113 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V8, V8 POWAHHHHH!

kuci_mayong
post Feb 23 2018, 08:46 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 23 2018, 08:32 PM)
Posted this at the 6S thread. Thanks for the heads up!
my bad! thought this was the 6s sub.
attw
post Feb 24 2018, 09:18 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Feb 23 2018, 08:46 PM)
my bad! thought this was the 6s sub.
No worries, the last entry in that thread was a month ago so it was tucked behind quite a number of threads biggrin.gif
kuci_mayong
post Feb 26 2018, 07:17 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Feb 26 2018, 01:36 PM)
not move on yet?  whistling.gif
Why move on? iPhone 5s, 6 and 6s are still quite popular models. For some, this will be their first iPhones.
attw
post Feb 27 2018, 08:07 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Feb 26 2018, 01:36 PM)
not move on yet?  whistling.gif
Well, the phone still receives security and software updates, not necessary to move on unless you have to.

Heck, my mum's iPhone 5S is running iOS 11.2.6 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by attw: Feb 27 2018, 08:08 AM
soyabean123
post Mar 6 2018, 12:49 AM

153 posts

My iphone 6+ is running kinda slow and sometime will hang abit. Running v11.2.1, this is 64GB model, and i have 45GB available storage. Anyone can advice how to make it run smoother, fast and better battery lifespan?
attw
post Mar 6 2018, 08:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 6 2018, 12:49 AM)
My iphone 6+ is running kinda slow and sometime will hang abit. Running v11.2.1, this is 64GB model, and i have 45GB available storage. Anyone can advice how to make it run smoother, fast and better battery lifespan?
Have you gotten the battery replaced via the battery replacement program? That might help a bit. Otherwise wait for iOS 11.3 where Apple will you turn off the throttling of speed for older phones.
krishtiano86
post Mar 6 2018, 08:56 AM

6 STAR HOTEL
1,173 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 6 2018, 12:49 AM)
Yes get your battery replaced. Your case most prolly is CPU throttling.
soyabean123
post Mar 6 2018, 10:56 AM

153 posts

I havent change my battery yet. I cant afford to wait 3-5 working days to change it at Machine/Switch outlets. I decided to change it at Itworld where they can fix it on the same day, but currently no stock for ip6+.

But even thought if i have change the battery, the phone is still running slow right? It wont make it perform better. Correct me if im wrong.
BBXiong
post Mar 6 2018, 09:09 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

hi guys, want to ask about iPhone 6, my gf is using one, previously the screen was cracked, and battery had some problem, so those were repaired.

Since few months back, my gf's touch screen seem to be working sometimes, and other times, it wouldn't register the touches. Turning off the screen and turning it back on helps, but the touch issue seem to be coming and going from time to time. I didnt notice a grey flickering bar, so I'm not too sure if I can conclude that this is the touch IC failing just yet.

Another problem is similar to soyabean123, i ran into some performance problem, and the battery to be failing, sometimes battery can drop from 50+ to like 15% straight. I replaced the battery with a decent 3rd party brand. Battery life problem is solved, but seems like performance wise is similar. I'm waiting for 11.3 for the function to come to see if i can fix it by disabling that throttling 'feature', until then, can other experienced user advice me on how to monitor the performance, like maybe capturing CPU clockspeed etc to just investigate exactly what is wrong, or if anyone has faced this before and manage to solve it?
huislaw
post Mar 6 2018, 10:14 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 6 2018, 09:09 PM)
hi guys, want to ask about iPhone 6, my gf is using one, previously the screen was cracked, and battery had some problem, so those were repaired.

Since few months back, my gf's touch screen seem to be working sometimes, and other times, it wouldn't register the touches. Turning off the screen and turning it back on helps, but the touch issue seem to be coming and going from time to time. I didnt notice a grey flickering bar, so I'm not too sure if I can conclude that this is the touch IC failing just yet.

Another problem is similar to soyabean123, i ran into some performance problem, and the battery to be failing, sometimes battery can drop from 50+ to like 15% straight. I replaced the battery with a decent 3rd party brand. Battery life problem is solved, but seems like performance wise is similar. I'm waiting for 11.3 for the function to come to see if i can fix it by disabling that throttling 'feature', until then, can other experienced user advice me on how to monitor the performance, like maybe capturing CPU clockspeed etc to just investigate exactly what is wrong, or if anyone has faced this before and manage to solve it?
Try Lirum Info apps to see if CPU is throttled.
huislaw
post Mar 6 2018, 10:18 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Mar 6 2018, 10:14 PM)
Try Lirum Info apps to see if CPU is throttled.
But this post says it is not working. Anyone tried this apps actually see the diff between the CPU?

