Lumia 930 or newer phone?

TSPuteih
post Aug 31 2015, 07:32 PM, updated 11y ago

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Hello guys,
I just broke my phone, where I can't use the call function (other functions can still be use). Now I want to buy a new phone. I wonder if I should buy Lumia 930, 830 or should wait for the newer flagship phone? Many thanks in advance smile.gif
ab123
post Aug 31 2015, 07:40 PM

68 posts

There is no glance screen on the Lumia 930, the Lumia 830 is a mid range phone. Also, what is your budget for new phones and prefered brand.
TSPuteih
post Aug 31 2015, 08:03 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(ab123 @ Aug 31 2015, 07:40 PM)
There is no glance screen on the Lumia 930, the Lumia 830 is a mid range phone. Also, what is your budget for new phones and prefered brand.
I tried looking up what is glance screen, and it's a feature that lets you preview notification while screen is locked, right? I don't think that's a problem for me.

I don't really have a budget, I would pay good money for good things. Also, there is no preferred brand. I'd just thought of getting myself a 930 because of it's sharp screen colours
ab123
post Aug 31 2015, 08:24 PM

68 posts

Ok then, I would recommend flagships like the Samsung Galaxy Note 3, Motorola Moto X, LG G3 or LG G4 or iPhone 5s. I'm a Nokia Lumia 920 user, love the camera but the white balance is nonsense, has to be set manually
Assassin's
post Aug 31 2015, 10:58 PM

467 posts

What would your phone's usage will be?

- Will you take a lot of low light photography?
- Do you play intensive gaming on your phone?
- Is long battery life important to you? Are you OK with carrying a power bank?
- Do you store a lot of media/files on your phone?

sjneow
post Aug 31 2015, 11:29 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Aug 31 2015, 09:03 PM)
I tried looking up what is glance screen, and it's a feature that lets you preview notification while screen is locked, right? I don't think that's a problem for me.

I don't really have a budget, I would pay good money for good things. Also, there is no preferred brand. I'd just thought of getting myself a 930 because of it's sharp screen colours
not a good practice to not have a budget when buying phones bro, since there are so many options.
If you are looking for Windows phone, even the cheap RM500 ones performs very well, as it is a very efficient OS. So when you don't state a budget it's hard for us to recommend bro. Of course the more expensive models are better than the cheap ones..
TSPuteih
post Sep 1 2015, 01:30 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Aug 31 2015, 10:58 PM)
What would your phone's usage will be?

- Will you take a lot of low light photography?
- Do you play intensive gaming on your phone?
- Is long battery life important to you? Are you OK with carrying a power bank?
- Do you store a lot of media/files on your phone?
- I don't take many photos, but when I take one I would expect it to be a good quality photo
- Not really, I understand that Windows phone doesn't have many games as Android/iOS, but right now I have myself an Android. Still can use my Android though,
- Yes, I would prefer long-usage of battery. Although I have a powerbank, but I would prefer not to bring it with me tongue.gif
- Yes, I just realized that I store a lot of media (although most of them are from whatsapp groups), but I tend to keep movies and series inside my phone

Another thing I would consider is that it could be use as a voice recorder. I like to record over meetings and stuffs, so a clear recorder phone is something I look forward to.

One thing what I'm very interested in Lumia is that the ability of the music app. Seems very good to me where you can play music after you downloaded them (offline mode)
acbc
post Sep 1 2015, 01:31 AM

9,052 posts

Used 930 is a bargain now. Can get less than RM 1100 here.
TSPuteih
post Sep 1 2015, 01:33 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(sjneow @ Aug 31 2015, 11:29 PM)
not a good practice to not have a budget when buying phones bro, since there are so many options.
If you are looking for Windows phone, even the cheap RM500 ones performs very well, as it is a very efficient OS. So when you don't state a budget it's hard for us to recommend bro. Of course the more expensive models are better than the cheap ones..
Well, my budget would take me to around 1k I think, but as I said, I wouldn't mind paying high for good stuffs. But not a phone that overkill my needs though. Like a Samsung S6, I don't know what to do with all of the features they are giving out. Mostly I would just play some games, and take pictures here and there (which I seldom do).

Maybe one of the key feature I would like is the 4G LTE ability. My last phone can only supports 3G, kinda wasted when I'm in a 4G area
TSPuteih
post Sep 1 2015, 01:40 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 1 2015, 01:31 AM)
Used 930 is a bargain now. Can get less than RM 1100 here.
Couldn't find anyone with that offer right now, only people selling 830. How does the colour differentiates between these two models? Noticeable? I once look a video on 930, and I must say it has a very good display
acbc
post Sep 1 2015, 08:45 AM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 1 2015, 01:40 AM)
Couldn't find anyone with that offer right now, only people selling 830. How does the colour differentiates between these two models? Noticeable? I once look a video on 930, and I must say it has a very good display
930 has S800, 2GB RAM, 32GB internal storage and a great camera. Basically, a must if you're buying a WP. Future updates no problem because the specs can handle it.
TSPuteih
post Sep 1 2015, 09:19 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 1 2015, 08:45 AM)
930 has S800, 2GB RAM, 32GB internal storage and a great camera. Basically, a must if you're buying a WP. Future updates no problem because the specs can handle it.
Will the new flagship come soon? I wouldn't want to buy an iPhone here (buys 5s, a few month later 6 comes out tongue.gif )
sjneow
post Sep 1 2015, 11:29 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 1 2015, 10:19 AM)
Will the new flagship come soon? I wouldn't want to buy an iPhone here (buys 5s, a few month later 6 comes out tongue.gif )
probably in a month or two, when Windows 10 for phone is ready. but a new flagship will guarantee to go above your 1k budget, the old flagship Lumia 930 is still 1.5k.

