Any guppy fans here?, come come come

Yveatel
post Sep 10 2016, 03:57 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 7 2016, 06:24 PM)
May I know your 60 bucks per pair guppy is from? i guess it's a normal grade guppy given its price. Also, what strain is it?
On the 400 bucks guppies, it is the albino purple grass, very rare species, and almost non-existence in Malaysia, and hence the sky high price. It is a grade SS type and it is imported from Taiwan. If you are keen in buying guppies from Taiwan, do pm me. I swear my price will be SIGNIFICANTLY cheaper than the price you see from the shop.
I don't know the strain leh. How to know? Interested in the expensive, but not now. Probably in future.

QUOTE(Summer888 @ Sep 10 2016, 03:14 PM)
Show us pictures pls. Am curious how the rm400 a pair looks like smile.gif
Did not take pictures of the RM 400. I got the RM 60 only bye.gif

The guppy I saw something like this, tail purple, body white.
Attached ImageAttached Image
davlee
post Sep 10 2016, 04:52 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Summer888 @ Sep 10 2016, 03:27 PM)
Anyone knows where i can custom order a guppy rack system with automation for water change? I need one with 3 or 4 tiers.
Interested to know also... Haha, but am thinking to DIY
Summer888
post Sep 11 2016, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Sep 10 2016, 03:57 PM)
I don't know the strain leh. How to know? Interested in the expensive, but not now. Probably in future.
Did not take pictures of the RM 400. I got the RM 60 only  bye.gif

Wow the picture with the purple tail is so nice! Where can I find this?

Summer888
post Sep 11 2016, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 10 2016, 04:52 PM)

You can use this as reference if you DIY.

http://guppyroom.blogspot.my

This blogger explained in great length the proper way to do it.
When you hv done it tolong ajar pls rclxm9.gif I'm not handy at all! Haha
tehoice
post Sep 12 2016, 06:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Summer888 @ Sep 10 2016, 03:14 PM)
Show us pictures pls. Am curious how the rm400 a pair looks like smile.gif
i don't have the picture though. next time when i come across it, i will share with you guys here. smile.gif
tehoice
post Sep 12 2016, 06:20 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Sep 10 2016, 03:57 PM)
Did not take pictures of the RM 400. I got the RM 60 only  bye.gif

sure, let me know. =)

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 10 2016, 04:52 PM)
QUOTE(Summer888 @ Sep 11 2016, 04:22 PM)
You can use this as reference if you DIY.

http://guppyroom.blogspot.my

This blogger explained in great length the proper way to do it.
When you hv done it tolong ajar pls  rclxm9.gif  I'm not handy at all! Haha
DIY is also not easy. unless you are very handy. otherwise, i would pay for someone to do it....
-oc-gassa
post Sep 13 2016, 12:40 PM

967 posts

why need rack? combine like 10 guppy in 2 feet tank seems more enjoyable(for me)..hehe
tehoice
post Sep 13 2016, 02:44 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Sep 13 2016, 12:40 PM)
why need rack? combine like 10 guppy in 2 feet tank seems more enjoyable(for me)..hehe
rack is more for breeding purposes. you can then have a "show tank", where you can house all of the nice guppies in one tank.

but to breed nice guppies, you need to do selective breeding.
-oc-gassa
post Sep 13 2016, 03:44 PM

967 posts

i see lot people just put in small pond/vase for outdoor guppy..my past experience.. seems that they are easier to breed like that.. but not selective breeding.... never try breed guppy in normal aquarium.. gonna try get guppies 1st... any good tips ? website ? i'm planned to start with standard guppy...
davlee
post Sep 13 2016, 07:18 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 12 2016, 06:20 PM)
sure, let me know. =)
DIY is also not easy. unless you are very handy. otherwise, i would pay for someone to do it....
Erm, I like DIY... every weekend do a bit. Haha... enjoy the process. But seems like there are few types of setup as well, some outlet on top, some at the bottom, some individual filtration, some has sump tank filtration... cant find a good guide on the net on this

