may i have some recommend from pros here?
beside that wat different between 9700 LED and 9700 NT ?
This post has been edited by ktoo1216: Nov 19 2006, 12:28 AM
zalman 9700NT or Ultra 120?
Nov 18 2006, 07:32 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
175 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
may i have some recommend from pros here?
beside that wat different between 9700 LED and 9700 NT ? This post has been edited by ktoo1216: Nov 19 2006, 12:28 AM |
Nov 18 2006, 07:44 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Sila Mampir,JB sTaTus:GTX 680 SLI |
erkk is there an Ultra xp 120?i know Ultra 120 gotla?
Nov 18 2006, 08:10 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
QUOTE(ktoo1216 @ Nov 18 2006, 07:32 PM) may i have some recommend from pros here? 9700LED = copper coloured, blue LED fanbeside that wat different between 9700 LED and 9700 NT ? 9700 NT = nickle plated, green LED fan |
Nov 18 2006, 11:02 PM
1,597 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
reading some of the reviews, there seems to be conflicting results some ultra 120 tops, some infinity, some ninja, but diffrerence by few degrees only, anyone personally tried comparing all 3?
Nov 19 2006, 12:16 AM
4,496 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
It's normal to have conflict result as different ambient temperature, casing structure and PC component ...
Anyone of the three cooler u mentioned equally perform well actually... the thing that u could look into is the noise level, easiness of installation and maintenance... |
Nov 19 2006, 12:24 AM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
My vote goes to Thermalright Ultra 120...
sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:42 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 12:28 AM
175 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 19 2006, 01:16 AM) It's normal to have conflict result as different ambient temperature, casing structure and PC component ... erm.. how is the level for the noise and maintenance level?Anyone of the three cooler u mentioned equally perform well actually... the thing that u could look into is the noise level, easiness of installation and maintenance... i current only use stock fans.. it is very noisy and a lot of dust stuck in the sink. |
Nov 19 2006, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(ktoo1216 @ Nov 19 2006, 12:28 AM) erm.. how is the level for the noise and maintenance level? Bro, look at zalman website, then look for the highest cfm level for the heatsink that you're pointing at...i current only use stock fans.. it is very noisy and a lot of dust stuck in the sink. Because u don't have to worry about thermalright though, u can choose any fan to u're liking, be it a noisy or silent fan... That's why i love thermalright heatsinks, you can always choose the fan that u want to you're choice... sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:40 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 12:33 AM) Bro, look at zalman website, then look for the highest cfm level for the heatsink that you're pointing at... Totally agree with shawTY .... thermalright still the best when comes to maintenance ... Because u don't have to worry about thermalright though, u can choose any fan to u're liking, be it a noisy or silent fan... That's why i love thermalright heatsinks, you can always choose the fan that u want to you're choice... just throw it into soap water then wipe off with cloth ... shine like brand new ..... |
Nov 19 2006, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 19 2006, 12:39 AM) Totally agree with shawTY .... thermalright still the best when comes to maintenance ... Nanee?just throw it into soap water then wipe off with cloth ... shine like brand new ..... Can clean like that kaa? All this time, i just use tooth brush and water to clean the heatsink... [Not the tooth brush that i use for brushing my teeth... ***U spell my name wrong la... It's sHawTY, not shawTY sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:40 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 12:48 AM) Nanee? that wan just small thingy la...Can clean like that kaa? All this time, i just use tooth brush and water to clean the heatsink... [Not the tooth brush that i use for brushing my teeth... ***U spell my name wrong la... It's sHawTY, not shawTY back to topic. if u wanna use ultra 120 make sure u have a casing that wide enuff for it.also ur budget keep in mind ultra 120 is expensive and come with NO fan.But the best things doesnt come cheap |
Nov 19 2006, 01:44 AM
386 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Does copper rust?
Anyway is the Zalman LED changeable? |
Nov 19 2006, 01:49 AM
Nov 19 2006, 02:03 AM
Nov 19 2006, 02:42 AM
386 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I know it's very low in the reactivity table...but there's still copper oxide. So i just wondering if wash with water will it rust?