For me it is the same. My battery health is 93% though.
attw
post Mar 7 2018, 07:41 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 6 2018, 10:56 AM)
I havent change my battery yet. I cant afford to wait 3-5 working days to change it at Machine/Switch outlets. I decided to change it at Itworld where they can fix it on the same day, but currently no stock for ip6+.

But even thought if i have change the battery, the phone is still running slow right? It wont make it perform better. Correct me if im wrong.
If you’re using the iPhone 6 then battery replacement can now be done on the same day. Check the battery replacement thread for my latest post from Machines. However, batteries for iPhone 6 Plus is out of stock and may require a few weeks before they restock. You can contact them to get more details.

A new battery should improve your phone's performance, especially with the imminent release of iOS 11.3
BBXiong
post Mar 7 2018, 10:50 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Mar 6 2018, 10:18 PM)
But this post says it is not working. Anyone tried this apps actually see the diff between the CPU?

For me it is the same. My battery health is 93% though.
hmm ok, thanks for the info.

for IP6's case, i only suspect 2 things, first is the throttle for older phone, to kinda force user to change to their latest product, 2nd would be that later iOS becomes heavier and IP6 CPU cant handle that.

although i did read somewhere, not sure if i misunderstood, that apple's custom core design has a somewhat heavy performance deterioration over time, so after 1 year+ of usage you can already feel the phone getting slower, since it can no longer have the peak performance that it used to get, and is sustaining itself with a lower clockspeed for stability.
huislaw
post Mar 7 2018, 02:37 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Mar 7 2018, 09:25 AM)
Anyone having the blurry camera issue?

I got already..... and check... eligible to change...
https://www.apple.com/my/support/iphone6plus-isightcamera/

meaning i can change Battery and camera @ 1 go??

I see Switch can do Battery, but how about the camera??
How blurry is it? Is urs blurry all the time ?

If my serial number is eligible, but the photo seems not blurry all the time, still can change?

parislover1
post Mar 15 2018, 01:32 PM

My 3 year old 6+ got this touch screen problem. Yesterday went to this repair shop and he said its IC problem. The price is RM350 to change the IC. Is it worth changing? My phone is only 16g.

Tks.
jayko
post Mar 17 2018, 02:26 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(parislover1 @ Mar 15 2018, 01:32 PM)

My 3 year old  6+ got this touch screen problem. Yesterday went to this repair shop and he said its IC problem.  The price is RM350 to change the IC.  Is it worth changing?  My phone is only 16g.

Tks.
Is a rip off. One ic at most cost few buck only. Anyway 6+ is it one GB RAM?. Maybe is time to get new phone.
attw
post Mar 17 2018, 07:16 AM

32,468 posts

My 3 year old  6+ got this touch screen problem. Yesterday went to this repair shop and he said its IC problem.  The price is RM350 to change the IC.  Is it worth changing?  My phone is only 16g.

Tks.
Depends on how much longer you think you'll be keeping the phone. If at least another couple of years, then yeah, maybe worth repairing.
johnkor
post Mar 17 2018, 10:08 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

QUOTE(ro9212 @ Sep 10 2015, 10:41 AM)
Something is draining my battery. It used to reduce only 1-3% from night till morning but now it dropped almost 20%. Not even a single chat from any messaging apps. Any idea?
Using third party cable ? or AC ?
johnkor
post Mar 17 2018, 10:14 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

Tks.
Yes if you still want to use the phone , you can pay extra to upgrade the Memory Chip so you can have 64 or 128GB biggrin.gif
SUSSammich!
post Mar 17 2018, 11:21 PM

620 posts

i’m using iphone se which is same as iphone 6 and recently i feel my battery drain quite fast. only use the phone about 2 yrs or less i think. last time it can tahan about 1 day before charge now i already charge 2 times today.

is it something wrong? it has ask me update to new version ios for sometime but i didn’t. is that the cause that i should update to make the battery more stable?

113 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:41 PM