Motor stop under bridge during rain legal or not, Can stop under bridge?

TSMrChildren999
post Sep 9 2015, 01:52 AM, updated 11y ago

Just wondering whether is it legal to stop under the bridge during rain?

Because let's say heavy rain then about 30-40 cyclist stop under the bridge together and block 2 lane. So 2/4 lane were block and cause traffic problem.

Yes, under social understanding it is okay to take shelter and refuge. This i could relate it as goodwill and human understanding.

Under traffic law and regulation. Is it allowed? If possible, provide some reference to which statute/law or under which sub-clause.
dun_panic
post Sep 9 2015, 01:56 AM

433 posts

Gov failed to allocate a safer place for them, thus is legal
ravenlost
post Sep 9 2015, 08:16 AM

298 posts

Its dangerous for motorcyclist to travel in heavy rainstorm. Thus better lepak under bridge/overpass behind the guard rail.
joe_mamak
post Sep 9 2015, 10:57 AM

363 posts

Illegal. But not likely anyone would be fined for the offence. Unless it causes an accident.
TSMrChildren999
post Sep 9 2015, 11:23 AM

Found some facts, it is indeed illegal. citing directly from Act 333, ROAD TRANSPORT ACT 1987

Excerpt as follows:-

Obstruction by vehicle on road
48. If any driver of a motor vehicle causes or permits such motor
vehicle to remain at rest on any road in such a position or in such
a condition or in such circumstances as to be likely to cause
danger, obstruction or undue inconvenience to other users of the
road or to traffic, he shall be guilty of an offence.

Penalty for obstruction and interference
110. Any person who without lawful authority, by the placing of
any vehicle, material or matter of any description on or near a road
or by interfering with any drainage constructed alongside any
road, obstructs or endangers traffic on the road shall be guilty of
an offence and shall on conviction be liable to a fine not exceeding
one thousand ringgit.
jerm57
post Sep 9 2015, 11:23 AM

405 posts

Blocking 2 lane is a bit too much larr.
caricature
post Sep 9 2015, 01:10 PM

131 posts

Buy a proper set of rain coat and ride to a place where you can park.

SUSBlueButtBaboon
post Sep 9 2015, 09:31 PM

FEEL WITH IT
517 posts

QUOTE(dun_panic @ Sep 9 2015, 01:56 AM)
Gov failed to allocate a safer place for them,  thus is legal
What u mean? Make bumbung over the motor lane?
dun_panic
post Sep 9 2015, 09:36 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(BlueButtBaboon @ Sep 9 2015, 09:31 PM)
What u mean? Make bumbung over the motor lane?
U dont need to give baboon ideas, we need better ideas
SUSBlueButtBaboon
post Sep 9 2015, 09:43 PM

FEEL WITH IT
517 posts

QUOTE(dun_panic @ Sep 9 2015, 09:36 PM)
U dont need to give baboon ideas, we need better ideas
Yet u havent answer me with ur smart and logical idea.
XenoKero486
post Sep 10 2015, 01:21 PM

More dangerous to have a motorcyclist on the road during heavy rain. A single motorcyclist skidding and falling off his bike due to riding in the rain can cause a more massive jam than a bunch taking shelter under a bridge.

I don't think it's legal but I've seen police take shelter together as well LOL
topearn
post Sep 10 2015, 01:51 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(MrChildren999 @ Sep 9 2015, 01:52 AM)

Because let's say heavy rain then about 30-40 cyclist stop under the bridge together and block 2 lane. So 2/4 lane were block and cause traffic problem.

Yes, under social understanding it is okay to take shelter and refuge. This i could relate it as goodwill and human understanding.

Under traffic law and regulation. Is it allowed? If possible, provide some reference to which statute/law or under which sub-clause.

Come on ! Be more understanding and compassionate towards others who are not so well-off and thus no choice but to use bike instead of drive a car. Biking under heavy rain is dangerous as easy to skid when the road is 1/2 flooded... more accidents will be caused vs letting them take shelter under the bridge... still got 2 lanes to use.....have a heart. Who care legal or not ?

CyberSetan
post Sep 10 2015, 08:14 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Doesnt matter... traffic pulis also stuck under the bridge during rain along with them.

So its legal.

wordtalks
post Sep 10 2015, 08:53 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

I ride too. But I definitely dont support people to stop at road side/under the bridge like that.

Coz if anything happen, others also kena, ownself kena nvm, dont trouble others.

and under the bridge, its hard to spot them since its dark. So have to careful la
blackpc
post Sep 10 2015, 08:57 PM

The Slow & The Curious
2,377 posts

I'm a biker and until now i still couldnt comprehend why they risk their lives waiting and blocking car lanes under bridges. Kalau kena langgar, simply blame the car.

For me, rain or shine, i ride. wink.gif
WebDpot
post Sep 10 2015, 09:04 PM

1,026 posts

they have no choice
icemanfx
post Sep 10 2015, 09:48 PM

21,457 posts

Malaysia rain about 100 days a year, rain is often. Why only Malaysian riders take shelter during rain but not other countries?

vanpersie91
post Sep 10 2015, 09:52 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Sep 9 2015, 11:23 AM)
Blocking 2 lane is a bit too much larr.
Got such incident.

