Skylake/Kaby/Coffee/Comet/Rocket Lake OC V1, Show off your OC here

TSowikh84
post Nov 25 2017, 09:22 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(crumpetss @ Nov 25 2017, 11:53 AM)
bro congrats on 4200mhz! also, isnt 1.40v too much for ram?
1.40v should be fine, not gonna harm the RAM or the CPU at all. Ehh, my RAM kit is rated at 1.40v. biggrin.gif

Moreover, there are some 1.50/1.45v-rated DDR4 memory modules in the market:
1.50v: http://www.ocdrift.com/g-skill-announces-n...t-z-memory-kit/
1.45v: http://www.ocdrift.com/g-skill-releases-ul...4-4266mhz-kits/

Btw, I managed to run quick HCL test on DDR4-4200 CL17. Should have no problem for 24/7 stability.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Nov 25 2017, 09:45 PM
BroD
post Nov 25 2017, 09:59 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 25 2017, 09:22 PM)
1.40v should be fine, not gonna harm the RAM or the CPU at all. Ehh, my RAM kit is rated at 1.40v.  biggrin.gif

Moreover, there are some 1.50/1.45v-rated DDR4 memory modules in the market:
1.50v: http://www.ocdrift.com/g-skill-announces-n...t-z-memory-kit/
1.45v: http://www.ocdrift.com/g-skill-releases-ul...4-4266mhz-kits/

Btw, I managed to run quick HCL test on DDR4-4200 CL17. Should have no problem for 24/7 stability.

Wow...4200MHZ... I dont know how to oc RAM at all...I see you are using memtestpro..if Im using basic version of memtest, how to make it run like memtestpro?

I have been using your bios settings and it is stable but I also want to save power when not using my computer. So I try adaptive voltage mode but I dont know a thing about it. Question, if my OC is stable at manual mode @1.25v, how to set it to stay at 1.25v +0.01v @adaptive mode and stay stable when I run stress test and also decreasing vcore automatically when not using my computer?
TSowikh84
post Nov 25 2017, 10:40 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(BroD @ Nov 25 2017, 09:59 PM)
Wow...4200MHZ... I dont know how to oc RAM at all...I see you are using memtestpro..if Im using basic version of memtest, how to make it run like memtestpro?

I have been using your bios settings and it is stable but I also want to save power when not using my computer. So I try adaptive voltage mode but I dont know a thing about it. Question, if my OC is stable at manual mode @1.25v, how to set it to stay at 1.25v +0.01v @adaptive mode and stay stable when I run stress test and also decreasing vcore automatically when not using my computer?
Everything comes at a price bro. For 4000+, you will need to get RAM kit that is based on Samsung's B-die ICs, those DDR4-3600+ rating kits.
Don't use Memtest86, as it is not relevant anymore for today's application and won't tell you anything conclusive at all.
I am using a paid HCI Memtest that is used by most RAM manufactures in the market.
Adaptive mode seems broken on the HERO, that's why manual voltage mode is still my favourite method.

To use Adaptive mode, you just need to enter the full load voltage that you desired in the Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage box.
In your case, just insert 1.25v into the box. The target full-load voltage is shown in the Total Adaptive Mode CPU Core Voltage.

BroD
post Nov 25 2017, 10:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 25 2017, 10:40 PM)
Everything comes at a price bro. For 4000+, you will need to get RAM kit that is based on Samsung's B-die ICs, those DDR4-3600+ rating kits.
Don't use Memtest86, as it is not relevant anymore for today's application and won't tell you anything conclusive at all.
I am using a paid HCI Memtest that is used by most RAM manufactures in the market.
Adaptive mode seems broken on the HERO, that's why manual voltage mode is still my favourite method.

To use Adaptive mode, you just need to enter the full load voltage that you desired in the Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage box.
In your case, just insert 1.25v into the box. The target full-load voltage is shown in the Total Adaptive Mode CPU Core Voltage.
I did that and the voltage was shooting up to 1.35v when running stress test.
TSowikh84
post Nov 26 2017, 12:01 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(BroD @ Nov 25 2017, 10:52 PM)
I did that and the voltage was shooting up to 1.35v when running stress test.
Same here, I think it's broken (not working).
bulkhy
post Nov 26 2017, 08:45 AM

Mr
813 posts

any overclockers here has delidded your CPU ???

TSowikh84
post Nov 26 2017, 09:13 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(bulkhy @ Nov 26 2017, 08:45 AM)
any overclockers here has delidded your CPU ???
Me not yet biggrin.gif

Btw guys, 4 sticks of 8GB B-die memories running at DDR4-4266 CL17 @ 1.45v.
crumpetss
post Nov 26 2017, 11:26 PM

dummie
523 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 26 2017, 09:13 AM)
Me not yet biggrin.gif

how??? 8700k undelid 5ghz? no cooling problems meh
crumpetss
post Nov 26 2017, 11:26 PM

dummie
523 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 26 2017, 09:13 AM)
Me not yet biggrin.gif

bulkhy
post Nov 27 2017, 03:00 AM

Mr
813 posts

your running at 100c load?
man i nd to buy the tool for delidding
ramz OC will see any difference between 3200mhz and 4000mhz?
TSowikh84
post Nov 27 2017, 07:01 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(crumpetss @ Nov 26 2017, 11:26 PM)
QUOTE(bulkhy @ Nov 27 2017, 03:00 AM)
your running at 100c load?
man i nd to buy the tool for delidding
ramz OC will see any difference between 3200mhz and 4000mhz?
Check few posts back, I did a few 3-hour Prime95 v29.3 (with AVX/FMA3) runs with CPU temps lower than 80c without delidding.
My 8700K is a really rare chip with a very low stock VID.