for a 1k budget, you can get 640 XL LTE, or Lumia 735 LTE

the 640XL has better camera, bigger screen and better battery than 830, not to mention it's a 4th generation model compared to 830 being a 3rd generation model. the 640 XL only lacks wireless charging compare to 830

735's specs is almost the same as 830 except for the camera, overall the 640XL should be a better buy.
acbc
post Sep 1 2015, 02:48 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 1 2015, 09:19 AM)
Knowing Microsoft, new flagships will cost more than 2K easily after factoring the exchange rate. If u need a flagship now, 930. New around 1.5K. Used about 1K. I bought mine used. Very good condition. Not a single scratch on it. Sold my 1020 and 1520 for it.
TSPuteih
post Sep 2 2015, 09:41 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

but if I wait for the next gen phone, what can I expect to get?
reddevil87
post Sep 3 2015, 04:50 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Aug 31 2015, 07:32 PM)
Hello guys,
I just broke my phone, where I can't use the call function (other functions can still be use). Now I want to buy a new phone. I wonder if I should buy Lumia 930, 830 or should wait for the newer flagship phone? Many thanks in advance smile.gif
What phone u broken previously bro?

If u urgently need a phone now, depend on how much budget and requirement u want, from 640, 735, 830 to 930 there are lot of option smile.gif

If not urgent, u can wait for future flagship, u can enjoy upgraded processor, camera and W10 Mobile new features which only available to new hardware, of coz u have to pay more $$ for that laugh.gif
TSPuteih
post Sep 4 2015, 05:34 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(reddevil87 @ Sep 3 2015, 04:50 PM)
What phone u broken previously bro?

If u urgently need a phone now, depend on how much budget and requirement u want, from 640, 735, 830 to 930 there are lot of option  smile.gif

If not urgent, u can wait for future flagship, u can enjoy upgraded processor, camera and W10 Mobile new features which only available to new hardware, of coz u have to pay more $$ for that  laugh.gif
Broke my Mi3, i literally washed it with water tongue.gif

Yea, need to fork money a bit then
Koh_XuMing
post Sep 4 2015, 10:10 PM

26 posts

If you insist on windows phone, wait for new phone with windows phone 10. the release should be in around months time. That is if you can wait though. icon_idea.gif
sjneow
post Sep 8 2015, 12:22 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 2 2015, 10:41 PM)
but if I wait for the next gen phone, what can I expect to get?
- Windows 10 integration with PC, your browser, user account and all sorts of settings can sync up make it very convenient
- Continuum: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sc1efHpPIVo

If you don't care about that, Lumia 535 is available for less than RM500 now, if you want a 720p HD screen, Lumia 540 is between RM500-600. These phones can also upgrade to Windows 10 later, just that their hardware not powerful enough to do Continuum
TSPuteih
post Sep 19 2015, 01:43 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Okay guess I'll have to settle for a non-flagship phone for now. I want a phone that have good LTE connection. 735 is okay?
Oh also this is for secondary phone. Primarily I'm still using my android.

This post has been edited by Puteih: Sep 19 2015, 01:44 AM
donpapachino
post Sep 19 2015, 02:07 AM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 19 2015, 01:43 AM)
Okay guess I'll have to settle for a non-flagship phone for now. I want a phone that have good LTE connection. 735 is okay?
Oh also this is for secondary phone. Primarily I'm still using my android.
since u already have your android, then might as well wait for the newer W10 phones to come out first. tongue.gif
TSPuteih
post Sep 20 2015, 12:49 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Sep 19 2015, 02:07 AM)
since u already have your android, then might as well wait for the newer W10 phones to come out first. tongue.gif
I can't wait, my android is still broken and I don't want to fix it because it costs 4/5 of my phone current value price.

Lumia 735 is good in your opinion?
dgboy
post Sep 20 2015, 06:42 PM

5,076 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 20 2015, 12:49 AM)
Lumia 735 is good in your opinion?
Yes, 735 one of the best Nokia Lumias.

Classy design, handy size, AMOLED display, LTE, good 6.7M camera with Zeiss lens.
TSPuteih
post Sep 21 2015, 01:33 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Sep 20 2015, 06:42 PM)
Yes, 735 one of the best Nokia Lumias.

Classy design, handy size, AMOLED display, LTE, good 6.7M camera with Zeiss lens.
Comparing with 640 XL LTE? I don't want my phone too wide, would have a problem slotting them in my jeans tongue.gif
donpapachino
post Sep 23 2015, 08:06 AM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Sep 21 2015, 01:33 PM)
Comparing with 640 XL LTE? I don't want my phone too wide, would have a problem slotting them in my jeans tongue.gif
then get yourself jeans with wide pocket, problem solved. laugh.gif

anyway, that's typically an issue with large screen devices. unlike ladies, all also can throw inside their handbag. tongue.gif

0.0205sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:14 AM