Nov 19 2006, 04:12 AM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
Most pure copper heatsink oxidises over time ler... like my old thermalrights and zalman VF700....now all black already. Fugly unless giving it the tomato sauce treatment
Nov 19 2006, 04:20 AM
Nov 19 2006, 04:41 AM
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 19 2006, 12:16 AM) It's normal to have conflict result as different ambient temperature, casing structure and PC component ... using infinity now, in terms of temp dissipation, no regrets, only thing that bugs me is the clearance, only hv less than 1cm clearance due to my mobos nb heatsinks, anyone measured the height of the ultra 120 frm the base (bottom) to the first/lowest fins as they normally only publish overall dimensions?Anyone of the three cooler u mentioned equally perform well actually... the thing that u could look into is the noise level, easiness of installation and maintenance... |
Nov 19 2006, 04:45 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 19 2006, 04:41 AM) using infinity now, in terms of temp dissipation, no regrets, only thing that bugs me is the clearance, only hv less than 1cm clearance due to my mobos nb heatsinks, anyone measured the height of the ultra 120 frm the base (bottom) to the first/lowest fins as they normally only publish overall dimensions? L63.5 x W132 x H160.5 mm (heatsink only)--->ultra 120 |
Nov 19 2006, 07:34 AM
Nov 19 2006, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 19 2006, 04:12 AM) Most pure copper heatsink oxidises over time ler... like my old thermalrights and zalman VF700....now all black already. Fugly unless giving it the tomato sauce treatment What do you mean by "the tomato sauce treatment"? Can use tomato sauce to kill those oxidises? ' Teach us bro... sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:36 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 09:32 AM
1,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 秋葉原電気街 |
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 18 2006, 11:02 PM) reading some of the reviews, there seems to be conflicting results some ultra 120 tops, some infinity, some ninja, but diffrerence by few degrees only, anyone personally tried comparing all 3? the results are various because they are tested using diff hardwares or the reviewer is actually siding one of the brand.... i m gonna make a hsf roundup soon.... now still negotiating with ppl to borrow the cooler as i dun make any profit out of this.... so far i have scythe mine, scythe ninja, ttbt and gigabyte g power pro that will be featured in the test..... still looking for noctua NH-U12, tuniq tower 120, TR ultra 120 and scythe infinity also... anyone can borrow for me to make the comparison? This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Nov 19 2006, 09:41 AM |
Nov 19 2006, 09:40 AM
10,479 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
some people also use coca-cola to clean copper.
sup3rfly, it's nice to have a malaysian review cos it reflects malaysian temperature (30c), unlike US, where ambient is 16c. |
Nov 19 2006, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 19 2006, 09:40 AM) some people also use coca-cola to clean copper. yeah gonna make a fair comparison.... using the same rig, same room temp so that we can find out which will be the best.... kinda tired of reading reveiws that is siding on one of the brand... hope can make this review successful la... sup3rfly, it's nice to have a malaysian review cos it reflects malaysian temperature (30c), unlike US, where ambient is 16c. This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Nov 19 2006, 09:43 AM |
Nov 19 2006, 04:37 PM
Nov 19 2006, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 19 2006, 09:42 AM) yeah gonna make a fair comparison.... using the same rig, same room temp so that we can find out which will be the best.... kinda tired of reading reveiws that is siding on one of the brand... hope can make this review successful la... If you want to borrow my XP120 to be in the comparison, i'll gladly help, i have two XP120, one have been lapped [this is not suitable as it's performance have been raised from it's original state] and another one XP120 have not being lapped at all, this is the one that's suitable as it's in original state...Do tell me if you want to borrow my XP120 ya bro? sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:35 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 05:43 PM) If you want to borrow my XP120 to be in the comparison, i'll gladly help, i have two XP120, one have been lapped [this is not suitable as it's performance have been raised from it's original state] and another one XP120 have not being lapped at all, this is the one that's suitable as it's in original state... i wanted to borrow ur ultra 120 one but then u traded n sold liao....i saw ur thread too late liao.... >.<Do tell me if you want to borrow my XP120 ya bro? i have an si-120 that u might be interested.... hehe xp-120 shd be ok... will try it as well...but dunno can fit into my mobo a not as xp120 has some fitting problems... |
