Any guppy fans here?, come come come
sayasebuk
Mar 23 2007, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 22 2007, 09:48 PM) After feeding time, most of my guppies will search sumthing on the sand as if searching for food. Does that mean i did not give enuf? or i shud not "layan" their desire?  i think every fish behaves like that. always looking for food. my advise is do not give in. fish will eat and eat and eat untill they get buncit (and still eat) and eventually die. no matter how much you give them they will still appear hungry
kimmie
Mar 23 2007, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 23 2007, 10:10 AM) no idea what your fish is doing. i read from the net they usually feed their guppy twice a day in small quantitiy. as for me i feed them a heavy meal once a day. never seen my guppy behave like yours. perhaps its just some natural behaviour for them? any sifu can explain? ive only seen greedy goldfish doing that... This post has been edited by kimmie: Mar 23 2007, 10:42 AM
JY.
Mar 24 2007, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 20 2007, 09:40 AM) the fish dead long ago threw away already......if i found the dead fish maybe left bones only  ok this is why i said it was getting whacked. i have a group of guppy. all of their tail fins are different and easy to tell apart. one particular guppy was chased all the time by the others.............few days later it ended belly up and the tails was in shreds........ then another one kena.........maybe i accidentally bought x-guppy...........vicious type one  ya, some time my guppy oso behave like tat. 1 hepothesis i made my own is, the tail color is almost the same with the food, so they thought the tail is the food, so they chase lo..... lol
petro_ash
Mar 24 2007, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Mar 23 2007, 10:35 AM) i think every fish behaves like that. always looking for food. my advise is do not give in. fish will eat and eat and eat untill they get buncit (and still eat) and eventually die. no matter how much you give them they will still appear hungry Thnx for d advice.  Still about food: How long can guppies stay alive before they starve and RIP?
the_registered
Mar 24 2007, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 24 2007, 07:37 PM) Thnx for d advice.  Still about food: How long can guppies stay alive before they starve and RIP?  My record is 15 days. Only 10 out of ...I think 100 died. they can actually lst quite long without food. Or maybe they cannibalise others?  I don't think guppies do that
petro_ash
Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM
HI 1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods?
cskeong
Mar 30 2007, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM) HI 1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods? how to tell if its old or not i duno. established tank for a week?maybe lonely coz its the only guppy around?maybe some disease?anything weird u noticed on the fish when it died?rotting fins?slimy body? xtra large stomach?
Lance8431
Mar 30 2007, 07:07 PM

Maybe becoz different batch in different environment and different level of immune system?
JY.
Apr 8 2007, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM) HI 1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods? ya, tat happened to me also, i think some of them cannot stand the new environment, tat's why they die.
kimmie
Apr 9 2007, 09:50 AM
suspring...for a hardy fish
Lance8431
Jun 6 2007, 08:36 AM

Any new info on guppies?
long3016
Jun 6 2007, 09:03 AM
the weird thing happen is some time i will found that 5-6guppies dead in certain period. B4 they die, i try to save them with move them to other tank that the water is clean but the result still the same
Lance8431
Jun 6 2007, 10:47 PM

Is it very big n old ones or just normal ones??? Male or Female? Sometimes they just died of exhaustion due to the chasing n breeding, both applies for male and female.
This post has been edited by Lance8431: Jun 6 2007, 10:50 PM
long3016
Jun 7 2007, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Jun 6 2007, 10:47 PM) Is it very big n old ones or just normal ones??? Male or Female? Sometimes they just died of exhaustion due to the chasing n breeding, both applies for male and female. more on female. sometimes the frog also go eat my guppies. they even lay egg inside my tank
ahseng84
Jun 7 2007, 06:57 PM
still remember my child period gt feeding many tis type of guppies...
now no time2 care for them,so no feed anymore
kyser39099
Jun 14 2007, 01:10 AM
Hye all.. i feel like having some guppies.. so can anyone tell me the items needed and the initial cost?? thanks..
nmb3rs
Jun 14 2007, 01:29 AM

drop by any aquarium shop... then u'll know it fun though rearing fish..
kyser39099
Jun 14 2007, 01:35 AM
hehe.. thats why i want to ask 1st b4 heading to the shop.. how much do you estimate it wud cost? and how bout the water? shld be cycled or just neutralize the chlorine?
kyser39099
Jun 14 2007, 02:25 AM
erkk.. newbie here... wanna ask how much 1 guppy cost? can give me range from the common to the rare ones..
dishwasher
Jun 14 2007, 03:20 AM