USD/MYR drop, V2

Showtime747
post Nov 13 2015, 11:05 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 11:02 AM)
Wow,... so many are confident abt the republic (me included, I believed I was one of the first to signal out in this forum of the everlasting strength of the SGD throughout the years).  rclxms.gif

However, as in everything, will Sgp ever fall due to any reason,... and the SGD depreciates badly ?
Possibilities are always there. Maybe when a new government is voted in and the new people are not tried and tested and screw up the whole economy ?
prophetjul
post Nov 13 2015, 11:08 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 11:02 AM)
Wow,... so many are confident abt the republic (me included, I believed I was one of the first to signal out in this forum of the everlasting strength of the SGD throughout the years).  rclxms.gif

However, as in everything, will Sgp ever fall due to any reason,... and the SGD depreciates badly ?
There are no guarantees to anything. However, SG has shown to have better governance than most countries.
Plus its the 53rd state of USA. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2015, 11:09 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 13 2015, 11:05 AM)
Possibilities are always there. Maybe when a new government is voted in and the new people are not tried and tested and screw up the whole economy ?
if sg/sgd screws up big time, what u think will happen in msia/rm? biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 13 2015, 11:09 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2015, 11:04 AM)
no fed rate hike-oil up-imdb resolved scenario has been awaited for >6 months now while the opposites have been happening.

so, better take the other side for next 6 months. tongue.gif
Perhaps we should be talking in numerical terms. Even if the RM should strengthen a bit,... I don't carry too much confidence that it will drop bck to 3.8. What we can hope for is the occasional downspikes in the USDMYR forus to buy-in more of the foreign currencies.

And in the longer run,... I, for one, will be hoping for the MYR to weaken against the SGD and the USD, of course.... otherwise, ha,... we have wasted all our time and braincells doing all these overseas investments and what nought,...

It would be better for us to start pulling strings to invest into ASX,...
cherroy
post Nov 13 2015, 11:12 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 13 2015, 11:04 AM)
That's why i bought SReits.  biggrin.gif

Currency stability plus yields! Whe i first invested into Sreits, SGD was 2.3 and the yeilds were just humongous! From 9 to 12 %!
Yes, cash with no yield is "useless". icon_rolleyes.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2015, 11:14 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 11:09 AM)
Perhaps we should be talking in numerical terms. Even if the RM should strengthen a bit,... I don't carry too much confidence that it will drop bck to 3.8. What we can hope for is the occasional downspikes in the USDMYR forus to buy-in more of the foreign currencies.

And in the longer run,... I, for one, will be hoping for the MYR to weaken against the SGD and the USD, of course.... otherwise, ha,... we have wasted all our time and braincells doing all these overseas investments and what nought,...

It would be better for us to start pulling strings to invest into ASX,...
exchange rates aside... just about investment on project viability, attractiveness - do u see ANYTHING that is attractive now locally? oil n gas? props/developers? condoms/gloves? asx - on what projects is the money invested?

i simply can't find something. so, have to be abroad and abroad = fx.
Showtime747
post Nov 13 2015, 11:14 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2015, 11:09 AM)
if sg/sgd screws up big time, what u think will happen in msia/rm? biggrin.gif
The screw up in msia/rm is happening right before our eyes tongue.gif

So if there is a new government in Singapore, I will flee sweat.gif
Hansel
post Nov 13 2015, 11:17 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 13 2015, 11:05 AM)
Forex market r full of seduction, the more u c the more u get attracted
The best way to avoid being trapped r to stay away 1st
Cannot stay away too much,... staying-away is akin to doing something negatively.
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2015, 11:20 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 13 2015, 11:12 AM)
Yes, cash with no yield is "useless".  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well somebody said holding cash is better than dumping into ASX FP. whistling.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2015, 11:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 13 2015, 11:04 AM)
That's why i bought SReits.  biggrin.gif

Currency stability plus yields! Whe i first invested into Sreits, SGD was 2.3 and the yeilds were just humongous! From 9 to 12 %!
rare to find people hoarding fx cash - may be for a short time expecting to pay or buy something big.

think only one found here - hansel. tongue.gif

usually put in reits, stocks, etf's, gold... even as capital to trade.
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2015, 01:12 PM

24,454 posts

Malaysia's Growth Slows as Consumption Levy Weighs on Spending
  Pooi Koon Chong
November 13, 2015 — 12:00 PM MYT

Government projects it will miss trade target this year
New tax contributing to rising costs and poorer sentiment

Malaysia’s economy expanded at the slowest pace in more than two years as private consumption eased, adding pressure on policy makers to bolster growth and boost confidence.

