Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

Semper Fi
post Nov 28 2010, 10:14 AM

58 posts

Hi All,

Greetings!
Just checking, is it safe to travel to Korea now? I might be flying there in mid Jan. Do i have to check with the embassy? Where do i check?
I'll be staying at friend's place, Hannam-dong, Yongsang-gu.
Is it easy to get around from my friend's place?
Was wondering roughly how much would be sufficient enough to secure me there? I'm thinking of RM2K. My stay is more than a week.
Btw, anyone here staying in Korea right now?
Feedbacks are much appreciated!
Many thanks!

Semper Fi
post Nov 28 2010, 08:22 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 28 2010, 02:31 PM)
Anything can happen in Korea right now.
No one has the right to say wherter it is safe or not, oppinion wise... I'll tell you right up, it still is relatively safe. But of course, anything can happen... so take that with a pinch of salt.

Yongsan-gu is in Seoul, transports are easily reachable. No worries.

Since you're living in your friend's place, you've got shelter covered I assume... that means you don't have to spend money on that.
But to be honest with you, RM2000 is not quite enough.. things are really starting to get a lil' expensive here in Seoul, bring up to RM3000 to be on the safe side.
Hi SSjBen & Zstan,

Thanks for your response!
Normally i won't have 3meals a day.Lolx...So wat if i only have 1or2 meals a day + eating cheap?
I probably will be spending more on transportation since my fren is working, so most of the time i will be on my own.
N i'm someone who is terrible in direction, so hopefully i will do fine. >.< Does da local speaks Eng? If yes,dat wil be beneficial to me as i cud ask for direction.
Any flea market, bazaar dat worth for shopping? As i don't intend to spend much on shopping.
I have put da following onto my itinerary as of now, wondering how long journey from Yongsan-gu?

-Lotte World/Everland
-Namiseom island
-Namsan Tower
-Loveland
Semper Fi
post Dec 20 2010, 01:45 PM

58 posts

Anyone read the latest news?
SKorea conducts firing drills from border island...
Not sure if itz still safe to go in Jan....Hmmphh...My air tix is paid!Goshhh...

Semper Fi
post Jan 12 2011, 05:18 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(N00DL35 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:06 PM)

FML

Hwancheon Sancheoneo Ice Festival has been CANCELLED!!!!

Hwancheon Sancheoneo Ice Festival cancelled.
This is real Fxxx!!!!!!!
I've put this into my itinerary!
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
FML!
Semper Fi
post Jan 12 2011, 06:44 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(N00DL35 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:42 PM)
I called them up, another dude emailed them.. It has been confirmed that the event will be cancelled...
On another note, theres the Pyeongchang Trout Festival.

Heres another link Pyeongchang Trout Festival

Theres a shuttle from Jamsil Station
Hwacheon ice festival seems bigger n more fun! cry.gif
Wat abt Mt. Taebaek Snow Festival? Still on?
Semper Fi
post Jan 16 2011, 08:23 PM

58 posts

Any1 here knw abt da Banpo bridge? I waited for da rainbow fountain jz nw, tak ada pun! :-S

0.0417sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:43 PM