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 13 2016, 02:44 PM)
rack is more for breeding purposes. you can then have a "show tank", where you can house all of the nice guppies in one tank.

but to breed nice guppies, you need to do selective breeding.
Get both show tank and breeding rack, best of both world... win win... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tehoice
post Sep 14 2016, 11:59 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Sep 13 2016, 03:44 PM)
i see lot people just put in small pond/vase for outdoor guppy..my past experience.. seems that they are easier to breed like that.. but not selective breeding.... never try breed guppy in normal aquarium.. gonna try get guppies 1st... any good tips ? website ? i'm planned to start with standard guppy...
selective breeding is for pure strain guppies only. those nice nice guppies you see at competition. those are results of selective breeding.

if you just want a bunch of guppies, no need to get pure strain, just fish shop guppies would do. there is no standard guppy. only pure strain and/or those mixed, like those you see in the fish shop. if you want to purchase beginner grade guppies, can let me know.

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 13 2016, 07:18 PM)
Erm, I like DIY... every weekend do a bit. Haha... enjoy the process. But seems like there are few types of setup as well, some outlet on top, some at the bottom, some individual filtration, some has sump tank filtration... cant find a good guide on the net on this
Get both show tank and breeding rack, best of both world... win win...  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
yeah... start a journal already! cant wait to see yours. haha biggrin.gif
davlee
post Sep 14 2016, 05:23 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 14 2016, 11:59 AM)
yeah... start a journal already! cant wait to see yours. haha  biggrin.gif
Haha... I might soon... wait till December first when I have time. Now, still need to do more research and also wanna find sifu that can offer free consultation. Hahaha. Can you? whistling.gif

Enjoy my humble iwagumi show tank. Just added juvenile males recently.

tehoice
post Sep 14 2016, 05:49 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 14 2016, 05:23 PM)
Haha... I might soon... wait till December first when I have time. Now, still need to do more research and also wanna find sifu that can offer free consultation. Hahaha. Can you?  whistling.gif

i'm not sifu lar. just a newbie like you guys. hahaha...

nice tank you have there.

but for your iwagumi, i feel you have too many type of plants already.
normally iwagumi is only carpet with one type of other plants at the back. but very nice tank you have there, 2ft?

got co2?

This post has been edited by tehoice: Sep 14 2016, 05:49 PM
davlee
post Sep 14 2016, 10:55 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 14 2016, 05:49 PM)
i'm not sifu lar. just a newbie like you guys. hahaha...

nice tank you have there.

but for your iwagumi, i feel you have too many type of plants already.
normally iwagumi is only carpet with one type of other plants at the back. but very nice tank you have there, 2ft?

got co2?
Haha.. you so humble meh? You are my sifu wor...

This is 3ft tank, got another 2ft for females. Haha... Yeah, this is with CO2... buy second hand set, cheap cheap
tehoice
post Sep 15 2016, 08:19 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 14 2016, 10:55 PM)
Haha.. you so humble meh? You are my sifu wor...

This is 3ft tank, got another 2ft for females. Haha... Yeah, this is with CO2... buy second hand set, cheap cheap
Haha. Okay.... Understand. I quit aquascaping nearly 3 years already........
-oc-gassa
post Sep 15 2016, 10:32 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Sep 14 2016, 05:23 PM)
Haha... I might soon... wait till December first when I have time. Now, still need to do more research and also wanna find sifu that can offer free consultation. Hahaha. Can you?  whistling.gif

ur have chiller? water 26c ? guppy can with stand colder water? Nice tank bro...
davlee
post Sep 15 2016, 12:04 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Sep 15 2016, 10:32 AM)
ur have chiller? water 26c ? guppy can with stand colder water? Nice tank bro...
Thank you kindly... but my tank also so so saja, compared to those pros...

No chiller, water is around 26-28C. Yes, guppy can stand colder water
tehoice
post Sep 29 2016, 11:59 AM

5,529 posts

how are you guys punya fishes doing?

Yveatel
post Sep 29 2016, 03:45 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 29 2016, 11:59 AM)
how are you guys punya fishes doing?