Nov 19 2006, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 19 2006, 05:57 PM) i wanted to borrow ur ultra 120 one but then u traded n sold liao....i saw ur thread too late liao.... >.< Err...i have an si-120 that u might be interested.... hehe xp-120 shd be ok... will try it as well...but dunno can fit into my mobo a not as xp120 has some fitting problems... I've already have two XP120 and one Ultra 120 at my home... All 3 of them are used in separate pc... Why do i want an SI 120... But still, i've seen in a forum someone mod an SI 120 to be used in graphic card... I'm interested to try that to cool down my X1800 Crossfire mastercard, but not sure how am i going to lock it into my graphic card... sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:35 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 06:42 PM) Err... i tot u need xp120 ma that time...and sincs si120 and xp120 is actually the same so i think we might wanan trade lo....i really really like ultra 120 I've already have two XP120 and one Ultra 120 at my home... All 3 of them are used in separate pc... Why do i want an SI 120... But still, i've seen in a forum someone mod an SI 120 to be used in graphic card... I'm interested to try that to cool down my X1800 Crossfire mastercard, but not sure how am i going to lock it into my graphic card... eh i tot u selling ur ultra 120 liao? i think u will need to mod the si-120 to sit into ur gc if u really want it haha |
Nov 19 2006, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 19 2006, 06:44 PM) i tot u need xp120 ma that time...and sincs si120 and xp120 is actually the same so i think we might wanan trade lo....i really really like ultra 120 Before this, i have two units of Thermalright Ultra 120, and one Thermalright XP120...eh i tot u selling ur ultra 120 liao? i think u will need to mod the si-120 to sit into ur gc if u really want it haha Then, i've traded one of my Ultra 120 with mikelanding's XP120. Then, now i have two XP120 and one Ultra 120... One XP120 is used in Pentium D 820 + Intel 945G PC <-- My Elder Brother's PC One XP120 is used in Pentium D 930 + Asus P5WD2-E Premium PC <-- My Working & Online PC One Ultra 120 is used in Pentium D 930 + Abit AW8D Max PC <-- My Beloved Gaming PC [Only used for gaming purpose] ***The one and only Ultra 120 that's left is not going to be sold or for trade as i still love the design of the Ultra 120... Capiche? sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:33 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 07:01 PM) Before this, i have two units of Thermalright Ultra 120, and one Thermalright XP120... sigh hope can get an ultra 120 for review la.... my initial review hsf was infinity vs mine vs ninja vs ultra 120 vs tower 120 oni...Then, i've traded one of my Ultra 120 with mikelanding's XP120. Then, now i have two XP120 and one Ultra 120... One XP120 is used in Pentium D 820 + Intel 945G PC <-- My Elder Brother's PC One XP120 is used in Pentium D 930 + Asus P5WD2-E Premium PC <-- My Working & Online PC One Ultra 120 is used in Pentium D 930 + Abit AW8D Max PC <-- My Beloved Gaming PC [Only used for gaming purpose] ***The one and only Ultra 120 that's left is not going to be sold or for trade as i still love the design of the Ultra 120... Capiche? |
Nov 19 2006, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 19 2006, 07:14 PM) sigh hope can get an ultra 120 for review la.... my initial review hsf was infinity vs mine vs ninja vs ultra 120 vs tower 120 oni... Sigh, u only review all those high high end heatsink liao...Why don't u review all heatsinks that are in the market liao? Better for everyone leh... I know it's hard, but can always ask everyone to let you borrow their heatsink for a day or two... no? Why can't Thermalright XP120, CM Hyper 6+, Scythe Mine, TT Big Thyphoon, TT Mini Thyphoon, CM Hyper 48, CM Hyper TX and all other heatsink be in that review? sHäwTY(tm) This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 19 2006, 10:32 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 19 2006, 07:19 PM) Sigh, u only review all those high high end heatsink liao... i worry those low ends one will look bad comparing to highend ones Why don't u review all heatsinks that are in the market liao? Better for everyone leh... I know it's hard, but can always ask everyone to let you borrow their heatsink for a day or two... no? Why can't Thermalright XP120, CM Hyper 6+, Scythe Mine, TT Big Thyphoon, TT Mini Thyphoon, CM Hyper 48, CM Hyper TX and all other heatsink be in that review? well the mroe the merrier ler!!! if i can get all of them if possible i would want to make this review as hsf database for all the forumers to decide which hsf shd they buy according to their need and budget.... sorry ar thread started tumpang ur thread hehehe This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Nov 19 2006, 07:39 PM |
Nov 20 2006, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 19 2006, 07:38 PM) i worry those low ends one will look bad comparing to highend ones But still, those low end heatsinks are much much cheaper than the high end, this way, some forumers who have limited budget can choose the one that they want through their budget... No? well the mroe the merrier ler!!! if i can get all of them if possible i would want to make this review as hsf database for all the forumers to decide which hsf shd they buy according to their need and budget.... sorry ar thread started tumpang ur thread hehehe |
Nov 20 2006, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 20 2006, 01:50 AM) But still, those low end heatsinks are much much cheaper than the high end, this way, some forumers who have limited budget can choose the one that they want through their budget... No? i got a hyper 48 but dunno if it support socket 775 as i will do the review using conroe and amd |
Nov 20 2006, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 20 2006, 01:54 AM) Hyper 48 do supports LGA775 la...Make sure u still have the retention module for LGA775 that came with the package when u buy it... If not, then cannot fit for the review edi la... |
Nov 20 2006, 02:21 AM
yeah i wanna try zalman hsf also...
