high speed fan = cooler?

sHawTY
post Nov 19 2006, 09:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

U don't need to add a high speed fan to cool down you're pc to the max...
The faster the fan, the noisier you're pc will be...

Tell you, you wouldn't want a very noisy pc, it's a headache.
Offcourse, some of us can withstand the noise, but not many of them have experienced the goodness of Silent PC...

In the early days, i've been one of those people who can withstand a noisy pc [at that time, i was using CM Hyper 6+ running at maximum speed with the noise of 46DB (That's freaking noisy, i can hear the noise from downstairs sweat.gif )].
But when i've bought a new heatsink, a new casing for my brother, all the fans in his pc are low in noise, all are below 28DB, that's when i started to fell in love with silent pc...

There i go, sold all freaking noise producer in my pc starting with selling the freaking noisy CM Hyper 6+, then, i've swithched all the fan in my pc to Vantec Spectrum UV Led fans that are low in noise [except for the 92MM fan, it's noisy sweat.gif ]

And today, i'm using Thermalright XP120 + Vantec Spectrum 120MM UV Led Fan to cool down my processor...

I've fall in love with silent setup and will never ever go for noisy fans again... wub.gif

There's many option here...

1) Use a better aftermarket heatsink [Depending on you're setup]
2) Use watercooling - this is out of you're range. no?
3) Use phase change technology - more out of range.

Are u into air cooled heatsink or what? smile.gif

sHäwTY(tm)

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:32 PM
sHawTY
post Nov 19 2006, 09:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 19 2006, 09:43 PM)
i'm using silent setup too. my 2 PC side by side is still more silent than most people's single PC. smile.gif

first rig
2x 120mm side intake, 1x 120mm top exhaust, 1x 120mm on PSU - fanless heatsink (Scythe Ninja).

second rig
1x 120mm on XP120, 1x120 mm front intake, 1x 120mm on PSU.
Woot, fanless for the first rig? drool.gif

What kind of procecessor do u use with that passive cooling?
Mind telling me that? wink.gif

sHäwTY(tm)

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:31 PM
sHawTY
post Nov 21 2006, 07:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 21 2006, 11:21 AM)
practice, learning from others is the key to success..... no short cut...

i spent hours and hours to study how others do cable management with the same case or same series.. shakehead.gif

no shortcut unless u request service from Ianho thumbup.gif
Double post eeh doom? laugh.gif

TS, you need to choose the right fans, tidy up the cacing's inside you're casing, then i'm pretty sure that you'll get a decent temperature for you're processor... cool.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 21 2006, 11:20 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Nov 21 2006, 09:51 PM)
any recommendation bout the right fan with low dB and high CFM???
My votes goes for Vantec Spectrum 120MM & 80MM UVLed Fans thumbup.gif
[except for the 92MM fan, it's kinda noisy sweat.gif ]

Plus bling bling summore... wub.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 21 2006, 11:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Nov 21 2006, 11:21 PM)
juz get a big fan (example 12cm).. although it runs on 2000rpm, the airflow can reach 78+cfm.. still maintain nice dBA's.. huhu..

-adios-
A 120MM fan with 2000RPm is noisy... whistling.gif

It's not even near to silence... doh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 01:51 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Nov 22 2006, 11:59 AM)
How many DB would you guys consider to be starting to get noisy already?Well, i have seen many high speed fans especially the delta ones which does produce a very high amount of DB.Seem noisy enough to me..I currently have one 12cm Delta fan and its producing a great amount of noise.Planning to change to other type which is silent but still be able to provide ample cooling functions.Any reccomendations?for 12cm and 8cm...
Well, for me, 40Db is the starter for breaking the "drums" in my ears... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 01:55 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 22 2006, 01:55 PM)
how loud 40 Db is?

can tell me,like what sound that produce the same Db?
Err...
How to explain aa...

Hmm...
Dunno liao... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 02:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 22 2006, 02:11 PM)
so if that case,how can u measure that Db are loud enough?

sorry,my pc dont have Db meter sweat.gif  sweat.gif
No pc has a DB meter liao... laugh.gif

You can always look at the noise of a particular fan on it's packaging or maybe u can google around in google about any fans noise... icon_rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 02:32 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 22 2006, 02:24 PM)
Been looking for the answer too, heres a comparison chart

http://www.gcaudio.com/resources/howtos/loudness.html
That link didn't really help as it's pointing to those noises that is above 60DB... doh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 02:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 22 2006, 02:44 PM)
Anyone got recommedation of 120mm wif 70cfm above to mount on my scythe ninja? My cpu temp idle is 47C le...full load is 62C le...I really wish to noe y....I use the original fan given. I am using P4 2.8E....Can someone teach how to cool it down wif max temp less than 50C....Help....
The stock fan that come with Scythe fans are silent fans...