Gross domestic product rose 4.7 percent in the three months through September from a year earlier, after climbing 4.9 percent in the previous quarter, the central bank said in Kuala Lumpur Friday. That matched the median estimate in a Bloomberg News survey.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ghs-on-spending

Hansel
post Nov 13 2015, 03:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2015, 11:28 AM)
rare to find people hoarding fx cash - may be for a short time expecting to pay or buy something big.

think only one found here - hansel. tongue.gif

usually put in reits, stocks, etf's, gold... even as capital to trade.
tongue.gif Nowhere to put while waiting for Auntie Yellen to scare the mkt further....
nexona88
post Nov 13 2015, 03:53 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2015, 01:12 PM)

already knew it since June blush.gif

most biz slow down drastically. less spending by the people sad.gif
Hansel
post Nov 13 2015, 03:55 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 13 2015, 11:14 AM)
The screw up in msia/rm is happening right before our eyes  tongue.gif

So if there is a new government in Singapore, I will flee  sweat.gif
Yeah,... perhaps, in the recent general election, I was watching it closely... similar instincts, I suppose. I was even there to watch it close enough.

I shared a joke with the voters - in the Sgp election, when a bus ferrying voters approaches, there is no problem. But in MY, if a bus is seen ferrying voters approaches, people will start to threaten the voters from disembarking from the bus.... biggrin.gif

The Sgp voters did not understand my joke. sad.gif

wongmunkeong
post Nov 13 2015, 04:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2015, 03:55 PM)
Yeah,... perhaps, in the recent general election, I was watching it closely... similar instincts, I suppose. I was even there to watch it close enough.

I shared a joke with the voters - in the Sgp election, when a bus ferrying voters approaches, there is no problem. But in MY, if a bus is seen ferrying voters approaches, people will start to threaten the voters from disembarking from the bus....  biggrin.gif

The Sgp voters did not understand my joke.  sad.gif
Bro, SG punya "magic" is more atas/classy leh
eg Church's religion & social to program masses, especially those spiritually & willfully weak/lost brows.gif

here in kampung Malusia, even our top BS-artists cannot lie properly..
only kampung folks will believe their version of "truth" and their swearing on their holy book

totally different class tongue.gif
Hansel
post Nov 13 2015, 04:28 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 13 2015, 04:09 PM)
Bro, SG punya "magic" is more atas/classy leh
eg Church's religion & social to program masses, especially those spiritually  & willfully weak/lost  brows.gif

here in kampung Malusia, even our top BS-artists cannot lie properly..
only kampung folks will believe their version of "truth" and their swearing on their holy book

totally different class  tongue.gif
Yeah,... I supposed so, anyway,... that church pastor still got indicted b the Gov't, even if the followers did not agree to it. The wife got away though,...
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 13 2015, 05:27 PM

10,001 posts

Zeti says successor should be identified by end-January
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...or-until-April/

Interesting time ahead for MYR...

This post has been edited by wil-i-am: Nov 13 2015, 05:28 PM
nexona88
post Nov 13 2015, 06:06 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

USD/MYR close:4.37947 low:4.36226 high:4.39208

Showtime747
post Nov 13 2015, 06:25 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 13 2015, 06:06 PM)
USD/MYR close:4.37947 low:4.36226 high:4.39208
Am surprised RM is holding up well even when WTI is 41.xx now. Not bad...
nexona88
post Nov 13 2015, 06:29 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 13 2015, 06:25 PM)
Am surprised RM is holding up well even when WTI is 41.xx now. Not bad...
well some could be bringing back USD to be converted into MYR blush.gif

123 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:59 PM