Nov 20 2006, 09:13 PM
Nov 20 2006, 10:01 PM
Nov 20 2006, 10:38 PM
But i think the zalman not as cool as ultra 120 or infinity right, so far the reviews show that 9500 and 9700 temp dif only by few degrees if i not mistaken, but its a damn nice cooler for sure, especially the 9700NT, wonder if kl already selling.
Nov 21 2006, 12:00 PM
i m dont have the finalised list of which HSF will be reviewed...hope got some zalman also la...
Nov 21 2006, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 20 2006, 10:38 PM) But i think the zalman not as cool as ultra 120 or infinity right, so far the reviews show that 9500 and 9700 temp dif only by few degrees if i not mistaken, but its a damn nice cooler for sure, especially the 9700NT, wonder if kl already selling. I'm kinda agree with this...I'm pretty sure that the new zalman heatsink won't beat Ultra 120 and Infinity... |
Nov 22 2006, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 20 2006, 10:38 PM) But i think the zalman not as cool as ultra 120 or infinity right, so far the reviews show that 9500 and 9700 temp dif only by few degrees if i not mistaken, but its a damn nice cooler for sure, especially the 9700NT, wonder if kl already selling. 9700NT is not yet available .... not even in bulk orders ... however 9700LED is available at lowyat and bulk orders.. |
Nov 23 2006, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 22 2006, 01:25 AM) 9700NT is not yet available .... not even in bulk orders ... actually prefer function over form, so my vote also goes to thermalright ultra 120, isnt it suppose to be in kl already dont know wats the delay. waiting for ages.... however 9700LED is available at lowyat and bulk orders.. |
Nov 23 2006, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 23 2006, 12:46 AM) actually prefer function over form, so my vote also goes to thermalright ultra 120, isnt it suppose to be in kl already dont know wats the delay. waiting for ages.... It's not because of it didn't reach kl..It's because it's got worldwide shortage la... Even if you're outside of the country, let say, U.S., it still hard to get an Ultra 120... This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 23 2006, 01:02 AM |
Nov 23 2006, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 23 2006, 12:46 AM) actually prefer function over form, so my vote also goes to thermalright ultra 120, isnt it suppose to be in kl already dont know wats the delay. waiting for ages.... Why must ultra 120 only .. there are other models as well that perform well..... however the availability of Thermalright product has always being limited in Asia..... |
Nov 23 2006, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 23 2006, 01:02 AM) It's not because of it didn't reach kl.. check the net, only sidewinder managed to replenish thyre stock of ultra 120'w, problem is shipping with insurance cost more than the heatsink. It's because it's got worldwide shortage la... Even if you're outside of the country, let say, U.S., it still hard to get an Ultra 120... |
Nov 23 2006, 08:42 PM
Nov 24 2006, 03:51 AM
Nov 24 2006, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 23 2006, 05:35 PM) check the net, only sidewinder managed to replenish thyre stock of ultra 120'w, problem is shipping with insurance cost more than the heatsink. There is Sidewinder bulk but once only ... missed it .... hopefully there is another in the future ..... btw how's going with the coolers reviews... this should be one of the most complete review of available heatsink... |
Nov 24 2006, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 24 2006, 10:15 AM) There is Sidewinder bulk but once only ... missed it .... Maybe we can ask RLHH to organize a bulk from sidewinder's computers again...hopefully there is another in the future ..... btw how's going with the coolers reviews... this should be one of the most complete review of available heatsink... Who knows he might agree with it? |
Nov 25 2006, 01:21 AM
hopefully he does .... it's really hard to get high end cooling devices here without paying extra....