Ayam afraid someone might drove too fast, sapu them all

Kesian weh
JaniceWLV
post Sep 11 2015, 12:31 AM

163 posts

if rain then i dont mind them taking shelter, but just make sure dont occupy the lanes.
Like few of you mentioned that the bikes may lose control due to the heavy rain. The same can also happen to cars, and if the car do lose control and hit all the bikers that i cannot imagine.
nilinaxolotl
post Sep 11 2015, 12:34 AM

104 posts

Blocking the lane? Illegal.
spacelion
post Sep 11 2015, 08:55 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

this is Malaysia, everything is agak-agak, must have some leeway for rules.

Anyway if you langgar them you can claim its raining heavily and visibility quite bad but I think if those conditions it's best if u just hit and run.
sanosizo
post Sep 12 2015, 01:40 AM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(WebDpot @ Sep 10 2015, 09:04 PM)
they have no choice
They have. It is called rain apparel.
cant think of a username
post Sep 13 2015, 01:47 PM

72 posts

tagged
aheadtaro
post Sep 14 2015, 09:15 AM

15 posts

Nowadays I see pit stops for motor under the bridge; so I don't have any idea what you're talking about.
K.I.T.T
post Sep 15 2015, 06:44 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Sep 10 2015, 09:52 PM)
Got such incident.

Ayam afraid someone might drove too fast, sapu them all

Kesian weh
jadi macam pinball.strike them all
rekaito90
post Sep 15 2015, 01:43 PM

181 posts

Setelah membaca keluhan rakyat /k kerajaan langit membentangkan kertas projek utk perhentian motor berbumbung setiap 5km di setiap jalan utama di Malaysia .

projek bernilai hnghhh

This post has been edited by rekaito90: Sep 15 2015, 01:44 PM
mabaw
post Sep 17 2015, 12:18 AM

223 posts

i have never seen motorcyclist blocking car lane.
emergency lane ada lah
ilikeweetbix
post Sep 17 2015, 03:08 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(mabaw @ Sep 17 2015, 12:18 AM)
i have never seen motorcyclist blocking car lane.
emergency lane ada lah
Neither ha've I. Where got block car lane?

EarendurFefalas
post Sep 17 2015, 03:18 AM

155 posts

actually got and i see this

usually happen where there is special event like merdeka
so motor block car (alot of them) from emergency lane until 1 of their lane

its illegal and dangerous, they can get crushed + slowing down the traffic
at that time the bridge dont have the place to berteduh like we now usually see
xsan
post Sep 17 2015, 03:47 PM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao
1,020 posts

it is illegal.. since it is blocking the main road flow.
but then it is also dangerous for motorcycle to ride in rain especially heavy rain since car/lorry driver can't see clearly since motorcycle don't have extra light than car.

QUOTE(caricature @ Sep 9 2015, 01:10 PM)
Buy a proper set of rain coat and ride to a place where you can park.
even with most expensive rainsuit, riding in rain is a dangerous to motorcyclist.
heavy rain caused poor visibility and may causing accident..

QUOTE(XenoKero486 @ Sep 10 2015, 01:21 PM)
More dangerous to have a motorcyclist on the road during heavy rain. A single motorcyclist skidding and falling off his bike due to riding in the rain can cause a more massive jam than a bunch taking shelter under a bridge.

I don't think it's legal but I've seen police take shelter together as well LOL
polis mana boleh take shelter.
they all sudah dapat free givi suit liao mad.gif
caricature
post Sep 18 2015, 01:32 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(xsan @ Sep 17 2015, 04:47 PM)

even with most expensive rainsuit, riding in rain is a dangerous to motorcyclist.
heavy rain caused poor visibility and may causing accident..

Ride to a safe place, I have been riding motorbike for 26 years, never stop under the bridge but many flyover now have safe area.
xsan
post Sep 18 2015, 09:57 AM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao
1,020 posts

QUOTE(caricature @ Sep 18 2015, 01:32 AM)
Ride to a safe place, I have been riding motorbike for 26 years, never stop under the bridge but  many flyover now have safe area.
oh to safe place..
meaning a designated shelter for motorcycle rite?
itu can lah..
but then not many flyover got it sad.gif
caricature
post Sep 21 2015, 04:25 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(xsan @ Sep 18 2015, 10:57 AM)
oh to safe place..
meaning a designated shelter for motorcycle rite?
itu can lah..
but then not many flyover got it sad.gif
If at the highway too far to reach for shelter, can always put on raincoat at the roadside, if in town, plenty of places can hangout. One time I waited an hour but the rain didn't stop, 10pm very hungry, the hell with the rain. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
SUSdestEX
post Sep 22 2015, 09:11 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

I can only imagine if a car list control in the rain and bang all those motorcycles under the bridge, dominos or maybe Boling

0.0241sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:14 AM