The Rat Thread V1, Come in and join the World of RATSss

TSReanne
post Dec 17 2006, 11:05 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

I caught a very young house rat before. It was the size of Snowball.
TSReanne
post Jan 25 2007, 02:42 AM

2,903 posts

lol
Actually, if you think carefully, feeding a rat to a snake compared to a chicken in the slaughter house. A rat dies almost immediately after the breath is squeezed out of it and it basically suffocates. A chicken in the slaughter house, on the other hand, will have it's neck cut and dunked in boiling water to scald the feathers off. Half the time the chicken can still feel and move after it's neck has been cut.
TSReanne
post Feb 7 2007, 02:44 PM

2,903 posts

Yes, he is.
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 05:40 PM

2,903 posts

lol
Nope, an ordinary T-shirt. She just runs around my pants hem under the shirt.
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:19 PM

2,903 posts

lol
I brought her to a hairstylist to cut my hair once. She was sitting on my shoulder and when the guy lifted my hair, he yelled 'OHH MY GOODNESS! What's that??'

But he only got a light shock, he said that she was a very pretty rat and so white. LOL

I guess he's never seen a white rat before.
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:24 PM

2,903 posts

Good mum. Thumbs up for her biggrin.gif
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:28 PM

2,903 posts

But it's scary when they fight over the babies. lol
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:30 PM

2,903 posts

Yea, if you put 2 mums together, they wll try to steal all the babies for themselves to nurse. Weird huh?
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:38 PM

2,903 posts

Don't leave out the duprasi tail.
TSReanne
post Mar 26 2007, 06:42 PM

2,903 posts

lol
Yeap. but got ppl geli duprasi tail also.
TSReanne
post Apr 21 2007, 10:30 PM

2,903 posts

UPM doesn't use proper lab blocks. They use a brand of stockfeed called Gold Coin.
TSReanne
post Apr 28 2007, 06:38 PM

2,903 posts

Hmmm.... I noticed that Winter and Noelle, both from Pet Family, are quite lanky in body type while Autumn, from Tikusniaga, is more pear-like and heavier and squishier. I might breed Autumn as I find this trait more desirable.
TSReanne
post May 7 2007, 03:03 PM

2,903 posts

Anyone interested in my Noelle? She's has not been getting along well with Winter lately. I will post her in adoption thread soon.
TSReanne
post May 8 2007, 12:42 AM

2,903 posts

lol
All 3 girls are getting a bath tonight!

Next time say la, 'Don't insult my baby mad.gif , she's a rat. wub.gif .

Winter poking out of the pillows after her bath. She smells so good now. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Reanne: May 8 2007, 03:52 PM

TSReanne
post May 23 2007, 11:07 PM

2,903 posts

Added to first post. tongue.gif
TSReanne
post May 23 2007, 11:13 PM

2,903 posts

Hard to find leh, I haven't found that myself when I used to bake for my dogs.
TSReanne
post Dec 14 2007, 10:08 PM

2,903 posts

Do you only feed them cat food? If so, what brand?
TSReanne
post Mar 3 2008, 08:32 AM

2,903 posts

In memory of Winter, who passed yesterday, 2 March 2008.

Winter was inflicted with a disease that caused her to sneeze blood. An attempt to treat it failed and the condition became worse until it affected her nerve and caused her head to tilt.

Her head tilt gradually became worse and caused her to become unbalanced, she even flipped a few times. Apparently this disease is common in lab rats as they share the same gene pool in general, therefore the gene for the disease lurks in this pool. Winter was taken from a very general stock of albino rats, so it's not surprising she would succumb to this.
If I were to attempt to treat it, it would result in more suffering for her as the condition will reoccur, may start to infect the other rodents and the head tilt was permanent. So I opted for the more humane decision, to let her go.

Winter, my first rat that followed me to my first job interview. The first rat my adorable nephew saw and played with, the rat who thought she was a sugar glider and slept in my shirt. The rat that loved to kiss me on my cheek and behind my ear, then climbed to the driver's seat and kissed him too. And the little fuzzy rat that stayed fuzzy forever.

I'll always remember you, so don't you forget me after you've crossed that rainbow.

RIP Winter
TSReanne
post Mar 10 2008, 12:19 AM

2,903 posts

Thanks. smile.gif

Congrats on your new ratties!

Btw, they're not really that difficult to find. Crazymouse has lots of pet quality fancy rats available for sale. All healthy and stocky. She has topaz, lilac, albino, and many other colours available. I've personally seen them and they're all clean and tame.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Mar 10 2008, 12:20 AM
TSReanne
post Mar 10 2008, 01:12 AM

2,903 posts

You can check out JTL's sales thread in Garage Sales. Got quite a number of cages that can be used for rats. smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0313sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:03 PM