Nov 25 2006, 02:35 AM
shud check the site that sup3rfly recommended, the ultra selling at a good price
http://svc.com/ultra-120.html only usd39.99, cheaper than sidewinder by more than 10usd, seriously tho anyone wanna organise a bulk, im running out of patience waiting for local availability. |
Nov 25 2006, 04:46 AM
out of stock liao svc
Nov 25 2006, 05:27 PM
Nov 25 2006, 05:30 PM
i really dunno how well it perform.... from the madshrimp ultra 120 is good during idle but when load it lose to many other coolers.... i really wanan find out...but no one gonna borrow me
Nov 25 2006, 05:33 PM
7,689 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: The Land of No Return |
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 23 2006, 01:02 AM) It's not because of it didn't reach kl.. It's because it's got worldwide shortage la... Even if you're outside of the country, let say, U.S., it still hard to get an Ultra 120... Well, not just say the 9700NT.We cant even see the 9500AM2 (The smaller version) over here in Malaysia.Had been waiting for so long for that CPU cooler to arrive but still no sound.. |
Nov 25 2006, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Nov 25 2006, 05:30 PM) i really dunno how well it perform.... from the madshrimp ultra 120 is good during idle but when load it lose to many other coolers.... i really wanan find out...but no one gonna borrow me Hey, there's someone who's selling his Ultra 120 in the CPU & Motherboard Section...Don't wanna grab it? |
Nov 25 2006, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(akachester @ Nov 25 2006, 05:33 PM) Well, not just say the 9700NT.We cant even see the 9500AM2 (The smaller version) over here in Malaysia.Had been waiting for so long for that CPU cooler to arrive but still no sound.. actually a lot of stuff cant get here, abit sien when u read the reviews...can only dream unless got bulk...ah so, remove pix already, muchos gracias. This post has been edited by cablesguy: Nov 26 2006, 11:33 PM |
Nov 26 2006, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 25 2006, 10:22 PM) actually a lot of stuff cant get here, abit sien when u read the reviews...can only dream unless got bulk... You can remove the attachment la...err ignore the pix, wrong post n cant remove the pix hehe sorry. Edit you're post back again, and remove the attachment... There, you're done... |
Nov 27 2006, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 25 2006, 10:22 PM) actually a lot of stuff cant get here, abit sien when u read the reviews...can only dream unless got bulk... Truly agree with him..... bulk also will take at least two weeks time ... ah so, remove pix already, muchos gracias. sometime really wish that there is a supplier for other brand apart from waht we have here locally .... |
Nov 27 2006, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 27 2006, 11:25 AM) Truly agree with him..... bulk also will take at least two weeks time ... I'd wish for a supplier that has all the items that we want where the item is not available in LYP... sometime really wish that there is a supplier for other brand apart from waht we have here locally .... |
Feb 23 2009, 07:10 PM
10 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Now still can find Scythe ninja mini heatsink in the local market? Hardly to find it
Feb 27 2009, 11:34 AM
394 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: putrajaya |
QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 27 2006, 12:25 PM) Truly agree with him..... bulk also will take at least two weeks time ... i think, non-bulk can do but it will bit pricy sometime really wish that there is a supplier for other brand apart from waht we have here locally .... This post has been edited by naq_saviola: Feb 27 2009, 11:35 AM |
Feb 28 2009, 02:57 PM
221 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
zalman9700 LED , bare copper, blue LED, and 3 pin connector , adjust fans speed connector
zalman9700 NT , nickel plated, green LED, and 4 pin connector , automatic fan speed *ppl say the bare copper will rusty in some environment , and 9700NT will avoid this problem i dun know the market la , i buy 9700NT in rm247 few month ago from low yat , running in Q6600 , idle 37C , before stock fans like 44C |
| Change to: | 0.0333sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:07 PM |