Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Skylake/ Kaby Lake OverClocking V1 | Z170/Z270, Show off your Skylake/ Kaby Lake OC here

owikh84
post Apr 18 2017, 07:42 PM
i7 Clan
Group Icon
Overclocker's United
Group: Elite
Posts: 8,056

Joined: Nov 2007
From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan



QUOTE(acther @ Apr 18 2017, 02:21 AM)
gave up already hahah
saw a lot of ppl able to run 4133@1T with low voltage

i think we are having some weak imc

im like only 20% able to successfuly boot with 4266  rclxub.gif

whats the best stable speed n timing u get on the ram?
*

Kinda busy these few days, so max I tried so far is 4133 19-19-19-39-2T @ 1.35v lol. Super-stable and reboots flawlessly.
Right now I'm having issue with the Apex, so have to stop there. sad.gif

Btw, here's reply from G.Skill HQ regarding the kit being unable to run at the rated 4266 speed.

QUOTE
First and foremost, I’d like to make clear that because your CPU hasn’t been tested to confirm the IMC’s capability of supporting 4266MHz, it’s likely the main reason why only XMP isn’t working.

However, I can help you through steps to find out how high of a memory frequency your CPU can support.

1.      To begin, please make sure that you go into BIOS and reset settings to optimal defaults. We need to make sure we start off from the most basic of settings, then apply setting changes to memory. It’d be good if you get into the habit of tweaking memory settings first, before making changes to the CPU, like the CPU frequency or CPU related voltages.

2.      Go into Ai Tweaker tab, and enable XMP. Then go down to the DRAM Frequency, and adjust it down to DDR4-3600MHz and change the DRAM Voltage to 1.350V. Save and exit. Can your system boot successfully into Windows at this speed?
a.      If your system can’t boot at 3600MHz, please let me know. The CPU’s IMC is likely very weak.

3.      If #2 was successful, go back into BIOS, change DRAM Frequency to DDR4-3866MHz. Can your system boot successfully into Windows at this speed?
a.      If DDR4-3866MHz was not successful, then you might want to check the CPU thermal paste to see if it’s dried. Or if your CPU cooling fan is screwed on too tightly or not evenly. Then try #2 again.

4.      If #3 was successful, go back into BIOS, change DRAM Frequency to DDR4-4000MHz. Can your system boot successfully into Windows at this speed?
a.      If 4000MHz was not successful, then 3866MHz is likely your processor’s limit. In this case, make sure XMP is enabled, then change the following settings:
                                                              i.      DRAM Frequency = 3866MHz
                                                            ii.      DRAM Voltage = 1.35V
                                                            iii.      CL Timing = 18-19-19-39
                                                          iv.      Command Rate = 2

5.      If #4 was successful, go back into BIOS, change DRAM Frequency to DDR4-4133MHz and change the DRAM Voltage to 1.40V. Can your system boot successfully into Windows at this speed?
a.      If 4133MHz was not successful, then 4000MHz is likely the processor’s limit. In this case, make sure XMP is enabled, then change the following settings:
                                                              i.      DRAM Frequency = 4000MHz
                                                            ii.      DRAM Voltage = 1.35V
                                                            iii.      CL Timing = 18-19-19-39
                                                          iv.      Command Rate = 2

6.      If #5 was successful at 4133MHz, change DRAM Frequency to DDR4-4266MHz with DRAM Voltage of 1.40V. If you are still getting error 55 or 49, hit a white “Retry” button just below the Reset button on the motherboard, and see if this helps booting into the system under XMP settings.


Kindly let me know how far you can go with the steps above. Please do note that XMP is enabled in all cases before manually changing BIOS memory settings.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
acther
post Apr 18 2017, 09:18 PM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 305

Joined: Jan 2009
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 18 2017, 07:42 PM)
Kinda busy these few days, so max I tried so far is 4133 19-19-19-39-2T @ 1.35v lol. Super-stable and reboots flawlessly.
Right now I'm having issue with the Apex, so have to stop there. sad.gif

Btw, here's reply from G.Skill HQ regarding the kit being unable to run at the rated 4266 speed.
*
The reply is all 废话 hahahhahahah
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ah_khoo
post Apr 19 2017, 11:28 PM
- No Action Talk Only -
Group Icon
Overclockers United
Group: Elite
Posts: 7,963

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu.


that's d highest i can manage... temp aside limit wise it is almost there already... sweat.gif

Attached Image

ah_khoo | i3 6300 | 4.5GHz @ 1.39v | GIGABYTE Z170X-UD3-CF | Air (GeminII M4 LP)

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Apr 20 2017, 09:15 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
owikh84
post Apr 20 2017, 09:54 PM
i7 Clan
Group Icon
Overclocker's United
Group: Elite
Posts: 8,056

Joined: Nov 2007
From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan



QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 19 2017, 11:28 PM)
that's d highest i can manage... temp aside limit wise it is almost there already...  sweat.gif

Attached Image

ah_khoo | i3 6300 | 4.5GHz @ 1.39v | GIGABYTE Z170X-UD3-CF | Air (GeminII M4 LP)
*
fuhh.. it's quite rare to see people playing with BCLK OC that high nowadays rclxms.gif
Vengeance LPX DDR4 spotted biggrin.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ah_khoo
post Apr 20 2017, 10:27 PM
- No Action Talk Only -
Group Icon
Overclockers United
Group: Elite
Posts: 7,963

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu.


novice level at best only bro... console.gif

3600MHz on ram is a no go, should i pump more vdimm (than exisiting 1.35v)? looseen timing to 17-19-19 didnt help. vccio & vsa already @ 1.2v. sweat.gif

waitin for d delid kit to pop d chip for lower temp... tongue.gif

Attached Image

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Apr 20 2017, 10:28 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
owikh84
post Apr 21 2017, 07:02 PM
i7 Clan
Group Icon
Overclocker's United
Group: Elite
Posts: 8,056

Joined: Nov 2007
From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan



QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 20 2017, 10:27 PM)
novice level at best only bro...  console.gif

3600MHz on ram is a no go, should i pump more vdimm (than exisiting 1.35v)? looseen timing to 17-19-19 didnt help. vccio & vsa already @ 1.2v.  sweat.gif

waitin for d delid kit to pop d chip for lower temp...  tongue.gif

Attached Image
*
I'd give that VCCSA a bump, say 1.35v. It's try and error to find the right VCCSA + VCCIO.
Some CPU IMC really need that much to achieve stability at higher memory frequencies.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0666sec    7.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd April 2017 - 11:42 PM