95 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Any guppy fans here?, come come come

mydelsol
post Nov 22 2006, 06:51 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 22 2006, 04:30 PM)
one dwarf puffer is enough to eliminate hundreds of snails
yes i was told but also the might eat my other fishes in the tank, so decided
against it, but mana tau, the meds were too strong, killed everything in sight cry.gif
thanks anyways... rclxms.gif
jaspery27
post Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM

664 posts

puffer is a carnivore le, dont mix with small fish.
mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif later i post my here, no co2 one.
guys: my red guppies just delivered babies rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
RedBox
post Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails! shakehead.gif Those damn things just will not go away!! It came with some plants I got from a friend. The snails spread like crazy. At times, I have to just pick them out by turning over every single stone in my tank. That's the only way I am controlling it now.

I did buy a snail remover/killer solution but to no avail. When I get home, I'll post some pictures of the snail remover solution. If I can, I'll take some close up of what I think are snail eggs too if when I find them. Pesky little things. I know they provide benefits to a tank but boy... they produce too fast for my liking!

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 22 2006, 02:04 PM)
Bro,

I hve considered C02 DIY as recommended by bro RB, below is my tank, think its abt 10gallons, hve considered Java Moss, but dont know how much to buy as most shops sell by "weight" or palm size and cost abt RM10/-
to RM12/- a pc. so am curently torn between CO2 bomb, as am not a scientist, or a being a normal lazy guy and getting moss.....advise pls?? rclxms.gif

Get some plants that are tolerant to low CO2 then. Do a search on the Internet, you will find information on these. I still find that some CO2 will allow the plants to grow much stronger. I can tell a difference when I stopped providing CO2 in my tank.

Speaking of, after discussing diy CO2 here, I am going to start my CO2 production again. Bought my 'coca cola' 2liter bottle already. smile.gif The only thing I am lacking is yeast which I'll get when I complete the setup. Will post some pictures when I finish with it. smile.gif

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM)
mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif later i post my here, no co2 one.
guys: my red guppies just delivered babies  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Congratulations on the new guppy babies! thumbup.gif

crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 22 2006, 10:57 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

People wanna get rid of snails... but I want snails hahah.... coz they eat up my algea.
mydelsol
post Nov 23 2006, 10:43 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM)
mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif later i post my here, no co2 one.
guys: my red guppies just delivered babies  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
yes they are, dats why i decided against them, the pet shop i normally go to,
recommended a snail remover, but atlast, removed more then my snails, cialat
only, too much it killed eveything in my tank.....
jus bought more plants and a Co2 tank, sigh, sorry brothers coudlnt help it,
am weak when it comes to gadgets icon_question.gif besides my wife paid the bill icon_idea.gif
hehehehehe....btw, congrats on the babies...

QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM)
Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails!  shakehead.gif Those damn things just will not go away!! It came with some plants I got from a friend. The snails spread like crazy. At times, I have to just pick them out by turning over every single stone in my tank. That's the only way I am controlling it now. I did buy a snail remover/killer solution but to no avail. When I get home, I'll post some pictures of the snail remover solution. If I can, I'll take some close up of what I think are snail eggs too if when I find them. Pesky little things. I know they provide benefits to a tank but boy... they produce too fast for my liking!
Get some plants that are tolerant to low CO2 then. Do a search on the Internet, you will find information on these. I still find that some CO2 will allow the plants to grow much stronger. I can tell a difference when I stopped providing CO2 in my tank.
Congratulations on the new guppy babies!  thumbup.gif
just bought a C02 tank last nite, with more plants and a piece of Java Moss,
will post pics during lunch time....cost me RM35/- wit a 1 1/2 mth supply
of C02....also bought some Neon Tetra's, (my son insisted on "I wan da brue
karer pish, prisss daddyyy....so nice wannnn)...siigghhhh.... tongue.gif wil post the pics
to later....
sayasebuk
post Nov 23 2006, 12:07 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 22 2006, 06:51 PM)
yes i was told but also the might eat my other fishes in the tank, so decided
against it, but mana tau, the meds were too strong, killed everything in sight cry.gif
thanks anyways... rclxms.gif
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM)
Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails!  shakehead.gif Those damn things just will not go away!! It came with some plants I got from a friend. The snails spread like crazy. At times, I have to just pick them out by turning over every single stone in my tank. That's the only way I am controlling it now.