DDR4-3200 vs 4000+, I'd say very little to no difference but anything lower than DDR4-3200 will bottleneck the system.
Source: TPU

This post has been edited by owikh84: Nov 27 2017, 07:55 AM
TSowikh84
post Nov 30 2017, 07:08 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

CL17/18 is not easy to stabilize, so going back to XMP at
DDR4-4266 CL19 @ 1.40v 4x8GB

ROG Maximus X HERO
8700K Coffee Lake
TridentZ RGB 4266C19 4x8GB

x-1o8-x
post Nov 30 2017, 10:18 PM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

hi guys,

those of you using Asus board to OC your 8700k, what LLC level are you guys using? things have changed alot since I last OC'ed like 7-8 years ago and I'm learning back OC for these new processors.

whats the typical voltage to expect for pushing 5ghz? thanks in advance guys.
TSowikh84
post Nov 30 2017, 10:59 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Nov 30 2017, 10:18 PM)
hi guys,

those of you using Asus board to OC your 8700k, what LLC level are you guys using? things have changed alot since I last OC'ed like 7-8 years ago and I'm learning back OC for these new processors.

whats the typical voltage to expect for pushing 5ghz? thanks in advance guys.
Each motherboard's power design is different.
ASUS and other brands have LLC level 1 as the lowest and up to 8 for the highest.
ASRock has it backwards where level 1 is highest and level 5 is the lowest.

On my ROG boards, I chose level 5 because I find it gives the lowest vdroop.
Check few pages back for my 5GHz CPU OC.
LLC5 used, BIOS set 1.30v, load vCore 1.280v Prime95 AVX 0 offset stable.

Typical voltage is around 1.2-1.4v depending on your VID and board of course.

Check out 8700K OC database from Germany: https://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/f139/...ad-1178256.html
x-1o8-x
post Dec 1 2017, 01:52 AM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 30 2017, 10:59 PM)
Each motherboard's power design is different.
ASUS and other brands have LLC level 1 as the lowest and up to 8 for the highest.
ASRock has it backwards where level 1 is highest and level 5 is the lowest.

On my ROG boards, I chose level 5 because I find it gives the lowest vdroop.
Check few pages back for my 5GHz CPU OC.
LLC5 used, BIOS set 1.30v, load vCore 1.280v Prime95 AVX 0 offset stable.

Typical voltage is around 1.2-1.4v depending on your VID and board of course.

Check out 8700K OC database from Germany: https://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/f139/...ad-1178256.html
thanks dude, i'll give it a try, i've tried level 2-3 previously @ 1.3vcore but still failing p95 as soon as test starts.
TSowikh84
post Dec 1 2017, 06:48 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Dec 1 2017, 01:52 AM)
thanks dude, i'll give it a try, i've tried level 2-3 previously @ 1.3vcore but still failing p95 as soon as test starts.
Better check your chip's vid first before pumping any voltage.
For record, my 8700K comes with 1.088v vid.
TSowikh84
post Dec 1 2017, 06:52 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

5 hours+ of HCl 500% 😁
DDR4-4266 CL18 @ 1.40v 4x8G

i7-8700K
ROG Maximus X HERO
TridentZ RGB DDR4-4266C19 4x8GB

x-1o8-x
post Dec 1 2017, 01:43 PM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Dec 1 2017, 06:48 AM)
Better check your chip's vid first before pumping any voltage.
For record, my 8700K comes with 1.088v vid.
do you mean the cpu voltage when it's @ 3.7ghz like the one in the BIOS or when you boot up to windows and it's at 4.7ghz due to the asus MCE?

for BIOS, mine's showing 1.040v while in windows when the CPU gets stressed to 4.7ghz it shows 1.332-1.337

Everything was set to Auto on BIOS btw for the situation above,
TSowikh84
post Dec 1 2017, 05:00 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Dec 1 2017, 01:43 PM)
do you mean the cpu voltage when it's @ 3.7ghz like the one in the BIOS or when you boot up to windows and it's at 4.7ghz due to the asus MCE?

for BIOS, mine's showing 1.040v while in windows when the CPU gets stressed to 4.7ghz it shows 1.332-1.337

Everything was set to Auto on BIOS btw for the situation above,
VID can be observed when your BIOS setting is set to default.
Hence, in your case your VID is 1.040v which is quite low even lower than my 8700K chip.
Hmm not sure why you need so much vcore but it's likely that the Strix mobo has a weak VRM power.
x-1o8-x
post Dec 1 2017, 05:50 PM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Dec 1 2017, 05:00 PM)
VID can be observed when your BIOS setting is set to default.
Hence, in your case your VID is 1.040v which is quite low even lower than my 8700K chip.
Hmm not sure why you need so much vcore but it's likely that the Strix mobo has a weak VRM power.
I've tried pushing it @ 4.7ghz with 1.32v vcore and LLC lv5 and was able to run prime95 without having any errors, but after a minute or so my speed gets throttled even though my temps are not above 80c.

I get the feeling the VRM is overheating thus throttling is occuring due to that.

do you touch any other VRM settings besides the LLC?

56 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:43 AM