at RM0.50) They are still in good condition. Just cut off the bad part and you are good to go. Price of meat increases, there's always tesco which offers chicken at reasonable price. Rice increase? Simple. I don't eat rice. In fact, I have never eaten rice nor any form of carbohydrates for a long time already. High electricity bills? Expensove internet? Just go starbucks and use their internet. Maybe first time order something ask them for password. Subsequent visit, do not need to order anything. Be thick face! Never turn down something that's free!Easy, use the electronic items from the country with low watt. Charged your phone/tablets at office. Save yourself few bucks. That's what my friends and I are going to do. Who needs Astro, Cinema when one have the internet & good books? Who ask one to go on vacation in Europe every year? Go cinema every week, dine out every week? Buy the latest iPhone and iPad every year? Live within one means! The coming years will see frugallity at its best. What I have learn while not in Malaysia will be implemented once I am back in Malaysia.

Not forgetting, despite increase in exchange rates, sometimes it is still cheaper to shop from overseas after counting in the shipping charges than getting from local store. If one knows the way to buy from overseas, it is tax free. smile.gif No 6% GST there. I am talking about food items.

So electricity, food, entertainment, internet , transport is covered. I don't drink, smoke, party, karaoking or go to pub, or do birthday celebrations or dine in fancy hotel and places. You tell me what more will affect me? The most thing which might affect me in the future is petrol, groceries and maybe rental.
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 09:37 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 09:33 PM)
No it won't, when the day comes that there is the rent or the housing instalment needs to be paid, the condo maintenance and sinking fund need to be paid, the car loan needs to be paid, the childrens' school fees and school books need to be paid, food need to be put on the table, then they will find that all the above expenses have eaten up almost all their monthly income, leaving very, very little disposable income for Starbucks and cigarettes.

That's when more corruption takes place, crimes happen,... and when things become even worse, riots will take place, by some quarters claiming that society has not been fair to them.
That's why we need to be frugal and diversify out. But for that, we need knowledge. You can't simply say I want to move my money in xxx country without reading up about that particular country.

That time people will "wake up"
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 10:06 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 1 2015, 09:52 PM)
Ramjade,

<<But ASX for me is just FD with higher interest. >>

LOL!! It is OBVIOUS that you DO NOT KNOW ASx.  So, WHY do you invest on something you DO NOT KNOW??

<<I won't move money into something I do not know yet. It will be suicide.>>

Why do you invest on ASx that you DO NOT KNOW??

Dreamer
Yes I do not know ASX well when I started. But do you think those uncle and aunties know? They don't. As long as ASX can pay 6.x%/year, they will have subscriber. Cause people want stable returns yearly. And I am one of them. Stable yearly moderately high returns, no need for monitoring.

Tell me what's so hard about ASX FP
? You bring the money and they print the book and you go home. There's no monitoring involve. After a year, you go update the book. Heck do you think that those uncle and aunties not on LYN knows about the recent concern? Again, they DON'T. With PNB saying ASX = national interest, do you think they want to change that? They DON'T. Why? By changing that, they will lose one big cookie jar. At times like this, they need the cookie jar the most.

You have your views on ASX, I have mine.

Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 10:07 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 10:02 PM)
OKay,... you need to speed-up your knowledge-gaining activities. Only after you are confident, you will take out a certain portion of your ASX funds to be put somewhere else for diversification. Don't take too long,... other events may take place that will clamp down on your plans.
Chill Hansel. 5 years by my calculations. 10 if you are over optimistic.
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 10:13 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 10:08 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

My dear bro,.... you don't intend to get married and have children ?????????? What if you fall in love one day, especially with more than one girl ?

Edited : I can't help but wanted to add the 'jovial' emoticons in the top row. Bro Ramjade is thinking like a juvenile.
One should only get married once one can afford a house. notworthy.gif Or else you are going to get yourself into a financial burden.
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 10:25 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 10:22 PM)
I wud reckon bau on 1/1/2016
Bau?

Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 10:36 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 10:33 PM)
If it is as you said, then why did they make the said ann'ts in their MPs for the last 3 - 4 years on the dates concerned ?
I am guessing is by law that they need to state it out. You know name only by law but in reality it will auto renew. You have to rememebr one thing. PNB said it is National Interest. By the way, check your PM.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0500sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:44 AM