I did buy a snail remover/killer solution but to no avail. When I get home, I'll post some pictures of the snail remover solution. If I can, I'll take some close up of what I think are snail eggs too if when I find them. Pesky little things. I know they provide benefits to a tank but boy... they produce too fast for my liking!

i've had several incidents of snail outbreaks. i've used two techniques and they both worked marvelously. first method was to put a slice of cucumber or lettuce. after 1 day snails will gather at the vegetable. take out the vegetable, remove the snails and put it back. this will take 1 week for you to remove all the snails

the second and most efficient way is to get a DWARF puffer. One is enough. i've never had any incident of it attacking my other fish. but make sure buy the DWARF puffer, not the bigger ones. Dwarf puffers themselves are even much much smaller than guppies or even neon tetras.
kimmie
post Nov 23 2006, 12:14 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 22 2006, 10:57 PM)
People wanna get rid of snails... but I want snails hahah.... coz they eat up my algea.
becareful what u wish for....i rather have a mud fish then snails... laugh.gif
mydelsol
post Nov 23 2006, 12:20 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 22 2006, 10:57 PM)
dont think u really need them, its really bad, honestly....once kena
spread like wild fire...very hard to remove... doh.gif

btw, these are the "new" pics of my tank after visiting the pet shop with the family lastnite:- bought 1x C02, 15x Neon Tetras, 1xJava Moss, 3 Female Guppies
and 3x Plants cost RM85/-, priceless rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

below pic of C02 cannister and after set-up in tank

This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 23 2006, 12:27 PM
RedBox
post Nov 23 2006, 01:28 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Nice pics. Thanks for sharing! smile.gif After seeing your pics, I think I will add tetras to my tank too. Looking for some new additions. I like neon tetras but will visit the fish store to see if I like any other tetras. thumbup.gif

RB
Panda
post Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM

360 posts

I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods...

what am i suppose to do?
ciohbu
post Nov 23 2006, 07:59 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

ermm..mayb they havent feel comfartable with the new enviroment gua..

anyone selling nice and healthy guppy here?...thinking of setting one more tank for guppy.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 23 2006, 08:17 PM
Panda
post Nov 23 2006, 08:24 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 23 2006, 07:59 PM)
ermm..mayb they havent feel comfartable with the new enviroment gua..

anyone selling nice and healthy guppy here?...thinking of setting one more tank for guppy.. biggrin.gif
my guppies did try to eat the foods....
but then after seconds they threw out all the foods from their mouth doh.gif

the fish food is new....
ekiddie
post Nov 23 2006, 08:37 PM

810 posts

ur fish food is as of wat kind? flakes is small and more suitable for guppies i wud say...

wink.gif

mydelsol
post Nov 23 2006, 09:45 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 23 2006, 01:28 PM)
Nice pics. Thanks for sharing! smile.gif After seeing your pics, I think I will add tetras to my tank too. Looking for some new additions. I like neon tetras but will visit the fish store to see if I like any other tetras. thumbup.gif
RB
thanks, the place i go to, tmn megah in PJ is called My Pet World carries abt 3 types of Tetras, Blue, Green and Silver i think, blue is RM1/- Green at RM2/- forgot abt the silver price whistling.gif

QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM)
I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods...what am i suppose to do?
dude, sometimes they are not "used" the to new envorinment, so give it a day
before feeding, or look at my pic above, am feeding them guppy food pellets,
rally tiny ones mixed with flakes, works well... thumbup.gif
RedBox
post Nov 23 2006, 11:14 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Yeah, feed flakes. Easier for the guppies to eat.

RB
Panda
post Nov 23 2006, 11:50 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 23 2006, 09:45 PM)
thanks, the place i go to, tmn megah in PJ is called My Pet World carries abt 3 types of Tetras, Blue, Green and Silver i think, blue is RM1/- Green at RM2/- forgot abt the silver price whistling.gif
dude, sometimes they are not "used" the to new envorinment, so give it a day
before feeding, or look at my pic above, am feeding them guppy food pellets,
rally tiny ones mixed with flakes, works well... thumbup.gif
cant see the pic clearly... how tiny is the food pellets?
like powder?
jaspery27
post Nov 24 2006, 12:05 AM

664 posts

hehehe, i feed my guppies bloodworm, then the male more ummmhhh ma, icon_rolleyes.gif
neon tetra better get bigger one, small one very easy to xxx one, sweat.gif sweat.gif the bigger the better icon_idea.gif i would say the black tetra is more "tahan" compare others tetras.
put some aqua plants in the tank to calm the guppies, they like plants.
just share info, correct me if wrong, peace notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ciohbu
post Nov 24 2006, 12:44 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

i also fed my fish with bloodworm...for me it is better than those fish food in the market coz it is natural ma
mydelsol
post Nov 24 2006, 09:08 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 11:50 PM)
cant see the pic clearly... how tiny is the food pellets?
like powder?
really really tiny the "biji" very small, fits exactly into the Guppy & Tetra mouths thumbup.gif have never tried bloodworms,
as so far my guppies ok lar can "tahan" the pellets & falkes I hve been feeding them, so goes for the tetras, fast lil'buggers, sometimes "steal" food frm the guppies rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 24 2006, 09:09 AM
goldfries
post Nov 24 2006, 11:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM)
I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods...

what am i suppose to do?
firstly - you don't know how's their condition before you purchased, they could already be stressed silly already.

secondly - after purchase, how did you place them into your tank? did you just dump them in and on the lights straight away?

95 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0237sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:03 PM