My suggestion is go for Vantec Spectrum 120MM UVLed fans... smile.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 04:31 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 22 2006, 04:27 PM)
I chk the Vantec Spectrum 120mm , the cfm is 36cfm compared to the stock fan which is 46.5cfm....  Somemore the noise level for stock fan is 24dbA while vantec is 36dba le...It's no point to change rite? Correct me if I am wrong?

Is silverstone fm121 this fan good? Anyone use before?

http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-fm121.htm
It has very high cfm with max 110cfm...Anyone use before?
Don't look at Vantec's Website, they didn't bother to update the wrong information about the CFM...

If you go to LYP, and check the packaging itself, there, it states that the CFM is 69.34CFM...

The information in Vantec's webpage is incorrect liao... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 08:40 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 22 2006, 05:59 PM)
Delta 120x38mm FFB1212EHE

How bout this fan? this fan has 190cfm le?
http://epowerhousepc.com/delta-120x38mm-ff...2ehe-p-585.html

Will it decrease my cpu temp a lot if compared iwf the one i hv now which jz 46cfm...If i use this, then my temp sure going down 5-6c? correct?
It'll surely reduce the temperature, but it won't lower the temperature more than 5 degrees... laugh.gif

For a 5 degrees less, can't you stand the noise? whistling.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 09:14 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 22 2006, 08:54 PM)
Then could u tell me how cum my nija plus cant tame down my P4 2.8E? please tell me...I apply ar5 also le...Is it possible my mb sensor spoilt? If so how to measure the temp correctly?
I've used to have a Pentium 4 3.0E [oc'ed to 4GHz] used with CM Hyper 6+ running at 44degrees on idle... laugh.gif

Scythe Ninja stock fan is too slow...
You have to change to a higher CFM...

IINM, Scythe Ninja stock fan is set to run on 1000RPM or lower... sweat.gif
It's too slow...

If you wanna change, just change it to a little faster fan...

Look around for a fan that is 1600 - 1800RPm
That should help... wink.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 10:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 22 2006, 10:50 PM)
R u sure is that rpm and not +/-1200rpm max? Pls dont say scythe ninja got 12 heatpipes tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
Aiyoh...

Read my previous post again...
I've stated there clearly with short words of: IINM - If I'm Not Mistaken...

Read propely la kawan... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 22 2006, 10:53 PM
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 11:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 22 2006, 11:12 PM)
Guys ur having heatpipe discussion on two thread wats up with that! sweat.gif
I didn't say anything about heatpipes here... laugh.gif

neoxz did, not me... bruce.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 24 2006, 04:48 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Nov 24 2006, 01:32 PM)
Why don't you guys try Pabst's? Their available reconditioned over at Imbi Plaza. Worth a look since they'd cost between 30 to 50 ringgit
What are the specs for Pabst's fans? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 24 2006, 11:20 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 24 2006, 10:54 PM)
So far I oni know that silverstone fm121 got such spec wif around 100 cfm with 40db....
Got other fans?

Cheap sale
100CFM with 40db is considered good enough liao...
Not so noisy, not so silence...

But it's a "NO" for me as anything more than 36DB is considered noisy to me... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 25 2006, 06:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(edwuave @ Nov 25 2006, 05:46 PM)
just few days didn come bk and see this thread, so many reply liao...thanx guys for all the info, i think im goin to stick to my current fan lar, i think the most im goin to do is to clean the dust accumulated inside the casing and fans. and then reapply a new heat conductor for my cpu. rally weird, few months ago my max temp for my cpu is 42 degree celcius, idle is around 36 degree. but nowadays, it reach 56 degree and the lowest idle temp is 44 degree. even after i clean everything inside the cpu, and even apply a new layer of heat compound. wat happening arr? rclxub.gif
Maybe because the new layer of thermal paste is too thick?
Who knows...

Did you clean the old thermal paste before applying the new layer? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 25 2006, 10:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(edwuave @ Nov 25 2006, 06:07 PM)
clean everything. its not the 1st time i apply compound lar, i do it many times liao....an even thin layer is sufficient.
Then there must be something wrong with the temperature sensor probe... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 27 2006, 10:55 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 27 2006, 10:44 PM)
Wat is the spec for thermaltake? U use the fan as a case fan or mounted at cpu heatsink?

Cheap sale
Bro, i think u need to put all those "Cheap Sales" link in you're signature la, not in every post... sweat.gif

0.0222sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:31 PM