Any guppy fans here?, come come come
infernoaswen
Sep 18 2010, 09:18 PM
hi just bought 3 guppy last week....didnt know that time anything about guppy....after doing alot google-ing & reading this thread i learn alot....now left 1 guppy still alive hahaha....anyways my question is what is the use of salt? is it the normal kitchen salt or some special salt that should be bought in fish shop? & can guppy live in warm water? coz in afternoon my tank water gets quite warm due to malaysia hot temperature & my pump motor i think....
infernoaswen
Sep 19 2010, 01:50 AM
anyone got female guppies want to give away? i want 1-2 female guppy fish  if possible near sunway or summit. & which is the easiest water plant to manage? i mean like dont need sunlight(normal light at home is enough) & no need co2 & etc....
infernoaswen
Sep 19 2010, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(BenSow @ Sep 19 2010, 03:02 PM) misconception again.. ALL plants need light.. house light not enough as you turn on at night only.. Use a table lamp oso enuf adi so get a cheap table lamp.. im using table lamp it works fine.. how big is your tank? very small one, its for 2-3 small fishes only  i think 30cm * 30cm cube tank
infernoaswen
Sep 21 2010, 12:46 AM
just bought 2 female guppies & add them with the male. at first i watched the male was disturbing one of the female....then after awhile the other female start attacking the other female that the male was disturbing...male was trying to defend but female size too big......dont know why she attack the other female.....after few hours....die already the female.....sigh......why did it attack? coz of jelous?
infernoaswen
Sep 21 2010, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(maxtee @ Sep 21 2010, 05:34 PM) i got some spare wild red female to give away if u interested can pm me. for water plant with low maintenece go for jave fern ,java moss, boltbits but will be slow growing if just used house light lah  yesterday i just bought 2 female already....but one died...1 of the female killed it...now left one.....& last nite the female i think jumped out of the water...i think left out for 30mins.....when i come to check...i was like...wth....where is my fish?? keep finding here & there....luckly still alive....see la...lets hope they mate...if nothing happens then i will pm  thx anyways
infernoaswen
Sep 26 2010, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(maxtee @ Sep 25 2010, 07:48 PM) LUCKY U! i always come home at night after works and find my female guppy on the floor turn into ikan bilis liow so now lower aquarium water 4 inch from the top then no more casualties. soon u will enjoy seeing fries swimming in ur fish tank fries? its just a dream...i did mention it killed a female fish rite....& then i notice a few days...it keep attacking the male fish...when i fed it goes to eat..but when then male comes to eat, it attack him...feel sorry for that poor fish so in the end i released this female...now left only one male...hahaha.....i guess gotta go buy another female fish
infernoaswen
Sep 26 2010, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(maxtee @ Sep 26 2010, 12:38 PM) alamak  why released if u have agressive females try take that female out and put in a small cointainer for fews day and leave the males in the main tank then re-introduce her back to the male or buy more male to court with her this will makes her less dominent in the tanks. if u interested to see and up bring fries u can get a prehit females from lfs the 1 got the biggest stomach with black gravid spot above anal fin on the female this are females guppy that sure going to give birth soon.... sometimes they just drop fries during ur way home lol  i tried separating it form the tank...then put it back after 1day...1st it was ok...after 1-2hr back to the same....i didnt want to buy more male & put in coz i read before some say if the male ratio is more than female...later the female can get exhausted due to too much stress from mating...so dont want it to die  hahaha nvm la....just go later when free to lfs & get another female guppy....1 ringgit only what
infernoaswen
Sep 26 2010, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(maxtee @ Sep 26 2010, 02:08 PM) with big femles >3cm we can have 2-3 males courting with no problem coz big tail guppy males will have dificulty chasing to mate with big females de if ur females < 2cm then will get haress too much with 2-3 males the best is still with 3 males to 2 females or viseversa lah happy guppy hunting then  pink white albino ooooo thanks for the info
infernoaswen
Sep 29 2010, 12:27 AM
what do you guys fed your guppies? which is the best brand & food for them? & do you guys fed them treats? if yes what & which brand? i know there are treats such as shrimps & worms but its hard to buy alive ones...do they sell dry dead ones? would like to know what you guys fed them & which is the best you feel for guppies to eat
infernoaswen
Oct 25 2010, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Oct 24 2010, 01:27 AM) hey guys... needs some advice regarding guppy keeping. my mom used to hv some really beautiful fancy guppies... mix of males and females which she kept in an ornamental fountain bowl outside in our porch. unfortunately these fish seem to only last a few weeks at max... they die off very fast until finally left 1-2 fishies. thn my mom will buy some more guppies, and then all die off again only left 1-2 fish. we have once kept the 2 remaining survivors, and they stuck around for a very long time. i think the fish may b fighting, tho ive never seen that happening myself. are guppies known to attack each other or fight?  btw the temp of the porch is cool. it is in the shade, far from direct sunlight, next to the front door. we have an airstone and electric oxygen pump. water is changed frequently and we never allow algae to overgrow/water turn green. feeding with tetra brand guppy food. cant figure out whats wrong. try when changing water use filter water rather than tap water...& try adding some aquarium salt. i did that & nowdays no more dead fish. & u need to take notice to your fish....sometimes there are naughty fishes that will bully the others. i used to have one female, when ever feeding time it hits the other so that it can eat all the food....just spend a bit time when u fed to see how they behave with each other....& u dont really need any pump....guppy tend to be happy at clam water....i got a mini pump that is pumping at the lowest rate.....i dont think you really need it...
infernoaswen
Oct 27 2010, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(nick67 @ Oct 25 2010, 11:32 PM) Guys, I have quite a large aquarium with me here, and I plan to fill it up with plenty of guppy(actually I want to buy a few and let it breed so I can enjoy the whole growing process). Is it ok to have a lot of guppies in one aquarium? Any tips on rearing guppies? should be ok but if it gets overcrowded after for sometime then there might be some health risk involved....agreed with the other guy...read this whole thread....i was new too in rearing guppies..got a few tips here & google...now got 5 happy healthy guppies hahaha....but 2-3 died while learning to keep guppies....back to ur topic...if overcrowded then there might be high concentration of ammonia & nitrogen & even co2....so have to becareful not to over populate it...good luck
infernoaswen
Oct 29 2010, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 28 2010, 09:59 PM) what's the use of Aquarium salt? Isn't that for sea fishes? guppies like salty water...thats what i know la....& if i m not mistaken if the water is salty then parasite wont be able to grow properly. salty water also helps to heal guppies that are sick or bleeding...i read somewhere here i think or from the internet somewhere....i dont remember
infernoaswen
Oct 29 2010, 11:08 AM
Some have ragged fins and tails.... others intact.  And one or two fish look like their eyes hv been chewed out or something Added on October 29, 2010, 12:38 amand if it helps.... the guppies my mom had looked exactly like these 4 in the picture http://www.tropicalfishforum.net/photopost...500/guppies.jpghttp://www.tropicalfishonline.info/wp-cont...iamondGuppy.jpg[/quote] if there is some kind of white stuff lump growing at their eyes...or eyes having problem i think they are infected with some disease....1 of my guppy died with eyess infection.....u might want to clean the pond...wash it with bleach....& rinse with alot of water & keep it fill with water for few days....then wash it again....not so sure tho coz i m not a guppy expert...but it might not be infection too...coz if tail problem....it can be caused by fighting too...or the pond environment...the pond pump or something....try google-ing there are some forum where u can discuss with guppies experts & get a reply very fast....good luck