> Unifi has been shit every night lately, Updated with twitter link

TSSeager
post Sep 9 2015, 07:26 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Update:

2nd day since the technicians replaced the modem.
Connection has been better at night.

Though, I doubt this had anything to do with the modem as my older one was working fine. Because I made multiple reports, TM services called me after the technicians left and told me that they would be monitoring my line for a couple of days. Tonight will be the 2nd night, and so far things are looking OK.

I suggest all of you that are having problems to call TM and bug them consistently. Threaten that you will approach MCMC if this isn't solved.
TSSeager
post Sep 9 2015, 08:50 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Fuck

Still unstable
TSSeager
post Sep 17 2015, 09:27 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Sorry I was away for 3 days, some asshole easily buthurt with my post.
Anyway, I've changed from using stock unifi router to the ASUS RT-N56U. I've discovered the following:

Day (Wifi):
Ping around 20ms, DL around 18-20mb - Stock
Ping less than 20ms, DL can reach 30mb or more - RT-N56U

Night (Wifi)
Ping 20ms to 100ms (sometimes even 200ms), DL around 5mb or less - Stock
Ping around 20ms or less, DL around 20mb - RT-N56U

I ran wifi analyzer and noticed no new wifi signals at night, all same SSIDs. I also tested my speed using LAN cable at night just to be sure, and Unifi is VERY VERY UNSTABLE at night. Sometimes you can get up to 30mb download, but the next minute you're down to less than 5mb. Even ping is very unstable.
TSSeager
post Sep 17 2015, 10:02 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Wei I update first post already go read.
This problem is from TM end, not ours.

Technicians came my house replace router, say my building connection is shit, ada wifi interference etc.
They will blame it all on you, but won't admit that their service is shit.

Especially at night, using LAN also unstable as fuck.

This post has been edited by Seager: Sep 17 2015, 10:04 AM
TSSeager
post Sep 17 2015, 10:16 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 17 2015, 10:13 AM)
bro, do you use static IP for your devices?
No wor

TSSeager
post Sep 17 2015, 10:23 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 17 2015, 10:20 AM)
try it bro..i am using static IP for all my devices...although it doesn't solve the youtube issue...but the connection is quite stable for other usage biggrin.gif mostly getting 20+mbps
How you set? Which IP you use?
TSSeager
post Sep 18 2015, 09:35 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 18 2015, 08:56 PM)
What's wrong with my 5mb Unifi? No utube, download etc at the time this test was done
Hahaha welcome to the club

QUOTE(kenshin9880 @ Sep 18 2015, 09:03 PM)
lot ppl use liao mah.

sure slow down de lo

cool2.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
That's bullshit.
Pay so damn expensive but always ada problem. Just this evening I noticed my download fluctuated from 3MBps go all the way down to 0.2MBps and back up again to less than 2.0MBps.

A lot of people use is not my concern.
TSSeager
post Sep 18 2015, 10:00 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(bitebug @ Sep 18 2015, 09:57 PM)
move to singapork

How much you pay for this?
TSSeager
post Sep 19 2015, 10:53 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

The instability is driving me up the wall.
Kejap ok, kejap tak ok. Pastu ok balik.
Lanjiao punya ping naik turun, dl also naik turun 5mb naik sampai 25mb then turun balik then naik balik wtf man?
TSSeager
post Sep 20 2015, 07:25 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Youtube is shit now
Ping high response time to open page lembab
Loading page lembab
TSSeager
post Sep 21 2015, 10:20 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(9876789 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:00 PM)
so TS your problem still there ?
may i know what video in youtube is considered slow to you ?

i just upgraded my 10 to 30MBps
viewing youtube : no problem so far
downloading torrents : no problem so far
diablo 3 : freakin high ping (4xx - 7xx)

if continue like that, i may have to use smartphone data plan to play online gaming.
tested after unifi disappointed me, digi gave me lower ping (2xx)
Significantly less problems after I changed from their stock router to my own.
But once every 2-3 days shit will happen again for about 1-2 hours at night..

Otherwise things are pretty normal, despite the instability every once in awhile, from 3000kpbs DL can suddenly drop all the day to 50-60kbps, then back up again lol
My ping improved a lot after changing router.

TSSeager
post Sep 21 2015, 10:39 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(9876789 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:38 PM)
may i know what router you using now ?
i'm using TP-Link 300M Wireless N Router
Model No. TL-WR841N / TL-WR841ND
ASUS RT-N56U
TSSeager
post Sep 21 2015, 10:50 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(9876789 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:48 PM)
may i know if your ping is under 20 or 200 ?
if under 20 i may consider change to your model  laugh.gif
Daytime under 20
At night 50 and below
TSSeager
post Sep 22 2015, 11:23 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(9876789 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:51 PM)
fuuuyohhhh..... must buy dy !
I got mine from Viewnet for RM 408
TSSeager
post Sep 22 2015, 11:34 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 22 2015, 11:26 AM)
no need buy so exp la..depends on your usage biggrin.gif
Unifi stock router give me headache everyday
They come replace with another shit stock router which also gives me headache everyday

Asus got 3 years warranty, better range too and to my surprise - quite easy to set up.
So what say you?
TSSeager
post Sep 22 2015, 11:55 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 22 2015, 11:40 AM)
I do agree on changing from stock router to other brands. I myself changed the stock router to TP Link.

What I saying is...depends on what do you want from your router.

Dual band needed? Or you prefer long range?

Do you need AC or N is just enuff?

That sort of things bro xD
Bought dual band because I might have other plans, but noticed that the 5ghz range is not as wide as the 2.4ghz
For now this is just nice for me.

TSSeager
post Sep 22 2015, 12:15 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(9876789 @ Sep 22 2015, 12:08 PM)
so do you mean the ping has nothing to do with router ?
It does.
Besides, TM router is really shit.
TSSeager
post Sep 22 2015, 03:54 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(Weng85 @ Sep 22 2015, 03:34 PM)
There is nothing related between the ping and the router, but the area. I'm VIP 5 and still using the lousy Huawei router can get 14 max ping 550 kb/s download speed
In my case my ping has significantly improved though.
TSSeager
post Sep 23 2015, 10:38 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

TM called me yesterday.
I made a report on the 10th, 1-2 days after they had first changed/ given me a new Huawei router to use as compared to my older one. Reason for complaint: Horrible service at night.

The lady called me and immediately asked me if everything was fine and if it was okay for them to send technicians over today. I asked her again about the date I made the report, and she was reluctant to mention that it was almost 2 weeks ago - though she finally did. She apologized for the delay.

What amazed me is that TM had no clue their technicians came and swapped routers with my older one (stock TM router for TM router). I mentioned that from my previous report, they came and had only changed routers and nothing more - which she had no clue. And then I said upon using my own new router everything is rather fine and tolerable for the time being - despite a little instability at night.

She seemed a lil shocked when I mentioned that I'm using my own router now, and said that she'll escalate this technical failure of their routers to her technical management team lol i said tak payah, just don't disturb my connection now laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Seager: Sep 23 2015, 10:40 AM
TSSeager
post Sep 23 2015, 10:53 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(vyseus @ Sep 23 2015, 10:42 AM)
Change router already? mine 30Mbps stable~ can download 3MB Speed ni prob...
Yes see chain of events here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3694097?author=Seager

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 

0.0246sec    0.57    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:34 PM